Buy the Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens image
 
(based on 20 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
The world's first macro lens featuring a Silent Wave Motor (SWM) and the Nikon Vibration Reduction System (VRII) allowing for high-quality hand-held macro shooting.
  • The VRII function minimizes camera shake allowing photographers to shoot hand-held at as many as 4 shutter speeds slower* (at near infinity to 1/3 life size) than would otherwise be possible, assuring dramatically sharper images.
  • A Nikon Extra - Low Dispersion (ED) glass element delivers superior optical performance for both digital and 35mm photography. ED glass minimizes chromatic aberrations, contributing to improved contrast and resolution performance.
  • The incorporation of Nikon?s exclusive Nano - Crystal Coat technology further ensures superior optical performance by virtually eliminating internal lens - element reflections.
  • Internal Focus (IF) provides fast and quiet auto-focusing without changing the length of the lens, retaining subject working distance through the focus range. Non-Rotating Front Design provides for more convenient use with circular polarizing filters and R1C1 Wireless Close-Up Speedlight System.
  • Provides continuous focusing from Infinity to life-size (1:1), offering extra working distance in demanding conditions. The Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables fast and quiet autofocusing, and quick switching between autofocus and manual operation (M/A and M).
  • The nine-blade rounded diaphragm opening makes out-of-focus elements appear more natural.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 20 reviews)
95% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(9), Professional(3), Semi-professional(7)
Pros:
Consistent output(13), Durable(17), Easily interchangeable(12), Easy to clean(6), Fast / accurate auto-focus(23)
Cons:
Heavy(8)
Best Uses:
General purpose(8), Macro(3), Portraits(9), Professional work(3), Special effects(4)

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Must Have Lense
By JerryVerified Reviewer from Cowiche, Washington on 5/6/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

I get consistent high quality shots with this lense. I specialize in flowers, wildlife, scenic landscapes, and anything beautiful.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW!!!
By SpyderVerified Reviewer from Balt. Md on 7/13/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

This is one incredable lens!!! Just buy it and stop fretting about it!!! Ya just wont believe it till ya see it.

[5 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens[...]
By dief84Verified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 4/10/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Macro
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

I bought this lens for my Nikon D300 and am very pleased with the quality of the lens. I would recommend this lens to a friend with the caveat that they buy it elsewhere[...]

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Glass
By TrobesVerified Reviewer from Maryville, TN on 2/5/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

After reading every professional review and consumer comment on this lens all I can say is: You get what you pay for. In this case, you get one great piece of glass that totally out performs everything else. [...]

[1 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikcon 105mm Micro Close up Lens
By SueVerified Purchaser from Barrington, IL on 2/3/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

Order process was very easy. I had my new lens in one day!

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Unbelievable image
By TV ManVerified Purchaser from Jacksonville, FL on 1/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

A great portrait lens.....a little on the heavy side, but seems to be constructed very well. My wife talked me into buying the Nikon and I'm glad she did!

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding Macro!
By JamayaphotoVerified Reviewer from New York on 1/19/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Macro and portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

This lens exceeded my expectations! Terrific glass!

Images shared by: Jamayaphoto

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best lens for close ups - EVER
By PrisVerified Reviewer from Fair Haven, VT on 1/11/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Close-up photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

I love the crispness and clarity of close ups with this lens .. it is like no other.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
A must have lens.
By PapaVerified Purchaser from Richmond Va. on 10/22/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Close-up photography, Close ups and portraiture

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

Sharp portraiture lens gives you room to work with subject. Ideal for close up work. I find the image sharp on both auto focus as well as manual.

Images shared by: Papa

Mule cowboy

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Lily

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[8 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
This lens is versitile and fun
By iWannaCVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 10/15/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Extremely Sharp, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

I got this lens based on the recommendation of a 35 year photo-pro. He talked me into getting this lens over the 85mm f/1.8. It's not as fast as the 1.8, but it takes phenomenal pictures. My only downside is that since it's a micro/macro lens that your more distant shots loose a little depth of field. Nonetheless, the bokeh on anything--and I mean anything-- less than about 15 feet is amazing.
As a relatively new photographer, this lens has me taking pictures of just about everything I see. I'm still looking for a wider portrait lens but I wouldn't trade this one for anything. The VR is a nice addition for all the shots of insects and stuff I find myself shooting on the fly.

I had a hard time picking just 2 pictures to represent how much fun this lens is. One of my first is of an ant in the grass and a praying mantis outside my front door. Did you know ants had hair on their butts?

Images shared by: iWannaC

Nikon D300 f/4.5 1/1600 second ISO-400

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Nikon D300 f/2.8 1/8000 sec ISO-400

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent lens!!!!
By ConnieVerified Purchaser from Columbus, Ga on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

I use this lens for all my pet portraits. The only negative thing I can say about this lens is that it is heavy. Of course, that's not much of a problem for me because I use a tripod for my portrait shots. I love this lens!!!! It was a bit pricey but you get what you pay for when it comes to lenses. I would recommend this lens to anyone serious about photography.

Images shared by: Connie

Lover, not a fighter!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Photo taken with lens

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Macro and General Use Lens
By prolysoVerified Reviewer from Austin, TX on 8/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

I have had this lens for about a year and always have great success with it. It is fast enough to capture great shots in low light and motion just stops with the click of the shutter. I also enjoy using it for macro work. Lots of detail.

The price is high, but this is a great quality and highly durable lens. I have even dropped it from about waist level on rock in Moab, UT and it doesn't even have a dent or scratch on it, though I might have grown a couple of grey hairs and had a mini heart attack in the process.

In my opinion, it is worth the price.

Images shared by: prolyso

Arches National Park (after I dropped the lens).

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
This lens is AWESOME!
By BluAlienVerified Reviewer from California on 5/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Great bokeh, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Macro, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

This lens is awesome plain and simple... You might think the price is a little steep but once you have this lens on your camera you will know it's WELL worth it. This lens is great for almost everything from portraits to macros. When shooting portraits the bokeh that you will be able to get from this lens is worth the price all by itself and then you add the 1:1 macro on top of that and it's awesome! The only thing I don't like about this lens is that it is a bit heavy but once you shoot your first shot you will forget all about that :) All I have to say is why are you still reading this? Go Get This Lens! You WON'T be sorry!!!

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Five Stars PLUS
By Luis, Pro-WannabeVerified Reviewer from Reston, Northern Virginia on 5/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Best Lens in my bag
Cons:
Not Cheap, Would Like f45
Best Uses:
Close-ups, Medium Tele, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

Have had lens about five weeks and have not taken it off the D300. Takes some getting used to, as there is no zoom. Portraits are almost too sharp, shows every zit.

Images shared by: Luis, Pro-Wannabe

Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

ditto

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Highly capable lens.
By Gary from San Mateo on 3/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Integral, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction, Versatile
Best Uses:
Ambient light, Close up, Color, Event, Flash, Portrait, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

I agree completely with previous reviews. This lens is sharp, fast and very well made.
In addition I would say that whenever this lens is mounted on my camera with or without flash my DSLR feels completely balanced and purposeful in my hand.
Try this on you DSLR using the SB800 flash set to NOT fire. This will allow you to use the highest ISO possible while achieving rapid and accurate AF extremely low light.
Good luck!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
This lens sells itself.
By PufferfishVerified Reviewer from Cincinnati, Oh on 2/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Special Effects, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

I own several lenses and the 105mm is by far my most used lens. It is perfect for portraits, nature close ups, and general around the city photography. The accuracy and color rendition is fantastic. My friends that don't have this one are jealous and often ask to borrow this lens. Don't use this lens if you don't have the money to get one. Once you use it, you'll have to have one.

[11 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great images, somewhat bulky
By MarkVerified Reviewer from San Jose, CA on 8/30/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast focus, Quiet, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction, Vibration Reduction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Flowers and Bugs, General Use, Macro and portraits, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

Great for macros and portrait work. Produces images so sharp, they look like they came from a different (better) camera. May be slightly less sharp at infinity focus, but I don't use it there often.

For portraits, it can be a little TOO sharp, picking up nearly-invisible defects in skin, etc. Shooting at f/2.8 to control depth of field helps.

VR (Vibration Reduction) really helps with non-Macro shots, but doesn't quite do away with the need for a tripod on 1:1 shots. I get about 4 out of 5 shots with acceptable focus handheld at 1:1.

It is surprisingly big and heavy, especially compared to the non-VR version. But it's extremely solidly built, and feels like a professional tool.

Manual focus is smooth and precise. Autofocus is fast and quiet. Since it's an AF-S lens, you can just turn the focus ring to fix a missed auto-focus, which comes in handy in the Macro range.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharpest lenes in this class
By Steve the traveler from Estacada,Oregon on 4/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

Bought this to replace my 60mm micro.Well worth the cost. Extremely sharp and fast.Best macro and general non-zoom lens from any Manufacturer. My closeup shots are the best I've ever taken in my life.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikkor 105mm Micro/Macro VR
By Sky ShooterVerified Reviewer from West Bend, WI on 2/20/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

A pricey but phenomanal product! Use it as a short telephoto, or go 1:1! Although I have not fully exercised the VR feature (I still use tripod and "Cable release" for macro work) I have been totally pleased with the full CPU functionality of this lens. I am a convert (or convict) of the Nikon "F" bellows extenstion days, and appreciate not having to do the extra math! (Yes that was "F", not "F-1", not "F-2"... )

Images shared by: Sky Shooter

An early Wisconsin Snow

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the photo. Very nice!

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
My new favorite lens!
By q1232aVerified Reviewer from Cleveland, OH on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Macro, Portrait, Professional Work, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Close-up Lens:

The world’s first macro lens (offering reproduction ratios of up to 1:1) equipped with Nikon Silent Wave Motor (SWM) and Vibration Reduction (VR) systems. The AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED lens offers advanced optical features and technologies such as Nano Crystal Coat, Extra Low Dispersion (ED) glass and Internal Focusing. For use with both Nikon DX format digital and 35mm film SLR cameras. The first time I focused this lens all I could say was " holy cow" I could not believe how quite it was. All I will say is buy this lens and you will love it

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.