Buy the Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Round Lens Filters
A Circular Polarizer is necessary for use with auto focus cameras. Standard (or linear) polarizers can cause under exposed and out of focus pictures when used on an automatic focus camera. A polarizing filter will decrease reflections and glare from glass, water and other reflective surfaces. It can dramatically increase contrast and color saturation for sharp, vividly colored pictures.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Clear optics(9), Consistent effect(6), Easy to use(3), Firm mount(8), Strong construction(9)
Best Uses:
Color correction(4), Image manipulation(3), Lens protection(4)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(7)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT!
By KerrieVerified Reviewer from McDonough, GA on 9/24/2010
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Image Manipulation, Lens Protection
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter:

Wonderful filter! I wanted to really make the sky pop and colors vivid. This filter is great! This is my first time using flters and I love it!

*To really get the best out of this filter, you must be at a 90 degree angle between the sun and your subject. If the sun is behind you or in front of you and your subject, the lens effect will not work.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A must filter.
By Po-boyVerified Reviewer from California on 3/16/2010
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use, Firm Mount
Best Uses:
Color Correction
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter:

Needed new filters for my Canon camera and didn't want to spend an arm and leg for Canon accessories. Very satisfied with the outcome of my purchase and plan on getting more filters from Quantaray. If your serious about photography and don't want to spend all your money, this filter is a most.

Images shared by: Po-boy

From Rally Innovations photo shoot

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
works great
By The EmuVerified Reviewer from South Jersey on 8/8/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter:

Works great on my Olympus E-500 with all the lenses. Really makes shots, especially landscapes, have more dramatic colors

[15 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Filter
By DogpupkusVerified Reviewer from Philadelphia, PA on 9/15/2008
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Dramatic Skies, Excellent Landscapes, Low relfections
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter:

This was my first filter, and still probably one of my favorites. I bought this filter in 52mm size for my Nikon D200. This filter produces excellent colors, and I highly recommend it for anyone who is into landscape photography.

Images shared by: Dogpupkus

Old Johnsville Naval Base

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Old Johnsville Naval Base

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Necessary Tool
By Cat99Verified Reviewer from Bremerton, WA on 5/18/2008
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Color Correction, Image Manipulation, Lens Protection
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter:

This filter will give you options because of the circular mount. Turn it one way or the other for different effects. I have it on my camera at all times.

Images shared by: Cat99

Sunset on the sound

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[12 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
The only filter you need!
By Peace Corps GrannyVerified Reviewer from Ghana, Africa on 3/9/2008
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Cons:
None at this time
Best Uses:
Lens Protection, Make colors pop, Removes glare, Removes reflections, UV Protection
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter:

This is just about the only filter I use. The circular feature allows you to turn the filter so you can pop the sky color or another turn brings the image back to normal and offers UV Protection. Great filter!

[18 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

 
Work great :)
By MarcusVerified Reviewer from Connecticut on 1/18/2008
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Anti-glare, Lens Protection
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter:

This filter works great on my D40. I was seeking the vibrant colors that can be seen through polarized sunglasses and also to reduce glare and it did just that. As long as it is turned the right way (don't forget to adjust it 90 degrees for switching between portrait/landscape photos) it works very well. As a bonus, it protects the lens well too, meaning a scratch may only ruin the filter as opposed to an expensive lens.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value....
By BrunoS from San Diego, CA on 12/27/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter:

Great value for the price and good construction. I have used Heliopan and Hoya polarizers and see no difference. Keep in mind that when used with wide-angle lenses of less than 21mm (62mm filter) you will get dark corners but this can happen with even the more expensive "slim" filters. I find slim filters to be a hassle since you need to use special lens caps.

[14 of 37 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not a good match for the Nikon VR 18-200
By JackVerified Reviewer from Chicago suburbs. on 9/17/2007
Pros:
NONE, Strong Construction
Cons:
Darkens outer edges, Doesn't Fasten Well
Best Uses:
UV Protection
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter:

I bought this lens to put on my D200 Nikon's newest lens, the slick VR18-200mm and it is TERRIBLE at the wide end of the len's use. I get HORRIBLE black shading on the 4 outer corners of ANY picture snapped with this terrible filter. My local [...] nearly sent my NEW lens to NIKON for the filter's DEFECT which is consistent on other cameras they tested it on.

Images shared by: Jack

note the terrible black outlines at the corners

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 18mm wide end of lens, Made with Product

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Landscape must-have
By Found_ObjectsVerified Reviewer from Olympia, WA on 6/24/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Easily Mounted, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Artwork, Color Correction
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter:

When experimenting with a few filters for black and white I found that this filter helps produce really fantastic tones in landscape photographs.

[18 of 19 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this filter!
By The Naked ArtisanVerified Reviewer from San Jose, CA on 3/30/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Easily Mounted, Excellent Effect
Cons:
Difficult to take off
Best Uses:
Artwork, Color Correction, Shooting SunClouds
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray Circular Polarizer Filter:

This filter is great! I use it to take shots of the sky and it really helps to bring definition to my sun/cloud shots while helping reduce glare. I also use it to take window shots to remove as much reflection as possible. It will occasionally give me a slight purple hue to my images, but very rarely. If you're looking for a good circular polarizing filter, this is a good choice.

Images shared by: The Naked Artisan

Image Title: Elysium

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Great photo !
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.