Buy the Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon image
 
(based on 72 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
Quantaray's lightweight, compact, high-image-quality telephoto zoom lens with macro capability of 1:2 that can be used with digital cameras. This new lens is a Di type lens using an optical system with improved multi-coating designed to function with digital SLR cameras as well as film cameras.

With this 70-300mm telephoto zoom lens, flipping a macro switch in the focal length range of 180mm to 300mm obtains a maximum magnification ratio of 1:2 at a minimum focus distance as short as 37.4-inches, enabling close-up shots of flowers, insects, and other objects that normally require the use of a specially designed macro lens. Moreover, this is a zoom lens that casually offers the distant capture and foreshortening effect pleasures of the 300mm ultra-telephoto world.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 72 reviews)
94% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Beginner(3), Casual user(12), Enthusiast(38), Semi-professional(14)
Pros:
Consistent output(31), Durable(25), Easily interchangeable(52), Easy to clean(7), Fast / accurate auto-focus(61)
Cons:
Blurry focus(5), Heavy(14), Slow focus(25), Tough to attach(3)
Best Uses:
Back-up(6), General purpose(53), Landcape(3), Landscape photography(19), Macro(3)
 
I love this Lens
By JasonVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 6/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I was got my Len for my 38th birthday back in May and I love it. I wanted a good len for my son Lacrosse games so I could send photos to out of town family. Man dose it do the job. I took some shots about 60 to 80 yards away and they look great. This is a lens for everyones camera bag.

Images shared by: Jason

Winning the faceoff....

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
[...]
By Happy Dad from Alabama on 6/5/2009
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy but manageable
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

My kids play sports and dance and when it came to pictures I got frustrated and tiered of the performance pocket cameras deliver. So, I bought the packaged Nikon D90 Digital SLR Camera w/ AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Lens, but yet still images felt afar. After nearly being broke I purchased the economy Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for a Nikon. Now I am where I want to be; the zoom puts you in the action. Thanks Quantaray!

 
So far so good!
By KatrinaVerified Purchaser from San Clemente,CA on 5/31/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Great lens but I think for me an 18-200 would have been just fine for me.

 
Great lens for the Money
By Sparkle1103Verified Reviewer from Park Ridge, Illinois on 5/28/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro and portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I really like this lens with the macro feature. When it focuses it does beautifully. But the one in a million times it doesnt it is frustrating. Nice, clear, crisp focusing most of the time. Very vivid colors. Love it

Images shared by: Sparkle1103

Soaring Seagull

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail
 
Amazing lens
By my1184Verified Reviewer from WV on 5/26/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged
Cons:
Awkward lens cap
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I really like this lens. The quality/price ratio is very high. I use it with my Nikon D40. A lot of other reviews say the auto focus doesn't work with this model but it does and quite well. I like the macro setting for taking pictures of insects and such. I have no regrets in buying this lens.

 
Nice lens, good quality, No Stabilizer.
By pato0Verified Purchaser from Tucson,AZ on 5/25/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Heavy, Telephoto only
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Good lens but only for big zoom pictures. Heavy 450 grs.

 
I'm very happy with your product
By The Photographer GuyVerified Purchaser from Harvey, La on 5/19/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Wild life photos.

 
Nice lens for the price!
By Danoo7Verified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 4/30/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
No VR image stabilization
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Over all for the price its the Best deal out there, I will buy another one when I need it and would recommend it to any one.

thanks Danny
phoenix az

Images shared by: Danoo7

Arizona Desert flower

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
I love this lens
By renaVerified Purchaser from lebanon tn on 4/14/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

really like this it seems to work for getting up close to thing like wildlife. I just dothis as a hobby and have several other lens but this one fits what i need when shooting birds, raccoons, rabbit can get close enough not to disturb the animals

 
High Quality - Low price
By Mark and AnneVerified Purchaser from Cumbeland, RI on 4/13/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

An autofocus lens that gets you into telephoto without the telephoto price! We bought this for a Nikon N50 camera and similar Nikon lenses went for [$]-#600.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value
By johnboyVerified Purchaser from Philly burbs on 3/30/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Actually, I bought the Nikon 70-300mm AF VR FIRST, and have more experience with it, BUT when I saw this one advertised for a FRACTION of what I paid for the Nikon, I felt it was enough of a modest investment, that I could afford to purchase it to use as a "back up", kind of an every day, every situation kind of lens. Plus I was just plain curious to see how the Quantaray would measure up to the Nikon. I suppose I could use the overworked phrase - "you get what you pay for", but the truth is that this lens isn't so bad - yes, it is a little noisier, a definite consideration when shooting wildlife, and it seems a little slower and clumsier, but I haven't really found -so far- major differences in the final results. Maybe I just haven't used it enough, but for now I'll continue to use the high dollar lens when the results are of maximum importance, but I won't hesitate to keep experimenting with this Quantaray - you can't argue with the price. I guess maybe I'm just not smart enough, or clever enough to notice the subtleties, what I do wonder is if there is a direct relation between the brand name and the selling price - unless that company manufactures their products out of gold?

[2 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
DO NOT BUY!!!
By PaparazzoVerified Reviewer from Ft. Lauderdale,FL on 3/27/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Lens Creep, Slow Focus, Tough To Attach
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

If you're looking for grainy pictures and blurry subjects, this is the perfect lens!
I have been a photographer for five years. I decided to purchase this lens to add on to my collection of lens so I can get shots without being so close. Needless to say, while I was working on an assignment, I realized that my photographs came out grainy and blurry. The autofocus was on and the ISO was set to the necessary setting. I tried fooling around with the camera some more and nothing changed. This lens is extremely horrible.
I tried to my hardest to like it, but it just wasn't worth it. I returned the lens. This lens is not good for anyone. It doesn't matter if you're a pro or not, no one deserves to take blurry, grainy pictures. And it isn't me nor my camera. This lens is cheaply made.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Quantaray 70-300
By NoneVerified Purchaser from Decline to state, NY on 3/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

No further comment.

 
very good
By dadonamissionVerified Purchaser from waycross, ga on 3/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

love it

 
Good price
By 452 AMXS retireeVerified Purchaser from Mira Loma, CA on 2/28/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Too slow when taking pictures in the dark.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
acceptable results
By Martinh11Verified Purchaser from Alexandria, VA. on 2/25/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

It autofocus with my d60, slow focus but general good results, good lens for the price.

Images shared by: Martinh11

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
So impressed that I purchased a second
By BubVerified Purchaser from Santa Fe, New Mexico on 2/23/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I was so impressed by my first, I purchased a second. I started birding two years ago and it is this lense that got me really into the hobby. Outstanding results!

Images shared by: Bub

Cooper's Hawk

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

on my way to work

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
a great buy
By cidharryVerified Purchaser from san antonio tx on 2/20/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

great buy

 
Great lens
By Photo OpsVerified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 2/17/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

It's a great lens. I haven't missed the vibration reduction which is why Nikkor lenses cost much more.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wife loves it
By KingVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, NC on 2/11/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Purchased this for my wife as a B-day presentand she is in love with the lenz. Great lenz for the money

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT Lens for the price
By Don the Matrix from Connecticut on 2/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Macro, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Great lens for the price... Good for wildlife, family candid shots, and school events.

Images shared by: Don the Matrix

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Lens! (But some concerns)
By Buyer Brown from Pittsburgh Pa on 2/3/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Nice Lens! But some concerns)
The Good:
This lens is not bad, the price is a very good, but you do get what you pay for.
This lens has great distance, a micro switch, built strong, and easy to use.

The Bad:
Slow Focus- not sure how anyone would use this for sports, by the time you Focus, the action is over, although, I did notice that once you are focused in the general area refocusing seems to be a bit faster, but still stutters to focus almost like it’s not sure what its suppose to do (LOL)
Not as sharp- the shots are not as sharp as I hoped for but it’s not horrible.

Conclusion:
I enjoyed the lens, but didn’t like the slow focus (deal breaker for me); the sharpness is not bad it’s just not as sharp as I hope. But remember this is a cost effective lens, and for the price is a great lens.
Beginners or students would do well to have this lens. Think of it like this if you can master this lens and create great photos, when you are ready to buy a more professional lens you will be that much better.

Over all suggestion:
I ended up going back to Ritz and swapping out this lens for the smaller 55mm to 200mm lens. This smaller lens is very good for the price and has none of the problems that the 70mm to 300mm lens has, although you lose some distance, you gain a much better lens over all.

My review from Buyer Brown

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for the money
By SB from Minnesota on 2/1/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

In need of a $300 but short on cash, this lens fills in nicely. It doesn't have the VR of a Nikkor but most use is on a tripod anyway. It's not the fastest of focus and noisier than some other lenses I've used; but, I'm not out to shoot high-speed needed photos this time around. For the price, can't really go wrong though sure there are advantages in other brands.

Images shared by: SB

Quantaray 70-300 at 70 on Nikon D60 unedited

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Quantaray 70-300 at 300 on Nikon D60 unedited

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
OK not the BEST
By Punch the Photo ManVerified Purchaser from Lexington, SC on 1/20/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

It OK for the MONEY?

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I'm buying a second!
By Bob from Santa Fe, NM on 1/17/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I photograph wildlife and this lense performs well under all conditions. Have traveled cross country multiple times and continues to meet my expectations.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the price!
By odp1979Verified Reviewer from Coral Springs, FL on 1/16/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I thought at [$] this was going to be a long shot, but it ended up being a great purchase. Focused fast for me, was sharp. I even made my hands shaky on purpose to see how much blur would occur, but there was hardly any. Great buy!! Don't pass this up!

Images shared by: odp1979

I was about 10 feet away. Just a test shot.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice lens.....
By babswVerified Purchaser from Toronto, Ohio on 1/1/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

For the price you wont get a better lens. I'm very happy with it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice lens especially for the money
By CUin1993Verified Purchaser from Atlanta / Cincinnati on 12/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

For the money, I don't think you can beat this lens. No picture that I ever take will ever grace the pages of National Geographic, but for my needs I am extremely pleased with this lens. It works seamlessly with my Nikon D60.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
70-300 mm lens positive results
By Deanna PepperVerified Purchaser from Minnesota on 12/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Takes wonderful pictures, but slow to focus. Lightweight. Reasonable price.
Would recommend for nature/wildlife photos...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Christmas Pictures
By KencatoeVerified Purchaser from Barnwell, SC on 12/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

This product gave me great Christmas pictures for use on my annual Christmas Card. I focused closely on my University of South Carolna Ornament on the tree. With the star filter it gave me a really good picture.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT LENS FOR THE PRICE
By DGP from Phoenix, Arizona on 12/22/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

EVEN AT 300MM ,HAND HELD GREAT PHOTOS!

Images shared by: DGP

super bowl time

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Hand Held, Made with Product

Havin fun

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Hand Held

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lens for the money.
By Train Photo BugVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, PA on 12/7/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, In-exspensive, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

This is good lens for the price. It lacks in the speed department but if you are looking for a good lens at a budget price this is a good choice.

Images shared by: Train Photo Bug

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Telephoto Lens Option
By Noel the DeveloperVerified Purchaser from Sparks, Nevada on 11/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Great quality telephoto lens for a quite low price. I compared it w/ the pictures taken w/ nikkor 55-200 and they were superb. Autofocuses w/ my nikon dslr d60 quite fast. And when set to manual focus, achieves sharp picture quality. The untrained eye enthusiast will not be able to distinguish pictures taken from quantaray, nikon, sigma and tamron. Manual mode elicits your creativity for special effects.

[2 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Dont buy this lens
By PamVerified Reviewer from Kingston, NY on 11/9/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Lens Creep, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

i have no idea what these people are talking about this lens.... i find it to be a peice of garbage.. spend the extra money and buy nikon...
blury even when you use the manuel focus

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
NICE ADDITION
By HOPPYVerified Purchaser from LEWES,DE on 11/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landcape, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I BOUGHT THIS LENSE FOR PICTURES OF WILDLIFE I PUT IT ON MY NIKON D40 AND IT WORKS GREAT, AUTO FOCUS WORKS GOOD A BIT SLOW BUT THATS TO BE EXPECTED. THIS THING IS THE BEST BANG FOR MY HARD EARNED BUCK I CAN FIND I WOULD BUY ANOTHER ONE. [...] NO REAL COMPLAINTS HERE PLEASE KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
i love this product i would buy this aga
By annieVerified Purchaser from kenova, west virginia on 10/31/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape, Special Effects, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

i just love using it. it is so easy to use

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
"very satisfied"
By PlasticVerified Purchaser from Texas on 10/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

At this price it greatly exceeded my expectations. Like most things on the net the negative recammendations come from those who don't own the product. I guess if your a professional don't buy it, but then again if you were a professional you wouldn't be looking at it in the first place.

Images shared by: Plastic

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lens for the price.
By PhototomVerified Purchaser from Stillwater, MN on 10/22/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I have taken around 50 or so photos with this lens and I think you get what you pay for. The photo quality is clear and good quality. Great for someone looking a starter telephoto lens or do not have a abundance of money to spend.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good value for enthusiast to semi-pro
By buzzVerified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 10/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
General Use, Outdoor Oil Gas Equip
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Used with a D-50; good price compared to Nikon glass. Fast enough and lightweight. Internet purchase superior to shopping in brick-and-mortar Wolf store. Overall, I'm pleased.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the price
By NavyguyVerified Purchaser from Texas on 10/14/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Quick Focus
Cons:
Heavy, Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Great glass for the price....... takes a little getting used and a very steady rest..... but you cant beat the price.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for the price
By hb_carebear_07Verified Reviewer from joliet, il on 10/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Breaks easily, Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Bought this lens 7 years ago and I am still using it today. I use it on my old Nikon N65 and I love the results I get with it. The reason I only give it 4 stars is because this is my second one (replaced for free because I bought the protection plan)! While overseas I slipped and my camera and lens hit the ground but not that hard because I had the camera strap around my neck. The camera was fine but the auto focus stopped working on the lens. It was unfixable and replace under the plan for free! But I still think it is a great valuse for th money!

 
Love it, Love it!!
By MekaVerified Reviewer from Frisco, Texas on 10/11/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I can't believe the quality!! Some said the auto focus would not work, but it did on my D60.

Images shared by: Meka

We love Elmo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Snacks too!!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Surprised me.
By WatainVerified Reviewer from Kingsport TN on 10/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Good Image quality
Cons:
Slow Focus, Too light
Best Uses:
Landcape, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I bought this lens as a compliment to my Nikon 18-135, for use on my D80. I honestly could not believe the image quality this lens produces. It rivals my 18-135 in everything but sharpness,and focus it's a little soft at 300mm and the focus is pretty slow. As it tends to hunt in low light. The lens itself is built pretty good, though I wish it had internal AF, and its pretty light I get motion blur at times for this lens being so light and having no image stabilization. I love the macro feature as well. Overall you cant beat it for the money.

Images shared by: Watain

Like I said excellent image quality.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love the Lens Upset with the durablity
By BirddogVerified Reviewer from Warrensburg, MO on 9/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I Love the shots and quality of the photos it takes. Macro feature is great for creative shots. Focus is a little slow at times for moving birds, but have not complants for photographing the daughter's sports events. I've had the lens 2.5 years and take great care of it and baby it. Unfortunately the zoom function broke while attending my daughters senior band performance. It is cheaper to replace it than to fix it so I will be purchasing my second one.

Images shared by: Birddog

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Reasonable price, decent quality
By firetruckVerified Purchaser from conway springs, ks on 9/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

For the price this is a good lens, I have been useing at sporting events and it does work well, the only draw back to this lens is it's slow focus. At times the slowness is an issue, but for the price it can't be beat.

Images shared by: firetruck

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the price
By BillVerified Purchaser from Columbia, MD on 9/18/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

new to the SLR cameras this lens makes it easy to learn slow focus on distance shots but pictures come out great

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Noisy but works great
By KeithVerified Purchaser from Central VA on 9/14/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Purchased to take pictures of my daughter playing field hockey.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
okay for the price
By AngieVerified Purchaser from morgantown, wv on 9/13/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I am a casual user and wasn't ready to buy the nikon lens, so I thought that I would try this lens for it's price. I use this lens on a nikon d60. I'm not very impressed with it, but it's a great "starter lens" for me.

Images shared by: Angie

pretty clear in manual focus

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

shot in black & white manual setting on camera

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Okay ... But
By mommacatVerified Purchaser from Nashville, TN on 9/1/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Back-Up
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I was going to send this back because if you are a shaky user it won't take a good picture. However, I threw my box away so I am stuck with it. Went on to purchse Nikon lens with VR - way better but had to pay for it.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Low Cost lens
By Dog PhotographerVerified Purchaser from Louisville, Kentucky on 8/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
A little slow to focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Great Low Cost lens. Great focus. A little slow but acceptable. I didn't like the lens that came with the D60. Needed more range. This was a good fit at a relatively low cost. Very happy with this product.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
as good more expensive lens
By chapVerified Purchaser from springfield tn. on 8/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I live in the woods and this lens is great for nature. This lens is great for someone on a budget.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!
By KimberlyVerified Purchaser from Denham Springs, LA on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I have and use several lenses and seem to always go right back to this one. Love the macro

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product for the price!
By JorgeR6Verified Purchaser from Killeen, TX. on 7/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Good performance, Great price
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I bought this lens for close up performance shots. I use it specifically for close ups of motorcycles on the racetrack. I own a Nikon D60 and I had a hard time finding a DSLR 70-300 zoom lens with outofocus. This lens solved the problem without having to spend the $600.00 on the Nikon lens. No so great... they say "you get what you pay for"... hopefully I didn't spend too much on this puppy.

Images shared by: JorgeR6

Waiting for the

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Matt exiting the track

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Buy For the Money
By ER RNsVerified Reviewer from Franklin County, VA on 11/3/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

We LOVE this lens. We purchased this lens about 3 years ago when we purchased our D70 and have enjoyed it. It works great for us as we have a lot of children involved in different sports. We have captured some wonderful shots during basketball & football, even facial expressions their eyes behind their facemasks! We also enjoy watching and photographing birds and scenery. Our kids will get it from time to time and take a LOT of still life type shots and each other acting crazy. And they are able to get some really good clean shots at weird angles. So this lens is easy for everyone to use. Occasionally we will get some blurry pix, but they are usually when we are not using the monopod. I am sure that we are not utilizing this lens as we are probably not utilizing 75% of our camera capabilities!

Images shared by: ER RNs

Flowers the children captured

Image Thumbnail

Tags: On D70 camera body, Using Product

More of the kids still life

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great quality value
By PhotoguyinmoVerified Reviewer from Independence, MO on 10/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I was looking for a lens with macro capability when I saw this one. I thought it was a value priced lens and thought I would try it. I was very surprised at the results. Many others have viewed the images and are surprised the sharp macro images have been taken with a Quantaray lens. One of the best values I have purchased. I use it for macros, general purpose zooms including wildlife and portraits.

Images shared by: Photoguyinmo

Macro made with this lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lense
By jandy71Verified Reviewer from Lake Villa, IL on 9/11/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Quiet, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

This is the first lense i've bought after i bought my D50. It has a great zoom for sneaking up on wildlife and for sporting events when you cant get close

Images shared by: jandy71

deer

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

ducks

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
QUANTARAY LDO MACRO 70-300MM F4-5.6
By STUDIO56Verified Reviewer from ROCKY MOUNTAIN HIGH, COLORADO. on 8/9/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, NICE, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
NOT BAD
Best Uses:
General Use, GOOD TELE, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I got this lens for [$] used in excel condi,it looks exactly as this model pictured here on this page, but mine says LDO. It has a 58mm filter size, which i bought a petal hood for it, its not internal focus,therefore the front of the lens spins while in focus, i shot it for about 200 shots, most all of them were in focus, of course with this 300m tele lens we all need to use it with a solid tripod, i found that from 70-250mm the lens is extremely sharp, with step down on f stops, from 250-300mm the sharpness decrease, but good enough to very good.It has a very close macro at 1:2 ratio, thats mean very close, i have shot a fly on table top and it came out very sharp. I understand that Quantaray made by Sigma, therefore the quality is great..I have all credit to Sigma lenses, i own many Sigmas today, for the price i think Sigma made better lenses than Canon and Nikon in the price range from 100-500$. I said this because i have owned over 30 Canon and Nikon lenses, but i sold them all( all in price range up to 500$). this is my 1st Quantaray but i love it, i use it with my Sony A100, A100 has build in Super Steady Shot there fore it works well with this Quantaray, i use it mostly for model shoot. This is a better lens than Nikon 70-300mm D or G lenses, because Nikon does not have Macro, and im not sure if Nikon is sharper?Can't beat it , buy it!!!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
great lens!
By airraid33Verified Reviewer from Milpitas, CA on 8/5/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Affordable, Consistent Output, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

great & affordable startup lens. this lens produced some great close-up & macro shots with my D80. besides the noise, so far I have no complaints.

Images shared by: airraid33

Taken @ Treasure Island (lens set to 300mm)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Spidey in macro

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
the best lens i'v ever used
By gooeyVerified Reviewer from innisfil, ontario on 7/30/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quiet, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Professional Work, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

this is byfar the number one best lens i'v ever used. its perfect for a distance shot and semi close shot and with the macro setting you can get some very clear pics, you might even say halmark worhty if your good. (lol)

Images shared by: gooey

taken at 300mm with the macro setting on

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
I like it...
By Scott156Verified Reviewer from White Lake, MI on 7/21/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

This is one of the first lenses I purchased and I have to say that I am always amazed at how well it performs for the price. I now own many lenses some costing thousands of dollars and I still pull this one out of the bag over and over again when I need a little more reach then my 200mm's can give and always get consistant, sharp shots. And I have taken some great macro shots with this lens as well. Again, when you need a little more reach for shy butterflies etc..Yes, it has a terribly slow auto-focus and it's a little loud compared to the Nikkor slient waves but when you get used to it and know it's limitations and learn to work within them, you will get consistantly good photos from this lens.As an example, my wife and I were at an airshow today and she used this lens and I used my 200mm Nikon f/2.8 VR lens both on D80's and her photos were every bit as sharp as mine and I was using a [$]lens! Yes, she had a to deal with slow focusing and missed a few high-speed flybyes but overall you simply cannot beat it for [$]!

Images shared by: Scott156

One of my many marcos w/ this lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

From a distance

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good addition
By sbrospVerified Reviewer from Sacramento, CA on 7/6/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I purchased this lens based on the previous reviews and I have to say that it lives up to the positive feedback. The focus is sharp and consistant. My only complaint that it is a little loud but it's a great lens for someone starting out in the hobby...a very good backup lens!

Images shared by: sbrosp

Shot in Balboa Park, San Diego, CA

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
My new Main Lens
By JD The Fire ChaserVerified Reviewer from South Glens Falls, NY on 6/11/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focusing
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Amazing lens. Out of about 5 lenses I have this one gets the most camera-time. I love getting those up close shots when you're just a little too far away for most other lenses.
While the focusing is a bit slow it tends to find very crisp images and a nice speed to the lens.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not for D40
By Mikey.PhotoVerified Reviewer from home on 4/5/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Good zoom
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

It is a very good lens. Only thing is it doesn't work on Nikon D40. tried and tested. manual focus only. Otherwise its a pretty good lens. no Chromatic abb. or anything. Might return it for Nikon equiv.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great beginner zoom lens
By mobilechomp from Virginia on 3/28/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

For a beginner or someone who's tight on cash its a great deal. Makes good enough pictures for a beginner. If you have the cash get the [...]Nikorr with VR (or if you also have a cheaper 15-55 then just get the Nikorr 18-200 VR and be done with it), otherwise this is a great lens until your skills outgrow the physical limitations of the lens, and then it makes a nice backup.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for the price!
By dreycraftVerified Reviewer from Fort Myers, FL on 3/28/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Great zoom for the beginner. The only snag that I have found after 700+ pictures was a little slow in focusing.

Images shared by: dreycraft

Alms at Sebring 2007

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Great for nature

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Well worth the money!
By BooRoy PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Roy, Utah on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

One of the better lenses for the beginer photographers. If your into photography seriously you may want to go with the Nikon verson, but this is a real good starter lens

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
great for all sharp on nikon d 80
By bob from chicago il on 2/3/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Professional Work, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

great lens for the buck

Images shared by: bob

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, At 300mm

RitzCamera.com Response: Nice photo.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow. This is pretty bad.
By FhantazmVerified Reviewer from Chesapeake, Va on 1/30/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Image Quality
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I wanted to like this. I really did. However after about 30ish shots, it was clear this lens has a BAD problem with chromatic aberrations. Very bad. Purple halos everywhere and its generally not very sharp. I'll be taking this back and going with the Nikon equivalent, which is what I should have done to begin with. I just wanted to give the underdog a try in hopes it came out a winner. No such luck.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for Macro and far-away closeups
By JDiPierroVerified Reviewer from Upstate New York on 1/12/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Clean, Great for Macro, Great price, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focusing, Very long
Best Uses:
Far away Closeups, General Use, Macro, Professional Work
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Great product, amazing price for such a great lens but not the best for action, it's slow at auto focusing but if you want to sacrifice a small amount of sharpness you can manually focus it relatively easily.

[23 of 23 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent "Bang" for the Buck!
By Bud from Las Vegas, NV on 11/24/2006
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects, Upgrade

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Have always used Nikon lens on other Nikon cameras. This lens,however, has exceeded my expectations and has become my primary lens of choice for most of my outdoor and wildlife photography.

[12 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

 
OK, I'd recommend the Nikon
By rawcaptureVerified Reviewer from Richmond, VA on 11/24/2006
Pros:
cheap
Cons:
not as sharp as the nikon
Best Uses:
Back-Up

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

focused slightly faster than the nikon equiv. I bit more quite operation but not nearly as sharp as the Nikon

[32 of 33 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it
By Harper from Atlanta, GA on 11/15/2006
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 70-300 mm DI f/4-5.6 Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

For an inexpensive lense it is one of my favorites. I can get such great close-ups and they are sharp. I dont even use my other Nikor lenses anymore.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.