Buy the Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum image
 
(based on 17 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: SLR Lenses (All)
Quantaray's lightweight, compact, high-image-quality telephoto zoom lens with macro capability of 1:2 that can be used with digital cameras. This new lens is a Di type lens using an optical system with improved multi-coating designed to function with digital SLR cameras as well as film cameras.

With this 70-300mm telephoto zoom lens, flipping a macro switch in the focal length range of 180mm to 300mm obtains a maximum magnification ratio of 1:2 at a minimum focus distance as short as 37.4-inches, enabling close-up shots of flowers, insects, and other objects that normally require the use of a specially designed macro lens. Moreover, this is a zoom lens that casually offers the distant capture and foreshortening effect pleasures of the 300mm ultra-telephoto world.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 17 reviews)
81% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Casual user(5), Enthusiast(4)
Pros:
Consistent output(4), Durable(8), Easily interchangeable(10), Easy to clean(6), Easy to configure(3)
Best Uses:
General purpose(9), Special effects(3), Sports/action(5), Wildlife(5)
Primary use:
Personal(4)
 
WAS nice when it first bought it.
By Spokenvoice from Flint, MI on 3/25/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

When i first purchased this lens it worked great. I've had it for approx 5 months and I have not used it as much as my other lens and now it will not focus at all, it' tries but does not grab the subject. Spend the extra money for the Sony lens. You get what you pay for.

 
Awesome lens
By DeeVerified Purchaser from Mesa AZ on 3/2/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

Had not used Quandaray before. It's definitely a great lens for the dollar.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Stay Away!!
By craigb456Verified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 12/16/2008
Pros:
Good Pictures
Cons:
Unreliable, Wear Easily
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

I bought this lenes because i wanted more zoom then what came with my sony A350. The lens takes good pictures a worked great for about 3 weeks then it started clicking. I took it back and they said it was just focus noise, nothing to worry about. It was not that loud when I bought it. Now it is realy loud every time I use it I think it is going to break. They said they could send it off to repair at my cost and that's all they said. Stay away from this lens and spend a little more to buy a better lens. [$]

 
This is amazing for its price!!!
By Chris from Fountain Valley, CA on 11/28/2008
Pros:
Consistent Performance, Durable, Easy To Configure, Sharp focus, Versatile
Cons:
Slow focus
Best Uses:
Nature, Outside, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

This lens is really amazing for its price.The zoom is really good. The only down side is the slow focus, so if u sports fans wanna take those shots at a game i wouldnt recommend this lense. If you are a nature photographer this is the lense for you. At times it wont focus on the subject so sharp but if u take a few steps back, the picture will turn out great. So, if you are low on your cash but want to buy a quality lens,this is the one for you!

Images shared by: Chris

Taken with a sony a200

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Taken with sony a200

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
I CAN'T LIVE WITHOUT MY ZOOM
By Sassy WildFlowerVerified Purchaser from Framingham, MA on 8/27/2008
Pros:
Consistent Performance, Durable, Easy To Configure, Get's close, Takes great pictures
Cons:
there is none
Best Uses:
In nature
Describe Yourself:
Technically Challenged
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

I recently got into photography with my boyfriend and LOVE IT. My Sony Alpha came with a lens, but I really wanted a zoom so I ordered this one. He makes fun of me when we go on trips because this is the ONLY LENS THAT I EVER USE. I don't feel right attaching anything but this zoom. It also has a really good macro feature on it as well. I am guaranteed to catch a bird upclose in flight or a bug on a flower with this lens. I thought I wanted other lenses but I know I will keep going back to this zoom. IT'S GREAT!

 
Just Good, I prefer Sony the original
By TommyVerified Purchaser from Hawaii on 8/25/2008
Primary use:
Business
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

Sometimes when I use the 300 mm lenght, I got blury pictures

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great lens, surprising price
By doodles3333Verified Reviewer from washington d.c. on 6/20/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy functions, Easy To Configure, Easy to use
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy, Trying to become a pro
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

this product is great, the price is less than the kit lens my sony a 200 came with, and it comes with macro which is a great bonus. In all anyone looking for a cheep lens that is better than the equivalent sony lens buy this!!!!!!!!!

 
Excellent
By DanteVerified Reviewer from Williamsburg, VA on 11/4/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

Better than the Sony brand and has more features. The price is right and the performance is powerful.

 
This lens amazed me right from the start
By Hairball from Tacoma, WA on 9/29/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
Pros:
Brilliant Colors, Consistent Output, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Quiet, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Car Photography, General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

I bought my lens used, and noticed an immediate difference over my old, heavy 70-200mm zoom. I do car photography as a side business, and I was amazed at how crisp and sharp my pictures turn out with this lens. And the colors, WOW! I'm simply amazed at how vivid and true the colors come out! Love this lens! And it's even lighter than my camera body!

Images shared by: Hairball

Taken at 300mm, 1:2 macro, no filters

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Sweet car pic, shot with sweet lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very versatile lens for the money.
By TonyVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL. on 8/20/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Quiet, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

Needed a lens to get closer pictures of my children as they played their team sports as well as take photos on excursions. This lens has done more than I expected and continue to find more pros than cons everytime I use it.

Images shared by: Tony

Leah at the Brookfield Zoo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Heritage flight at Chicago Air and Water show 2007

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
This was one great purchase
By mike7677Verified Reviewer from Pittsburgh, Pa on 7/10/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quiet, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Macro Shots
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

I love macro photography. And I couldn't beleive the photos this thing took. I'm really impressed with this.


And that's saying something. Quataray and I didn't have the best track record. That is up until now.

Images shared by: mike7677

Macro flora

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Smooth operation
By peepawVerified Reviewer from Birmingham, AL on 5/2/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

Better price than the Sony 75-300 plus has the Macro function that the Sony doesn't.

Images shared by: peepaw

Bluebird of happiness about 40-50 feet away

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very good for the price.
By c-dogVerified Reviewer from texas on 3/30/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean
Cons:
Trouble with low-light AF
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

Plastic housing is really light weight. Images seem to be sharp all around. I use this lens to shoot high school ice hockey.

The only problem it has is that it has trouble with auto focus in low light conditions, even with the Alpha's focus-assist flash. Easy to work around with manual focus.

It's a great value, though. I don't believe that you could find a better lens in this category for this price.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would rate higher if it went to 1:1
By chris from phx, AZ on 3/9/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Great zoom lens
Cons:
nikon 105mm macro better, Not good for macro, Smaller than 12"
Best Uses:
3" by 6" macro, Zoom
Describe Yourself:
dental photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

good for the money but if fine detail smaller than 1" a 100mm macro would be best

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW
By mike the travelerVerified Reviewer from vancouver,wa on 3/7/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

This lens is great I used it in panama and got great shots of wild life and the macro gave me awsome shots of passion flower. Easy to use. I think it great for hobbyist you wont be sorry.

Images shared by: mike the traveler

Wild Passion flower in charges river

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Excellent image.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By Joe the HunterVerified Reviewer from Cincinnati, OH on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

I love using this lens. It helps me cut out things I don't want in the picture. I works great and is reliable.

[15 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

 
I Love this lens
By Matt from St. George, SC on 12/13/2006
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Have seen any
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Special Effects

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Sony, Maxxum:

I bought this lens on 12/02/06 and LOVE it. I can't believe how crisp my photos look. The lens is easy to use and install, it is lighter then the old lens I had on my X-700 and a joy to use.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.