Buy the Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens image
 
(based on 36 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
The AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G IF-ED lens is designed with professional and advanced amateur photographers in mind, offering them a truly compact and lightweight telephoto zoom lens featuring some of Nikon's most innovative technologies. With Nikon's advanced Vibration Reduction technology, this new lens will enable photographers to make crisp, sharp pictures by minimizing the blur caused by hand holding a camera at slow shutter speeds and by potential shaking when the photographer is in a moving vehicle, aircraft or any other moving platform that induces vibration. In addition to Vibration Reduction, the AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G IF-ED lens includes a selection of Nikon advanced technologies such as Manual/Automatic mode, Extra Low Dispersion glass (ED), Silent Wave Motor Technology (SWM) and G-Type design (aperture control exclusively from camera body).

Offered exclusively in Nikon's AF-S optics, the Manual Automatic mode (M/A) allows for instant switching between autofocus and manual focus, virtually eliminating lag time in the transition and enabling photographers to make a last minute adjustment, even if the autofocus system has locked onto the subject. This performance is complimented by Nikon's Autofocus Tracking with Lock-on(R), a technology that will enable the system to maintain sharp focus even if the subject is momentarily obscured from view, or if the camera's AF sensor momentarily moves off the main subject.

Extra Low Dispersion (ED) Optical Glass is a high quality, low dispersion glass that enables superior performance from this versatile, compact lens. Through low dispersion characteristics the lens' color performance is enhanced by virtually eliminated secondary chromatic aberrations that are common to telephoto optics that do not include ED glass; this technology enhances image quality with added visible sharpness and contrast to the image.

Nikon's exclusive Silent Wave Motor technology is another landmark development in Nikon's lens development program. Silent and fast autofocusing with superior accuracy and ultra-quiet operation; this technology is highly regarded among professional photographers and is incorporated in a large assortment of Nikon lenses that bear the AF-S mark.

The G-Type feature is designed for the newest Nikon SLR models, including both 35mm and digital, all of which feature a built in Sub-Command Dial, from which aperture control is possible. The design facilitates better lens handling, and helps photographers keep a more positive grip on the camera as they use their right index finger to adjust aperture. This firmer grip and excellent balance will help photographers get sharper images, even as they adjust exposure and quickly shoot their pictures.

Distance Technology (included in D-type and G-type Nikkor lenses) provides precision distance information from the lens. This information is incorporated into exposure calculations for both ambient light and flash illumination, as well as combinations of both. The distance information enables more precise calculations, leading to improved exposure control. Additionally, D-technology also enhances the Nikon system for automatic balanced fill flash. This selection of Nikon high technology is an example of how Nikon approaches lens design, blending each lens' handling characteristics with those of the camera, for total handling excellence and optical design technology to maximize imaging performance. The AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G IF-ED is fully compatible with all Nikon SLR models that include a built-in aperture control Command Dial. It will also operate using Shutter Priority and Program Mode operation in many Nikon models that do not have a built-in aperture control.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 36 reviews)
97% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(15), Professional(6), Semi-professional(11)
Pros:
Consistent output(20), Durable(26), Easily interchangeable(20), Easy to clean(9), Fast / accurate auto-focus(46)
Cons:
Heavy(19)
Best Uses:
General purpose(14), Night photography(10), Portraits(16), Professional work(4), Special effects(3)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Will buy Nikon Lens only
By EL ZORROVerified Purchaser from LAKELAND,FL.USA. on 2/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Good lens but not cheap.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Solid, stable and fast.
By Coach DonVerified Purchaser from Redding, CA on 1/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

I use my 70-200 to capture wildlife in action. The sharp, fast focusing, fast lens (f2.8) make this a really great lens for my use. I also use an 80-400 (f4.5-5.6) which has proven to be less effective in shade or low light situations. They are both heavy, but that may prove to be an advantage when things move quickly and snap shots are necessary.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A perfect lens (Great for dark shots).
By Dekka from Detroit, Mi on 12/13/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

I bought this lens for a recent trip to New York. I already had an 80-200mm f2.8 in the bag, but found the shots were not as clear as I would like if not using a monopod. For New York, I wanted a lens I could hand hold to shoot with f2.8 for walking between buildings (gets dark). The lens was perfect! Fast focus, great bokah, great feel. May seem a bit heavy for some, but I like solid construction which is why I paired this with the D300 (which is not a light plastic camera either). I prefer my lens not to have a plastic feel.

Images shared by: Dekka

Flag Shot

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

New Years Drop

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Perfect Buy
By GamecockphotogVerified Purchaser from Columbia, SC on 11/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

I'm a junior in college and am using this lens to shoot sports for my school paper. It's a perfect lens for what I need and w/the f/2.8 capabilities my pictures are better than ever. I have no complaints so far about this lens and I would reccommend it to anyone, pro or not.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
What a Lens!
By NIKON NUTVerified Reviewer from Harrisonville, Mo. on 11/15/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Great bokeh, Great for low light, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

I added this lens to my D90 and it goes together like peanut butter and jelly. I've shot indoor sports and outside family get togethers this is just a perfect combo.
It is not a lens to carry while doing a three to five hour wedding party.
The little league football games are a great place to use this lens. It is worth every penny and paid for itself quickly.
The Vr helps when you would normally stop shooting in low light conditions.
Nikon has done well with this one.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Action Shots
By CCVerified Purchaser from San Antonio, Texas on 11/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

This lens brings the action to you! I was able to take pictures of my girl playing soccer across the field, with absolutely no problem! Pictures were clear & sharp! Balls were frozen in mid-air & crystal clear! Would recommend this product to anyone who wants that perfect action shot, with professional results!

Images shared by: CC

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Razor Sharp
By JayVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 10/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Great sports action lens! Very sharp. Autofocus is very fast!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding for protraiture or sports!!!
By The dude with the camera from Upland,Ca. on 10/15/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

I've used this lense for football games and most sports,a wedding, and during football team photos. What a great lense! Only thing is, it does get a little heavy after a while. That's ok with me. You get what you pay for! Great photographs are easy even for a beginner! (with a few pointers of course).

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth the price, worth the wait.
By Band ParentVerified Purchaser from Bristol, VA on 10/11/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

For those wanting to capture action moments under less than ideal light conditions, this is the way to go. Sure, the lens is hefty, but that is the trade-off for quality of this magnitude. The 2.8 aperture allows for great shots at reasonable speeds (i.e. night football games from the stands). Under daytime conditions, there is no equal. The VR certainly is a bonus, adding extra stability when tracking moving subjects. SWM is incredibly fast with focusing. Using D80.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens, a keeper
By MaXVerified Reviewer from Ellicott City, MD on 10/10/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

I use this lens for nature and wildlife shots. Great performance in low light conditions. Serious shots, I have to use a pod due to it's weight, but the results are well worth it.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Lens
By Band ParentVerified Purchaser from Gainesville, Florida on 9/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

I can tell that this lens and I will have many happy years together. My first uses are photographing a high-school marching band that performs mainly in the evenings and at night. The results with this lens have been nothing short of spectacular. I can use it hand held on my D80 and the large aperture allows for some amazing low light results. It is heavy, but that's to be expected of "big glass". Construction is very solid, focus is fast and quiet, and the vibration reduction is amazing.

Images shared by: Band Parent

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens by N
By GoodmanVerified Purchaser from Johnson City, TN. on 9/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, High cost
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Awesome Lens

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again!
By MikeVerified Purchaser from New England on 9/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Excellent choice for an high end "fast" zoom lens for sports/action photography in any lighting situation; oustanding quality. Well worth the price.

[0 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
not as good as I expected
By jmbVerified Purchaser from mass on 9/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy, Tough To Attach
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

I thought I would be able to get great car racing shots with this lens with the action feature on my nikon and this fast speed, but the results were no better than my canon film camera and a 200 mm lens. lots of money for a disappointment

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great sports shots
By TxRicardoVerified Purchaser from Abilene, TX on 9/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

I got the 70-200 to do indoor volleyball/basketball pictures. Coupled with my new D700 this lens and camera are giving me great shots.

Images shared by: TxRicardo

Image Thumbnail

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
My favorite lens
By jannyVerified Purchaser from Panama City, Florida on 8/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

I am able to stand back out of the way and capture tears on a brides face...
awesome

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens, worth every penny
By DavidVerified Purchaser from Frisco, TX on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

This lens, while a bit heavy, is very impressive. The focusing is extremely quick (although it will run down batteries quite quickly) and very accurate. I have been using this for indoor ice hockey and the results have been very good. The optics are outstanding! I would highly recommend this to anyone needing a fast lens for lower light situations.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Serious & heavy lens for wildlife work.
By PaulVerified Purchaser from Ohio on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, No Aperture Ring for F4
Best Uses:
Candids, Landscapes, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Excellent zoom telephoto for chasing children in the backyard, on the soccer field or birds and deer in the wild. Fast auto focus and dead on. Vibration Reduction (VR) really works as I've hand held this lens at 1/60 second with acceptable results.

It's a heavy lens that you don't want hanging around your neck but the weight does help me keep it steady. (I just wish Nikon kept the aperture rings on all their newer lenses so I use them on my F series film cameras.)

Images shared by: Paul

Duck Pond

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Swimming Twins

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Professional quality, professional cost!
By PhotoPVerified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 8/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Wonderful lens if you can afford it. Not for backpackers since it is heavy. Very good for low-light action shoot-outs. VR is good, but a tripod is suggested due to its weight. Excellent with any semi-pro cameras like D200, D300. Works great on D700 too! Also great with 2x Tele. Best regular telephoto fixed aperture lens!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must Have Lens for Action
By ThreshersharkVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake City, Utah on 8/11/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Most of what can be said about this lens has been covered in previous reviews. I will add that this lens also works extremely well with the Nikon TC17. The photo I am posting along with the review serves only to illustrate how adept this lens is at tracking and focusing on fast subjects. This is a 100% crop of a hand-held picture of a swallow in flight. If you have ever tried to capture swallows, you know that they are small, fast (40-50 MPH), and very erratic on the wing. The fact this lens can capture them should be some indication of how it performs on more reasonable subject matter.

Images shared by: Threshershark

Hand Held 100% Crop

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

German Shorthaired Pointer, Hand Held Portrait

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sport Photography
By TroyVerified Reviewer from Hinsdale, IL on 8/10/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Low Light, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Camera: DX300

I use this lens to take my kids' sports activities, mainly swimming and gymnastics. These are mainly low light situations, no flash photography allowed. Up until now, I couldn't get the shots that I really want. With this lens, there were no problems whatsoever. Close up, action shots were easy to take and make me look like a pro.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Incredible lens!
By HanaliVerified Purchaser from Alabama on 8/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

I use this lens for bird photography. The auto focus is amazingly fast and accurate. It zeroes in on the far away tiny birds like magic. And...it's incredibly fast! For its size, it's also relatively lightweight.

Images shared by: Hanali

Big Crow!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, From 50 feet away

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Quality, Quick, Quiet
By HeliPilotVerified Purchaser from Fox Valley, IL on 7/30/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Overall image quality, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lens hood detaches easily
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

1. Main camera body: D200 + Nikon NC 77mm filter

2. Shoot: Primarily indoor basketball and indoor/outdoor soccer

3. Monopod used: for all indoor/outdoor sports

4. Some key camera settings
Capture: RAW + L.Fine
AF-C Mode Priority: Focus
Focus Area Frame: Wide
AF Pattern: Group Dynamic.Pattern 2.Center
AF Activation: Shutter
Focus-Tracking w/ Lock-on: Short

I seem to get the most in-focus (outdoor sports) shots with the above AF settings.

I use Nikon Capture NX for RAW post-processing, when needed.

5. Feedback
AF: Very quick, very quiet. I believe that the results you get with respect to in-focus shots are more of a function of the camera body AF abilities, the AF settings you choose, and your skills. In the 80-200mm range, you probably can't get any better!

VR: You'll need to ensure that you know when to use it and when not to use it. The Nikon manual only hints at some of them. See other internet resources. Also, you can hear the VR mechanics (if it's relatively quiet) when they're active, but the noise level is very very low (this nothing to worry about.) While the VR works and works well, I don't use it much in my shooting.

Handling: Handles well for what it is. That is, it is not a 70-200/4-5.6 and so it won't feel like one. I use a monopod for most of my work and it balances well.

Build and Quality: It's a beautifully made lens with impressive build quality and a pretty impressive WOW factor (especially for those who aren't used to seeing f/2.8 lenses.) Both the zoom and AF rings are well damped. In my opinion, this lens is Tier 1 35mm SLR build quality.

Flare: You'll need to watch for flare in a lens like this one. However, the lens hood is pretty effective unless you get too close to the light source, of course. Also, I've had the lens hood fall off when in transport mode across soccer fields (and I was holding the camera and lens from swaying!) I recommend leaving the hood on in shooting position or removing it or putting it all away or you'll likely lose it.

Image quality: Really impressive sharpness at all focal lengths, especially at f/2.8-f/5.6, where I often shoot. Very good color rendition.

My results: Compared with the Nikon 70-300 f/4-5.6 ED, the results of 80-200 f/2.8 lens are easily noticeably better to me. Compared with the Tokina 80-200 f/2.8, I feel that the results are also better.

Upon sharing pictures of indoor dance recitals, indoor soccer and outdoor soccer pictures, many parents were amazed at the picture quality and some were even moved to get into the photography hobby in a very serious way.

FX sensor results: All of my testing was on my D200 and so I have no feedback related to how this lens will perform on a Nikon FX sensor body like the D3 or D700.

With a Nikon DX sensor based body, I'm very pleased with the results that I'm able to achieve with this lens and I look forward to using this lens for a long time.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By W StottsVerified Purchaser from Anchorage, AK on 7/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Enjoyed this lens the first time I used it. Capturing candid shots from a distance with the assistance of the VR was a pleasure. Quite focus. Tac sharp with confidence to hand hold at slower shutter speeds make this lens one of my favorites.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Lens Ever
By KevoVerified Reviewer from Tacoma, WA on 7/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Best Darn Zoom Ever!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent lens and awesome autofocus
By SpeedwayVerified Reviewer from Lake Mary, Florida on 6/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

The autofocus is fast, sure and quiet. I photograph sports and wildlife, and at times nightime auto racing. I could not be happier with this lens coupled to my D300. The build quality is top notch.

 
Sharp fast focusing lens
By RobertVerified Reviewer from Tempe, Arizona on 6/18/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Great fast-focusing action for my photos of ducks, geese from 6-12 ft away, even herons and cranes from 20-30ft away in a local park... fast focusing on D300. 200-400mm/4 lens costs [$] which would be better, but that cost is 3 times the cost of this lens.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
AWSOME LENS. Best Investment ever!
By RayVerified Reviewer from Pittsburgh, PA on 6/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

This lens has so many great features. From the 3 lock focus buttons around the tip to the mountings. This lens is fantastic for all users a must have. It has fast sharp auto focus. Great vibration controls and is great for low light and portraits. I use this lens a lot.

Images shared by: Ray

Red Foxes

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

PNC Park, Pittsburgh, PA

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not your fathers zoom
By bldlightpaintingVerified Reviewer from Palmer, AK on 2/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast focusing, Low Light Capable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Difficult to Clean, Heavy, Loose mount
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Let me just say that I do love this lens. I have owned other fine lenses in this focal range from several other makers, and this one by far is the best. Looks fantastic, rugged as I've ever seen, sharp, fast, love the rotating tripod mount. I shoot nature, portraits, and special events, and the VR works like magic on my D2Hs, stopping action like you had it opened up two (2) more stops. Only one reason I ranked it four (4) and not (5) stars, is my particular lens mount is not very tight. Other then that, its a keeper.

Images shared by: bldlightpainting

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
BEST LENSE IN MY BAG........EVER!!
By BirdmanVerified Reviewer from Providence, Utah on 2/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

2 years ago I asked Santa for this lense.....WoW! I cried when opening the box. It has performed superb in every aspect. Fast & crisp. Although you'll need a neck rub after a long day (it's heavy).
It's worth the money!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
best tool ever
By iamdanVerified Reviewer from Margate, FL on 11/29/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

this lens is the best tool i have in my backpack. as a wedding/event photographer i cannot leave the office without it. best bokeh, vr is super and super sharp. it's a heavy piece of equipment, but is a 2.8 and it,s well worth it!

[8 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pictures tell the Story
By DanVerified Reviewer from Oxford North Carolina on 5/27/2007
Pros:
Sharp Focus
Cons:
uses more of the battery
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Its pricy, but you get what you buy. It's an outstanding lens. Fast focus surreal pictures.
I can say a lot more. Buy it and try it for youself. You will keep it and shoot most of the time outdoors and indoors.

Images shared by: Dan

Bluebirds flying from the birdhouse

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Picture of Product, Made with Product

flying in mid air

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Made with Product, Using Product

[5 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT LENS
By Rick from Aurora, CO on 3/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Special Effects, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

This lens is not only practical but fun to use. Now that I have this lens I wouldn't leave home without it.

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great All Around Telephoto
By [...]BradMedley[...]Verified Reviewer from Arnold, MD on 3/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

This lens is by far the most versatile moderate telephoto lens available by Nikon. As a professional sports photographer I use this lens for nearly every indoor sport that I shoot. This is a bright (f2.8) lens throughout the entire focal range and with vibration reduction it doesn’t get any better. It allows you to create a very shallow depth of field while keeping you in focus distance as sharp as humanly possible. Also, the active vibration reduction allows for great panning shots. Also attached to a digital SLR you get a 300mm 2.8 lens with vibration reduction, which used to cost over $5,000. Amazing lens for a great price and a must have for any advanced amateur.

[51 of 51 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By rthomasVerified Reviewer from Charlotte, NC on 11/18/2006
Pros:
Balanced, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Portraits, Professional Work, Upgrade, Wildlife

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Out of all the telephoto zooms I've used, from the venerable Vivitar 70-210/3.5 Series 1 of the 1970s on up to this modern lens, none has been this SHARP with better bokeh; this is comparable to any fixed focal length lens, even the classic 105/2.5 Nikkor. It's heavy but that goes with the territory. The VR feature is just icing on the cake. I use this on a Nikon D70s, so it's like using a 105-300/2.8 on 35mm cameras. If you're thinking about getting this lens, do it. It's incredibly good and will cover most telephoto situations. If you need more reach, add a compatible 1.4x teleconverter. If you currently use a slow f/4.5 or 5.6 lens, you'll be stunned by the difference f/2.8 makes. Simply an awesome lens.

[22 of 23 customers found this review helpful]

 
don't have any that are readily availabl
By Larry LVerified Reviewer from Broomfield Colorado on 11/18/2006
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, nice bokah with this lens, Sharp Focus
Cons:
no cons form this lens
Best Uses:
Awsome general purpose le, General Use

Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens:

Very Sweet Lens!!Great for shooting in low light.Even better with a 2x teleconverter. All smiles from me. Worth every penny.

Larry L

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.