Buy the Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: SLR Lenses (All)
  • Optimized DX lens design is compatible with all Nikon D-Series digital SLR cameras
  • Every Nikon SLR DX format image sensor incorporates individual micro-optics on each of the sensors pixels. Micro Optics construction ensures that the image from the camera's lens will be precisely aligned with each pixel's sensor and that performance will be optimized.
  • Compact 3.8X zoom covers portrait to wide view (76 degrees at 18mm to 22degrees 50-ft. at 70mm)
  • Three Nikon ED glass elements, plus aspheric element for low distortion and minimized chromatic aberration
  • Exclusive Silent Wave Motor for high-speed auto-focusing with accuracy and super-quiet operation
  • Internal Focusing (IF) for smoother operation and great balance
  • M/A mode for instant switching from auto-focus to manual
  • Nikon D-Signal technology for enhanced flash and ambient exposure control

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(6), Easily interchangeable(9), Fast / accurate auto-focus(10), Rugged(3)
Best Uses:
Back-up(4), General purpose(7), Professional work(5)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4)
 
Nikon's BEST BANG for the Buck!
By BKVerified Reviewer from Tulsa, OK on 8/8/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens:

This was a kit lens that came with my D70 and it has proven to be a far better investment that I ever knew. After buying the much more expensive Nikon 18-200, I realized that I already had the range I shot most with my 18-70. I wish I'd saved my money for something else. The 18-70's a winner!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
18-70 best all around lens out there
By Just ask JoeVerified Reviewer from Sacramento CA. on 2/7/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Home, Landscape Photography, Macro Photography, Portraits, Studio, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens:

I have been using this and the 24-85 nikkor lenses for almost all my work. Whether in the studio, field, portraits, class, court, action, I have found both the lenses to be fast to focus, clear sharp optics. All Nikon lenses that I have used are great. The weight and balance of the lense with the older d70's, and the newer d3's seem to just fit right on, and I really don't have any of the fatigue problems I used to have with the older lenses on the film cameras. Day to day use taken over 10's of thousands of photos, I have only good comments for the lenses. They have kept me in business and my customers very happy with my work. What more could I ask??

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
pretty darn good for the $$
By nikonshooter311Verified Reviewer from Saint Marys, GA on 3/21/2007
Pros:
Affordable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Focus not always sharp, Heavy but manageable
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens:

I use this lens on both my D80 and D200, and for a general purpose inexpensive lens, I think the 18-70dx hits the mark. Popluar focal length for most "walking around shooting", AF is good at the long end but does leave a little to be desired at the wider angles. A little heavy for its size--but not unmanagable. I think that for its length, speed and construction materials this lense does a fine job; however, If you are even considering the 18-200 VR, which is going to cost you another $[...], take the plunge--I have had it for a few months now, have shot all kinds of stuff with it, and could not be happier with it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By Jeffatpm from Orem, Utah on 2/20/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens:

This is a great lens, fast focusing as well has a sort of clutch where once it auto focuses you can still fine tune the focus if necessary. Sturdy lens does small end wide angle shots at 18mm, great for nature, i've done a lot of nature and landscpe shots that have turned out beautiful.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Way overrated....
By JalywolVerified Reviewer from Albany, NY on 2/17/2007
Pros:
None
Cons:
Bad color dynamic range, Poor color rendition
Best Uses:
none
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens:

Everyone raves about this lens. However, I have never been happy with the color rendition or dynamic color range that it produces. After trying the cheaper Nikon 18-55mm (which did a surprisingly good job), and a Tamron, as well as another Nikon prime lens, I realized that the color rendition of the 18-70mm is just plain lousy. Maybe it has to do with their color coating, not sure, but it is not the lens of choice if you are into subtle color gradiations in your imaging. It simply makes everything look flat.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent starter lens
By RickVerified Reviewer from Marietta, GA on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Manual focus too difficul

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens:

Excellent starter lens. Only problem is manual focus. The focus does not have enough turn amount for fine work.

 
Solid but not distinguished lens
By Joel KleppingerVerified Reviewer from on the road on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Fast focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens:

I like the lens, but there's nothing exceptional about it. It's a tad pricey, it doesn't have VR, and it isn't particularly fast.

That said, it feels great in use and focuses nice and fast. My unit developed a stuck zoom problem which Nikon fixed over a 3 week period.

Images shared by: Joel Kleppinger

Colorado falls

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Very nice photo.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Couldnt be a better Kit lense unless VR
By KLandesVerified Reviewer from Palm Desert, CA, USA on 12/1/2006
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Professional Work, Upgrade

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens:

For a starter lense on the D200 it owns in quality, ans functuality and economicly i can get most shots in, damn good panoramas, sports shots with this lense love it

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it
By minimoodVerified Reviewer from Olympia ,WA on 11/20/2006
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Professional Work

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens:

Came as a base lens with D200 kit. I've found it to be my favorite all around lens. My prime lens collection is great for in house, but in the field this is one of my favorite zooms.

Images shared by: minimood

Tumwater falls Washington

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thanks you for submitting your beautiful photo. Nicely done.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens that is very versatile.
By Photographer manVerified Reviewer from Greenville, SC on 11/15/2006
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Versatile
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Professional Work

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens:

This is a great lens. It is one that every photographer should have. I use it for portraits in my studio, and sometimes I use it on the field.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Prtrait Lens
By Someone who knows from Orlando, Fl on 11/11/2006
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-70mm AF-S DX f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED Zoom Lens:

I use this lens at work for portrait shots. Auto focus is quick and accurate and the picture quality is crisp. Also very durable. I put it through a lot and it still works great. Great standard lens to have.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.