Buy the Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella image
 
(based on 12 ratings)
Brand: Smith Victor
Located in: Studio Lights
The Smith-Victor KT1500U Thrifty Kit is designed to fulfill basic lighting requirements at an exceptionally affordable price. The kit features two 32” shoot-thru white umbrellas, two UM-6 umbrella mounts, 5/8” light stand adapters and Smith-Victor's Raven RS8 8’ light stands. The “through-the-reflector” umbrella mounting system places the umbrella close to the optical axis of the light for optimum control; while the reflectors are chemically etched for maximum light dispersion.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.4 stars
(based on 12 reviews)
67% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to setup(10), Lightweight(8), Reliable(3)
Cons:
Short lifespan(6), Unreliable(4)
Best Uses:
Artificial lighting(8), Photography(9), Portraits(7), Weddings(3)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(5), Semi-pro photographer(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(5)
 
4 bulbs in 10 mins
By jay from atlanta ga on 5/11/2011
Pros:
Easy To Setup
Cons:
Short Lifespan, Unreliable
Best Uses:
Photography
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella:

i had to return this product back to the store i went through 4 bulbs in 10 mins

 
My pictures are so much better now
By GeeVerified Purchaser from Barney, GA on 1/28/2011
Best Uses:
Photography, Portraits, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella:

Because of using the lighting kit I found that I did not have to 'doctor' my photo to make them lighter. Now my pictures have the light that they needs and no 'doctoring'.

Images shared by: Gee

Setup

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Setup

Practice

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

 
Good Kit, Bad Bulbs
By onlyelise from Pittsburgh, PA on 1/18/2011
Pros:
Easy To Setup, Lightweight
Cons:
Inconsistent Output, Short Lifespan, Unreliable
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella:

I was pleased with how lightweight and easy this set is, and it is small enough when disassembled to travel easily.On the down side, I used the bulbs one time, packed them up, then unpacked them two weeks later to use them again, and found that all three had burned out while in the box?!? I've been working with photographic light sets for twelve years, and know not to touch them with my bare hands, but a one-shoot lifespan is ridiculous. [...]. If I can't fix this quickly, will be returning the set.

 
bulbs dont last
By jrsVerified Reviewer from florida on 1/11/2011
Pros:
Easy Setup, Lightweight
Cons:
Short Lifespan, Unreliable
Best Uses:
Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella:

i was in the middle of a boudior shoot and 15mins into the shoot two of my bulbs blewout. so i then had to hold the light and take pics at the same time so the lighting was in the right place. i had only done 6 shoots before they blew. they are not cheap to replace. other than that i love they way they look in pics!!!!!!!!

 
The product was quite a deal cost
By NoneVerified Purchaser from Alexandria, Virginia on 1/6/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easy Setup, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella:

The recipient has nothing but praise for the product.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lighting for the price
By JessVerified Purchaser from Payson,AZ on 12/8/2010
Pros:
Easy Setup, Reliable
Cons:
Short Lifespan
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella:

The set up was pretty easy. They give off A LOT OF LIGHT!! The only down fall, is after I used the lights for the first time and let them cool, one of the bulbs broke inside as I was unscrewing the bulb....? So hopefully I can get more use out of the other bulbs then just the one.... Other wise, very pleased with the turn out of my photos.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bad Bulbs
By σvσerinσvσVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 11/8/2010
Pros:
Easy Setup, Lightweight
Cons:
Short Lifespan, Unreliable
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella:

The first day I got this it was easy to set up but about 5 minutes after having the lights plugged in and turned on 2 of my light bulbs went out.

I then exchanged my lights for a new set, brought those home set them up turned them on and again 2 of my bulbs went out about 10 minutes after having them on.

Each time this happened I was at a diffrent location, niether of which has ever had problems with anything being plugged into the outlets.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent quality for the price
By AngelVerified Reviewer from Orlando, FL on 5/22/2010
Pros:
Easy Setup, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella:

I bought this kit just for 1 use (my daughter's prom) and it was fantastic. Just need two of them fill the room with plenty soft light.

Important!: As any photographer knows: DO NOT TOUCH THE BULBS WITH YOUR BARE HANDS. IT WILL BURN OUT. ;-)

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Starter Kit
By TeeceeVerified Reviewer from Roanoke, VA on 5/20/2010
Pros:
Consistent
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella:

Just starting, but this kit is exactly what I need. I only wish it had a DVD to go along with it to explain basic set-ups, etc. I've had the kit for over a year and have only had 2 bulbs go out and one was when a toddler knocked the light over -- oops!!
Good kit for starters!!

Images shared by: Teecee

my BEAUTIFUL daughter-in-law

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

My other BEAUTIFUL daughter-in-law

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bulbs don't last
By MK from Dallas, TX on 5/1/2010
Pros:
Easy Setup, Lightweight
Cons:
Short Lifespan
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella:

I bought this as a beginner kit so I could start using some studio-type lighting at home. It was quick to set up, and the stands are easy to maneuver and raise/lower. However, one bulb burned out less than a minute after it was on. A second one burned out about 6 minutes later.

The store was able to replace them two weeks later (today), so I brought home the new ones and tried them out. One of the two new ones burned out after about 2 minutes. I am using different outlets for them, and I've had other items in these outlets without any problems.

I'll be contacting the store again and think I'll be taking the whole kit back. I've yet to be able to do much of anything with it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
a very great set up for an amzing price
By suszi from mankato,mn on 1/23/2010
Pros:
Easy Setup, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits, Prom, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella:

it is great but would be better if it came with a carry bag after a few times reusing the box it wears out fast.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Quality for An Affordable Price.
By NatlieVerified Reviewer from Aspen, CO on 1/13/2010
Pros:
Affordable, Consistent, Easy Setup, Lightweight, Reliable, User Friendly, Versatile
Cons:
Small Parts Easy to Lose
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Children, Maternity Sessions, Photography, Portraits, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor 3 Light Kit Umbrella:

I tried this out expecting to return it and was more than pleasantly surprised. I don't have to worry about transmitters, batteries, signals, or compatibility.

Easy and sturdy tripods set up, screw on lights, attach umbrella. Plug into wall and go. Having all three lights, make it so easy to eliminate shadows. One light on each side and the third light for the hair or background. Although, I have to admit, I rarely need to use all 3 at once.

I am really pleased with the quality for the price. It's rare to find such value.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.