Buy the Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: SLR Lenses (All)
The world's fastest telephoto zoom lens, ideal for indoor sports photography and photojournalism in dim light. Incorporates Auto-Focus and Internal Focusing technology. D-type lens technology provides distance information to Nikon N90s, N90, N70 and N50 cameras. ED glass for sharp pictures.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
5 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(4), Durable(11), Easily interchangeable(4), Fast / accurate auto-focus(8), Good value(4)
Cons:
Heavy(6)
Best Uses:
Landscape/scenery(3), Low light(3), Night photography(3), Portraits(3), Sports/action(5)
 
beautiful pics
By nate the greatVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 6/14/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens:

this lens takes amazing pics with lots of detail and beautiful colors

 
Amazing Lens
By Lasting Expressions PhotoVerified Reviewer from Odum, GA on 5/31/2010
Pros:
Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens:

I have used a number of Nikon lenses and this is the best lens I have used in my photography. I love shooting weddings with this, wildlife rich color and accurate focus right on the money. I love it very much. Crispness is beyond what I expected.

Images shared by: Lasting Expressions Photo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
My absolute favorite Nikon lens
By Keith BVerified Reviewer from Colorado Springs, CO on 2/18/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction, Tack sharp images
Cons:
Didn't buy it sooner
Best Uses:
Indoor use, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens:

Very fast focus, incredible bokeh, excellent glass all engineered within a package that has been proven over and over. Also a great choice for those shooting with full frame bodies such as the D700 and D3.

While shooting with this lens the first day, I captured one of the best portrait images in a year and a half.

Buy this lens, your quality will improve as soon as you put this lens on your body. You will not regret the price either.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Quality and AF Speed
By BubbaVerified Reviewer from Luzerne, PA on 8/27/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens:

I purchased this lens because I couldn't afford the 70-200mm f2.8 VR. I shoot mainly weddings for budget minded people and MMA/ Boxing events. This lens is absolutely flawless! Built for the pro, priced for the enthusiast. Focus is fantastic in low light situations, and tack sharp! A+++

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
My New Zoom
By Roy BoyVerified Purchaser from Des Moines, Iowa on 4/29/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens:

Sports, general use

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT ASSET TO MY NIKON D80
By PHOTOS BY CINDYVerified Purchaser from COLORADO on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, High Quality
Cons:
Expensive
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens:

WITH THE PRICE BEING THE ONLY DRAWBACK TO THIS LENS, A SEMI-SERIOUS PHOTOGRAPHER WILL STILL APPRECIATE THE WONDERFUL BOKEH THAT THE F2.8 PROVIDES. I HAVE FOUND IT TO BE A GREAT ASSET WHEN TAKING PORTRAITS OUTDOORS. THE SUBJECT IS IN BEAUTIFUL FOCUS WHILE THE BACKGROUND FADES NICELY INTO A BLUR OF FOLIAGE. I AM SURE THAT THIS LENS WILL MORE THAN MAKE UP FOR THE PRICE WITH THE ENJOYMENT THAT I ANTICIPATE IN THE COMING YEARS.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best
By fubarVerified Reviewer from Pittsburgh on 3/29/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Everthing
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens:

Great lense.
For low lighting, portraits, everything.
One of Nikons sharpest and fastest lens.

Images shared by: fubar

Very low light college wrestling match

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, WVU vs Pitt

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Definite
By WalterVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO. on 3/13/2008
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Portrait, Stop-action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens:

This is a great lens for just about any type of photography. It produces absolutely beautiful portraits with exceptional bokah. Combine that with the ability to get extremely fast and accurate action shots and you have the best lens on the market in this price range. It's a bit heavy but very usable, especially with a monopod.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
The "basic" lens for any Nikon DSLR
By CT-Digital_PhotogVerified Reviewer from Westbrook, CT on 2/5/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Cons:
Big, Expensive 77mm filters, Heavy
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports, Street Photography, Theatre photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens:

There's no better lens than this. I made it my second lens purchase for my D70 more than 3 years ago, and it's been one of my "basic" lenses. I also own a 28-75mm f2.8 Tamron XR Di, and with these two lenses, you can cover virtually all photo ops. The only negative is its size and weight -- they're considerable, and you might want to follow my example and also purchase a Nikon 70-210mm f4-5.6 for those times when you need to travel light and won't be shooting available light.

Images shared by: CT-Digital_Photog

It's great for theatre shots...

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

...sports

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
A really great buy
By All Nikon, all the timeVerified Reviewer from Ballwin, MO on 5/14/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Action sports, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens:

This is as close to a professional lens as it gets without paying the huge professional price. Everyone raves about the 18-200 from Nikon and it is a good lens but this one is great. Much faster and gives you more options, especially indoors. I highly recommend this lens if image quality is important to you.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for low-light action shots
By Hoops fanVerified Reviewer from Florida on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Low light action photos
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-200 mm f/2.8D ED AF Lens:

I've had this lens for more than a year and shot more than 10,000 photos with it on a D50. I got it to shoot high school and middle school basketball games in gyms that don't always have great light, and have also used it for night football games. Slower lenses won't stop the action, even at 1600 ISO, but this lens does a nice job. It's a constant f2.8 throughout its zoom range, which is nice, and the lens zooms internally so it does not change length as it zooms. Nikon makes a similar VR lens that's much more expensive, and it may be worth the extra bucks in some circumstances, but for action shots, if you're stopping the action, you probably won't miss the vibration reduction, and this lens is smaller and lighter than the VR lens, in addition to being less expensive. (I ususally do use it on a monopod, however.) Pictures with this lens are very sharp, and distortion is minimal. If you need a fast f2.8 zoom telephoto, this lens is a great value.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.