Buy the 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon image
 
(based on 24 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
A High-performance Telephoto Zoom Lens, Designed specifically for use with Digital SLR Cameras.

The new 55-200mm F4-5.6 DC compact telephoto zoom lens was exclusively designed for use with digital SLR cameras. The image circle was designed to match the size of the image sensors of digital SLR cameras that also allows compact body and lightweight with overall length of 3.3in. (84.6mm), and weight of only 10.9 ounces (310g). It has a filter size of 55mm, maximum diameter of 2.7in. (70mm).

This remarkably compact high performance zoom lens is ideally suited to a wide range of subjects. This lens has a minimum focusing distance of 43.3in. (110 cm) and maximum magnification of 1:4.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.4 stars
(based on 24 reviews)
71% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Beginner(4), Enthusiast(15)
Pros:
Consistent output(5), Durable(11), Easily interchangeable(17), Easy to clean(12), Fast / accurate auto-focus(15)
Cons:
Blurry focus(5), Slow focus(8), Tough to attach(3)
Best Uses:
Back-up(3), General purpose(16), Portraits(3), Sports/action(5), Upgrade(3)
 
Great buy for your $$.....
By Heather from VA on 9/23/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Great, Lightweight, Strong Construction, Very easy, Yes
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I bought this because I thought it was a great buy!!!! Great buy and price for the lens....takes great pics...as well!!!! It fits my D5000:) It is a manual focus, but takes crisp pics:) LOVE IT!!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lack of VR very evident
By Missile monkeyVerified Reviewer from Cheyenne, WY on 5/8/2010
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

This lens might work okay with a tripod, but with out VR it is almost impossible to focus on a face. Also, AF doesn't work on th eNikon D60, so that may have played a part. I returned it the day I got it, so can't speak for those that warmed up to it. I chose to spend the extra money on the nikon VR AF.

 
oK product
By boggVerified Purchaser from goodrich texas on 12/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Cons:
Slow Focus, Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Just an ok product, not as sharp as my nikon lens.

 
Great Lens for what I needed, but....
By BB MomVerified Reviewer from Long Beach, CA on 12/22/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

It isn't auto focus, you have to manually focus, and with sports, you have to really have a good eye to focus that quickly. Lighting is also difficult to focus, so most of the time with basketball games, it is too slow of a lens to really get GREAT shots. But, for the price, I was happy to get some photos close up of the team playing.

 
Great All Purpose Lens
By ggriffnVerified Purchaser from Pittsboro, NC on 10/31/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

A great lens and a wonderful addition to the Nikon D80 package.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't buy Quantaray lense
By Raj MalhotraVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Don't have any
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
none
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

If I had choice I would return this for a better lense, this one came free with Nikon D80 from Ritz

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
I'm a believer
By SithLordVerified Purchaser from Utah on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Could be built better
Best Uses:
Back-Up
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

This came free with my D80 kit, and boy was I suprised. I've had quantaray products in the past, and although was usually satisfied with their performance, never thought they were anything spectacular... but this lens blows me away! It takes great shots, the focus is fast and sharp, and works flawlessly. It is very lightweight, which also hints to a little cheaper design, but none the less it's a good lens for the price. I would consider this an excellent back-up lens, or a good "less-expensive" lens to take into rough situations where you don't want to risk your higher-end ones.

Images shared by: SithLord

Snowbird Utah

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Ducks at Hogle Zoo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
mmmm, not all that
By photoallyVerified Purchaser from ca. on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

this product was at a great price, but, it is really hard to change it.

 
That is really good lenes
By JaydenVerified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 8/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

That is really good lenes

 
A so so lens
By Photo ManVerified Purchaser from Portland, OR on 8/18/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Dark color picture, Lens Creep, Slow Focus
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

This len is slow to focus. The pictures are dark from this len.

 
hmm.....
By clarionVerified Purchaser from wood dale, illinois on 8/14/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Lens Creep, Tough To Attach, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Portraits, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I got this one with the package when bought nikon d 80.
not bad lens pictures are ok, but there is something off. This lens is too ligt to my opinion, then lens cover not really handy to put.
pictures are nice

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the money
By WRT3Verified Purchaser from Columbia, SC on 8/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Got his lens as a special package deal with the camera I bought. It's a lot cheaper than the name-brand lens, but the quality is comparable. This lens feels more substantial than the NIKKOR lens. Seems pretty rugged. No complaints here.

 
Good lense
By gjbVerified Purchaser from Englewood, FL on 7/30/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Good lense for the price. Wish it had a lower F stop, but the price is right and it is smaller than the old 35mm lenses.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
muy buen tele objetivo
By braulio from chileVerified Reviewer from santiago de chile on 7/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

muy buen lente ideal para dias luminosos ya que le falta rango , al ser manual uno se esfuerza mas en el enfoque pero te da la ogudeza del ojo para sacar muy buena fotos

Images shared by: braulio from chile

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Depends on what you like.
By Maj BrigVerified Reviewer from Riverside, CA on 7/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Outdoors, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

At first I was a little disappointed, but when I started to use it more and more I warmed up to it. It really isn't that bad. It would definitely a great lens for someone just starting out.

 
good close up, but.....
By ayasse1 from windham, ct on 7/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I got this lens free with the Nikon d80 package. I was excited to have a macro as I do a lot of flowers and butterflies. However I was so disappointed that I had to stand so far away to get the lens to focus which cost me some nice shots. It's a good lens if you want some "close ups" of somethings, but I wouldn't truly call it a macro lens.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Alot of lens for your buck.
By AndyVerified Reviewer from Biloxi, MS on 5/16/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I have been using this lens for about a year now. The cost to image quality ratio make it the best lens that I own for the money spent. I use it on my D80 and it produces excellent images. The build quality is below average as it should be for the price. Take note: the advertised specifications do not match those that come with this lens. they more closely match those of the Sigma 55-200mm. the lens you get has the same specificatios as the Tamron 55-200mm. Ritz needs to correct this error.

 
This is really good lens
By JaydenVerified Reviewer from San Jose, CA on 4/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Scratches Easily
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

This is really good product and price is O.K

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
not bad for the money
By fiveosurfer from hawaii on 3/10/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Not bad lense for the price. It's lightweight, easy to use, and easy to change. But after 100mm, the lense starts to lose it's focus.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Dosen't work on the D40
By Shooter Joe from Bridgeport, CT on 1/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Dosen't work on my Nikon
Best Uses:
Portraits, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

If it worked with my D40 I would have purchased it lucky I tried in store I bought another lense instead which is 100% better. But still for the price you can't beat this lense. If you can handle not using AF and doing it manually then go ahead if not get something else...

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't judge a book by its cover
By biadmin from malta on 10/5/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction, Very good lens for 40d
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

very very good lens, I own one.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Lens
By PDImagesVerified Reviewer from Do-Da, KS on 6/21/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

Great lens, sharp, fast focus, outstanding quality for the price. I just wish the zoom ring was to the front of the lens not the back. It's not a big deal, the lens is well worth the money.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens, Great price
By Shawn from Texas on 4/6/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

A neat all-purpose telephoto lens.[...]a great buy!

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great zoom lense
By AndyVerified Reviewer from Newark, DE on 3/29/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Loose lense cover after m
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

love it!! i bought a nikon d50 w/18-55 kit lense and wanted a inexpensive lense to take me to the telephoto relm and this was the one for me!! definately reccomend

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.