Buy the Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens image
 
(based on 99 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
The all new high-powered 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor lens - (4.3x) - featuring Nikon's Enhanced Vibration Reduction (VRII) technology is ideal for sports, wildlife, travel and portrait photography, among other telephoto applications. It incorporates many of Nikon's most advanced lens design attributes such as Extra Low Dispersion (ED) glass, Silent Wave Motor technology (SWM) and Enhanced Vibration Reduction (VR II), in a design engineered for use with both Nikon DX format digital and 35mm film SLR cameras. With a high-powered 70-300mm focal length range, the lens is ideal for sports, action, wildlife, travel and portrait photography, among other telephoto applications. When used on a Nikon DX format digital SLR, this lens approximates the picture angle performance of a 105-450mm lens on a 35mm SLR camera.

Beyond the lens' incredible optical versatility is the benefit of Enhanced VR II Vibration Reduction -- an innovation that makes it possible to take substantially sharper handheld pictures at slower shutter speeds than would otherwise be possible. This provides the distinct advantage of being able to shoot more effectively in a much broader variety of challenging conditions. With the new Nikon VR II advantage, users can take pictures at shutter speeds as many as 4 stops slower* than they ordinarily could shoot without the image degrading blur associated with camera shake at slow shutter speeds. Nikon's advanced VR technology further enhances picture taking potential with a choice of two modes to match most shooting conditions. VR Normal Mode primarily compensates for camera shake, and includes automatic panning detection, as well as automatic tripod detection. VR Active Mode effectively compensates for vibration in situations where it is more pronounced and more frequent, such as when shooting from a moving vehicle.

To further ensure outstanding optical performance, the 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor features two Extra-Low Dispersion (ED) glass elements and three complex aspherical lens elements that provide for higher resolution, high-contrast images while minimizing chromatic aberration, astigmatism and other forms of distortion. The lens also features Nikon's compact Silent Wave Motor technology (SWM), which combines fast and precise autofocusing with super-quiet operation, as well as Internal Focusing (IF) construction that allows the lens to focus without changing its external size, improving balance and handling characteristics.

  • 67mm filter attachment size.
  • Review Snapshot®
    Avg. Customer Rating:
     
    4.6 stars
    (based on 99 reviews)
    100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

    Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

    Describe Yourself:
    Beginner(4), Casual photographer(3), Casual user(8), Enthusiast(43), Parent(5)
    Pros:
    Compact(4), Consistent output(44), Durable(47), Easily interchangeable(56), Easy to clean(21)
    Cons:
    Heavy(27), Slow focus(6)
    Best Uses:
    Back-up(4), Close up filming(5), General purpose(40), Landcape(6), Landscape/scenery(10)
    Was this a gift?:
    No(6), Yes(3)
     
    Extremely Happy
    By Point and ShootVerified Purchaser from Woodinville, WA on 4/7/2011
    Pros:
    Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Fun To Use, User friendly
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Wildlife Photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    Yes
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I'm a casual photographer and I enjoy shooting wildlife, natural scenes, and macro/texture shots. I've enjoyed the ease of use, and the vibration reduction is unbelievable. From the moment I mounted the lense and started using it, I was immediately excited and pleased with my new lens.

     
    Great Upgrade From Our Prior Zoom Lens
    By TrendzeroVerified Purchaser from Denver, CO on 3/24/2011
    Pros:
    Crisp Image, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Wildlife Photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    We upgraded from the 55-200mm F/4.5-5.6 to this one and what a huge difference it has made. The images are crisper, the focus is better and our pictures look better then ever. I must have zoom lens.

     
    GREAT LENS
    By DevinVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, PA on 3/11/2011
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Great focal length, Great vibration resistanc
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    Yes
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Its a great lens

     
    Great lens for portrait
    By LOCVerified Purchaser from Anaheim, CA on 3/1/2011
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Should have 18-25mm and 70-300mm come with Nikon D90. That all.

     
    Sharpness of this lens - you compare
    By Troy TVerified Reviewer from Virginia Beach VA on 12/15/2010
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus
    Cons:
    Poor in Low Light
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-pro Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    [...]

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    For a package lens it's awesome
    By HikerJoshVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 10/16/2010
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Video, Wildlife Photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Even though this lens came as part of a package deal, I would have bought it separately. It has a nice solid feel, the focus ring is just right, not too easy to turn past your focus. The only thing I would like is a smaller aperture when full out but that would have been a few hundred more.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    to experience is to believe
    By maricelVerified Purchaser from [@] on 10/1/2010
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Video, Wildlife Photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    i really like this lens because it gives me more focus than the usual lens we used to. I would greatly recommend this together with the D90.

     
    Great addition to any Nikon
    By OliveVerified Purchaser from Washington, MI on 9/28/2010
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Works wonderfully in all modes... and manual settings.. great for capturing portraits from a far and wildlife. A little slow for action team type sports but, WONDERFUL clarity and function.

     
    Been waiting for this lens for years
    By Photos4UVerified Purchaser from North Florida on 9/28/2010
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Strong enough
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery, Wildlife Photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Was this a gift?:
    Yes
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Since becoming a senior citizen it has become increasingly difficult to hand hold even a normal lens and get sharp shots. I shoot a lot of wildlife and they often do not give you time to set up a tripod. This lens not only gives me the reach I need but I am able to hand hold and get shots I have not been able to do in years. I can not say enough about the VR II Technology especially on a longer zoom like this. The lens has been trouble free and has given me great, sharp pictures. I can not find anything bad to say about it.

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great pictures of the moon!
    By Britt0n1997Verified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 6/16/2010
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Purchased this lens last week and really enjoying the sharp, clear pictures.

    Images shared by: Britt0n1997

    Moon on June 15, 2010

    Image Thumbnail

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    i just got this lens and i love it . int
    By earlVerified Reviewer from hillsborough n. c. on 5/30/2010
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    outside ,wildlife ,landscape ,racing

    [1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great Balance, Sharpe pictures
    By NormVerified Reviewer from Bruceton, TN on 4/7/2010
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Difficult to Clean, Poor in Low Light
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I use this lens when I am hiking or hunting, or just walking about, Mostly use in wildlife, Deer,Birds, Turkey. When you push the lens beyound 250mm with out a tripoid, I have found a very noticable quilty in my pictures. But under 250mm your in good shape in natural light.

    Images shared by: Norm

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Perfect Lense for Wildlife and Landscape
    By Adolfo Muholove from Maputo, Mozambique on 12/28/2009
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Wildlife Photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This is a good choice for those who like to explore wildlife, sports and landscape shoots.

    Images shared by: Adolfo Muholove

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Picture of Product, Using Product

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Picture of Product, Using Product, Made with Product

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Awesome lens! Worth the Price
    By Chris from San Antonio,TX on 12/4/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    When you use this lens you always want to have the VR on. This will ensure you nice and sharp photos.

    Images shared by: Chris

    Fallow Deer

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    [37 of 37 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great Zoom Lens for Sports
    By jtharrisVerified Reviewer from Hazel Park, Michigan on 7/24/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Getting started
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    Heavy, Slow Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Just got this lens with my Nikon D50. I love it. This is a great lens to put you right in the middle of the action, and then stops the action perfectly. I use this lens for baseball and track so far.

    Images shared by: jtharris

    High Jump

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product, Picture of Product

    100 meters

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product, Picture of Product

    [7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Fabulous Lens!
    By JanetLeeVerified Purchaser from Lakeland, FLorida on 6/12/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This is a wonderful lens for crisp, clear
    wildlife and landscape shots. The vibration
    reduction in the lens is a most valuable
    feature.

    Images shared by: JanetLee

    Surfacing Dolphin

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Sunset at the beach.

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Worth the money
    By JojjeVerified Reviewer from Sweden on 5/13/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Lightweight, Quick Focus
    Best Uses:
    Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Bought the lens when I visited US in late 2007 and is the lens I use most of the time. I use it often to shoot pictures while my son plays soccer. Gives quite sharp pictures handheld thanks to the VR-function, but are not in the same league as the 70-200 f/2.8 of course. I also like to use it for landscape photography to compress the perspective. I have also taken handheld pictures with macro-quality by zooming in on flowers. A very versatile lens.

    Images shared by: Jojje

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Nikon 70 - 300mm Zoom Lens
    By SmittyVerified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 5/8/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Weak Casing
    Best Uses:
    Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I really enjoy using this zoom lens in capturing action shoots during my duagther's softball events. I also look forward to using the zoom lens for wildlife photos during our vacation in Utah and Californis this year

    [6 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Excellent!!
    By DanielVerified Purchaser from Bogota, Colombia on 4/30/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Great Zoom, no tripod, VR control is excellent, it's a little big, but it's absolutely worth it.

    Images shared by: Daniel

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    70-300 VR THE LENS EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE
    By MarkVerified Reviewer from Chandler Arizona on 3/29/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landscape Photography, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    USE WITH THE D80. GREAT FOR WILDLIFE AND LANDSCAPE WAS ABLE TO CARRY AROUND THE ZOO ALL DAY WITHOUT ANY DIFFICULTY. THE SHARP CRISP CLEAN PICTURES TELL ME THAT I WAITED TO LONG TO BUY THE LENS. SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT IT A YEAR AGO WHEN I GOT THE CAMERA. THIS IS THE LENS EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE.

    [4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    This is a GREAT!!!! Lens
    By mouseVerified Purchaser from Wendell, NC on 3/27/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Upgrade
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Only thing the lens is very heavy.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Good Lens!
    By IzeVerified Purchaser from Chicagi, IL on 3/18/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Close up of far away objects is a snap. Auto focus works well.

    [11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Very Good Lense
    By TaylersdadVerified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC on 3/5/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Night Photography, Upgrade
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I bought this from Wolf Camera in Raleigh and they gave excellent service. The lense is much faster and marginally sharper than the aftermarket lense of the same max magnification with an F4 rating. The lense could be a little sharper at max magnification but is a great value. It takes very good pictures, is plenty fast and not too heavy. It is rated F4.5 but shoots more like an F4. I love it.

    Images shared by: Taylersdad

    Takes shots like a macro

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Lots of saturation in cloudy condition

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    I would buy this product again.
    By Catherine from Cape Cod, MA on 2/21/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy, Scratches Easily, Slow Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Portrait
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Good, sturdy lens. Focus is slow at times but provides sharp images.

     
    unbelieveable clarity and detail
    By kyungheeVerified Purchaser from orlando on 1/11/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Rugged, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Landscape Photography, Night Photography
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Delighted with the detail I get shooting wildlife and night shots!

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Nikon 70-300mm lens
    By JdyhouserVerified Purchaser from Fremont, CA on 1/3/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Just bought a Nikon D40 and had read a site that was very informative about the type of Nikon camera's. We have about 5 different types of camera's from point & shoot and others. I love this camera which I am going to be using at the Nascar races.

     
    PERFECT HOLIDAY GIFT
    By KEN THE LOVING HUSBANDVerified Purchaser from MUNFORD AL on 12/29/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    mY WIFE WAS VERY SURPRISED AND SHE LOVED THE GIFT. sHE LOVES TAKING PICTURES OF OUR DAUGHTER DURING SPORTING EVENTS THIS WI WHAT SHE NEEDED

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    I want it for me
    By JonesVerified Purchaser from Ma on 12/28/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Upgrade

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Gift for my dad now I one for me

     
    Perfect Lens
    By AJ FlashVerified Purchaser from Cumberland, Maryland on 12/28/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Just had a grandbaby and using lense for to capture special moments. I love scrapbooking and this lens will add many more pictures to use.

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great Zoom lens. Looks good too!
    By mphotographyVerified Reviewer from North Dakota on 12/26/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I got this lens for my D80. This lens is excellent. It has a huge zoom to 300mm and I couldn't be happier with the way it looks. if my pictures don't turn out because I don't expose them correctly... I will look good doing it.

    The manual focus override is excellent.

    [6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Very Nice Upgrade w/o the High Price Tag
    By SteinerVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 11/25/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action, Upgrade
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    The 70-300mm is quite an upgrade from the 200mm that I originally purchased with the D80. It's heavier weight is noticeable but by no means in a negative way. Pictures are crisp and clear with this zoom lens, enhanced by the AF feature. This is a high quality, yet affordable lens. Probably one of the last that you can obtain w/o a high price tag. I would definitely recommend this product.

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great Lenses
    By BFVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 11/5/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Typical great quality from Nikon

    [6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

     
    I would buy this product again
    By ELinColoVerified Purchaser from Denver, CO on 10/27/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Easily Interchangeable, Easy to figure out use, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landcape, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    The vibration reduction feature is excellent. Even though the lens was lighter than I thought it would be, VR was still a great advantage. Don't buy a long lens without this feature!

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    An affortable lense with good qualities
    By Dan G.Verified Reviewer from Oxford, NC on 10/25/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Landcape, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This lense with the for zooming and one more is all that is needed for oustanding shoots.

    Images shared by: Dan G.

    Shot with D300, just resize the photo

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Picture of Product

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    EXCELLENT
    By glynVerified Purchaser from atlanta,ga on 10/24/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landcape, Night Photography, Sports/Action
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This lens surpassed my expectations...and at the 300mm distance, focusing was sharp with NO vibration!

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    "It Attracts Attention Wherever It Goes"
    By monijfkVerified Purchaser from Kamuela, Hawaii on 10/11/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Adaptable, Competitive, Conforms, Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Manageable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Close-ups, General Use, Landcape, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    When I first received my lense, I immediately went out into my yard and shot everything in sight, yard animals, insects, birds, flowers...you name it...I was excited. Then later, I shot a Round-Up Rodeo and a Beach Wedding...I was impressed. I live on the Big Island of Hawaii...no matter where you live, I suggest all Nikon owners to have one of these. Considering it's size, I expected it to get heavy after a time but then you should use a monopod if you have one but if not, that's when the VR really comes into play. This definitely attracts attention and get the stares and comments. I can say I'm very pleased and happy with it.
    aloha

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Love this lens.
    By Out of focus RonVerified Purchaser from Woodland CA on 10/10/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Landcape, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    First use of this lens was to shoot kids soccer, best action pics I have ever taken. Primary use is for shooting rock formations. Crystal clear pictures. Love this lens.

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Works like a charm
    By Joans new hobbyVerified Purchaser from Binghamton NY on 10/1/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I use this product to take pictures of wildlife and objects I think are unusual. Recently I have been photographing flowers.

    I took some pictures of Malards cleaning and have great action shots.

    I have two Labradors and they are perfect subjects to learn with.

     
    Wow I can see clearly now
    By skabengaVerified Purchaser from Tampa, Fl on 9/30/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    The VR is great for shaky hands like mine

    [9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Nikon Zoom 70-300
    By glenjustVerified Purchaser from Clinton, IA on 9/30/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Sharp Focus, Stable Image, Wide Range
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Landcape, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This lens has a wide range of focal lengths (70-300mm) making shots of distant objects very easy. The zoom is very smooth and solid. Even setting the camera to "auto," the lens produce excellent images. The VR feature really does work, especially at maximum zoom. The lens is a little heavy, but I like the heft of it when shooting at 300mm. This lens is definitely worth the money.

    Images shared by: glenjust

    Balloon shot using lens at 300mm

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Balloons shot at 70mm

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great lens
    By bonirayVerified Purchaser from Saint Simons Island Georgia on 9/26/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Professional
    Pros:
    Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Special Effects, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Great lens I have used this lens for a month now and finding out just what all it can do. I would highly recommend this lens for many projects, use your imagination and see what it can create for you in your photo journeys.[@]

    Images shared by: boniray

    what is your wish

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, What is your wish

     
    Great lens even better price
    By Doodle 34Verified Purchaser from Oak Ridge,Pa on 9/16/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Back-Up, General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I love taking pictures of wildlife and this lens lets me get closer than I've ever been,great zoom really good pictures always sharp and in focus.Wish it was a little lighter, but I would buy it again.

     
    Great Long Lens for a DX Camera.
    By theRDVerified Purchaser from Riverside, Ca on 9/15/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    So it was between the 70-300mm and the 80-200mm lenses for me to choose from. I was fortunate enough to be able to shoot with both lenses before purchasing and what sold me, aside from the huge price difference was the weight. I'm not sure what the difference actually is but the 70-300mm was much easier to handle. Sure, it's not as fast and doesn't work as well in low light situations but to me it was a smart purchase.

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Incredible lens
    By Sean O'BrienVerified Reviewer from Orange County, CA on 9/2/2008
    Pros:
    Great low light shots, Incredible action shots
    Best Uses:
    Close Up Filming, Panoramic Filming, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Tech Savvy
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I have had my D50 for several years, and have loved it. However, I did feel the absence of an image stabilization feature for low light and action shots. Plus just taking a picture without a tripod was sure to build in blur. However, with this lens, this is no longer a problem. The Vibration reduction function works quite well. I can sit in a car moving on the freeway and take pictures of moving cars coming from the opposite direction, and they are sharp and clear. What with the very reasonable price, and the fantastic qualities of this lens, you cannot do better without spending at lease another $1000 for a lens.

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    GREAT Lens!
    By TomVerified Purchaser from Canton, OH on 8/23/2008
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Best Uses:
    Shooting Outdoors, SportsAction, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Parent
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I bought this lens to replace the "standard" zoom lens that Nikon sells in its' sports package. I used that one for 18 months, then moved up to this one based on recommendations from family and friends. Glad I did ... Photos are more clear and much sharper.

     
    Great Lens for the price
    By "Papa" razzi grandpaVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, MI on 8/21/2008
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Fast focus, Improves Picture Quality
    Cons:
    A bit heavy
    Best Uses:
    Grandkids' sports, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade, Wildlife photos
    Describe Yourself:
    Serious amateur photog
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I love to take photos of my grandkids playing soccer, football, etc. and of wildlife, e.g., bison and pronghorn in the South Dakota Black Hills. I have a Nikon D50 DSLR which I love, but the 55-200 mm lens doesn't reach quite far enough for those distant shots. This 70-300 mm has made it a lot easier to get great shots. The VR function works smoothly. I've gotten some in-your-face closeups I couldn't get before. It's a great value. The only downside I've had is it is a bit heavier than what I've been used to. A very minor inconvenience.

    Images shared by: "Papa" razzi grandpa

    Black HIlls Bison

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Bigger the better!
    By Tony the Photog'Verified Purchaser from Bay City, MI on 8/19/2008
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Cons:
    Bulky Design
    Best Uses:
    Shooting in low light, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This lens is spectacular! The zoom range on it is something else. When you zoom in at 300 MM with infinity, you still have crystal clear images. The VR is amazing without a tripod. It makes it much easier to shoot in low light conditions without a tripod. The VR also does it's job minimizing camera shake. This lens is wonderful for shooting sports, it really lets you get in on the action from that far away distance. It may make your camera a bit bulky and heavier but that's nothing to complain for what it all has to offer. It really is an all around great lens. Great job Nikon!

    Images shared by: Tony the Photog'

    Geese at dusk.

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    Fireworks.

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    I'm so impressed, WOW !!!
    By renato59Verified Purchaser from Boca Raton, Florida on 8/18/2008
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Best Uses:
    Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Tech Savvy
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    What a great product, the versatility and overall performance it's incredible for the price paid. Accuracy and well balance features are included on this package.

    Images shared by: renato59

    Image Thumbnail

    Image Thumbnail

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    This lens (70-300mm) is all that!
    By Big DougVerified Purchaser from Willingboro, New Jersey on 8/14/2008
    Pros:
    Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality, This lens 70-300mm is a
    Cons:
    I have no cons
    Best Uses:
    Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Tech Savvy
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This lens (70-300mm) is all that it has an sharp focus, and it's easy to interchanges the lens.
    I love using this lens

    Images shared by: Big Doug

    Image Thumbnail

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Excellent lens
    By TKBVerified Purchaser from Katy, Texas on 8/12/2008
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Best Uses:
    Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Tech Savvy
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This is a wonderful lens. I use it mostly for shooting wildlife where I cannot get as close as I would like...hoping to get the 500 mm soon.

    [1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Close-Up Wonder!
    By dVerified Purchaser from Auburn, Ca. on 8/8/2008
    Pros:
    VR truly works
    Cons:
    Not sure 'if' any
    Best Uses:
    Close Up Filming
    Describe Yourself:
    Film Professional
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I'm sold on the VR feature

     
    Well worth the price, I'd buy it again.
    By KBRacerVerified Purchaser from Mesa,Az. on 8/4/2008
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Best Uses:
    Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Parent, Tech Savvy
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Great for wildlife photography,lets you get close without being dangerously close. I shoot lots of racecars at high speed so the vibration reduction is very helpful.

     
    Awesome Lense
    By JPVerified Purchaser from Minot, ND on 7/30/2008
    Pros:
    Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Best Uses:
    Shooting Outdoors
    Describe Yourself:
    Parent
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Easy-to-use lense for a novice photographer. The perfect lense for photographing my kids participating in their sporting events.

    [7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Love it
    By Dave the diverVerified Purchaser from Cupertino, CA on 7/30/2008
    Pros:
    Great Value, Improves Picture Quality
    Best Uses:
    Shooting Outdoors, Shooting wildlife
    Describe Yourself:
    Experienced amateur, Parent, Tech Savvy
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I used it for wildlife photography in Tanzania, and the pictures turned out great. People were amazed at how good they were. I didn't spend enough time in advance learning the settings, and I realized I had the VR off after several days. But most of those picture were really good anyway.

    Images shared by: Dave the diver

    Leopard with kill

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Leopard from ~70 yards, Made with Product

    Young baboons playing

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

     
    Thank You Ritz Camera
    By JeffVerified Purchaser from Lancaster, Pa on 7/30/2008
    Pros:
    Improves Picture Quality
    Cons:
    None
    Best Uses:
    Shooting Outdoors
    Describe Yourself:
    New Hobbiest
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I am new to this and was looking to increase the quality and opportunities available to me. Upon recieving this product I have captured shots that couldn't of happened without it's easy and quality. Thanks

     
    I would buy this product again and again
    By Rodeo MomVerified Purchaser from Grover, Colorado on 7/28/2008
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Best Uses:
    Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors, SportsRodeo
    Describe Yourself:
    Film Professional, Parent, Photography student
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I mostly use it to shot wildlife, rodeo, and basketball. For the most part it does just what I wanted. It make my spots pictures come out great. My rodeo pictures are fantastic, but my wildlife doesn't always like to cooperate. Lol.I wish they were a little closer. Thanks for making a reasonable priced lens.

    Images shared by: Rodeo Mom

    My daughter goat tying @ a high school rodeo

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Amazing lens
    By Eagle Eye PhotoVerified Reviewer from Birmingham Al on 7/24/2008
    Pros:
    Compact Design, Easy To Use, Great Action Shots, Improves Picture Quality, Very light weight
    Cons:
    None so far
    Best Uses:
    Action shots, Close Up Filming, Shooting Outdoors
    Describe Yourself:
    Weekend photographer
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Bought this to take place of my Nikon 50-500 lens as well as 50-400 VR lens. Found it to take better action shots that both lenses at half the price of the others. It was easy to carry and focused and panned well when trying to keep up with high speed cars at the race track. Took great up close shots of the fans at the race.

    Images shared by: Eagle Eye Photo

    Another one almost bites the Dust

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, One of the 1000 photos

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great lens for the price. Amazing shots!
    By AdamVerified Reviewer from Morton Grove, IL on 6/29/2008
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality, Smooth quiet operation
    Cons:
    Slightly heavy
    Best Uses:
    Landscapes, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyistenthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This is such a great lens for the price. It is a little on the heavy side but nothing I didn't expect. It took great pics right out of the box with very little preparation. Just a little reading from the manual and I was all set. I have a D50 and now with this lens the possibilities are unlimited.

    Images shared by: Adam

    pleasant blur and great detail of the object

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    I just love this one... great detail

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

     
    wow
    By yoni from oakland on 6/22/2008
    Pros:
    Compact Design, Easy To Use, Execellent picture, Improves Picture Quality, Interfaces Well With Camcorder
    Best Uses:
    Close Up Filming, Great for out doors, Panoramic Filming, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Aspiring Film Maker, First time photograher
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    this lense has been execellent i love the picture i take i have been using a nikon for as long as i can remember and i wont stop using nikon lenses product

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Nice, I am happy with it :)
    By Want to beVerified Reviewer from Sanford, MI on 6/17/2008
    Cons:
    Size and wieght are hard
    Best Uses:
    Close Up Filming, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Want to be
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    A very nice lens, the weight and size are hard to deal with at first, ( carry a mono or tripod)
    The photo taken below was the first day i had it
    Just by chance I was out in my yard and seen this critter, so I ran to get my camera, put it in point to shoot mode and clicked a few off before she got away, Was about 6 to 7 feet away, and very bright sun light, Not to bad, D-70 camera.
    any way it is now a 11x14 hanging on my wall. :)

    Images shared by: Want to be

    Nice shot

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

    [7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

     
    See the photo and you be the judge
    By PamVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 6/5/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    How fortunate to observe a rare opportunity of Pileated Woodpeckers nesting in a dead oak tree 50' from my house. On autofocus mode it was difficult to capture a shot in some instances because one has to be quick. To be able to set up autofocus and switch to manual was great. Obviously I used a tripod and shutter release cable. From Atop my roof. Well, you be the judge.

    Images shared by: Pam

    Feed Me

    Image Thumbnail

    Mom and Babes

    Image Thumbnail

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    For the price I love it
    By minimoodVerified Reviewer from olympia washington on 5/11/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    If you can't spring the money now, save up. I was a little leary of VR but now that its made me money It's my new best friend.

    Images shared by: minimood

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

    all smiles

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

    [6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Good Investment
    By dbalosVerified Reviewer from Delray, FL on 5/2/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Fast focus
    Cons:
    NONE
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I didn't expect this lens to be as sharp as it is at 300mm. It has exceded my expectations to say the least. Well worth the money for sure.

    Back yard photo hand held with VR on, f11 at 200, auto fucus on and set at 300mm.

    Images shared by: dbalos

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Nice Lens For The Price!
    By BluAlienVerified Reviewer from California on 4/30/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy, Slow Focus
    Best Uses:
    Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I got this lens for my D40 and it does what it says it will! I was a little unpleased about how heavy and bulky it seemed to be but after I had it on for a while and found my new "balance" it's great! The focus does seem to be a little less sharp when zoomed to 300mm and infinity. Other than that the VR is awesome and has allowed me to handhold moon shots at 300MM!

    [6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Holly mother of pearl I love it!!!!
    By Tony The TigerVerified Reviewer from Fort Myers, FL on 3/12/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Getting started
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I use this lens every single day of my life. I am a full time student in florida, and i happen to catch the most interesting photos with this lens.
    I use it with my Nikon D40X, and i have to say if you have a Nikon speed light, it worke great for indoor photography. A must for all, especially if you like crispy photos.

    Images shared by: Tony The Tiger

    My daughter playing in the sand

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    I captured this bird eating lunch

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

     
    If you could only have one lens...
    By Goose GooseVerified Reviewer from Seattle, WA on 2/23/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Vibration Reduction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Nature Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    When I am traveling light and have to choose just one, this is the lens I always take. Despite the low end of the focal length being far from wide-angle, this lens is great for intimate portraits or shooting candids from a distance, even indoors.

    The image is soft at the extreme end of 300mm, but for the low cost and small size of the lens (comparably), the trade-off is well worth it. I achieve consistently sharp results with hand-held shots using the VR in almost all conditions. Initially I winced at the cost, but now fully believe the price a bargain!

    If I could wish just one improvement it would be for the lens to be slightly faster, as I've found that light conditions get low a little to fast at dusk and I sometimes have to switch to another lens when I am on foot and without a tripod in order to use longer shutter speeds... but again, that adds cost and this lens is excellent for its price point (thus the 5 stars).

    Images shared by: Goose Goose

    Long Beach and Lighthouse, handheld w/VR

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    Humming Bird @ 300mm, handheld w/VR

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Good Value
    By Jeff24KVerified Reviewer from Central Florida on 2/11/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This lens is very soft out past 200mm. Stop down between f/9 and f/11 for best results. The VR is outstanding, with "Auto" mode almost psychic. I've taken cleaner shots from a car doing 45mph than I sometimes have with a monopod in a mild breeze. Astounding.

    [8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Excellent Lens
    By ThreshersharkVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake City, UT on 1/31/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Lightweight, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    NONE
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Of course this lens is not quite what you would expect from something like a $5000 Nikon 300mm f/2.8, but it's not supposed to be. It is small, light, and excellent at tracking moving subjects on my D200. In low light conditions, I use this lens over my 80-400mm VR costing 3 times as much because focus is tack sharp and AF-S gives high speed motion tracking abilities to the lens.

    Given the price and the intent of this product, it hits the mark dead center.

    Images shared by: Threshershark

    Bald Eagle in Flight

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

     
    In love with this lens
    By Drew WymoreVerified Reviewer from Vancouver WA on 1/28/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I just purchased this lens with high expectations and I wasn't disappointed. It focused quickly when tracking birds and other moving objects and the clarity was phenomenal. Its a little heavy but gives the feeling that its well constructed and durable.

    Images shared by: Drew Wymore

    Birds

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great lens
    By desert photography from Phoenix, Az on 1/2/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Durable, Easy To Clean, Rugged
    Cons:
    Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This is a great lens if you are getting started.
    I would recommend getting somthing a little more powerful if you want to shoot birds and other wildlife.

    Images shared by: desert photography

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    best lens for the money
    By Rocket88Verified Reviewer from Sharon, WI on 1/2/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Really love working with this lens, perfect for the D40 as an all around performer. A little heavy, just takes some getting used to.

    Images shared by: Rocket88

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    This Baby Rocks!
    By Hot Rod VirgoVerified Reviewer from Hawaii on 12/17/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    None so far
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I have enjoyed using this lens since I got it this summer. I do a lot of wildlife/animals and nature photography, and I have gotten some of the best shots I have ever taken using this lens. Overall, very nice!

    Images shared by: Hot Rod Virgo

    Scratching an Itch

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Best lens I have ever owned ( of many )
    By Steve, the foto fanatic!!! from Jasper, Georgia on 11/26/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Great Range, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I mostly use the product for portraits. Along with the aspect that it makes me alot of money, it is alot of fun to make nature and in particular animal images.

    Images shared by: Steve, the foto fanatic!!!

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product, Made with Product, Totally awesome lens

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Good lens for the money
    By JimVerified Reviewer from NC on 10/22/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Quiet, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Autofocus hunts at 300mm
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Use this lens on D40. I am well pleases with the overall operation. The autofocus "hunts" at longer focal lengths but when it zero's in the focus is great. I bought a monopod to deal with camera shake since the outfit is a little heavy to hand hold

    Images shared by: Jim

    Love that Telephoto

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Good Zoom Lens
    By Kevin from Union Bridge, MD on 10/14/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Quiet, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Slow Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I shoot with a D70s and after using that with the 18-70 I wanted the same silent wave autofocus system in a telephoto zoom. Between the silent wave and VR this fit my needs the best. The VR allows me to get shots that are consistently clear around 1/30th of a second at 300mm. This lens is good for hand holding in poor light and the VR allows for a smaller aperture to get more depth of field when shooting close up. Only problem I have is the slower autofocus in low light but, at f/5.6 at 300mm it's not too bad.

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Exceptional Clarity, Fast Focusing
    By TonyVerified Reviewer from Jefferson City, MO on 10/11/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Exceptional Clarity, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Professional Work, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I purchased this lens after reading reviews on line and have been very happy with the results. Using a D-80 and close up mode it took exceptional shots of butterflies. However, the relatively limited aperture at 300 mm made it difficult to stop action on a cloudy day. There was a depth-of-field tradeoff that made some photos a tad blurry at the edges. Overall, however, a great lens!

    Images shared by: Tony

    Monarch Butterfly

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Monarch Butterfly 2

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    A good all around LENS
    By StifflerVerified Reviewer from Austin, TX on 9/28/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Best for Day Shooting, Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable
    Cons:
    Blurry Focus, Night Shooting, Slow Focus
    Best Uses:
    Back-Up, General Use, Portraits, Professional Work, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    BODIES USED: NIKONs - D100, D70, D50 (have em all, love em all)USES: Soccer, Football, Lacrosse, Volleyball, Baseball, Hunting & Fishing, Vacations, basically goes everywhere I go. Stays in the back seat all the time. You never know when you'll have a good opportunity.DAY TIME SHOOTING: Great and best for day time shooting. Really, really good with lot and lots of light. I take a lot of sports/action shots. It's nuts good for all of it. Really reaches out and grabs the distance. Great for everything from wildlife to sports/action shooting.NIGHT TIME SHOOTING: For Action/Sports shooting I hate it. I really, really do. By the time it finally focuses the action shot is gone. Focuses to slowly. BATTERY LIFE: Really uses a lot of battery and fast.OPINION: When we first got it, it took us 3 days to really get a handle on it. It seems to take a long, long time setting the picture focus for action/sports shooting which is 95% of my business. You have to set up on your objects longer and hold the button down longer. And make sure your battery is fresh every time. [...]

     
    A must for anyone shooting distance shot
    By ChuckVerified Reviewer from Portland on 9/22/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Lightweight
    Best Uses:
    Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    If you only get one additional lense for your DSLR this is it!!!

    If you are shooting anything in the distance; sports, kids play/concert this is the must get zoom. With effective zoom to 400mm you MUST have the VR. Go to any store and try it with and without VR one, push halfway and watch your handshake evaporate.

    My last big zoom was a film 300mm. All I could say was WOW when I looked at what I could get with this lens with VR and hand held.

    [6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Fantastic Wildlife Friend!
    By DAVerified Reviewer from Bothell, Washington on 9/16/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Quiet, Sharp Focus, VR essential for handheld
    Best Uses:
    Portraits, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Great tool for long shots and getting that just right distance with wildlife and animals. The sharp focus and soft depth of field add to the creative quality I seek in photographic imagery.

    Images shared by: DA

    Wheat Silo

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

    July Quail

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    THE VR IS A MUST HAVE ITEM!!!!!
    By GregBVerified Reviewer from Portsmouth, Va on 9/7/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    Back-Up, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    2007 is my first year in photography and because of this lens "I'm loving it" I'll be starting my 2nd career in photography when I retire from the military next year!
    I purchased this lens as a back up for my D80, while my 70-135 was being repaired and Mannnnn oh Mannnnnnn!!!!!! The Vibration Reduction is CRAZY!!! ((I love it))

    Images shared by: GregB

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Awesome lens, great price
    By LNJBULLVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas, NV on 8/16/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Sports/Action, Upgrade
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Great for bringing the action in close, VR puts it over the top. A definite must-have for sports.

    Images shared by: LNJBULL

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    I'm going to get the 55-200mm next
    By 57yrs and still learningVerified Reviewer from Kent, Washington on 8/4/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Easily Interchangeable, Quiet, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    A little Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I got it Sat. and was using it Monday. It's a little heavy to hang from your wris all day, but who wants to miss the next shot?
    They say don't use a multiplier, but the only thing I found, was I had to turn off the auto focus.
    Now all I have to do is find someone willing to by my old 70-33mm lens.

    Images shared by: 57yrs and still learning

    Say what?

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

    Nearing touchdown

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Amazing
    By Red RocketVerified Reviewer from Houston on 8/1/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Sharp Focus, VRII Rocks
    Best Uses:
    Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Benefits of VRII were immediately apparent in high speed motor sports photography. I had some great shots first time out!

    Images shared by: Red Rocket

    Fast Action

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    Sharp

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Vibration Reduction is the way to go.
    By Chris The CatdriverVerified Reviewer from Park City UT on 7/9/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Good quality tele-zoom. If you need the reach and can't get a handle on the older 80-200, and the new 70-200 VR is out of the budget, this is a good choice. Since Nikon digitals are easy to put into auto ISO mode, the slower speed of this lens is less of an issue. I have been able to hand hold 1/30th at 300mm no Problem with the VR. Hot stuff this. Any long lens I buy from here on out will be VR. It handles well on my D200, but I would give a bit more consideration before hanging this on a smaller body. the again the VR mode will likely eliminate any issues there. While still a bit soft at the long end of the zoom range, this is a much improved lens over the older 70-300's.

    Images shared by: Chris The Catdriver

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    A perfect all around lens
    By GrampaVerified Reviewer from Clifton Park NY on 7/8/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    None yet
    Best Uses:
    Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Use it all the time as my main lens. Getting into the "SEMI-professional" area and find it perfect for all types of wildlife photography

    Images shared by: Grampa

    My heart knows what the wild goose knows

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

    I know that there is a doe here somewhere

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    A must have lens
    By jagphotoVerified Reviewer from Mazomanie, WI on 6/20/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    Professional Work
    Describe Yourself:
    Professional
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I was looking at this lens, and reading the reviews for a couple months. I finally purchased one, and I am glad I did. It does everything Nikon claims it does and more. I shoot a lot of action sports photos, you can stand on the sidelines, and get great shots from anywhere on the field. A bargain at the price in my opinion!!

    [2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great lens at a good price!
    By BCM from Preston County, WV on 6/11/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    Non that I've encountered
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I love this lens! I bought the Nikon D80 kit, with the 18-135 Nikkor, and added this lens at the time of purchase. I've been in and out, and back "into" photography over the last 30 years. This is the best set up I've used!

    [3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Field Practice with lens
    By FlatboatVerified Reviewer from Gulf Breeze, Fl. on 5/27/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    None so far
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Up graded to this lens - Takes a little getting used to - Have to watch lens hood creeping into corners - Over all very good hand held lens for what I have used it for - So far it has worked well with a variety of settings.

    Images shared by: Flatboat

    Panning at 24 mm distance 25 ft - speed 10mph

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    300mm - distance 50 feet

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    [1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Outstanding
    By Dijhili from Orlando, Florida on 5/7/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Professional Work, Special Effects, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Fantastic lens. A little on the pricy side, however an incredible difference in quality from a Quantaray or even the base nikon 75-300. The colors are richer and the focus is sharper. With the VR technology, you can still have a smoke and a drink and still take a steady shot :)

    Images shared by: Dijhili

    single bubble

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

    first shot with new lens

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

    [2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    A Great Lens for a great Price
    By MMP from Layton, Utah on 5/5/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Fast Auto-Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Professional Work, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Professional
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This is a true upgrade to the 70-300G or ED. The 9 bladed aperture softens the background while the main subject is sharp as a tack. I keep this on my camera most of the time.

    Images shared by: MMP

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Very nice zoom!
    By MikeVerified Reviewer from Fremont, Ca. on 4/10/2007
    Pros:
    Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user
    Best Uses:
    Action Shots, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    For the price, you cannot beat this lens. It is
    well constructed, substantial, but not overly
    heavy. The lens is super sharp from 70-200 and
    very sharp from 200-300mm. It does have a little
    tendancy to hunt on my d80. However there are 9
    modes of Autofocus to play with on the d80 plus
    the settings directly on the lens. It does not
    hunt all the time. The issue is that it will
    focus on the closest object in the center of
    the shot ie. a branch instead of a squirrel.
    You add in the distance and it's very hard to
    manually see the correct focus visually, then
    if your in the wrong mode, when you click the
    shot, the d80 focuses on what it wanted to at
    first anyway.

    These issues are pure technique and my lack of
    experience, I would not blame the lens.

    One really minor issue is that 70mm is a very
    long place to start off for a "walking around"
    lens. I would get the 18-200vr if I did not
    mind the DX and wanted a good walking around
    lens.

    Images shared by: Mike

    Heavily cropped, was 10mp on d80 70-300vr @ 270mm

    Image Thumbnail

    [1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great lens, little heavy to lug around
    By mikeVerified Reviewer from Michigan on 4/5/2007
    Pros:
    Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Fast Focusing
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Best Uses:
    Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Great addition to the kit thee 300mm brings in animals from a distance, and makes shos more interesting.

    Images shared by: mike

    Focused fast enough to catch running dog

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Hand held with VR on

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    What a buy!!!
    By JWVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 3/15/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Professional Work, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    My wife bought me this as a gift, I couldn't have asked for a better surprise! I own the d50 and it came with an 18-55mm lens, so I wasn't able to do many upclose shots, but with this lens I am able to get up close & personal everywhere! The VR is a GREAT plus! I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone! Novice or Expert photographer!

    Images shared by: JW

    Houston Zoo

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product

    [1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    excelent
    By angel boy from lansing, mi on 2/18/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    Scratches Easily
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Professional Work
    Describe Yourself:
    Professional
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Price was great for the quality.

    [1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Best of the best
    By stonehealer from brewster, ny on 2/18/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    Professional Work, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Professional
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    i can't believe how good this lens is. i'd recommend it to everyone from the hobbyist to the pro.

    [8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Very good for birds
    By algae docVerified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 2/17/2007
    Pros:
    Easily Interchangeable, Good vibration reduction, Quiet focus
    Cons:
    Price
    Best Uses:
    Advanced amateur, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Pro
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    Though a bit spendy, this lens is a great complement to the 18-70mm Nikkor lens that came packaged with my Nikon D-70 and easily outclasses the 70-300mm Sigma lens I originally used with my Nikon N-65. With the VR I've stopped having to lug a tripod around and I'm very happy with the crisp images and good depth of focus even in poor lighting.

    [19 of 19 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Excellent Lens, sharp & fast
    By PKVerified Reviewer from Gibsonton, FL on 1/30/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast autofocus, Low distortion, Rugged, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    No cons
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Professional Work
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This is a lens superb for wildlife photography, great for sports, maintains a sharp focus even when panning. True colors,neutral bokeh, no lateral chromatic aberration, no noticeble darkened corners.
    It's well worth the price - a great quality lens.

    Images shared by: PK

    Rain Drop on a Barbados Cherry

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    RitzCamera.com Response: Excellent!

    [24 of 24 customers found this review helpful]

     
    I love this lens!!!
    By Matty JVerified Reviewer from Pittsburgh, PA on 1/19/2007
    Pros:
    Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    Sports
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    I'm a very novice photographer (just bought the D40 kit end of December). I've wanted a DSLR with a telephoto lens to take pictures of the kids during their activities as well as pics of our hometown pro teams. I previously owned the cheaper 18-200mm Nikon lens but I found that I was discarding more pictures than I keep. Now, with this lens, I keep a good 85% - 90% of the photos I take. If you're looking for a relatively inexpensive lens for capturing your kids soccer games this is the lens. The VR is awesome.

    Images shared by: Matty J

    300mm w/ VR (no hood or monopod)

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    RitzCamera.com Response: Great Shot.

    [115 of 119 customers found this review helpful]

     
    CRISP Photos with and withOUT VR on!
    By PhotoGirlVerified Reviewer from Texas on 12/17/2006
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    A Little Noisy
    Best Uses:
    Professional Work, Upgrade

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Lens:

    This is a GREAT lens. The VR works wonderfully - but the lens is sharp even without VR engaged. The VR is a bit noisy when you aren't used to having it other lenses, but you get used to it. This lens is a little large, but that's expected since it is a 300mm. I was very impressed how slow a shutter speed I could use with natural light and VR engaged. Great lens!

    Images shared by: PhotoGirl

    VR ON, Only 1/10th Second, at 300mm, No flash

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    VR OFF, Only 1/10th Second, at 300mm, No flash

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Powered by PowerReviews
    Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.