Buy the Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series image
 
(based on 17 ratings)
Brand: Tamron
Located in: Lenses For Nikon


    Di II: Lenses are designed for exclusive use on digital cameras with smaller-size imagers and inherit all of the benefits of Tamron's Di products. These lenses are not designed for 35mm film cameras and digital cameras with image sensors larger than 24mm x 16mm.
Tamron's quest has always been to make the ideal zoom lens. As a result of this ongoing challenge, we have introduced the concept of our high-power zoom lens in the new AF18-200mm XR Di II for exclusive use with digital SLRs. Tamron's original development of proprietary core technologies such as Aspherical element production, Multiple Cam Mechanism and Integrated Focus Cam design lend to the creation of the world's lightest, most compact 11.1X zoom lens made for digital SLR cameras.

The 18-200mm (28-300 when converted to 35mm) provides the digital photographer with the versatility of a true wide to ultra tele zoom in an amazingly easy to use design.

Tamron produces high performance, quality specification lenses utilizing the latest optical theory and technology. Tamron's high magnification zoom lenses, which are said to be particularly challenging technically, have received critical acclaim internationally for their innovative technology and have been selected for many prestigious awards. Tamron's technical excellence has also been recognized worldwide for macro lenses, wide angle lenses and telephoto lenses.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.4 stars
(based on 17 reviews)
73% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(7)
Pros:
Consistent output(6), Durable(12), Easily interchangeable(11), Easy to clean(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(9)
Cons:
Blurry focus(3), Lens creep(3), Slow focus(3)
Best Uses:
General purpose(11), Sports/action(3)
 
Bravo to Wolf and Tamron 18-200 mm
By BiscuitsVerified Purchaser from Nashville, TN on 1/4/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Fast Sharp, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

I use the Tamron 18-200mm Digital Zoom as my lens of first choice. It is versatile. I like its speed and sharpness. I am very pleased with my purchase [...] Thanks.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not what I was expecting
By IK632Verified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC on 4/4/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output
Cons:
Heavy, Lens Creep
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

I thought I could live with the lens creep, but it's just terrible. You point down towards the ground at anything more than 30 degrees and the zoom slides out.

Another thing, it doesn't zoom all the way to 200. Zoom stops about 135 and you really don't get any more zoom past that. I compared to Nikon 55-200 and at 200, there's no comparison. Nikon zoom is almost 2x larger. Tamron 200mm is about Nikon 120mm as far as picture size is considered.

Finally, pincushion at 70mm is very annoying. I didn't realize how much I shoot at 70 until I found that it was making a mess of photos with lots of horizontal and vertical lines.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Lens for the money
By PeeWeeVerified Reviewer from Winston-Salem, NC on 12/21/2009
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Lens Creep, plastic mount, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Travel, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

This is a pretty good lens for the money. It is sharp up to 200 mm then it falls off. I like the range it offers so you don't have to change lens so often. The lens creep can be annoying I don't like that. It has a plastic mount, I don't think it will hold up over time. It is already sort of loose fitting. Even with the cons I would probably buy it again for the price it is so much cheaper than the other lens.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Serious Shooters Should Not Buy!
By Big ALVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 11/27/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Better Photos with a PS, Blurry Focus, Extremely Slow Focus, Slow Focus, Very Very Blurry Focus
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

I was a Big Fan of Tamron until I bought this lens. At first I thought I had a bad lens so I exchanged it for another and got the same output and now wishing I would have simply paid a little more for a better lens.

I don't even pack this lens when I'm shooting and thinking of taking a loss with trading it in for a better product!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tamron lens 18-200 mm
By MelissaVerified Purchaser from Caro MI on 5/29/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

I have not had it long. I have only shot some indoor shots so far but it seems to be working great!! I have a Nikon D2X and it works well with this camera auto focus works well and it has many focus areas that you can choose.

[2 of 19 customers found this review helpful]

 
This was a rip off.
By TonybobVerified Purchaser from Kansas City, MO on 12/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

The product states it is auto focus but there is no switch, no way to change from manual to af. Product stated it was for a Nikon D 40, it fits but that is about all. All pictures are blurry. Works fine with the Nikon lens.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great buy..
By SergioVerified Purchaser from San Ramon on 12/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Great value, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

I was thinking on buying the Nikkon lense but I am glad I got this one. The value is perfect. Great all purpose lense and less than half the price. Great value

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful Product!
By RachelleVerified Purchaser from Charleston, South Carolina on 12/13/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

This product is wonderful in that you don't have to switch out lenses to be able to shoot up close, or shoot far. The convenience of the lense is wonderful!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Anniversary Present
By JoyfulVerified Purchaser from Houston, Texas on 11/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Very Good All Around Lens
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

I gave this lens to my husband, the photographer of the family, as an anniversary gift. He really likes it for it's "useability" - when we travel, all he needs to take is this lens instead of the huge camera bag w/5 or 6 other lens' & accessories. This does it all and does it well (according to him).

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not bad at all.
By meVerified Purchaser from Las Vegas, NV on 11/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged
Cons:
Lens Creep, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

Good for the price point - I'd rather have a 18-200 lens I can afford and don't have to change all the time than a smaller range lens. It doesn't take quite as good a picture as a better brand lens would, but it'll take a picture where I might not be able to otherwise.
The lens creep can be fairly bad, so use the lock when hanging from your neck or shooting non-horizontal pictures without stabilizing.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Try Before You Buy
By Disapointed Shooter from NYC NY on 7/22/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Back-Up
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

Lens is slow and blurry. Use the 18-70 lens from the kit and crop pictures for better results. Had an old Tamron lens I liked so I bought this. Tamron 18-200 works well from 35-100mm range. Not worth it past this point. Have to ask, Is it glass or plastic?

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again and again
By Dee MorrisonVerified Reviewer from Charlotte,NC on 2/28/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

I found this lense to be very dependable and it worked great with my Nikon D80 and D50.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great "everyday" lens
By PhotoDadVerified Reviewer from Saint Louis, MO on 2/18/2007
Pros:
Durable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

I bought this lens to photograph my children. If you have kids, you know that they generally don't do anything cute or picture worthy while they're in the perfect range for pictures. Sometimes they're up close and sometimes they're far away. This lens has been great in that it takes great pictures at both ends of the spectrum. At the 200 end, you'd better have a really steady hand if you don't want blurring, but that goes for any long range lens. I wish it had vibration reduction, then it would be perfect. Of course, you're not going to find a VR lens in this price range.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
OK lense. Recommend Nikor.
By Joseph VaccarellaVerified Reviewer from Lakewood, WA on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Great Range
Cons:
Not crisp sharp focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

This lense is great because of the zoom range but it seems to lack in sharp focus like nikor lenses. Glad I bought it though!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
One lens solution
By DonSchapVerified Reviewer from Des Plaines, IL on 1/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged
Cons:
Some distortion
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

This lens is a great "one lens solution" for the shutterbug on the go. Although you will experience some optical distortion on the extreme ends, it is not enough to discourage anyone from using it. It is lightweight and offers tremedous focal range, which most other lenses do not. As a first lens, it can do it all.

[6 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's better to buy two lens than one.
By boss_mexVerified Reviewer from Guadalajara, MEX on 12/30/2006
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Dark colors, not as sharp as the nikon
Best Uses:
General Use

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

I buy this one to use for general porpouses, most of the pictures are good. in the range 28-120mm are good. but the quality of pictures star to decrease with mayor ranges.
I recommend to buy one 18-55 and one 70-300 of nikkor (if have a nikon) you will pay the same.
I experimented something strange with the sun. you can see some picture samples.

Images shared by: boss_mex

Gran-ma 56 mm Nikon d50

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

sunset strange Nikon D50 200mm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Great photos !

[9 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Super "All Around" lens
By Train ShutterbugVerified Reviewer from Ellenton, FL on 12/17/2006
Pros:
Affordable price, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Nikon D-Series:

One of the best purchases I've ever made. The only lens I use now.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.