Buy the Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
This magnificent new superzoom encompasses all popular focal lengths from the 50mm ''normal'' to 500mm ultra-telephoto; a 10:1 zoom ratio, providing tremendous versatility. The use of an apochromatic design and four elements composed of SLD (Special Low Dispersion) glass, plus a seven group zoom system and multi-coated optics, enable this wide-ranging zoom lens to provide a high level of performance, as well as versatility. It also employs a rear focus system to insure quick, convenient manual focus and a non-rotating front barrel.

The 50-500mm f4-6.3 EX APO RF HSM is coupled with Sigma's HSM (Hyper Sonic Motor), to provide quiet, responsive autofocus function, plus ''full time'' manual focus. This lens also features a Zoom Lock mechanism to help eliminate ''zoom creep'' when the lens is tilted up or down.

Sigma uses magnesium in the tripod mount to help reduce the weight of this lens, while maintaining the strength and rigidity necessary to support it.

A custom bayonet Perfect Hood is provided to protect the front of the lens from extraneous light. Nature and sports photographers will appreciate the performance and versatility of this amazing new superzoom lens from Sigma.

Expand your Ultra Telephoto World with Sigma EX APO Tele-Converters. It's easy to approach 1000mm Ultra Telephoto World with Sigma 2x EX APO TC. This 50-500mm f4-6.3 EX lens can be used with Sigma's 2x EX APO Tele-Converter as a 200-1000mm zoom lens, for manual focus. Converted f-stop display will be provided by 10 pin electronic interfaces to the camera. This Tele-Converter is fully compatible with all exposure modes as well as Program, no exposure compensation is required with the Sigma EX APO Tele-Converters.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(10), Semi-professional(5)
Pros:
Consistent output(5), Durable(11), Easily interchangeable(10), Easy to clean(5), Fast / accurate auto-focus(13)
Cons:
Heavy(6)
Best Uses:
General purpose(7), Professional work(3), Sports/action(7), Wildlife(9)
 
If your looking for 500mm get this lens.
By jajlsVerified Reviewer from Carrollton, TX on 3/19/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lens Creep
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

I use this lens to shoot sports, moon, aircraft and wildlife. I love this lens and would recommend it to anyone that is looking to extend their reach. Is it heavy? Duh it is a 500mm lens after all. I use a monopod when shooting sports, aircraft and wildlife so not really an issue. I’m not sure why other users have had focus issues. I haven’t had any with mine at all. The OS is a little, just a little, loud when it is working… but nothing that would stop me from buying it again.

I have also used the 50 – 500mm sister lens to this and can say the same about it. If you’re in the market for a nice 500mm lens you will be happy with this.

 
An Inexpensive Alternate
By francois from Port Saint Lucie, FL on 12/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Difficult to Clean, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

This lens is an alternative to the cost of owning a Nikor lens which over 500mm rockets up 4000 easily.
However this Sigma lens is frustrating to focus on wildlife that's moving and needs some techniques to learn to focus since it's rough on the camera's servo. You will end up shooting and returning to reshoot subjects twice as much than with an expensive faster lens, but there's no other choice out there for a cheaper quality lens than this.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Specialty Lens
By mustgrnsVerified Purchaser from Miami, Florida on 11/13/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

This is a very heavy duty lense. It is only functional with a tripod. I find it is best focus the subject at 50mm and then zoom. I bought this lense for wildlife and ocean shots. It isn't a fast lens so you should be aware of that when shooting. You need to have an idea of what you want to shoot before using this lense.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I'm very happy with it
By jorgecazeVerified Reviewer from Buenos Aires, Argentina on 11/9/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

I've used it in very hard conditions, with wind and salty atmosphere and it performs very well. It is heavy

Images shared by: jorgecaze

Mel the orca

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Mel the orca 2

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A deal at twice the price!!!
By swimmer916Verified Reviewer from Sacramento, CA on 9/13/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

A great lens for sports if you don't have $9,000 to drop on a 400mm f/4G Nikor lens. Your not going to have the lots of options for shooting at high speed in low light, but in full sun you are going to get spectacular images.

Images shared by: swimmer916

You win with this lens!!!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
" Not sorry I purchased this product "
By Fred BuckVerified Purchaser from North Highlands, CA on 8/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

I us this product for outdoor sporting events, air shows and wild life. With the rang of this lens, there's no need to chang to any other lens.
The 50-500mm reaches out and pulls in close.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
fantastic lens
By chairbackcatVerified Purchaser from Wolfe City, TX on 8/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

This is a great lens for nearly any use. I get great photos both up close and at far distances. I love the quality of the pictures I have gotten. I always get a lot of compliments and questions about the lens when I am using it.

Images shared by: chairbackcat

snoozing ladybug

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome lens, especially on dSLR
By PufferfishVerified Reviewer from Cincinnati, Oh on 2/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

This is a great lens at great price. If you don't have a lot of money for big glass... this is the way to go. You should be using a telephoto on a tripod anyway so the lack of VR is not a problem here. On a DX format digital this lens gives you the equalivalent of a 750mm lens. I've used this for sports photography and birds. The bokah is pleasing, the autofocus is fast. This lens is rugged and has survived years of being bounced around, lugged through the mountains, the rain...

Images shared by: Pufferfish

Cardinal taken with Sigma 50-500 at 500

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Plenty of Bang
By Cactus FieldsVerified Reviewer from Queen Creek , AZ on 11/25/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

Works Great with MonoPod or Tripod.Strap works good attached to lens arm with monopod . releaves stress to camera body.Also have used tripod-monopod from Ritz Camera.works well just allow time for tripod to settle,and use remote.camera was Canon 30D.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
THE PRICE IS RIGHT ON THIS SIGMA LENS!
By RICKYBOY from HONOLULU on 10/3/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Quiet, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

High quality and right price! This lens rocks!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pick this product
By photodude from N.Y. on 5/11/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

It is a good sturdy product. All should buy it

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellant
By alligatorVerified Reviewer from Harrisburg,Pa on 3/31/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Looking, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Very Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

Hopefully I can get better wildlife shots with this lens

Images shared by: alligator

Model with race car

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, ModelsSprint Cars

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lens
By cd79 from San Diego, CA on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

Pros: Sharp focus. Quick focus.
Cons: When the camera and lens are pointing down, the lens barrel also slips down. It is too heavy.

 
Great Lens
By Clarence from San Manuel, AZ on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Best on tripod, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

Good range, met expectations!

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for Bird Photography!
By Kim in Texas from Corpus Christi, Texas on 1/31/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy for hand-holding
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 50-500 mm f/4-6.3 EX APO Lens for Nikon AF:

Very pleased with this lens so far. Sharp images and it's fairly fast. Downside is it's a bit heavy, so you need a monopod or tripod, but I use one most of the time anyway.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.