Buy the Pentax 18-55mm smc P-DA F3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Pentax 18-55mm smc P-DA F3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Pentax
Located in: Lenses For Pentax
The Pentax smc P-DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 is recommended for use with digital cameras. Ideal for beginners, it provides a focal length covering a wide to moderate wide-angle range. Like all Pentax lenses, the smc P-DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 zoom lens is treated with Pentax's acclaimed smc coating for maximum light transmission, sharp definition, and high contrast while minimizing flare and ghost imaging.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(7), Durable(4), Easily interchangeable(6), Easy to clean(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(8)
Best Uses:
General purpose(7)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4)
 
Good lens
By K20D ownerVerified Reviewer from Simi Valley, CA on 1/27/2010
Pros:
Price
Cons:
Slow
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 18-55mm smc P-DA F3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens:

At the clearance price this lens is hard to beat. The lens came a little dusty, out of the plastic bag (which was floating around in the box) but seemed unused. If you are looking for a higher quality lens consider 18-55mm AL II (optimized for higher-res sensors) or 16-45mm (which would be my personal choice if I had the budget).

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good standard zoom
By Terry the image takerVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles on 10/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape, Night Photography, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 18-55mm smc P-DA F3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens:

This is a great standard zoom lens, very WIDE at 18mm and 55mm is very similar to a 50mm in 35mm film format. But be aware the instructions say this cannot be used in a film camera. I don't know why but I'm not taking a risk in damaging my K200D. I miss the aperature ring, but then again , it can't be used in film camera. Very sharp for most people.

 
Great Value
By Glass EyeVerified Purchaser from Culver, OR on 8/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 18-55mm smc P-DA F3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens:

I purchased this to get a good all around lens and also have the ability to get more wide angle pictures. This lens has done a great job. The price was also one of the reasons I went with this lens. I have only had the lens a couple of weeks and so far it has been great.

 
Good Camera, Lens
By GeorgeVerified Purchaser from Maryland on 7/31/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 18-55mm smc P-DA F3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens:

Use the Pentax camera and lens (included in kit) for general photos. Have had a 35MM SLR in the past, this is first digital SLR. Good pictures, easy to use.

 
Great Kit Lens
By ScottVerified Purchaser from Stafford, NY on 7/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 18-55mm smc P-DA F3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens:

A great lens to learn with

 
ok
By bhodieVerified Purchaser from Richmond, ky on 7/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 18-55mm smc P-DA F3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens:

Seems fine to me.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lots of Flexibity with this lense
By Judy the PhotographerVerified Reviewer from San Jose on 4/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 18-55mm smc P-DA F3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens:

This lens replaced two others I had. The wide angle is great for landscape pictures. And the flexibility of the zoom makes it work for up close and portrait pictures as well. I really liked the flexibility. The price was great as well.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice lens for the money
By Dr. LewVerified Reviewer from Millville NJ on 2/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Indoors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 18-55mm smc P-DA F3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens:

Very nice lens. Best use is indoors. Works nice with flash. I have One for myself and One for my girl friend

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.