Buy the NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: NYIP
Located in: Top Canon RebelXTi Accessories
The New York Institute of Photography's Fundamentals of Digital Photography Course is designed to help beginning photographers gain mastery of their cameras. Digital SLRs are now more affordable and more powerful than ever before. But no tool can reach its potential unless you know how to handle it - and as a result, many photographers find themselves stuck in automatic mode.

The Fundamentals of Digital Photography Course is a premium home study course that was developed by America's oldest and largest photography school to help photographers get the most from their digital cameras. The Course covers a multitude of topics, including:

  • NYI's Three Guidelines for taking great photographs.
  • Parts of a digital camera.
  • Different types of lenses and how they are used.
  • Reading your camera's histogram.
  • Downloading your photographs.
  • Printing your photographs.
  • The correct way to backup files.
  • Camera exposure modes.
  • Composition basics.
  • Natural, available, and artificial lighting.
  • The digital darkroom.
  • Creating the perfect print.
  • People and pet photography.
  • Landscape and travel photography.
  • Photojournalism basics and sports photography.
  • Special effects.
  • Advanced printing techniques.
You'll learn all of this through unique multi-media materials. These materials include:
  • Audio CDs that allow you to listen to established photographers discuss techniques for taking professional-looking photographs.
  • 16 full-color lesson texts with easy-to-follow instructions and illustrations.
  • NYI's DVD series, the Weekend Photo Workshop.
  • Digitally recorded audio evaluations of your two Photo Projects - on these evaluations a working photographer will comment on every aspect of your photographs.
  • Unlimited access to NYI's staff of professional photographers who are ready to answer all your questions via telephone or e-mail.
  • A beautiful certificate of training that is worthy of framing and displaying with pride.
There's nothing else like it; and we promise that by the time you complete the course you'll be taking better photographs. Join our community and learn how to get the most from your camera.

Our Students love this Course!

    I must say that this course has helped me to get to know my camera and use it to the fullest. I nearly always use complete manual settings now and have much more control over my photography. My photography has greatly improved.
    --NYI Student John P., California

    I needed this. I am exploring my camera is ways that I would have never attempted.
    --NYI Student Gail J., Texas

    Excellent course. While easy to use and starts with the basics, this is a real course similar to what you would learn in a college photography class.
    --NYI Student James S., New York

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(4)
Best Uses:
Everyday(3), Portraits(3)

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Learning
By cK from Illinois on 11/30/2010
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about NYIP NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course:

I took there regualr class, before the digital course and the projects you had to complete gives you a sense of knowing your improving.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just what you need to get going fast!
By KarenVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville, FL on 10/14/2010
Pros:
Clear and concise, Easy To Use, Reliable, Well written
Best Uses:
Beginner to Intermediate
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about NYIP NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course:

This course is easy-to-follow and full of great information that was hard (if not impossible) for me to find elsewhere. My camera's manual pointed out what the buttons and dials did but not how to use them effectively to take good photos. With this course, I feel better able to take good photos and understand how to use my camera to the fullest.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This course is a MUST!
By DeannaVerified Reviewer from Waxhaw, NC on 8/19/2009
Pros:
Easy, Educational, Fast, Informative
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Home, Landscape Photography, Macro Photography, Portraits, Studio, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about NYIP NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course:

This is the most complete course in digital photography that you will find out there for the price. Listening to the CD's, you feel like you are right there in the classroom. The faculty is available anytime if you need assistance. They are just a phone call away. The student advisors are awesome! I don't think anyone should wait any longer to decide to take this course. It is well worth it and you will definitely come out of it knowing your camera and how to use it in and out! I am so glad that I did it!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fundamentals of Digital Photography
By GailVerified Purchaser from Saint Paul, MN on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Great Program
Describe Yourself:
Getting Started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about NYIP NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course:

I just purchased my first SLR Canon Digital Rebel XSi and I wanted to use this camera other than in "Auto" Mode. The course was everything they said it would be. The entire staff at NYIP are fantastic! I use my SLR now mostly in "Manual" Mode. If I hadn't taken this course, I would have probably just been using this camera in "Auto" Mode.

Take this course!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fundamentals of Digital Photography
By GailVerified Reviewer from Saint Paul, MN on 8/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting Started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about NYIP NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course:

If you've never owned an SLR digital camera, I strongly recommend this course. It is everything they say it is!

If you can imagine, I had Beth Green as my Instructor at NYIP! How fantastic is that! And my Personal Advisor, Ted Fisher took the time to get back to me with every question I had. I was really sceptical at first but after getting started, I now am using my SLR Cannon Digital Rebel XSi in "Manual Mode!"

I would also recommend getting one or two of Cannon's EF-S "Image Stabelizing" Lenses. They work great! See for yourself.

Images shared by: Gail

African Violet taken with 18-55mm EF-S Kit Lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best course available for Digital SLR
By snohomish98Verified Reviewer from Coastal North Carolina on 4/23/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about NYIP NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course:

This photo course is so informative and full of information that its worth every penny. As a new comer to digital SLR use you can't beat this course. Highly recommended.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tremendous value
By SuzieqphotographerVerified Reviewer from Vitoria BC Canada on 10/10/2007
Pros:
Easy To Use, Very Thorough
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
All around use, Everyday use, Home, Macro Photography, Portraits, Professional, Sporting Events, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about NYIP NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course:

This course helped me organize what topics should be covered in my class at school. I teach Digital Photography and this really helped me to teach my students the basic skills they would need.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Digital SLR Beginners Course
By JohnVerified Reviewer from San Diego on 10/1/2007
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about NYIP NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course:

I have always been interested in taking one of NYIP's courses. I guess I was reluctenct because I couldn't afford the Professional course or the Photoshop course. When I saw the Short Course advertised for the first time I jumped on it mainly because of the price. Since I was one of the first to sign up and pay in full I also received a [$] discount. I must say that this course has helped me to get to know my camera and use it to the fullest. I nearly always use complete manual settings now and have much more control over my photography. My photography has greatly improved. The instruction CDs are done very well. You almost think you are sitting right there with the instructors as they discuss the chapters. The DVDs were very instructive as well. Seeing what you are being taught is invaluable. You can do it on your own time and not feel rushed. The projects at the end of each half are a lot of fun as well as a good test of what you learn. I highly recommend this course to anyone.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent beginner's or refresher course
By justJVerified Reviewer from near Harrison, AR on 8/6/2007
Pros:
Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Boosts photo quality, Boosts self-confidence, Professional interaction, Student discounts
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about NYIP NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course:

I would especially recommend this course for the first-time digital SLR beginner (not for the point-and-shoot digital cameras) or as a refresher course, even if one had previously owned a film 35mm (as I have).

The course is set magazine-style with high-quality photos that alternates with audio CDs and video DVDs. There are course projects and one can put as much or as little into the course as they like. Working professionals at the NYIP provide critiques of submitted project work through audio CDs, and turnaround time is excellent. Every student also receives their own personal advisor.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Made the right choice!
By Lady with a new camera.Verified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 3/12/2007
Pros:
Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about NYIP NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course:

I needed this. I am exploring my camera is ways that I would have never attempted.

[34 of 36 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Course - Indepth Education
By Photo DudeStaff Reviewer from Huntington, New York on 12/11/2006
Pros:
Easy to use, Individual Attention, Very thorough

Comments about NYIP NYIP Fundamentals of Digital Photography-Short Course:

Excellent course. While easy to use and starts with the basics, this is a real course similar to what you would learn in a college digital photography class. Study at your own pace and get reviews from instructors.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.