Buy the 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens image
 
(based on 13 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
One of the most widely used autofocus lenses in all of photography. Fast enough for shooting in just about any type of light. Distortion-free images with superb resolution and color rendition. Weighs only 9.0 ounces. An ideal first lens, perfect for full-length portraits, travel photography or any type of available-light shooting.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 13 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(9), Durable(6), Easily interchangeable(7), Easy to clean(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(13)
Best Uses:
General purpose(8), Night photography(5), Portraits(7)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5), Semi-professional(4)
 
A Favorite
By PetchVerified Purchaser from Lenexa, KS on 9/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

Perfect for my wedding formals

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
An Acquired taste
By OPKVerified Purchaser from Lawrence, MA on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

This lens is not a walk in the park. Because of its high speed, it's a bit complicated to get the focus rhythm right, but once you get used to it, it's a gem to have and awe. I have taken portraits with this lens that right out of the camera look like they've been photoshoped to perfection. It is also very manageable and a good quality product, both for its output and durability, it's simply not as user friendly as some other high end lenses because of its high speed.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome lens
By VadimVerified Purchaser from Manalapan, New Jersey on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

Very fast focus, very sharp and fast. Best lens for portraits.

Images shared by: Vadim

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Just by it and dont look back
By CoachVerified Purchaser from Cleveland ,Ohio on 7/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits, Wildlife

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

This is just a great lens. need zoom
walk closer. Wonderfull for light light.
No reason to hesitate if your shopping for this type of lens. just buy it

Images shared by: Coach

High key f/1.4

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it
By Bronze61Verified Reviewer from Chicago Il on 7/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Must have, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

I am happy to find this lens it is sold out almost everywhere, my coworkers are tired of me borrowing theirs. I'm going to Portland next week and my first stop will be your Store!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow, I love this lens
By robVerified Reviewer from Orlando, FL on 3/15/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Great bokeh, Lightweight, Low light pics, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

Wow, what a nice lens. I should have bought it a long time ago. Especially since I shoot alot of pics in low or natural light. The colors are great and the bokeh is pretty cool. I've never had a lens produce bokeh like this lens, so it's been pretty fun playing around with it.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lenses
By Robert WVerified Reviewer from Lake Worth on 9/15/2007
Describe Yourself:
Back up Photographer, Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Low Light, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Low Light, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

This is one fast lenses and is great for low lighting situations. Very sharp as is most Nikon lenses. I recommend this to anyone wanting a prime lens for most any situation. Great as a walk around "zoom" lens. use you feet for the zoom that is. Very sharp. The D 40 will not work in auto focus with this lens.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome lens
By Jon from Vista,Ca on 9/13/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

Lens can be a little noisy when focusing compared to
other lenses by Nikon.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Incredible concert lense
By ColoradoKidVerified Reviewer from Colorado Springs, CO on 8/30/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Low light performance
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

I bought this lense for the sole purpose of shooting local bands as they play. Stage lighting can range from merely atrocious to gawd-awful, so I needed a lense that could capture my subjects in action. I've used the lense twice now with my D80 and found it to be everything that I had hoped for.

Images shared by: ColoradoKid

AC&CO Rockin' The Ritz

Image Thumbnail

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this lens...
By etjenninVerified Reviewer from Illinois on 5/18/2007
Pros:
Beautiful colors, Bokeh, Excellent in low light, Sharp Focus, Super fast
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

I just received this lens for Mothers' Day and I am so pleased with it. I was using the 18-70mm that came with my D50, so having to move (as opposed to zooming in with the lens) was an adjustment... but one that I made quickly. This lens works so well in low light. The colors are vibrant and the focus is sharp. I love this lens and am so glad to have it in my collection.

Images shared by: etjennin

Poppy in my BIL's backyard

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the very nice photo.

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent "Normal" Prime.
By LucasVerified Reviewer from Philadelphia, PA on 5/7/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

This lens is a perfect first lens if you're just starting to create a DSLR kit. If a 50mm was good enough for Cartier-Bresson, shouldn't it be for you? I use this lens with a Nikon D80 and purchased it with the camera instead of a standard zoom kit lens. with a f-stop of 1.4 all the way open, you are provided with lovely bokeh. This lens is great in low-light situations as well. I shot an entire concert with only stage lighting as an available light source without ever touching the flash. If you're just starting out, a 50 mm is a great learning lens. It forces you to get up close to your subjects. I can't recommend this lens enough. I have not used the 1.8 so I can't compare the two, but for your money, this 1.4 delivers in spades.

Images shared by: Lucas

Spring Mix

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent
By robotkillerVerified Reviewer from JAX on 2/22/2007
Pros:
Sharp nice bokeh
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

Regarding the other review of this lens -- one thing to keep in mind is that focusing at 1.4 is inherently difficult, no matter what lens you use. The depth of field at this aperture is insanely shallow. In fact, the 85mm 1.4, which is the finest Nikkor I've ever used, is much more difficult to focus, in my experience.

The big advantages of the 1.4 over the 1.8 is the superior bokeh and obviously sharper images when shot wide open. The entire point of getting a lens like this is the low light, wide open performance -- in this regard the 1.4 is the clear winner. If you plan on shooting 50mm with any frequency, I think this lens is worth the extra money.

The only complaint I have is the plastic casing -- it's nicer looking than the 1.8, but I wish it had the metal/crinkle finish of the 85mm.

[37 of 40 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good, but strangely not the best..
By P-Ball from Altoona, PA on 1/16/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Hard to focus
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D AF Lens:

I had one for about a week, and resold it to get the 50/1.8 and put some cash back in my pocket.

Don't get me wrong, everything the 1.8 does this lens does as well or better...it's just as sharp (in other words, perfect), and a full stop brigher - but that's also the glaring problem I had with it. It has such a narrow depth of field at 1.4 that getting good focus is almost TOO difficult. My D70s AF system, like most cameras from the factory, isn't calibrated accurately enough to deal with this lens, and the lack of a focus aid on the screen makes manual next to impossible. If I had a D2 series I could probably justify paying to have things adjusted, but for my needs it was just more sensible to save a couple hundred bucks and go with the 1.8.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.