Buy the Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens image
 
(based on 13 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
The AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED lens adds a powerful third zoom lens to Nikon's line of Vibration Reduction (VR) lenses. VR is an advanced Nikon technology that overcomes one of the fundamental problems photographers face while photographing under conditions where it is difficult to hold the camera steady. VR technology helps eliminate image blur caused by camera shake, particularly when shooting in low-light conditions, allowing photographers to use shutter speeds about three times slower than they would ordinarily use to get sharp, well exposed images.

In addition to a compact design for easier handling, the AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED lens features Nikon's exclusive Silent Wave Motor Technology for fast, accurate and nearly silent focusing as well as a broad 5x zoom range that covers a variety of picture taking conditions from wide scenic landscapes to dramatic portraits and close-up pictures. Its VR technology offers photographers a wider range of picture taking conditions, while ensuring consistently sharp images. The versatility the AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED lens makes it an ideal addition to any Nikon photographer's camera bag.

The AF-S VR Zoom Nikkor 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED offers a versatile focal range from wide-angle to telephoto and also gives photographers an unprecedented control over their pictures in a wide variety of difficult and tricky situations.

Nikon's advanced Vibration Reduction technology allows photographers to use slower shutter speeds, yet achieve sharper, crisper pictures than before, and with Nikon's exclusive Silent Wave Motor Technology for nearly instant autofocus response - overall image sharpness quality is raised to new levels.

In addition to Vibration Reduction, the AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED lens includes a selection of Nikon advanced technologies such as Manual/Automatic mode, two Extra Low Dispersion (ED) glass elements and two Aspheric lens elements, Silent Wave Motor Technology (SWM), Internal Focusing construction (IF), Super Integrated Coating (S-IC) and G-Type design. Offered exclusively in Nikon's AF-S optics, the Manual Automatic mode (M/A) allows instant switching between autofocus and manual focus, virtually eliminating lag time in the transition and enabling photographers to make a last minute manual adjustment, even if the autofocus system has locked onto the subject. This performance is complimented by Nikon's Autofocus Tracking with Lock-on(R), a technology that enables the system to maintain sharp focus even if the subject is momentarily obscured from view or moves off the camera's AF sensor.

Extra Low Dispersion (ED) Optical Glass is a high quality, low dispersion glass that enables superior performance in the AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED lens. Through low dispersion characteristics the lens' color performance is enhanced by virtually eliminating secondary chromatic aberration. This technology enhances image quality with added sharpness and contrast to the final image.

Nikon's exclusive Silent Wave Motor technology is another landmark development in Nikkor lenses. This technology is highly regarded among professional photographers for its fast autofocusing and superior accuracy with ultra-quiet operation. It is incorporated in a large assortment of Nikon lenses that bear the AF-S mark.

The G-Type feature is designed for the newest Nikon 35mm and digital SLR models that allow aperture control directly from the camera body. The design facilitates better lens handling and helps photographers keep a more positive grip on the camera. This firmer grip and balance helps photographers get sharper images, even as they adjust exposure and quickly shoot their pictures.

Distance Technology (included in D-type and G-type Nikkor lenses) provides precise distance information from the lens. This information is incorporated into exposure calculations for both ambient light and flash illumination, as well as combinations of both. The distance information enables more precise calculations, leading to improved exposure control. Super Integrated Coating, a form of multiple layer coating, is a Nikon technology that enhances color performance by minimizing a lens' flare characteristics. The result is pictures of excellent clarity.

Internal Focusing Construction is a technology that allows the lens to focus, without changes in its external size. While a constant size helps maintain balance, special control of optical movement allows lenses to focus closer and with consistent image quality.

The AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED is fully compatible with all Nikon SLR models that include a built-in aperture control Command Dial. It will also operate using Shutter Priority and Program Mode operation in many Nikon models that do not have a built-in aperture control.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 13 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5), Semi-professional(3), Tech savvy(3)
Pros:
Compact(5), Consistent output(3), Durable(6), Easily interchangeable(5), Easy to clean(3)
Best Uses:
General purpose(8), Portraits(4), Shooting indoors(4), Shooting outdoors(4)
 
fantastic!
By nate the greatVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 6/14/2010
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

this lens went well with my d700 and takes amazing pics. i think it even improved image quality and clarity

 
incredible!
By nate the greatVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 6/12/2010
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality, Interfaces Well With Camcorder
Best Uses:
Close Up Filming, Panoramic Filming, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

this lens is amazing. it produces very crisp images and clear and high resolution pics. i think it even made them better.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Lens for the Money.
By AJJ from Miami, FL on 11/1/2009
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Parent
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

Awesome lens. Great pics and can be used in a wide variety.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
perfect lens for 90% of most pictures!
By Nikon MikeVerified Reviewer from Corona, California on 6/11/2009
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Handheld Design, Improves Picture Quality
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Car Shows, Landscapes, Portraits, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors, Vacations, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Aspiring Film Maker, Parent, Semi-Professional, Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

I'm confident to recommend this lens to anyone for a general purpose walk-around lens. The 18-200mm is way over rated and I sold mine. This lens is well built and delivers Picture Quality far superior to the 18-200mm. I use this lens on my D200 and my F5's for weddings and no one has ever complained. This lens balances well with both cameras and isn't too heavy either. On film this lens is equivalent to a 36-180mm lens and a bargain compared to the 18-200mm that costs a few hundred dollars more. This lens has no weaknesses.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a great lens
By jimmydVerified Reviewer from SC on 11/9/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

This is one great lens. If you read Ken Rockwell he writes this to be one of Nikon's worst lenses. HE IS WRONG--WRONG.. This lens is as good as it gets. I use it at night with my D700 and it's high ISO ability and there are no problems. I use it with scenic shots there is no problems. It is useful, good, the VR is addictive and it is as close to a one doall lens as there is.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Accurate and Razor Sharp
By Orion008Verified Reviewer from San Antonio, Tx on 9/16/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Dependable, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Events, General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

Couldn't afford the price or the wait for the 18-200, but what I got was nothing less than IDEAL! The VR is impeccable, sometimes to sharp for my Brides, lol. But, when shooting portraits for 30 to 80 people in just a few minutes, this lens is the preferred tool of the Jedi. The feel is solid, and the weight compliments its durability. I've taken it everywhere and have never had a complaint. I had no reason to by the lens I was previously waiting on after purchasing this product.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT Lens
By LarrywVerified Reviewer from Augusta,Ga. on 8/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

The lens is perfect for vacations.I took it to the Georgisa Aquarium and was able to get some wonderful pictures in alot of different lighting situations.I use this lens more than any of the others I have and the VR is good.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Absolutel Devine
By E. LeoVerified Purchaser from Claremont, CA on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Outdoor photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

I recently used this lens 90% of the time making shots of landscape, trees, oceanside cliffs and bridges while following Hwy. SR1 from Los Angeles to Eureka, CA. I found it to be most versatile for these shots along with some outdoor portraits and natural light shots.

Images shared by: E. Leo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lens
By Jeff from Temple, Texas on 4/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

I enjoy pictures, and this lens is great

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect lens for me
By JBVerified Reviewer from Texas on 4/26/2007
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

thousands of photos. this lens is not easy to fool.
most reliable lens I own. If you can do without the extended range of the 18-200, you'll love it.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent but Heavy
By collectbabsVerified Reviewer from SC on 3/13/2007
Pros:
High Quality
Cons:
A little Heavy
Best Uses:
Great single lens
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

I bought this as an all purpose lens since the 18-200 VR is so hard to come by unless you want to pay a small fortune. I love the 24-120mm lens. It has great range for carrying one lens around. I put the 18-135mm on my D40 just to compare and it was so much lighter, but also felt a lot cheaper. The 24-120mm VR lens is a quality lens, that does crisp, clear pictures.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharp and Fast compact VR Lens
By DanVerified Reviewer from Oxford, North Carolina on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Compact, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

I was using the 28-105mm but with the 28-120VRmm, man it's outstanding. Fast focus and sharp photo. LIttle prices but the one lens you will use all the time for general purpose.

Images shared by: Dan

Inside no flash at 100MM. Sharp!!!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: With D200 camera, Made with Product, Picture of Product

[42 of 42 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the price
By LeChasVerified Reviewer from Los Altos, CA on 11/28/2006
Pros:
Does what it was designed, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Versatile lens
Cons:
Too much plastic
Best Uses:
General Use

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-120 mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR IF-ED Nikkor Lens:

I bought this as a general purpose lens while waiting for my 18-200 VR to arrive. I got a lot of good use out of this budget VR lens, and almost regretted switching once the 18-200 VR arrived. IN retrospect had I known the two lenses were so similar in performance I would have cancelled the 18-200 order. Yes the 18-200 is a more versatile lens but sharpness across the range is about comparable, and since I already have a 80-200 F/2.8 lens the advantages of the 18-200 are somewhat minimized. However from a sense of "feel" the 24-120 is superior. the 18-200 feels gritty when extending beyond 100mm. The 24-120 is smooth throughout. Both lenses are equal performers for portraits between 50mm and 100mm.

Since overall performance quality is about equal for both lenses I'll probably keep the 18-200 for its greater range, in spite of the gritty feel.

I've enjoyed using the 24-120 and regret having to give it up, but two lenses with the same capabilities just doesn't make sense. Guess I'l sell the 24-120 and pick up a nice prime Macro or wide angle lens.

Bottom line, if you don't want to wait for the 18-200 or don't need the extra range, the 24-120 is a super lens.

Images shared by: LeChas

portrait - my kid

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Handheld skyline at twilight

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: LeChas, thank you for the nice photos and review. Excellent image quality.
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.