Buy the Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
The AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED significantly expands the range of DX-Nikkor lenses and is expected to become the standard lens for Nikon digital SLR camera users. By virtue of being DX-Nikkor, designed exclusively for DX-format image sensors in Nikon's digital SLR cameras, this new lens is not only compact and light-weight, but also offers outstanding edge-to-edge sharpness and image quality.

  • The Nikon's first constant f/2.8 3.2x zoom lens developed exclusively for use with Nikon DX Format
  • 3.2x zoom covers from a wide angle of 79-degrees to a narrow angle of 28-degrees 50' (equivalent to 25.5mm to 85.5mm for 35mm format) and is ideal for architecture, landscape, groups shots and portraits.
  • DX design enables a combination of wider angle-of-view with optical characteristics that are optimized for Nikon digital SLR camera sensors
  • Nikon DX design produces a smaller image circle (the size of the image that is projected by the lens on to the sensor) enabling smaller lens diameter, lighter weight and optimal image quality from center-to edge-to-corner on the image
  • 3 Extra-Low Dispersion (ED) glass elements for minimized chromatic aberration and provide higher resolution and superior contrast
  • 3 Aspherical lens elements for minimized distortion
  • Lightweight and compact design: similar to 17-35mm f/2.8 lens
  • Exclusive Silent Wave Motor enables ultra-high-speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and powerful super-quiet operation
  • [M/A] and [M] modes allow rapid switching between AF and MF operation
  • Internal Focusing (IF) design for smoother focusing and great body balance
  • Nikon D-type design provides precise distance information for flash and ambient light exposure processes
  • Rounded diaphragm to make out-of-focus elements appear more natural
  • G Type DX Nikkor is designed exclusively for use with Nikon Digital SLR models
  • Fully Compatible with D1, D1X, D1H, D2H and D100
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Semi-professional(4)
Pros:
Consistent output(9), Durable(9), Easily interchangeable(8), Fast / accurate auto-focus(14), Rugged(6)
Cons:
Heavy(4)
Best Uses:
General purpose(7), Night photography(5), Portraits(4), Weddings(3)
 
"Just an amazing lens"
By PopVerified Reviewer from Canton, Ga. on 4/26/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor:

Fantastic purchase for my collection of lenses.

 
fabulous!
By nate the greatVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 6/14/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor:

this lens has amazing image quality and boosted the resolution on my d300s

 
AWESOME LENS!!!
By CRVerified Reviewer from Tucker, Ga on 2/11/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Kinda heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor:

This lens is great. I use the lens 95% of the time. The quick sharp focus is fantastic and can soak up so much light for low light shots. It is a tad heavy in comparison to some lenses I've had, however it's far better than those also. Well worth the price in my opinion.

Images shared by: CR

fuzzy flower

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great D40/D60 kit lens upgrade!
By Toby LawrenceVerified Reviewer from West Warwick, RI on 11/12/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor:

Now I know what you're thinking... "a $1400 lens for a D40/D60?!?!"

I bought my D40 back about a year ago and used the 18-55 kit lens for about 6 months. I decided to upgrade to the 18-55 VR kit lens that comes with the D60, as I did a lot of nightlife photography w/ motion involved, so this helped a lot.

I decided it was time to upgrade even further, but I didn't want to move from my comfort zone of 18-55 which I spent a year learning to utilize so well.

The 17-55 f/2.8 was the PERFECT upgrade for me. The D40 is light itself, so you might expect the lens to make the whole assembly pretty top heavy. I ended up getting a generic battery grip as I have big hands and wanted a more comfortable grip. This turned out to be the perfect setup with this lens.

The lens itself is tack sharp, has superbly fast focus, and is built like a tank. It has distance markers for setup shots, and manual override focus for tricky spots where the camera can't/won't get it right. The fast aperture really inspires confidence that you're going to catch the shot you want, and the bokeh... well, the bokeh is fantastic. The zoom and focus rings are buttery smooth and their orientation wasn't a problem for me at all, which people seem to find fault with often.

My setup is pretty oddball (you don't see many D40s with a battery grip and a 17-55 f/2.8 slapped on it) but it works well for me.

Overall, the 17-55 f/2.8 was everything I expected and more.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great piece of lense!
By Dan the Man from Burlingame, California on 6/20/2009
Pros:
Exceptional results, Improves Picture Quality, Very sturdy
Cons:
Rather heavy
Best Uses:
General landscape, People shots, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Serious amateur
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor:

When the ace is needed, I pull this one out. It's a great lense in terms of picture sharpness and quality.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
great short lens
By vanceVerified Purchaser from Rock Springs, wy on 11/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor:

amazing how little you need a flash, good light gathering

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
one of the best Nikon lens
By zhengVerified Reviewer from san francisco ca on 9/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor:

i love this lens and i put it on my D300 all the time, the 17-55 is better than 17-35 and also the 2.8 f is very useful.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not in my bag, on my camera always...
By JodyVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 8/1/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor:

Portrait / Event photography. Great for group shots and working in small areas due to zoom. Very fast, but heavy to carry all day.Only [...]could make this better.

[4 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Superb 'Standard' Lens
By ArjayVerified Reviewer from Castro Valley, CA on 7/14/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor:

I have to say that I have never regretted buying this lens! If you can only choose one lens for your DSLR then this is the one to have. I know that its all too easy to tell yourself that its not worth the extra weight or the extra money but when you use it and when you see the results you'll realize that neither are true. A great all round lens.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
The better wide angle!
By D from Hanover, MD on 4/15/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Close-up photography, General Use, Group Portraits, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor:

First came the decision of which wide angle lens I needed. Nikon made the new 14-24mm, which I thought was an awesome range. I checked it out at a Ritz Camera store, and it was not what I thought it was going to be. I saw the 17-55mm, tried it out, and fell in love with right away! It is one of my prime lenses that I keep on my camera to do portraits, family group shots, and just get a nice wide angle landscape. I love this lens! It will NEVER leave my camera bag!

[7 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens
By RudyVerified Reviewer from Williams, AZ on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Didnt buy it sooner, Price
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 G IF-ED AF-S DX Zoom Lens-Nikkor:

Only complaint is the lens pops out at 17mm. But if it didnt it wouldnt be able to shoot past the lens hood. Other than that its well worth the price, you get what you pay for.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.