Buy the Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm, the next generation of Nikon's all-time best-selling premium high-ratio zoom, combines an 11X zoom range with VR II to provide DX-format enthusiasts with an extremely versatile zoom range in a compact form-factor. Nikon enhanced construction to include a zoom lock switch, to allow photographers to secure the lens barrel at its minimum length, eliminating the natural gravitational effect that can draw the barrel downward during transport. The inclusion of Nikon's exclusive Super Integrated Coating (SIC) reduces instances of ghosting or flaring. Whether shooting artistic landscapes or vacation snapshots, this lens provides fast and quiet AF operation with the help of Nikon's SWM technology.

Designed to be a one-lens solution and weighing in at a scant 19.9 ounces and measuring only 3.8 inches in length, this lens provides an extraordinary (35mm equivalent) picture angle of 27-300mm when mounted on any Nikon DX-format camera such as the new D300s or D3000 D-SLR cameras. Additionally, the optical formula contains two ED glass elements and three aspherical lenses to minimize chromatic aberration and distortion. The resulting images exhibit extreme sharpness, extraordinarily vibrant color and crisp contrast.

  • 11x Zoom versatility
    A remarkable 18-200mm one-lens solution?adept in a wide variety of situations. Picture angle equivalent of a 27-300mm lens in 35mm format.

  • Nikon VR II (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization
    Vibration Reduction, engineered specifically for each VR NIKKOR lens, enables handheld shooting at up to 4 shutter speeds slower than would otherwise be possible, assuring dramatically sharper images.

  • Two Extra-low Dispersion (ED) elements
    Offers superior sharpness and color correction by effectively minimizing chromatic aberration, even at wide aperture settings.

  • Three aspherical lens elements
    Virtually eliminates coma and other aberrations, even at wide apertures.

  • Zoom lock switch
    Secures lens barrel at its minimum length.

  • Nikon Super Integrated Coating (SIC)
    Enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare.

  • Exclusive Nikon Silent Wave Motor (SWM)
    For fast, accurate and quiet autofocus.

  • Rounded 7-blade diaphragm
    Renders more natural appearance of out-of-focus image elements.

  • Focus to 20 inches
    Extends versatility.

  • M/A focus mode switch
    Enables quick response to changing situations between manual and autofocus operation.

  • Flower-shaped lens hood
    Included HB-35 lens hood?shades the objective from unwanted, image-degrading light.

  • Review Snapshot®
    Avg. Customer Rating:
     
    4.6 stars
    (based on 14 reviews)
    100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

    Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

    Pros:
    Compact(5), Consistent output(4), Durable(3), Easily interchangeable(3), Easy to use(10)
    Best Uses:
    Close up filming(3), General purpose(4), Panoramic filming(3), Shooting indoors(5), Shooting outdoors(7)
    Describe Yourself:
    Tech savvy(3)
    Was this a gift?:
    No(6)
     
    easy to use and great quality
    By jersey boy from pittsgrove nj on 10/19/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Best Uses:
    Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Technically Challenged
    Was this a gift?:
    Yes
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    I am not good at techy stuff but this lens took 5 minutes to get used to

    Images shared by: jersey boy

    fall of 2010

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

     
    All purpose lens
    By Photo TeachVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake City on 10/7/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use
    Best Uses:
    Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    This is a great all purpose lens that covers many uses in photography. I have had one for years and it was my go-to lens. I found that it is nice and sharp from 18-to around 55mm and then it slowly starts to fall off. The softness was something I just couldn't take anymore. At 200mm it wasn't great. I am now looking to upgrade to the 70-200mm VRII which is sharp at all focal lengths.

     
    Everyone should have this lens.
    By HandlerVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville, Fla on 10/3/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Best Uses:
    Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
    Describe Yourself:
    Tech Savvy
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    I use this lens as a primary lens. Even though having other lens this is the one that is kept on my D200 at all times for that "just in case you need to get that quick shot". So I highly recommend this lens for technically challenged to the Pros. This is a very good all around lens.

    Images shared by: Handler

    Mohonk Perserve Close up

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Mohonk Preserve faraway

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Nikon - always excellent
    By WRLSSVerified Purchaser from Chattanooga, TN on 9/28/2010
    Pros:
    Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Best Uses:
    Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Tech Savvy
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    Great

     
    awesome lens!!!
    By csikesVerified Purchaser from Cortez, CO on 9/28/2010
    Pros:
    Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Best Uses:
    Close Up Filming, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
    Describe Yourself:
    Photo Enthusiast
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    This lens is awesome, and now the only one I need! It is a little heavy, but not compared to hauling around 2 lenses. the quality of pictures is amazing. The vibration reduction is incredible! no more blurry pictures! I love it!

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    All in one
    By Photo DadVerified Reviewer from Alaska on 9/6/2010
    Pros:
    All in one lens, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Cons:
    A little heavy
    Best Uses:
    Panoramic Filming, Shooting Outdoors
    Describe Yourself:
    Parent, Photo Enthusiast, Tech Savvy
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    This lens is a great all in one lens. I am a newly aspiring photographer, and this lens helps me take some great photos. I have taken to my boys football games and it takes great sport photos with it zoomed all the way to 200mm. Then at half time I can bring it back to 18mm and get the whole team talking about 2nd half game plans. Then the next day I can take it hiking and take another 500 photos of birds, leaves and the mountains!

    You can probably live with some minor distortions but nothing gives you as much freedom as a wide range zoom. If you shoot inside a room, you really need 18mm on a low end. The smaller the number the wider the angle and the more number of people you can get into the frame from the other side of party table. Every mm here makes a big difference. So 18 mm on the low end is pretty much a must have. On the longer end, well, the bigger the better. However, if you that also means heavier and it also means much harder to take good pictures because on a long zoom range the camera gets less light, it's sensitive to shaking hands and the lense distortion is getting worse. Also it's more expensive.

    So bottom line is - if you can afford the Nikon 18-200 mm lens - go for it! That will be your single all around lense and you won't feel sorry.

    This is the only lens I have at the time, and the next lens that I will be getting will be a 35mm or 50mm that can shoot portrait shots better with low light.

    PROS;
    Single lens for almost every shot you will need
    No need to "swap" lenses out and miss that one perfect shot
    Fast!

    CONS;
    Pricey
    Heavy (Only when taking on an all day hike)

    I have heard that its sometimes hard to get, so if your thinking about getting one and you see it available, get it.

    This won't replace prime lenses, fast lenses, and super-zooms. This is a perfect lens to buy if can only afford, or only want one lens. I would still hate to be without this lens. Highly recommended!

    Images shared by: Photo Dad

    Helo pic at 200mm and shutter speed 1/800

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Lens at 105mm, flowers with sun coming in window

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    starting big
    By king from dallas tx on 2/27/2010
    Pros:
    Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Best Uses:
    Close Up Filming, Panoramic Filming, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
    Describe Yourself:
    Aspiring Film Maker
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    its broad range as well as the quality of images

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    The Best
    By DeeVerified Reviewer from Roswell, GA on 12/8/2009
    Pros:
    Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    It's all you need just in one place.

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Fantastic lens
    By Muholove from Maputo - Mozambique on 11/9/2009
    Pros:
    Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
    Describe Yourself:
    Aspiring Film Maker
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    from my experience this lens is quite good for landscape and wildlife shots.

    [10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

     
    The only lens you will need
    By The VikingVerified Reviewer from Tampa, FL on 10/8/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Lens Creep
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    I took this lens with a D80 to China for 3 weeks. I took over 4000 pictures. I have only positive things to say. Whether low light in the theater, or night shots, or landscapes in the brightest daylight the results were great. When others around me were changing lenses to get the telephoto shot, I merely had to zoom. The range was perfect. I was able to get action shots which would have been missed if I had to change the lens.

    [8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Amazing!
    By Jon from Annapolis, MD on 9/21/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    This is an all-in-one lens! I take this and my Nikon 35mm f/1.8 (for dark shots) and I am ready to go.

    [7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

     
    its okay that this lens is heavy...
    By Lars_TravelerVerified Reviewer from Austin, Texas on 9/18/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    NONE
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    Cmon, are you in 7th grade? it's got a lot of glass it's not a toy. that's why it works so well.

    [11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

     
    VR at its best
    By RZVerified Reviewer from Nashville on 9/3/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Special Effects
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 18-200mm DX f/3.5-5.6 ED VR II Lens:

    sporting events, the zoom is pretty good, and the picture clarity is amazing!

    Powered by PowerReviews
    Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.