Buy the Nikon 55-300mm AF-S f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 55-300mm AF-S f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
Nikon Fall 2010 New Product Line-up!

Nikon AF-S 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens Features

Compact 5.5X DX-format telephoto zoom lens with High Refractive Index lens element. ED glass and VR II image stabilization is Ideal for capturing distant subjects at athletic events, family pictures, dramatic sunsets, travel and more.

5.5X Telephoto Zoom lens
Ideal for capturing distant subjects at athletic events, family pictures, dramatic sunsets, travel and more. Angle of view equivalent to a focal length of 82.5 to 450mm in FX/35mm format D-SLR.

Nikon VR II Image Stabilization
Vibration Reduction, engineered specifically for each VR NIKKOR lens, enables handheld shooting at up to 4 shutter speeds slower than would otherwise be possible, assuring dramatically sharper still images and video capture.

Tripod Detection Mode
Reduces vibration that may occur due to shutter release when mounted on a tripod.

HRI (High Refractive Index) Lens Element
HRI lens element is essential to keeping the lens compact while offering high contrast even at maximum aperture.

2 Extra-low Dispersion (ED) Elements
Effectively minimizes chromatic aberration, even at the widest aperture settings.

Exclusive Nikon Silent Wave Motor (SWM)
Enables fast, accurate and quiet autofocus.

Nikon Super Integrated Coating (SIC)
Enhances light transmission efficiency and offers superior color consistency and reduces flare.

Minimum focus distance to 4.6 feet at all focal lengths

Rounded 9-Blade Diaphragm
Renders more natural appearance of out-of-focus image areas.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Compact(3), Easy to use(8), Improves picture quality(5)
Cons:
Heavy / bulky(3)
Best Uses:
Close up filming(3), Shooting indoors(4), Shooting outdoors(9), Upgrade(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(8)
 
Nikon 55-300
By Ivan the terribleVerified Purchaser from Woodstock Illinois on 5/15/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Bulky Design
Best Uses:
Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Parent
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 55-300mm AF-S f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens:

Easy to use. Looks really nice with the camera. Must have to take pictures of you child, from a distance, when you can't get close enough.

 
55-300
By mikeVerified Purchaser from mn on 4/27/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Bulky Design
Best Uses:
Close Up Filming, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 55-300mm AF-S f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens:

larger then i thought i had to get all new filters

 
I LOVE IT!
By CherylVerified Purchaser from Lewisville, TX on 4/13/2011
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Close Up Filming, Close up of cows, Panoramic Filming, Puppy Action Shots, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors, Videos of Whales
Describe Yourself:
Alaskan Vacationer, Cattle Rancher, Puppy Mommy
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 55-300mm AF-S f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens:

Just bought this and my husband and I are still learning how to use it but I took an extremely close-up shot of a lizard on my pool waterfall and it came out really good. Taking to Alaska to film fishing trip, whale watching, etc. I'm sure we'll get some breathtaking pictures.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
"It lens itself to the outdoor shooter."
By elgrecoVerified Purchaser from Grand Junction, Colorado on 2/2/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 55-300mm AF-S f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens:

This lens has lived up to my expectations as a serviceable piece of equipment I can count on when I am in the field. A bit bulky at times, the optics have given me good results in low light conditions and especially in capturing the details of spectacular western landscapes. A good lens for the price.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOVE THIS LENSE!
By BetsyVerified Purchaser from Phenix City, AL on 1/26/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Close Up Filming, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Aspiring Film Maker, Parent
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 55-300mm AF-S f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens:

I love this lense! I enjoy taking photos of athletic events at Auburn University! I took it first to the celebration event for the 2010 National Championship Celebration and all my shots turned out wonderful! I then took it to a gymnastics meet and loved how it focused in on the quick action of the athletes!

 
Great all around lens
By Photo buffVerified Purchaser from Pueblo, CO on 1/5/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Excellent clarity, Great motion control, Improves Picture Quality
Cons:
Bulky Design
Best Uses:
Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 55-300mm AF-S f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens:

I use the lens primarily for shooting wildlife. The motion protection on the lens limits the necessity for a tripod and I have been thrilled with the quality of pictures from a distance. My only complaint is the weight added to an already heavy camera, otherwise this is an excellent lens for any level of amateur photographer.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
The extra reach I was looking for
By BobarenoVerified Reviewer from Cohoes N Y on 11/6/2010
Pros:
Improves Picture Quality, Ultra sharp images
Cons:
A little heavy
Best Uses:
Long distance close ups, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Serious amateur
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 55-300mm AF-S f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens:

This lens grabs the extra distance you need in order to get the resulting image size you want without having to move in on the subject as frequently one would need to do with the 55-200mm. The crisp & vivid close ups are exceptional! The lens' auto-focusing does however take a little longer to lock in at the higher end of the zoom range, but the results are worth the wait. The zooming collar is tighter when zooming out and away from your subject. The lens is a little hefty for its size as well. Other than that, the lens provides the quality images Nikkor optics are known for at a very doable price.

Images shared by: Bobareno

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Rim
By RimVerified Purchaser from Mesa, AZ on 10/14/2010
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Aspiring Film Maker
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 55-300mm AF-S f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens:

Great zoom lens for portraits and animal photography

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lens for the money
By RJLVerified Reviewer from Covington, WA on 10/9/2010
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Light weight, Vibration reduction
Cons:
Poor low light auto focus, Slow focus
Best Uses:
Shooting Outdoors, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 55-300mm AF-S f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens:

I bought this lens to go on my travel camera (D5000)along with the 18-105 because it is smaller and lighter than the 70-300 FX lens.
I was disappointed in it's ability to auto focus in low light....it hunts constantly, and there is no manual over ride while in auto focus. And the speed at which it focuses in good light is not very good. But the glass is flawless. Clear edge to edge. Could not find any distortion or vignetting. Typical Nikon quality. It is also very lightweight for a 300 focal length.
I will use my D300 and other lenses for serious photos, but for travel, this lens is near perfect.

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth the investment
By RocketmanVerified Purchaser from Lancaster MA on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 55-300mm AF-S f/4.5-5.6G DX Nikkor ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens:

The only regret that I have regarding this lens is that it wasnt in the D5000 package (instead of the 55-200mm).

The narrower viewing angle has made a difference in my shooting pics of soccer games. With the 55-200 I had to either chase the action up and down the sideline or not shoot across the field because the images were too small. Now I can shoot everything from midfield.

Operation of the lens is smooth and all controls are easily accessible. The only thing that I notice with my lens is that zooming back in takes a little more effort than zooming out- noticeable but not a problem.

It is a little larger and heavier than the 55-200mm but it fits comfortably into my hands.

Thank you Nikon for providing a much better lens hood. This design is so much better than the 55-200mm which kept coming loose and falling off.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.