Buy the Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 SP XR Di LD Aspherical IF f/Nikon-D AF on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 SP XR Di LD Aspherical IF f/Nikon-D AF image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Tamron
Located in: Lenses For Nikon


The most compact and lightest in the history of fast zoom lenses. Thanks to the revolutionary downsizing XR technology employed by Tamron in the development of high-power zoom lenses such as the 28-200mm and 28-300mm, the dramatic compactness that makes this lens the world's smallest and lightest is achieved. Its compactness makes it look and feel like an ordinary standard zoom lens, yet the versatility that a fast constant maximum aperture offers will definitely reshape your photographic horizons.

Di: Digitally Integrated Design, is a designation Tamron puts on lenses featuring optical systems designed to meet the performance characteristics of digital SLR cameras.

Tamron produces high performance, quality specification lenses utilizing the latest optical theory and technology. Tamron's high magnification zoom lenses, which are said to be particularly challenging technically, have received critical acclaim internationally for their innovative technology and have been selected for many prestigious awards. Tamron's technical excellence has also been recognized worldwide for macro lenses, wide angle lenses and telephoto lenses. And Tamron's new line of Di lenses for superior performance with digital SLR cameras, is garnering attention and awards from around the globe.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(3), Easily interchangeable(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(12), Lightweight(5)
Best Uses:
General purpose(5)
Describe Yourself:
Semi-professional(4)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tamron SP AF28-75mm F/2.8 XR Di LD Asphe
By karthickVerified Reviewer from salt lake city on 2/1/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Difficult to Clean
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 SP XR Di LD Aspherical IF f/Nikon-D AF:

I did a large number of tests, running these lenses through all apertures at 28mm, 50mm and 75mm, shooting several types of test target as well as "real world images" and evaluating images for sharpness, contrast, flare, distortion and chromatic aberration. Note that all test were done using a Canon EOS 20D digital SLR which has an APS-C sized sensor (ca. 22.5 x 15mm). I did not test the full frame performance of the lens using film or a full frame DSLR. Center performance would be expected to be the same, but performance at the edges of a 36mm wide frame would be expected to be slightly worse (lower sharpness and greater chromatic aberration) than that seen at the edges of a 22.5mm frame

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Portrait Goto Lense
By AlmostgemVerified Reviewer from Fort LAuderdale, FL on 4/5/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Weak Casing
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 SP XR Di LD Aspherical IF f/Nikon-D AF:

I was originally using the Sigma 50-150 2.8 in the studio. It's a gorgeous lens if you have the room.
The Tamron allows me to easily get full length shots without having to leave the studio (an exaggeration).The quality of the pictures is in line with any pro quality lens I've used, and the additional 22 mm at the wide end allows me to easily get full length shots. I switch off between the two when making street photographs, but usually lean more toward the Tamron. I also have the Tamron 90 2.8 macro, and 300 2.8, and the Tamron 180 3.5 macro (love this lense) all of which I heartily recommend.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Walk round lens
By NoDo from Phoenix, AZ on 3/12/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Lens Creep, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 SP XR Di LD Aspherical IF f/Nikon-D AF:

This is a great lens. Ive been using it every day for the last 6 months almost daily. I have used it for everything from product photography to portraits and landscape. It is a sharp lens, focus is ok, kind of loud. Has a little lens creep too. Overall for the price you cant go wrong. I just recently upgraded to the Nikon 28-70mm f/2.8 though and the difference in the two is not even comparable. If you dont have the coin to drop on a Nikon version then this is definantly the way to go. Better then the comparable Sigma version too.

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By hesterphoto21 from Atlanta, Ga on 1/7/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 SP XR Di LD Aspherical IF f/Nikon-D AF:

This is a great lens. The only non-Nikon lens I use.
Can not find a reason to replace it. Works perfectly on my full frame D3 as well as my smaller D200.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
awesome lens
By shelbyVerified Purchaser from Greenville, SC on 11/5/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 SP XR Di LD Aspherical IF f/Nikon-D AF:

really love how this lens gives me the ability to shoot in low light with great results.

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
nice lens
By Sic1 from Naperville, illinois on 9/1/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Professional Work
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 SP XR Di LD Aspherical IF f/Nikon-D AF:

Nice lens for the money...sharp!

[15 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect every day lens - indoor and out!
By ~KVerified Reviewer from Minneapolis, MN on 2/19/2007
Pros:
Fast, Quiet, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Indoor use, Sports, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 SP XR Di LD Aspherical IF f/Nikon-D AF:

I bought this lens for my D50 to replace the 18-55 kit lens and could not be happier. F2.8 through the entire zoom range allows me to shoot faster and get the low light shots that the kit lens had troubles with. The lens is built solid and is heavy enough to let you know it is good enough for the professionals, [...]. Step down to F4 and your pictures are sharper than a Nikon. Plus, if you still shoot film, it will work on all Nikon film cameras.The only things to note on the not so good side are that if you have a D40, it is manual focus only since it focuses through the little screwdriver connection. Also, the zoom ring is a bit of a long throw to get used to, but not a big issue at all. Finally, it is not a true wide angle lens on a DSLR, but it should be good enough in almost all circumstances. Compared to the 18-55 lens at 18mm, it is like taking a step 1 foot closer when shooting at 28mm on the Tamron.

[17 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth looking at
By David from Honolulu Hawaii on 1/22/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Value
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Upgrade

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 SP XR Di LD Aspherical IF f/Nikon-D AF:

[...]At f2.8 the world is my oyster. There's almost no indoor scene I cant hand hold, no street-light-lit alley I can't shoot in. However to get the most from this little gym, keep it at f4. Using my D200, this lens is razor sharp at f4....sharper than any shot I've taken with my Nikon 18-200 VRII (*cry). I was going to keep the 18-200 on the d200 full time, but when this 28-75 f2.8 proved its flexibility and quality on my D70, I just couldnt resist making this my night-time/walk-around lens. Get one, or at least try it out....you'll be amazed with how much more you can get for a few hundred dollars less....

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.