Buy the Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
Auto-Focus capability for easy indoor or outdoor portraiture. Exceptionally compact for a telephoto lens. Focuses down to 36 inches. An excellent choice for your first telephoto lens
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Semi-professional(6)
Pros:
Consistent output(7), Durable(6), Easily interchangeable(7), Fast / accurate auto-focus(11), Lightweight(5)
Best Uses:
General purpose(7), Night photography(4), Portraits(7)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Picture Perfect Every Time!
By Extreme LizVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 1/17/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Great for sports, Nice Bokeh
Cons:
Lens hood
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Natural Light Photos, Portraits, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens:

I purchased this product specifically to photograph indoor gymnastics meets and indoor volleyball tournaments for my kids. (No flash allowed) I have been so pleased with the crisp, clear photo's that I have been able to get, as well as amazing shots that caught a completely still moment. No blurring so far! The lens is fast. I am using this lens on the Nikon D7000. The only issue I have had is with the lens hood - it screws on, and does not work with the lens cap on, so I have to put it on only when I know I will be taking multiple shots. Honestly, though, for the quality of pictures I am getting, I can deal with the hood!

Images shared by: Extreme Liz

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Lens
By BubbaVerified Reviewer from Thomasville, NC on 5/23/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens:

Bought this lens for portraits. Fell in love with it the first time I used it. Amazing quality and results! Terrific bokeh!

Images shared by: Bubba

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Well-made updated version of great len
By Mal from Atlanta on 10/20/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Durable, Fast aperture, Outstanding Bokeh, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Available light, General Use, Portraits Glamour
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens:

Use this lens on location & studio for portraits, glamour & weddings. Great low light ability for weddings & outstanding bokeh/depth of field control for portraits.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for close work
By The old Photo GuyVerified Reviewer from Rochester NH on 9/3/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens:

I use this lens to shoot flowers in the various flower gardens I shoot for customers throughout the summer. customers have given me high marks for my photos, and their high quality and clarity due to my use of this particular lens.

Images shared by: The old Photo Guy

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
great lens
By LuVerified Purchaser from Chesterfield Va on 9/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens:

I'm using this lens for portrait and close ups * flowers/insects/etc..
I love the fact that I can control my depth of field, which is one of the reasons I purchased it.
I will be using this as one specific lens in taking some senior portraits :)

Images shared by: Lu

a statue in a local park f/2.8

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sweet piece of glass!
By BigAssHamVerified Purchaser from Long Beach, CA on 8/13/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens:

This lens has been a great addition to my arsenal. My portraits have great bokeh and it gives the faces a wonderful, creamy look. I would recommend this to anyone.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
85 mm F/1.8 D AF Lens by Nikon
By KimVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 7/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens:

This is my favorite lens so far. I use this to photograph anything and everything, forces me to use my feet to adjust composition. Great for low-light photography too. The only flaw is obvious - just one focal length, and sometimes you will encounter a shot you just can't get quite right with only one lens.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tac Sharp
By Wayne S.Verified Purchaser from Anchorage, AK on 7/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens:

This lens is tac sharp from edge to edge. I shoot quite a bit on location and find this lens to be perfect for indoor shots in large rooms or outdoors using ambient light. Weather it's weddings or portraits I use this lens for good balance of subject and background. It focuses quickly and delivers. Highly recommended.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Show Time...
By ColoradoKidVerified Reviewer from Colorado Springs, CO on 9/6/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Concert Photography, Night Photography, Professional Work

Comments about Nikon Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens:

I trotted out the 85 mm 1.8 last weekend at a show and with just a small sample to go from I'd have to say that overall the lens performed well and met my expectations.

I had been using the 50 mm 1.4 for several shows and was mightily impressed with the performance I got out of it, but I needed a lense with a bit more reach due to where I was forced to stand to take the shots. The 85 mm gives me the perfect distance to nail down headshots and the lens is fast enough to stop just about any action going on. The bokeh produced was fantastic!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
My favorite lens
By fotoshirlVerified Reviewer from Nashville, Tennessee on 6/26/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Crisp Image, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens:

I was looking for a crisp, sharp, colorful image. The 85/1.8 delivers! I love the bokeh! I am in love!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharp images, fun lense
By jdt01fgoVerified Reviewer from Fargo, ND on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 85mm F/1.8 D AF Lens:

Nice compliment to my 50mm 1.4, sharp images, fast and light lense. Great buy.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.