Buy the Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: SLR Lenses (All)
Quantaray's lightweight, compact, high-image-quality telephoto zoom lens with macro capability of 1:2 that can be used with digital cameras. This new lens is a Di type lens using an optical system with improved multi-coating designed to function with digital SLR cameras as well as film cameras.

With this 70-300mm telephoto zoom lens, flipping a macro switch in the focal length range of 180mm to 300mm obtains a maximum magnification ratio of 1:2 at a minimum focus distance as short as 37.4-inches, enabling close-up shots of flowers, insects, and other objects that normally require the use of a specially designed macro lens. Moreover, this is a zoom lens that casually offers the distant capture and foreshortening effect pleasures of the 300mm ultra-telephoto world.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(6), Durable(8), Easily interchangeable(9), Easy to use(5), Fast / accurate auto-focus(8)
Best Uses:
Everyday(4), General purpose(7), Landscape photography(3), Macro photography(3), Portraits(4)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(15)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Can't complain
By rajojomanikVerified Reviewer from Toronto, Canada on 6/18/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Macro, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

I've had this lens for over 2 years now and it had served me well. I bought this without expecting much but it exceeded my expectations. Initially used it for Macro work and now just getting into wildlife. [@]

Images shared by: rajojomanik

Great Blue Heron

Image Thumbnail

Nutty Blue Jay

Image Thumbnail

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for the price...but
By Jawsh3539Verified Reviewer from Salt Lake City Utah on 5/10/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Good Price
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

I just bought this for a cheap qnd quick lens to use for longer shots. I found that without a tripod & either timer/remote release,your shots over 200mm are not consistent enough. It is very sensitive to camera shake and the focus is a little slow. Under 200mm, it works great. I had bought it for the 200mm-300mm range so the inconsistent focus was troubling for me. However, if you are not able to pay for more costly glass, then this will do.

 
Great Lens
By Person, Place or ThingVerified Purchaser from Lewisville, Tx on 4/13/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

Easy to use, Wide opening lens

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love quantaray products
By photo houndVerified Reviewer from Sunnyside, Utah on 3/10/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry with use of double
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

I love quantaray lenses and have no problems with them except when using a doubler and maxing out the mm range to 300mm. In auto foucus mode the camers will not stop when it is focused on the subject it continues past the subject and is blurry and out of focus. Other than that it is a great lens and product.

 
Surprised at how well this performed!
By MickeyVerified Reviewer from El Cajon, CA on 11/24/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
A little noisy, Softness when fully zoom
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Home, Macro Photography, Portraits, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

When I bought this lens I obviously didn't expect much but when I started using it I was impressed by the quality of pictures that came from this cheap product! I bought the lens for my nikon D90 because 18-105mm just isn't enough sometimes. I just got started in photography and am learning what a great image looks like. It seems that no matter what lens you get its never perfect but for the price I paid for this item I am shocked it has done so well. Can't give it a PERFECT score but again, its great for the price paid. Sometimes the lens would not focus at some points in auto focus mode but that's expected when fully zoomed. I tried out the 70-300mm nikon lens and it focuses pretty much at the same speed as the quantaray 70-300mm lens but the nikon VR technology makes a big difference when fully zoomed. Only feature I wish they had was some kind of stabilization technology like nikon has with their VR but that would probably raise the price of this lens to $300 or more.

Images shared by: Mickey

Macroshot Captured at approximantly 250-300mm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Good for the buck
By NormVerified Reviewer from Gig Harbor WA on 11/17/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Landscapes, Macro Photography, Portraits, Traveling, Wild life
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

I use this lens for almost everything we bought our first one back in 1997 it finaly wore out and it was cheaper to replace it then repair it.so we replaced it 11-15-2008 It dose everything I need it to do. Love it.

Images shared by: Norm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Good peformance for the price
By Terry the image takerVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles on 10/20/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Home, Portraits, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

If you really don't need an expensive fast f2.8 300mm lens, then this is a good alternative. Most uses will be in daylight so the f5.6 should'nt be a problem. And I rarely have the need for a 300mm lens, so why pay the big money for it. It's not super fast but it will get the job done in decent lighting.

 
excellent picture quality, easy to use
By keithVerified Purchaser from Lynnfield, MA on 9/23/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Improves Product Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Sporting Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

using for sports photography with great resuts

 
Quick As Snap and Click
By Olivia The Nature and Animal PhotographeVerified Purchaser from Lee's Summit, Missouri on 9/3/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Improves Product Function, Lightweight
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Macro Photography, Wildlife Photography, Zoo
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

I think that this camera is good for starters, if you are looking for a long lens that is durable, and fun! It is easy to use, straight to the point, and takes clear and far away pictures in a quick click of a button. The length is perfect for what I do, I haven't seen a macro even take such beautiful macros.

 
I love this lens. I use it everyday!!!!
By MHVerified Reviewer from New Jersey on 7/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

I use this lens the most. Almost everyday I am outside taking pictures with this lens. I love it!

Images shared by: MH

Inlet

Image Thumbnail
 
Great for the Price
By Crazy AsianVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 11/21/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

This is a good lens for the price. Takes great photos, fast focusing.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't knock it till you've tried it...
By SpoonmanVerified Reviewer from Santa Clarita, CA on 10/21/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Documentation
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

I bought this lens for my Pentax K100D Super after comparing specs and reading other reviews. In case you are wondering it looks and feels almost identical to a Tamron AF70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2. Several forum posts complained of a plastic mount(not sure if they actually bought one or just bash the name), but mine is metal. This lens has been very solid so far. It comes with a hood and 5 year warranty, use the hood unless you are using the flash. For the best results you should stop down by 1 or 2. It will sharpen up the 200mm+ range. I was able to take some great macro shots handheld at 300mm in good light. Indoor in soft lighting required more work, I needed to use shake reduction and or flash to get a crisp shot at 300mm. I did notice some CA at 300mm, shoot RAW if you can and fix in post production. But I have also seen this in the Tamron and Sigma lenses in this class. I also got some vignetting with the arperture wide open, stopping down 1 took care of it very well.All in all a good lens for the money. I was impressed by the feel of it, it does not feel cheap as the [$] price would lead you to think. It actually feels more solid than some of the big name entry level lenses. I noticed no lens creep and had no problems popping the lens on and off, aligment was true and solid. But don't even try and compare to the high end lenses, of course they cost 3 times more...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lense. Versatile. Inexpensive.
By DogmanVerified Reviewer from Littleton, Co on 8/13/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Digital beginner, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Price, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

A lot more lense than I had expected. Very easy to use, and you don't have to exceed your budget. I recomended this lense to my friends.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A LOT of Lens for the Money
By Scotty Z from Tempe, AZ on 7/21/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quiet, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Feels a little cheap
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

This lens is an amazing value. I just got back from a vacation in Alaska and it performed amazingly well and proved to be hugely versitile.

From long tight shots to panoramas to close sharp macros this lens did it all for me.

If you only own the lens that came with your body and are looking for a second lens this is the one for you.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By SalVerified Reviewer from Lansing, MI on 6/21/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Pentax:

I bought a Pentax digital SLR camera for a class I'm taking to learn how to take GOOD pictures. It came with a really good lens for general use but didn't want to be up close and personal all the time. Candid shots are sometimes the best ones. I bought this lens because it did what I needed it to do at very little cost. The photo attached was taken on an overcast day using the flash but I think it did a GREAT job. I used the macro setting with the built - in - camera shake control so I wouldn't have to get the tripod out as it was starting to rain. As you can see it took a GREAT picture. I am very impressed with how well it did.

Images shared by: Sal

Lily on overcast day

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.