Buy the Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Lenses For Nikon

A Compact, Lightweight Zoom Lens Designed to Suit the Characteristics of Digital Cameras.

The new 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC has been exclusively designed to suit the characteristics of digital SLR cameras. The image circle was designed to match the size of the image sensors of digital SLR cameras, and this produced a compact lens with a maximum diameter of 2.3in. (60mm), overall length of 2.6in. (67.5mm) and weight of only 8.6 ounces (245 gm). It has a variable angle of view of 69.3 - 27.9 degrees.

The use of aspherical lenses provides correction for various aberrations throughout the entire zoom range and produce high level of optical performance. 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC lens has a minimum focusing distance of 9.8in. (25cm) at all focal lengths and is capable of macro photography with a maximum magnification ratio of 1:3.5.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Semi-professional(6)
Pros:
Consistent output(7), Durable(3), Easily interchangeable(8), Easy to clean(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(9)
Best Uses:
General purpose(9), Portraits(3)
 
Quantaray 18-50 mm
By randy1402Verified Purchaser from middlesex nj on 3/24/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

nice small lens.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5-6 DC Dig AF
By TBuMoonVerified Purchaser from Cedartown, GA. on 2/19/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I use this little power house of a lens to photograph landscapes , large groups and to get a wide angle perspective of something. I highly recomend any of the Quantaray Lenses. They are very durable. The only Con that I have found is they are audibly noisey( Especially with a larger lens such as 70-300) and thats not good if you are photographing wildlife in the field where you must be very still and quiet to get the right shot. So just keep that in mind.

Images shared by: TBuMoon

Colorado River Shot in Boulder , NV.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the price
By AnthonyVerified Purchaser from McAllen, Texas on 10/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

This lens got me out of a tight spot, when my Nikor lens gave out. Its great for group shots, and general photography. Its very light, and easy to use. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a good backup lens but doesn't want to spend the money.

Images shared by: Anthony

My friend Nancy

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Decent Lens for the cost
By Stengel MediaVerified Purchaser from Whitehall, PA on 9/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I've used Quantaray lenses before and always found them to be decent lenses for the money. This lens is no exception. It is light and fairly fast to focus. It is sharp and has a good contrast to it. Obviously it is a class below the Nikon version, but considering the difference in cost, well worth it.
The only cons t this lens is it is not built to be strong, and, as with most zooms, has that annoying little f3.5 limit. It is by no means the fastest lens, but it is great for daily use.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
What a great value !
By papadakaVerified Purchaser from San Diego, California on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

this lens is an awesome back up and is lightweight enough not to be a bother when carrying it around your neck on the extra body to get those close up shots without changing the telephoto lens on the main body.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just what I needed
By EditorVerified Purchaser from Estacada, OR on 8/5/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I bought this lens for the Nikon D70 and used it right away to photograph a big weekend celebration in town. The pics turned out great for our page 2 feature section in the newspaper.
Editor - Estacada News

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF
By BingobuddyVerified Purchaser from Columbia SC on 8/1/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

This lens replaced a 28-80 lens that went bad and was not worth fixing. In addition, I needed a lens in a hurry and would not have had time to find someone to fix it. In addition to more wide angle, it fits in with the other lens I use. The price was good [...] I had the lens in a few days and never had to miss an assignment or a shot I wanted to take. This lens was made for Nikon by Quantaray so I feel as if I still received the same auality of a Nikon lens. Another photographer borrowd this lens and since has ordered one.

[5 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cheap, Average Lens.
By PrintsCharmingVerified Reviewer from San Diego on 9/3/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
cheap, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Emergency Beat-Up
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I did the "Pepsi" Challenge with similar lenses, a Nikon and Vivitar. The Quantaray was NOT as sharp as the Nikon (Nikkor). The color saturation also sucked, and the contrast was weak. This is a CHEAP lens, you get what you pay for, and I do not recommend this for any Professional. This is a good back-up, beat-up, snap-shot taking lens- that's about it. The focus is fairly quick, quiet, and the range is decent. I've owned Quantaray lenses before, and they never impressed me. Never again will I buy Quantaray lenses.

Images shared by: PrintsCharming

Nikon vs. Quantaray

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Look No Further
By BigbobkdallasVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 8/1/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slightly Noisy
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

This lense is a smart choice for the Nikon Owner looking for an economical lens with high end performance. Meets or excedes all the basic photo needs of hobbiests to semi-pro photographers.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Unmatched for the price
By Rooftop SharpshooterVerified Reviewer from Irvine, CA on 3/2/2007
Pros:
Sharp Focus, Very Sharp at 18mm
Best Uses:
Architecture, General Use, Landscape
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

People need to trust the independent companies more. This is an excellent lens for the purposes that I use it. Always set at 18mm, I use it to capture landscape and architecture and it always produces very sharp photos. For 2/3 the price of the Nikon 18-55mm, it produces the same quality!

Images shared by: Rooftop Sharpshooter

Architecture never looked so good!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Simply beautiful!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Extra Width For Indoor Spaces
By Pork Chop KidVerified Reviewer from Lancaster PA on 2/16/2007
Pros:
58mm Filter Size, Extra Width, Sharp Focus, Very Affordable
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
General Use, Indoor Tight Spaces
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-50 mm f/3.5-5.6 DC Digital Series AF Zoom Lens for Nikon:

I bought this because it provided a little extra wide angle for indoor situations. The other benefit was the 58mm filter size used on my main lens. I can see some occassional scenic use and will not have to buy another CPL. This lens is small and fits easily in my camera case. So far it has met my needs in several indoor tight space situations. I use it with a Nikon D50.

Images shared by: Pork Chop Kid

A Small Indoor Space

Image Thumbnail
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.