Buy the Smith Victor KT500 500-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Smith Victor KT500 500-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Smith Victor
Located in: Light Kits
  • 2 10 in. Reflectors
  • 2 Socket & Cordsets with Stand Mounts
  • 2 Raven 6 ft. Aluminum Stands
  • 2 ECA 250-Watt Photoflood Lamps
  • 1 Corrugated Carrying Case
  • 1 Lighting Guide: Imaging with Light
  • Review Snapshot®
    Avg. Customer Rating:
     
    3.6 stars
    (based on 9 reviews)
    67% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

    Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

    Pros:
    Easy to setup(3), Lightweight(4)
    Best Uses:
    Artificial lighting(3), Photography(4), Portraits(4)
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo enthusiast(3)

    [1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Good Quality for the price.
    By ChrisVerified Purchaser from Goose Creek,SC on 4/22/2009
    Pros:
    Attach Securely, Durable, Powerful
    Cons:
    Runs Hot
    Best Uses:
    Indoors
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor KT500 500-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit:

    I take lots of baby photos and i'm just learning all about lighting.

    Images shared by: Chris

    First Easter

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Really good product for the money!
    By photomomVerified Purchaser from Denver, Co on 3/2/2009
    Pros:
    Attach Securely, Durable, Powerful
    Best Uses:
    Indoors, Low Light, Night Time
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor KT500 500-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit:

    I normally do outdoor portraits, and am just starting to get into the indoors/studio thing. These lights are great for starting out. Ive done beautiful portraits of my kids (only had them a couple weeks) but I cant wait to start taking pictures for everyone else.

    Images shared by: photomom

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

    [0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Average build, bulbs don't last.
    By jayVerified Reviewer from charlottesville, VA on 2/10/2009
    Best Uses:
    General Use
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor KT500 500-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit:

    [...] this lighting kit is fine for very basic use. the bulbs didn't last more than 10 minutes, which is pretty remarkable considering they cost [$] a piece.

    [0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    A bit flimsy, bulbs blew quick
    By Jay the TechVerified Reviewer from Ruckersville, VA on 2/7/2009
    Cons:
    Flimsy
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor KT500 500-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit:

    Unit arrived on time as advertised, gave this as a Christmas gift. My wife didn't have a chance to use it fully until nearly a month later. Boy, we were disappointed when one of the bulbs on the unit blew within 5 minutes of use. [...] it doesn't make sense to order from them either.

    [0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Too much whiz and not enough bang
    By DocVerified Purchaser from Centerville, MA on 12/25/2008
    Pros:
    Easy Setup, Lightweight
    Best Uses:
    Photography, Portraits
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor KT500 500-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit:

    The product itself was good but some of the features indicated on the web site was misleading.

    [0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    bulb was not working
    By viniVerified Purchaser from boston, ma on 12/17/2008
    Pros:
    Lightweight
    Cons:
    Short Lifespan
    Best Uses:
    Photography, Portraits
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor KT500 500-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit:

    the overall product is great. it just too bad the the light bulb was not working.

    [0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    If there's light, there's a Smith-Victor
    By KaartijerVerified Purchaser from Troy, MI on 11/11/2008
    Best Uses:
    Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits, Weddings
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor KT500 500-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit:

    I just love this stuff! I needed it for a wedding and these reflectors were just perfect!

    Images shared by: Kaartijer

    Just Married

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Love them!
    By Educated SavageVerified Purchaser from Tucson, Az on 9/3/2008
    Pros:
    Consistent, Easy Setup, Lightweight, Reliable
    Cons:
    Short Range
    Best Uses:
    Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor KT500 500-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit:

    I love these new lights! I was using [...]hot lights (2000 watts worth) and not only was the light BARELY sufficiently, it kept blowing the breakers in my house! These lights use so little electricity and are so much cooler and stronger, I love them. They aren't great at long range, but I'm still able to shoot girls and cars with them!

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great value!
    By Mike the ShooterVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 3/10/2008
    Pros:
    Easy Setup, Lightweight
    Cons:
    Limited use in large room
    Best Uses:
    Artificial Lighting
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Smith Victor Smith Victor KT500 500-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit:

    I'm using this kit to help balance indoor lighting for digital video. For the money, this is a great starter kit that helps brighten the subject and eliminate shadows in a smaller room. However, while 500 watts may sound like a lot to a beginner, it isn't enough to do much good when you are more than 10 to 15 feet away from the subject in a large space. The tripod bases are sturdy. The corrugated carrying case was a dissappointment and we've started carrying the kit around in a medium sized duffel bag.

    Powered by PowerReviews
    Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.