Buy the Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Round Lens Filters
Absorbs ultra violet and blue rays without affecting exposure. The Digital UV filter also acts to protect the lens and minimizes flare and ghost reflections to optimize the performance of your lenses for digital imaging. The very thin frames of these filtes allow pictures to be taken with most normal range wide-angle lens without vignetting.

What Make this Filter special for Digital?
Special Coatings - This filter has a newlly developed ultra-low reflection coating for digital camera to minimize flare and ghost reflections.

Black-ink Outer Rim Processing - The outer edges of the optical filter glass are blacked with ink to minimize inner reflection.

Special frame - All surfaces of these filters have a satin-like smooth surface to minimize extra reflection.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Clear optics(9), Consistent effect(4), Firm mount(5), Strong construction(7)
Best Uses:
Lens protection(9), UV protection(9)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4), Photo enthusiast(4)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
First filter to buy!
By RenneVerified Reviewer from Happy Valley, UT on 6/17/2009
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Color Correction, Filter Protection, Image Manipulation, Lens Protection, UV Protection
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter:

When I bought my nikon d90, this was the first accessory suggested to buy. I am so grateful for sales associates who are photographers also. I love this filter. It is part of my camera. I use it to protect the actual lens. I stack filters on top of it. I never take it off. Or at least haven't since day one of purchase. It really does a great job to keep my pictures more crisp and looking clean. This filter enhances all the functions on the d90. A definite must buy!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
As advertised
By jmatthiesVerified Reviewer from Flagstaff, AZ on 2/16/2009
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Lens Protection, UV Protection
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter:

I wanted a UV filter to protect the kit lens on my XSi. Also, since I live at a high altitude, cutting UV is always good. The low profile is nice, haven't noticed any vignetting. The filter doesn't seem to have affected image quality negatively, so I leave it on all of the time.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
As good as a Hoya because it is a Hoya
By RickyrocksterVerified Reviewer from North Pittsburgh Pa on 10/26/2008
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Lens Protection, UV Protection
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter:

I have researched and found that this filter is the same filter as the Hoya 72mm DMC PRO1 Digital Multi-Coated UV filter. It’s a great filter and it won’t distort or produce any vignetting even with wide angle lenses. It won’t blur or smear your images in any way whatsoever. Because of the low frame height vignetting is less likely to occur and so far on my Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical IF Macro Lens mounted on Nikon D300 I have had no problems. In much of my shooting because of either location or time of day I have no control over being able to avoid shooting in the direction of the sun if I want the shot. The cool thing about this filter is the black ink dye around the outside parameter of the harden glass next to the black anodized aluminum frame. Because of this design I noticed that I have a decreased lens flare issues when I have this filter on while shooting in those types of conditions. If no other reason this would be reason enough to purchase this filter. The one review I read here mention water spots on this filter being difficult to remove, “just use an alcohol lens swab and a microfiber cloth and the water spots will be successfully removed”. I shoot all the time near splashing water in this glacier gorge where I hike and water spots can occur and that procedure has never failed me yet. This same filter with Hoya’s branding on it can be found at other online retailers for around $82.33 but none as inexpensive as Ritz! so I recommend buy the Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter from Ritz and be happy!

Images shared by: Rickyrockster

Kinzua PA area Allegheny Forest

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Kinzua PA Jakes Rocks overlook

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
No Problems
By Thomas WVerified Reviewer from Plano, Texas on 9/27/2008
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Lens Protection, UV Protection
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter:

I currently use this on my EF-S 18-55 IS and I find no problems with it. I haven't seen any problems due to the filter.It does exactly what its supposed to do, protect the lens.

[9 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
poor filter for good glass
By CarsonVerified Reviewer from Palm Harbor, FL on 7/10/2008
Pros:
Price
Cons:
Adds blur to image, Poor build quality
Best Uses:
UV Protection
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter:

I have used these filters on Canon EFS glass and didnt' have a problem. But when I switched to L glass I started to notice blur. I almost returned the lens until I realized it was the filter causing the blur. I switched to Hoya filters and no longer have any problem.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
OK if you are not shooting wide angle
By BrianVerified Reviewer from Natick, MA on 11/26/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics
Cons:
Vignetting
Best Uses:
Lens Protection, UV Protection
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter:

I have this filter to protect my Nikon 18 - 200 mm VR lens. There is noticeable vignetting when using at a focal length less than 24mm. Other than that, I suppose it's a good deal for the price.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Price
By Troy from Crowley, Tx on 6/27/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Easily Mounted, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Lens Protection, UV Protection
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter:

Snap to install and does not effect the color of the shots.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great!
By Ed from Hawaii on 5/16/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Easily Mounted, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Lens Protection
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter:

Awesome filter. Helps protect my lens against damage. Difficult to clean sometimes.

[2 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pay the extra for this filter!
By azdude123Verified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 4/27/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics, Strong Construction, Ultra-Thin
Best Uses:
Lens Protection, UV Protection
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter:

Was buying a lens at a retail store and decided I needed to pickup a UV filter to protect my lens from scratches. There was only about a [$] difference between this one and the regular UV filter, but this one is definitely a lot more sleek. It's about half the height of a normal filter. I like stacking my filters (like putting a polarizing filter on top) and I know this will help prevent vignetting. It also blends in with the lens a lot better, so it looks like there's nothing there. I would highly suggest spending the extra couple of bucks to get this one.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value
By BudmanVerified Reviewer from New Smyrna Beach, Fl on 1/25/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics
Best Uses:
Lens Protection, UV Protection
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Pro-Digital UV Filter:

Multi coated UV filter is priced right and is a good value. Sturdy product of good construction.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.