Buy the Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon image
 
(based on 26 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
Sigma's 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM lens allows enjoyment of super wide-angle photography and it is a very powerful tool for indoor shooting and landscape photography with APS-C size image sensors of digital SLR cameras.

Wide angle of view (102.4-degrees at 10mm and 63.8-degrees at 20mm) offers the photographer greater freedom of expression. Three SLD glass elements are employed for effective compensation of color aberration, which is a common problem with super-wide angle lenses. One piece of glass mold and two hybrid aspherical lenses, offer excellent correction for distortion, as well as all types of aberration.

This lens is equipped with an inner focusing system, and the models which are equipped with HSM system provide quiet, high speed autofocus shooting and also offer full time manual focusing. It has a minimum focusing distance of 24cm (9.4?) at all focal lengths. The non-rotating lens barrel perfectly suits the petal shaped lens hood. A circular polarizing filter can also be used conveniently.

- HyperSonic Motor. Enables virtually silent, highly responsive auto and manual focusing, as well as manual focus only override

- Excellence. These professional type lenses feature the distinctive EX finish and EX logo on the lens barrel.

- DC (DC Lens) - These are special lenses designed so that the image circle matches the smaller size of the image sensor of most digital SLR cameras. Their specialized design gives these lenses the ideal properties for digital cameras, the compact and lightweight construction is an added bonus ! including compact and lightweight construction.

  • Covers a superwide angle of view 102.4-degrees to 63.8-degrees(SD format)
  • Three pieces of Special Low Dispersion (SLD) elements and three aspherical lens elements produce top quality optical performance.
  • Inner focusing system ensures the length of the lens remains unchanged whilst controlling aberrations.
  • Equipped with HSM (Hyper Sonic Motor) system
  • Minimum focusing distance of 9.4-in. (24cm) at all focal lengths.
  • Relatively compact, lightweight for an ultra wide-angle zoom lens.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 26 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Casual user(3), Enthusiast(13), Semi-professional(7)
Pros:
Consistent output(12), Durable(14), Easily interchangeable(10), Easy to clean(4), Fast / accurate auto-focus(24)
Cons:
Heavy(6)
Best Uses:
General purpose(15), Landscape/scenery(6), Landscape photography(3), Night photography(4), Special effects(9)
 
Best Value!!
By Positive Pete from Rhode Island on 2/24/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

This is a great lens at a great price! Why pay twice the priceFor a "name" brand

 
About as Pro as you can get
By NoDo from Phoenix, AZ on 2/17/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

Great lens. I did a ton of research on super wide angle and tried out many lenses before pulling the trigger on this one. I am extremely happy with it too. I have no complaints at all and every time I push the shutter im more and more impressed. Lens is wisper quite, super sharp and a wonderful price compared to like lenses.

 
Amazing Lens
By Carlos the ShooterVerified Purchaser from Port Orange, FL on 11/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
architectural, Landscape Photography, Real Estate
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

This is a professional lens not to be confused with Sigma's other lenses. Incredible value in comparison with Nikon's $2,000 super wide angle lenses

 
Superb 10-20mm AF HSM by Sigma for Nikon
By D & C from Vancouver on 11/9/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

This lens captures a huge area when needed.
The lens cap has inside center squeezers as
well as outside squeezers. Bravo, Sigma.
Pictures are clear and focussing is very quick.
This lens is on a D90. Thank you again.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A superb lens
By Toolman FredVerified Purchaser from Chicago,IL on 9/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

For landscape and architectural photography you can't beat this lens at this price. Solid construction, silent accurate focusing and the overall fit and finish of the lens are great. Yes it's a bit heavy with the 14 elements but that comes with the territory. I certainly can't see spending twice as much on a Nikon brand lens.

 
it's worth the money
By PicazziVerified Purchaser from Sta. Clarita, CA on 9/11/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Cramp places, Group, Landscape, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

i'm not an expert on lenses but these baby in my opinion produces sharp, very good images.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Would recommend for scenery
By sschultzeVerified Purchaser from Naples, Italy on 8/18/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

I use this lense for scenery while traveling through Europe. Not much zoom, but great wide angle.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sigma 10-20 mm Lens
By CruisingbyeVerified Purchaser from Boca Raton,FL on 8/14/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

I just returned from Alaska and took some great wide angle pictures of wildlife,glaciers and some beautiful scenery. I am very happy with my new wide angle lens from Sigma

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great affrodable wide angle lens
By JCTVerified Purchaser from Utah on 8/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

A good solid performer that I reach for when trying to get "all" the scenery.

Images shared by: JCT

Classic Monument Valley

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great walkabout lens
By winkysanVerified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 8/10/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

Great lens for outdoors scenery and for getting close ups. Used it to shoot an entire wedding and got some great shots...had to move about some to cover the entire range of photos at the wedding though because of the wide angle of the lens. When I travel now, I only take two lens, this Sigma 10-20 and an 18-200mm telephoto. I like that I can stand in a doorway with the 10-20 and get a picture of the entire room because of it's very wide angle.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the money!
By BigAssHamVerified Purchaser from Long Beach, CA on 8/10/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

Great lens! I use it when I need a nice view of a landscape or wedding room. I love this lens.

 
FUN
By VuVerified Purchaser from Westminster, Ca on 8/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Sharp Focus, Wide Angle
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

Very fun to use for the price. Cant go wrong with this lens

 
Not the sharpest, cool and wide
By anhoVerified Purchaser from Concord, CA on 8/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Indoor Tight Spaces, Scenics
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

this lens is really wide, but it is not very sharp

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not the sharpest, but does its job
By sfash05Verified Purchaser from Concord, CA on 8/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

It's not the sharpest lens out there, but it is one of the widest, good enough for general purpose wide angle shooting indoors and outdoors.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Super Wide Angle Lens!
By ronichasVerified Purchaser from long island, ny on 8/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

This is a super wide angle lens, the effects are amazing...I am very happy with it.

Images shared by: ronichas

Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island, New York

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
I really like this lens.
By sherryVerified Purchaser from arlington va on 8/5/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Works well for me
Best Uses:
Interior of houses
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

this lens has really improve my photos

 
Great Detail
By AudreyVerified Reviewer from Gurnee, IL on 8/5/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slight odd distortion at
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

I use it on my D300 and the detail is wonderful. The images are very sharp even when cropped. I favor macro photography and all close-ups are amazing. The only possible con is the strange distortion (not good distortion like a fisheye lens) around the edges at 10mm, this is easy to work around if you crop out the edges. For the price, the distortion is fine with me.

Images shared by: Audrey

10mm on D300

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

10mm on D300

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love It !!
By rlwallyVerified Purchaser from Makaha, Hawaii on 8/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

Nice an easy to use

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's Awesome!
By Christopher from Michigan on 7/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

This is an excellent lense....it is just as good as the Nikon for about half the price. Went to Niagara Falls with this lense and the pictures that I took are stunning!!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Wide Angle For Nikon DX
By JimmyDVerified Reviewer from West Chester, PA on 1/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp at f4 to f8
Cons:
distortion -easily fixed
Best Uses:
General Use, Interior Architecture
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

I use this lens almost strictly for interior photos of hotel rooms and other various architectural photos. sharp when stopped down. not any CA. Fast Focus, but use center focus point. Compared to the Nikon 12 24 but the extra 2mm wider are worth it, and the nikon wasn't all that impressive for its price. Very similar to the nikon for IQ

Images shared by: JimmyD

Nice Bokeh, Sharp Focus, right out of camera

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A "Must have..." for your field kit.
By Tmac from Washington, DC. on 12/30/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Good quality, function.
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Landscapes, interiors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

Very good quality versus price point. Does an admirable job with landscapes. Did great in Time Square and with views of the Colorado foothills.
Good buy.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect!
By thewxpage[@] from St. Cloud, MN on 12/27/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Rugged
Cons:
Heavy, Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
Nature
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

Impressed! this is a VERY durable lens. 5 out of 5, great!

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens...if you're into wide angle
By Jay from Redondo Beach on 11/23/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

Great lens, but I decided to return it since I was more in need of a general, everyday lens like the Nikon 18-200. The 18-200 was more expensive, but a greater use for me.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
One of the best Wide Angle Lens
By vandanVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 11/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Landscape, Landscape photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

I happened to use my friends Sigma 10-20mm for a week and it was just amazing.

Extremely impressive, small, light, well made and has a 77mm filter; no problems with a polarizer at all.

It has a 2mm wider focal length which will be prominent at the extreme end of the wind agnel scale that can make a much larger difference than on emight think. Landscapes come out extremely dramatic with the amout of image it can frame or capture.

The linear distortation is also take care of which i feel sigma has done an amazing job. Sigma 10-20 has some distortation but its not noticble; it looks more like a pin cushion rather than the expected barrel ditortion. My Canon 18-55 kitlense gives a lot of barrel distortation effect for my images.

Be careful with skewness, too close to an object can cause it to skew.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great super-wide zoom
By MarkVerified Reviewer from San Jose, CA on 8/30/2007
Pros:
Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
not as sharp as the nikon
Best Uses:
Interior architectural, Landscape photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

This is a pretty great lens. The 10mm wide angle makes for a unique perspective you can't get with any other lens. The lens is very solidly constructed. The HSM focus is fast and silent.

The only complaint I have is a slight lack of sharpness toward the edges of the frame. This is apparently a common problem with this lens, but isn't a major issue for me.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
10/10
By remy aviv from San Diego CA on 4/28/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Light weight, Sharp Focus, Small
Best Uses:
Indoor use, Landscape photography, Portrait, Professional Work, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens for Nikon:

i'd love the lens i'll keep it in my case 4 good

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.