Buy the Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser image
 
(based on 32 ratings)
Brand: Gary Fong
Located in: Studio Lighting Accessories
Give your camera's harsh pop-up flash a makeover!

The Puffer flash diffuser gives you the same flattering lighting style used by professionals. The Puffer simply slides into your camera's flash shoe and places the diffuser in front of your pop-up flash. The diffuser softens the light which gives you much better color and softer shadows, an all together better shot in a flash!

Provides professional-style diffused lighting from your camera's pop-up flash

  • Softens camera's harsh direct flash
  • Reduces harsh shadows
  • Ingeniously mounts via the camera's flash shoe
  • Adjustable for center positioning of any pop-up flash regardless of size
  • Works in any camera mode (ex: Program, Aperture priority, etc.)

The Puffer Pop-up Flash Diffuser from Gary Fong

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 32 reviews)
84% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(16), Excellent interface(5), Lightweight(29), Packs small / compresses(9), Reliable(17)
Cons:
Difficult to use(3), Heavy / bulky(3), Poor quality(6)
Best Uses:
Close -ups(15), Family photos(4), Fast action(3), Fill flash(3), Night photography(3)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(4), Enthusiast(3), Photo enthusiast(9), Pro photographer(3), Semi-pro photographer(10)
Was this a gift?:
No(4)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tough to figure out how to use it
By Allen the jugglerVerified Purchaser from Ithaca, NY on 1/6/2011
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Difficult to Use, For Canon T2i, Keeps flash from popping
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

For a Canon T2i it keeps the flash from popping up. Raise the flash first, then install it.

 
highly recommeded to all my friends
By JoelVerified Purchaser from Friday Harbor, WA on 10/4/2010
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Perfect, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

this is amazing products and it's affordable!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Gary Fong Puffer has many uses
By DevonVerified Purchaser from Santa Cruz Mountains, CA on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Blue-eyed animal shots-he, Family Photos, Indoor Animal shots, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

As an animal photographer, one of the most difficult things is to get them to look at you. The puffer has space to clip on things that the animals like to look at like feathers and mylar. This really helps above and beyond the diffusion/harsh shadows problems. It also helped with the most red of red eyes - blue eyes cats.

Images shared by: Devon

Bengal kitten

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Even inside a dark tent - this Havana is clear

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
So far so Good
By dbgoldVerified Purchaser from Elgin, IL on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Family Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

Works as advertised. Use on my 7d for grab shots when I don't want to bring out a speedligt. The puffer in no way replaces a speedlight but it will without question give more pleasing results when using the built in flash. Have not had it long enough to know how it will hold up, but, seems solid.

 
BEST LITTLE GADGET EVERRRR!
By DawnVerified Reviewer from Alfred, ME on 9/11/2009
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Reliable
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Fast Action, Nighttime, Special Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

I use this product to prevent wash out of color when doing portraits. My portraits come out GREAT now. I have a Nikon D60 and the puffer fits perfectly.I never leave for a photo shoot without it.This is the best invention everrrr!

Images shared by: Dawn

My Niece Alexis

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Love the Gary Fong Puffer

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a must have item
By Barbara the Wildlife PhotographerVerified Purchaser from Richmond, VA on 6/19/2009
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Fast Action, Nighttime, Special Events, Tote Along, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

The Gary Fong Puffer Pop-Up Flash Diffuser is one of the best items that I have purchased and has greatly improved my photographs, especially those of birds and wildlife. I no longer see "white eyes" that glow. I cannot believe that I waited so long to purchase this product.

Images shared by: Barbara the Wildlife Photographer

Northern Cardinal on Park Bench

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for taming the popup flash
By vbxtVerified Reviewer from Virginia Beach, VA on 6/12/2009
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Tote Along
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

I bought this to use for casual close range indoor shots using the popup flash on my D5000 when I don't want to carry my SB-600 Speedlight around.

It produces excellent results for me, within a range of about 10 feet or so. It nicely softens the popup flash.

It is a bit flimy, and it weighs next to nothing. I wish it were a bit more substantial.

Overall, it makes the popup flash quite usable.

Images shared by: vbxt

no diffuser

Image Thumbnail

with Puffer diffuser

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Could be better design and less fragile!
By Big AlVerified Purchaser from Easton PA on 6/3/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Difficult to Use
Best Uses:
Close -ups
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

Must be installed while disassembled!
Cannot raise or lower flash when unit is installed.
Must install holding unit first, raise flash then install diffuser. Poor fit. Time consuming.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
awesome pics you can tell the differense
By Leo from Daly City on 5/21/2009
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Nighttime, Special Events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

I would recomend it to everyone spacially if youre a begginer. you will love the pics you took pics are so mellow so warm you gonna love it!! for [$]? you got nothing to loose! try for youre self you will see the difference.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash Diffuser
By JonVerified Purchaser from Las Vegas, NV on 5/6/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Professional looking, Reliable
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Nighttime, Portrait, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

I bought the Puffer to use on a wedding for a friend of mine. Photos came out better than I expect. Would recommend this to anyone.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Display Photo is Misleading
By Photo ChickVerified Purchaser from Fairburn, GA on 4/27/2009
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Coverage is limited
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

I was excited about the prospect having a clip on light diffuser, as I was using a coffeee filter secured by a rubberband. Unfortunately, the Puffer Pop-Up provided little to no diffusion of the flash. The Puffer sits too far away from the flash and light bleeds over the top or bottom. For now I will continue to use the coffee filter.

 
Simply Amazing
By NovalindaVerified Reviewer from Reseda, CA on 3/30/2009
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Nighttime, Special Events, Tote Along, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

Very useful in every way, and not to mention satisfying results. However, its plastic body needs to be rethink, as it is not strong enough to withstand the fast hand and eye of a photojournalist photographer. In other words you might want to have a spare.

Images shared by: Novalinda

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Won't Fit D60 Nikon
By Photo PhillyVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, Pa on 2/24/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Difficult to Use, Weak Construction, Wont fit D60
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

The "foot" of Puffer won't slip into shoe of D-60. Told by Gary Fong Inc person that some of the older ones might not fight. Note: on list of Nikons it is supposed to fit, D-60 not on that list.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for closeups & low distance
By Marco in DentonVerified Reviewer from Denton, TX on 2/21/2009
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Close -ups
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

Great on concept since it killed the harshness of the pop-up light, but it ate up all the light needed to properly expose the picture if it was more than 5 feet away. I tried a variety of different settings and exposures, but nothing that was close to what I needed. I was hoping that this would be a cheap fix to my problem of not having to buy a flash to bounce / built in diffuser flash but unfortunately it didnt. Don't get me wrong. It is a great product for closeups and small ranges but was not what i was looking for.

 
Good buy, but be careful.
By YupVerified Purchaser from Tarpon Springs, FL on 2/8/2009
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Lightweight, Softens Light
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Nighttime, Special Events, Tote Along, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

Broke the first day I bought it but it was an easy fix and its worked like a dream since. The hot-shoe adapter is it's weak point. Worth the buy, just be careful.

 
Works Great
By MaryVerified Purchaser from Ft Myers,FL on 1/28/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Best Uses:
Special Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

Special group photo settings (large) (35) or more people. I really like the idea I do not have to use high powered flash. for the group on inside pictures when outside light is avaliable.

 
I love it
By SteveVerified Reviewer from Elsmere KY on 1/14/2009
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Lightweight, Reliable, Softens Light
Cons:
Bulky, Unreliable Storage
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Fast Action, Nighttime, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

good price, its a good tool for the beginner, may not be the best for the pro, but great for the beginner on a budget

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Maybe you can live without this
By Yak FishermanVerified Purchaser from Hawaii on 12/14/2008
Pros:
Lightweight, Softens Light
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Tote Along
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

I'm a sucker for gadgets, but this one is so so. Tried it with mixed results, maybe I'll play with it a bit longer but not sure if there is much need for this other than close ups.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Gadget for the Price!
By bizzyphotomomVerified Purchaser from Detroit, MI on 12/3/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
IndoorFlash Photos, Special Events, Tote Along
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

This is a "must" for anyone that ever uses the pop-up flash on their camera. For the price, there is no reason not to purchase it. It makes all your flash snapshots look 100% better. The diffuser is great for use with kids, especially babies and toddlers that can be afraid of the flash and helps you avoid all the complaints from your subjects about being blinded by the flash. I've found it reduces red-eye issues as well. I use the diffuser with a Nikon D60 and while it doesn't fit on the flash shoe perfectly, it is good enough. Ingenious little product, especially for the price!

 
A Great Addition
By cameragalVerified Purchaser from Pomeroy, WA on 12/3/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Family, Holidays, Special Events, Tote Along, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

This is one of those devices that makes you wonder, "Why didn't I think of that?" I use a Nikon D40X and a Nikon D90 and it fits on both. This diffuser makes the flash much more subtle and less obtrusive when I am taking pictures at family and social events. The difference in the pictures is not terribly dramatic but it is a definite improvement.
My concern is that I can see taking it on and off the cameras and putting it together and taking it apart again and again for storage may cause the holes in the diffuser to wear out or the diffuser to crack. I don't know that, it just seems a little delicate in that area.
The bracket fits very tightly into the hot shoe, I am hoping that it will loosen up a little with time.
This is a very nice device, and for the money even if it has to be replaced on occasion it is well worth it.

 
high results at little cost!
By sam the glamVerified Purchaser from milano on 11/28/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable, Softens Light, That little extra touch
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Nighttime
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

a simple addition that makes a photo count!

 
A good idea!
By Photo ProVerified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 11/27/2008
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Nighttime, Tote Along, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

I'm sure it won't replace the old time-honored white card rubber-banned to the auxilary flash head, but I have never found anything satisfactory for the pop-up flash units built into modern cameras -- until now! It's a great idea that works!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simple solution
By AngelleVerified Purchaser from new orleans,LA on 11/26/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Special Events, Tote Along
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

Great for portraits, it gets rid of that annoying shine on the skin of your subject.
Easy to attach, and convient to fit in your bag.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
What a great gadget!
By AmyVerified Purchaser from tega cay, sc on 11/7/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Tote Along
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

HOnestly, I was somewhat skeptical of its effectiveness, but I was elated with the results even with just point and shoot snapshots. Practically eliminates the harshness and drastic shadows caused by the pop up flash. Highly recommended.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Puffer Pop-up Flash
By Spring Valley PhotoVerified Purchaser from West Chester, PA on 11/3/2008
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography, Photography
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Lightweight, Reliable, Softens Light, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

The Puffer pop-up flash diffuser is great. We did some tests shots and the results were amazing. The softness and the color tones from the diffuser were quite obvious as opposed to the bare flash.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great buy, almost perfect
By ricokaboomVerified Purchaser from texas on 11/2/2008
Best Uses:
Babies and children, Photography
Pros:
Lightweight, Softens Light, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not a one size fits all
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

I bought the diffuser to soften the flash so that it would not blind my baby. The flash no longer frightens her and it gives me awsome pictures. The only bad part is that it did not fit my camera. i did not realize that it attaches to the metal bracket and my camera does not have that. I really liked what it did so i made my own way to attach it and it works perfectly.

 
I love the product!!!
By Cecilia the designerVerified Purchaser from fayetteville, AR on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Reliable
Cons:
Difficult To Set Up
Best Uses:
Dorm Room
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

This product works better indoors with some light.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great invention for the amateur or pro
By EvidencePhotographyVerified Purchaser from Seattle on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Value Oriented
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

I am a professional portrait and events photographer and I don't always want to lug my heavy external flash with diffuser attachment around especially for my personal photos. Having a pop-up flash diffuser is great for avoiding harsh light and shadows in my photos! It's affordable and easy to snap onto my DSLR. My only complaint is that it cannot be attached to my compact digital which also has a pop-up flash.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Puffer Pop-up is worth the low price
By Mom to girlsVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 8/12/2008
Best Uses:
Photography
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Lightweight, Reliable, Softens Light, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

I bought this for my Nikon D40 to soften the flash and it works great. I took a few pictures of my newborn with the Puffer and it really made a difference. You can't beat the price either. It fits well in my camera bag and is super easy to use.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Doesn't get any better than this!
By Jens the ShutterbugVerified Reviewer from Northern Utah on 8/2/2008
Best Uses:
Infant Photography, Macro photography, Model Photography, Night Photography, Pet Photography, Photography, Portrait Photography
Pros:
Collapsible, Lightweight, Softens Light
Cons:
Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

My Inkley's guy always keeps me up-to-par on the newest things. Just yesterday he showed me the Puffer, created by Gary Pong, which softens the harsh light generated by built-in flashes on SLR cameras.My Digital Rebel XTi benefits tremendously from this ingenious attachment, as I no longer need to bring my lighting kit along to most of my portrait shoots. The puffer does the majority of the light-softening effect that I am looking to achieve.The fact that it is collapsible makes it easy to fit into my camera case. I don't have to worry about carrying too much stuff around.The only thing I could see being a negative aspect to this product is the plastic construction. It seems to be somewhat flimsy, but with proper care it could last a long time. Let me not dissuade you from buying this, it's worth much more [$]. I am going to buy another one for my other camera too.

Images shared by: Jens the Shutterbug

without the Puffer

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Taken with the Puffer

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
PRODUCES AMAZING RESULTS
By RETIRED58Verified Purchaser from HOUSTON, TX on 8/1/2008
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Photography
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Lightweight, Reliable, Softens Light
Cons:
Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

I have not had time to use the Puffer in all conditions but so far it is great and convenient to use. For the price, you can't beat it. I do not take it apart to store it like the instructions suggest as I do not want to wear out the holes and pegs. I may even glue it to the ones I will use all the time.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Instantly makes flash beautiful!!!
By MoschotisVerified Reviewer from Brooklyn NY on 6/21/2008
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography
Pros:
Lightweight, Softens Light
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong Puffer Pop-up On-Camera Flash Diffuser:

It collapses and fits in a pouch. The difference between using it and not using it is like night and day. Most important for wide angle lens shots, sometimes there is a shadow caused by the lens itself. This eliminates it. For far away it slows recycle times so you should shoot at ISO 800 for far away.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.