Buy the Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR image
 
(based on 17 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
  • Exclusively designed for use with digital SLR cameras featuring APS-C size image sensor.
  • High zoom ratio 11:1.
  • Compact, Lightweight and Durable construction with diameter of 70mm (2.8 in.), length of 78.1mm (3.1 in.) and weight of 405g./14.3oz. Lens has Metal Mount.
  • Minimum focusing distance of 45cm (17.7 in.) at all focal lengths.
Compact, Lightweight Superzoom lens, with high zoom ratio 11:1

This high zoom ratio lens is exclusively designed for digital SLR cameras and capable of covering a wide range of focal lengths from wide-angle to telephoto. Two Special Low Dispersion (SLD) glass elements and two hybrid aspherical lenses offer the utmost correction for all types of aberrations, and enables this extended range super zoom lens to be housed in a compact and lightweight construction of 70mm (2.8 in.) diameter, and 78.1mm (3.1 in.) in length, and weighing just 405g/14.3oz. The new lens coating reduces flare and ghost, which is a common problem of digital cameras and also creates an optimum color balance. This lens has a minimum focusing distance of 45cm (17.7 in.) at all focal lengths and has maximum magnification of 1:4.4.

The lens design incorporates an inner focusing system, which prevents the front of the lens from rotating, making it particularly suitable for using circular polarizing filters and petal shaped lens hoods. The overall length of the lens does not change during focusing, ensuring convenient handling and ease of use. A zoom lock switch eliminates zoom creep during transportation, a convenient addition when traveling.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.4 stars
(based on 17 reviews)
60% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(10), Professional(3)
Pros:
Consistent output(4), Durable(5), Easily interchangeable(10), Fast / accurate auto-focus(9), Lightweight(9)
Cons:
Blurry focus(4), Lens creep(3), Slow focus(5)
Best Uses:
General purpose(13), Landscape photography(4), Sports/action(3), Upgrade(4)
 
Not Good
By DerikVerified Reviewer from Tampa, FL on 10/30/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

It is almost a fantastic lens, with its good durability, decent glass, great price; unfortunately it is FATALLY flawed in that it will never give a properly focused picture in the standard settings. This lens will back-focus every picture, at least with the D60; I have checked this out with multiple lenses from different stores.

This being said, this may be a great walkaround lens for people with a higher level Nikon camera (you will have to check out your model for yourself) as some cameras allow the user to calibrate the focus. As the D60 does not allow for this calibration, it is a useless lens to me.

The price is alluring, but it isn't worth ruining every picture if you can't calibrate.

 
It Works!
By English TeacherVerified Reviewer from Santo Domingo, DR on 9/24/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Lens Creep
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

This Quantaray is doing the job, for the price paid. The Nikons are Porsche; in comparison, this is an Audi. I have the Nikon 55-200, but depend on the Quantaray for day to day versatility.

Images shared by: English Teacher

Jardine Botanico

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Disappointing lens
By Clearsight from Glen Ellyn, IL on 8/24/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Lens Creep, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

I love the versatility of the range on this (18-200 is a lot of zoom!) which is great for travel or even the varying demands of a wedding. But it has "soft spots" in that range which is frustrating at best, maddening at worst. Even if I give up on the auto focus and switch to manual, there a few spots that are simply never sharp. It is slow to auto focus and is not great focusing in low light. I would recommend to anyone needing true clarity in their images to upgrade to a Nikon lens. For everyday use with family or vacations, it's great, but I can't recommend it for more serious work.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
My "do it all" lens
By Just your average JoeVerified Reviewer from Minot, ND on 6/16/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

This lens is the perfect solution for me. I don't like to lug around a huge camera bag when going on vacation, or even just going for a hike. It's zoom range replaces my 18-55 and 55-200 nikkor, and it focuses more quickly than my 18-55. Also, my lens has OS (quantaray's version of VR) which allows me to drop the shutter speed by almost 4 stops. I was told that this lens is a re-badged tamron, and the image quality seems to confirm that. Of course, it is no professional lens, but for the amateur photographer it's the best bang for the buck in my opinion. It is a bit loud in the focus department, but well worth it. The large diameter casts a shadow when using the built in flash, guess I'll have to buy a speedlight.

 
SUCH A SUPER VERSATILE QUALITY LENS !
By RAPID ROBERTVerified Purchaser from GEORGETOWN, TEXAS on 3/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

PERMITS MULTIPLE PHOTOGRAPHIC OPPORTUNITES

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Would not recommend
By DMJVerified Reviewer from Austin, TX on 1/7/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

I have had this lense for almost a year now. Takes horrible night/low light photos. It is also not as fast as I would like. I am now looking to upgrage. Wished I had saved my money.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent lens
By BinuVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 12/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

Great lens

 
Good Product for the price
By SparkyVerified Purchaser from South Carolina on 9/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

I was a little leery about the lens because several reviews said there was a problem with focus; however, I found that if you take the time to focus correctly it gives a very clear picture. This is not a lens you would want to just point and shoot with because it is slow focus, but all in all I am satisfied with the quality. I especially like how compact it is. I've used it to take vacation shots and wildlife photos.

Images shared by: Sparky

Elk @ Cataloochee

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Alright if your not a pro
By ShutterbugVerified Purchaser from Marquette, MI on 9/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
feels cheap, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

Nice for taking portraits- but I wish I would have bought the more expensive Nikon lens.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens,great price
By Argo from L.A. CA on 3/13/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Lens Creep
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

Excellent all round lens.Minor creep is not a problem with the lens-lock.A great default lens for most situations and all levels of proficiency.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Terrible Focus
By Flygirl from Austin on 1/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
To sit in camera bag
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

I bought this lens thinking it would be as good as my Tamron lens I have for a film camera. I was so wrong. First the sales girl sold me the wrong filter for a D80. So immediately my pictures were blurry but when I figured it out and took it off they weren't much better. I am picky about my focus and I could never get a totally in focus shot with this lens no matter what I did. I took shots with the exact same settings with a Nikkor lens and they came out in focus and with the Quantaray they would not come in focus even when the camera said it was on auto or manual settings. The worst lens I have used in 25 years of using SLR's. Even a very experienced professional told me to trash it.

 
Good, versitile lens
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Maryland on 12/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Versatile
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

I've been using mine for a couple of months now, and it has become my 'default' lens. Useful for most of my picture taking. I agree with other reviewers that it's not a particularly fast lens, though. Every lens has some limitations, and this is no exception. But overall, I'm happy with the results I'm getting. Glad I bought it.

 
Good Lens
By Sweetlady_4569Verified Reviewer from Minnesota on 10/26/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Great for close-ups
Cons:
Blurry far away shots
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

This lens was great for close-up shots while I was taking nature pictures.

 
Pretty good lens
By SimpsonTruckDriverVerified Reviewer from Deltona, FL on 10/13/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

Up to 200mm on a Nikon D200, the photographs are sharp and clear. Closer to 200mm, the photographs are a little soft. If you have a hood on it, at 200mm, there's some vignetting (common with large lenses). If I am doing general shots, I set the lock on the side (for Macros), which helps keep lens in place. Night shots take a bit of camera compensation (high ISO, slow shutter, etc), as it is not very fast lens. Overall, it's good if you're not doing high zooms or night action shots.

Images shared by: SimpsonTruckDriver

Boston Massacheusetts

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Final pitch, Boston vs Texas, Fenway Park

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lens
By Way Jeff from Your Mom's house on 5/20/2007
Pros:
Compact, good price
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

Good lens, good deal for the money. Before i got this one I tried the Tamron 18-200 but I didn't really like it - too soft and dull. Better results with this lens. I especially like the compact size, smaller than any of the other 18-200s, except for the Sigma, which is what this is with a Quantaray nameplate.[...]Love from Jeff

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
not worth the money
By johns from CA on 3/12/2007
Cons:
Inaccurate Controls, Scratches Easily, Tough To Attach, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
not suggested
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

would not recommend this lens

 
Yes!
By J. DizzleVerified Reviewer from Tampa, FL on 2/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Falloff
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm DC 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Nikon DSLR:

This lens is the perfect replacement to a less versitile 28-200mm lens. DC build is great and really does make a noticable difference prom film lenses on digital bodies. It is razor sharp and is a great lens to keep on one of your digital bodies all the time for multipurpose situations, e.g. backpacking for 3 days and not wanting to carry all 5 of your lenses.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.