Buy the Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens image
 
(based on 12 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
With the introduction of the AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED lens Nikon fulfills a promise of addressing photographers' needs for wider angle-of-view coverage in digital SLR cameras. These new lenses not only offer Nikon digital SLR photographers the broadest options for wide-angle coverage, but also significantly reduce the size of the lenses they have to carry - without any change in performance or angle-of-view. The AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED len offers 180 degree angle-of-view.

At 180 degree diagonal angle-of-view, the AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED is not only Nikon's first fisheye lens designed for digital SLRs, but also the first to offer such a wide picture-angle for any digital camera. It features optimized optical performance with close range focusing up to a mere 5.5 inches for extreme close-ups. Innovative Close-Range Correction (CRC) technology ensures consistently crisp, sharp images. This palm-sized lens is small and lightweight, and its compact design is exemplary of the potential of DX-Nikkor to reduce lens size and offer added convenience to Nikon digital SLR users.

Nikon engineers determined that by reducing the diameter of the lens' image circle (the image it projects on the DX format sensor), a range of lenses with practical size and excellent performance could be developed. Originally designed to address the market's need for wider angle-of-view, high-performance optics for digital SLR photography, DX-Nikkor lenses offer advantages of compact and lightweight design, fast aperture and fast autofocus through Nikon's Silent Wave Motor design. By optimizing them for Nikon's DX-format image sensors used in all Nikon D-series digital SLR's, these lenses achieve outstanding center-to-edge-to-corner image quality. All DX-Nikkor lenses are compatible with all Nikon D-series digital SLR cameras, including the D1, D1X, D1H, D100 and the new high-speed D2H.

While photographers will enjoy the incredible depth of field and unique perspective characteristics of this fisheye lens, they can also double it as an ultra-wide angle lens using Nikon's optional Capture 4.0 software's unique 'Fisheye-to-Rectilinear Image Transformation' capability. With the click of a button, Capture 4.0 instantly transforms fisheye images taken with this lens into straight lined, rectilinear images. The software offers a choice of cropping the image vertically or horizontally, during the transformation process, and gives an outstanding 110 degree angle-of-view when oriented horizontally.

  • Ultra wide picture angle of 180-degree on DX sensor achieved by producing a smaller image circle (the size of the image that is projected by the lens on to the sensor) enabling smaller lens diameter, lighter weight and optimal image quality from center-to edge-to-corner on the image.
  • Equivalent to 16mm focal length on 35mm
  • Minimum focus distance of 0.14m (5.5 in.), or 0.03m (1.2 in.) from the lens front, makes extreme close-ups possible
  • Close-Range Correction (CRC) provides high performance for sharper images when taking pictures up close
  • Extra-Low Dispersion (ED) glass element minimizes chromatic aberration
  • Design enables a combination of wider angle-of-view with optical characteristics that are optimized for Nikon digital SLR camera sensors
  • Nikon D-type design provides precise distance information for flash and ambient light exposure processes
  • Rounded diaphragm to make out-of-focus elements appear more natural
  • G Type DX Nikkor is designed exclusively for use with Nikon Digital SLR models
  • Built-in Flower Type lens Hood
  • Fully Compatible with D1, D1X, D1H, D2H and D100
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 12 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(8)
Pros:
Consistent output(6), Durable(9), Easily interchangeable(7), Fast / accurate auto-focus(7), Lightweight(6)
Best Uses:
General purpose(5), Night photography(3), Professional work(3), Special effects(9), Sports/action(3)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this lens!
By GraybeardJVerified Purchaser from Sacramento, CA on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Buildingsarchitecture, Indoors/Low Light, Newsphotojournalism, people
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Nikon Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens:

I cover news and events for a government agency and this lens adds a new perspective to what are normally pretty static and run-of-the-mill assignments.

Images shared by: GraybeardJ

Fallen Leaf Lake stocking day-Lahontan Cut-throat

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Amador HS Football Game, Sutter Creek, CA

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
So wide you will never miss the shot!
By Ski Resort BrentVerified Reviewer from Cleveland, Ohio on 12/21/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Difficult to Clean
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Video, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens:

I bought this lens on a trial basis to take with me to NYC. I had always used a wide-angle lens on video cameras and loved the result so why not for my D200. It took about a dozen picture to fall in love. This lens is very sharp on detail and great for low light.

Images shared by: Ski Resort Brent

New York City Street Shot at Night

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

HDR 5th Ave. Apple Store

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens, tad pricey
By almostanicknameVerified Reviewer from Boston, MA on 10/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens:

I use the product to shoot skateboarding maneuvers. The fisheye lens is the main component of skating documentaries and i love this lens for he job.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
super wide angle!
By hdphotographyVerified Reviewer from south carolina on 1/28/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens:

the lens will not autofocus on a d40/d40x but will on the d80. i use this lens on my d80.
i shoot alot of bands and do their promotional works, the bands LOVE the fisheye effect! they are always pleased with their funky shots!

Images shared by: hdphotography

by thine hands

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

by thine hands

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[6 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Lens!
By DestineyVerified Reviewer from Fayetteville, NC, USA on 12/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Near-macro capability, Quick Focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Must be very close
Best Uses:
Close-up photography, General Use, Interior Architecture, Landscape Photography, Portraiture, Special Effects, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens:

This is definitely my favorite lens as of yet.
It can really make that one picture stand out with it's neat distortion and interesting perspective. You can use it just about anywhere and in any situation including landscape, cityscapes, interesting portraits, sports (esp. BMX and skateboarding), and so much more.
This lens is very small and lightweight making it easy to take anywhere.
The only real cons I can think of is the fact that you must be very close to your object because it's a 10.5mm lens, and you also have to be careful not to get the tips of your feet in the picture depending on how you angle it, haha!

Images shared by: Destiney

Taken at a dingy little gas station near my house.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

A candid shot of a silly friend of mine.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[14 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Niche lens
By BobVerified Reviewer from San Diego on 11/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Scratches Easily
Best Uses:
Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens:

This is a fun lens to use. It's definitely a niche lens and not applicable to many situations.

If you take a shot and want to reduce the barrel distortion, you can apply a filter such as the Image Trends Hemi to "straighten" most of the distortion, but still keep the 180 degree view.

Here are before and after applying the filter.

Images shared by: Bob

Before applying the filter

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

After applying Image Trends filter.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sick Photos With Every Shot!
By RyanVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, North Carolina on 9/16/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
180 degrees of view, Close Sharp Focus, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Strong Construction, Wide Range of View
Cons:
No Auto Focus, Scoop Causes Shadowing
Best Uses:
Close-up photography, Close-ups, General Use, Pets, Special Effects, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens:

I love this lens! It was definitely one of the best things I've bought in a while. It's fun, easy to use, and has endless possibilities. Downtown areas are great places to get cool effects and so are forest areas. The only problem I have with it is when you use this lens at night with flash it has a shadowing effect that cuts the bottom and top half off, but this problem is resolved with the Speed Flash SB-600. Before i bought this lens I was looking for a fisheye with the "peephole" effect, but after I purchased this lens I switched my preference. I defenitely recommend this product to any fisheye enthusiast.

Images shared by: Ryan

Church

Image Thumbnail

[2 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again and again
By koreaVerified Reviewer from san diego, CA on 8/30/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Special Effects, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens:

It is relly good!!

Images shared by: korea

10.5mm fisheye

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[8 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
great lens
By ilzeVerified Reviewer from pittsburgh, pa on 12/13/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Improves Product Function
Cons:
Cant think of any
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Special effects, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens:

i got it and i absolutely love it, great lens for nature photography, nice effects

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic lens
By Big FudgeVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 10/5/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens:

I used this lens for 2 days during a workshop. The pro who let me borrow it calls it his "secret weapon" and is "like crack"... and boy was he right! It is so fun to use, we shot mountain bikers doing jumps over us and the effect this lens creates is a joy. I bought one as soon as I got home. You can do very creative work and have loads of fun with this lens.

[9 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding Effects
By bpageskiVerified Reviewer from Atlanta Ga on 8/6/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Professional Work, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens:

This is an extremely unique lense that is a lot of fun to use. It produces a wide range of effects that are a must for every photographer.
Tall buildings are extremely effective.

Images shared by: bpageski

New York City Rockafeller Square

Image Thumbnail

[26 of 26 customers found this review helpful]

 
Skip the novelty... grab a fisheye
By WallyVerified Reviewer from Twentynine Palms, CA on 2/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Wide Angle
Cons:
Unable to attach filters
Best Uses:
Extreme Closeups, General Use, Professional Work, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 10.5mm DX f/2.8 G IF-ED AF Lens:

I've had this lens for a month now and I absolutely love it. You can take 180 degree pictures from as close as two inches from an object. Of course the distortion of the edges of the images is a desirable effect with the fisheye lens and that's what makes the lens amazing. At first I thought this would be a novelty but I'm finding myself using it to catch all kinds of super-wide angle shots.

The only other lens I can recommend for shots that are anywhere near as wide as these are the Nikkor 12-24 but that is not a fish eye lens.

Oh, and did you notice the f-stop on this lens?? Having an apature as wide as 2.8 is great for medium-low lighting shots.

Capture an entire room from the doorway!

I only gave this lens four star rating instead of five because of the price. It's a bit pricy if you're not a professional making money with your camera.

Images shared by: Wally

A shot of the beach in Mexico with the fisheye

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Fisheye in the corner of a room

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Nikon D50, Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Great photos, thanks.
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.