Buy the Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon) image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Tamron
Located in: Lenses For Nikon


Tamron's Vibration Compensation?Blur-Stopping Power With No Annoying Motion Delay In Your Viewfinder! With the advent of the latest 15X zoom lens from Tamron, the pioneer of high power zoom lenses, the high power zoom lens has steadily evolved from a 7.1X to a 10.7X to a 13.9X and now to the world's largest zoom ratio of 15X by combining advanced high power zoom design technologies accumulated by Tamron since 1992.

The lens covers an angle of view equivalent to that of a 28mm wideangle to a 419mm ultra telephoto with just one lens, letting the user capture once-in-the-lifetime images of panoramic landscape images or close-up pictures of children smiling, without having to get too close to the subject and without having to change lenses.

Tamron Sample Lens Images

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5)
Pros:
Consistent output(7), Durable(6), Easily interchangeable(5), Fast / accurate auto-focus(10), Rugged(4)
Cons:
Heavy(4), Lens creep(6), Slow focus(3)
Best Uses:
General purpose(6), Landscape/scenery(4), Landscape photography(5), Macro photography(3), Sports/action(6)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A really good buy
By Lon the Camera Man from Pittsburgh, PA on 10/25/2010
Pros:
Fast / accurate auto-focus, Image quality, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Lens Creep, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon):

I purchased this lens on 10/21/10 and took around 900 pics when I took it with me camping over the weekend. Bottom line outdoor pics focused quickly and turned out great...even with fast moving action shots like my two dogs running around. I found no difference in the quality of shots taken when compared to my 18-55 mm and 55-200 Nikon Nikkor lenses. Only down side is that the night time pics take a little longer to focus at the higher zoom but what I realized is that if you zoom out first, let more light get through the lens and to the sensor, it focus's right away and then you can zoom in for the shot which will focus much faster. It's heavy but I purchased the "Utility Strap with Sling" from Op/Tech USA and that really helped take off some of the weight when I wasn't using the camera. It also helped free up my hands. I also got the polarizer and UV filters (cheaper at Best Buy). The lens does creep out when dangling at my side but the locking feature at 18mm will elimiate this problem. At first the zooming was a little stiff when from the 60-150 range but it seemed to loosen up after a few hours of use and I now have no more issues. The AC really works well too and I absolutely LOVE the fact taht I dont have to change lenses anymore which was the biggest reason I made the purchase. But other then the here and there AF issues in extremely low light settings (which were so infrequent that I didnt find myself missing any shots anyway) for the price I would say that it was a really good buy and would definately recommend this product to anyone with a DSLR who is in the market for an "all in one" lens. Plus I think that Ritz camera offers a 30 day return policy for its lenses so if your not happy for some reason you can return it with no questions asked.

 
tamron 18-270 af lens
By lennyVerified Purchaser from hesperia, california on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon):

it works great

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
One lense for all occasions
By Mike from Charlotte,NC on 8/28/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, It's the best there is
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon):

Many years photographers look for a lense to do many different jobs without having to carry many other lense with you. Tamron has hit that central nerve of photography so the load when you only need this lense.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great does it all lens.
By elsa1267Verified Reviewer from North of DFW area in Texas. on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Lens Creep
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon):

I enjoyed using the lens, I've only had it a week.
The lens creep is not a big deal to me you just have to maintain control of the Zoom ring when in use. It has easy to use slider buttons for the Lock,VC,AF/MF, features. The focus speed is ok, this is not a high dollar Hi-speed lens, it is a lens that offers great value.

[2 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not up to snuff
By BB from houston, tx on 11/28/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Heavy, Lens Creep, Slow Focus, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon):

lanscape and wildlife photography

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent All-Round Performer
By elcid72Verified Reviewer from San Antonio, TX on 11/27/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Focal Range, Image stabilization, Macro, Multi-purpose, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Lens Creep, Slow focus in low light, Tight zoom at 70mm zone
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon):

I have taken over 1600 photos with this lens on my Nikon D60. With execption of user error, I am very pleased with its performance. It has taken outstanding images in day-light, low-light, distance/action shots. It's macro is surprisingly capable. There is lens creep but with the "lock", it has not been an issue. The zoom ring is stiff as you transition through the 70mm range but otherwise good travel feel. Some of my best photos (I realize that this is subjective) have been taken with this lens.

Images shared by: elcid72

F-18 Hornet at 2009 Randolph AFB Airshow

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Static Display 2009 Randolph AFB Airshow

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
I bought the "hype" and it was true
By Papa docVerified Purchaser from Pelzer, SC on 6/23/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Lens Creep
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon):

fantastic for shooting impromptu pictures of grandchildren at the beach or in any environment

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tamron 18-270 VC f/Nikon
By WE the travelerVerified Purchaser from MV, CA on 6/1/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon):

During the two weeks that I have had the new lense, I am throughly satisfied with it. Other reviews stated that it was very slow in focusing and caused them to miss important shots. I have a Nikon D-70 and have not found this to be the case. In fact, it appears to focus at the same rate as my other lenses. I am glad that the lense is performing as I had hoped it would. I definitely would recommend this lense to others.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for what it is made for.
By Malamute ManVerified Reviewer from Charlotte, NC on 4/12/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lens Creep
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon):

This is a great all around lens. I bought this to replace my 2 lens setup which I liked very much but was not happy about having to change when on a hiking trail. I have only taken about 100 photos with this lens but everyone is just as I expected it to turn out. In fact some came out better than I expected. The photos I take are just for myself or given away for free to friends and family. So when I judge my photos I judge them with a naked eye. I do not run my pictures through a loop. There are things that could be better like faster focus and less lens creap. Overall what I got for the price I am happy.

Images shared by: Malamute Man

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
May be the only lens you'll ever need.
By DJVerified Purchaser from Sacramento, CA on 2/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon):

I've only taken the Tamron out once on a four day trip but it has amazing zoom and macro capabilities all in one lens. One of the selling points was that because of the built in stablizer night shots could be made without a tripod. I'm not so sure about that. I'm still working on it.

[13 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Only lens you may ever need!
By yak fishermanVerified Purchaser from Hawaii on 12/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-270mm AF F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens (Nikon):

For the price and performance, you can't go wrong with this lens. Sure, it's not perfect but it is more than suitable for most people and most situations.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.