Buy the Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens image
 
(based on 55 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
Fast, lightweight f/1.8 prime DX-format NIKKOR lens perfect for low-light conditions, travel, environmental portrait and general photography.

The AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G lens is the first fixed focal length, fast-aperture DX-format lens that affords photographers superb image quality along with the creative possibilities and versatility of the classic 50mm focal length (FX-format equivalent of 52mm). When mounted on a DX-format camera body, it enables photographers to document their world with a lens that produces a picture angle similar to the field of vision as seen through the human eye. Whether new to D-SLRs or a seasoned enthusiast, users will appreciate the extreme low-light performance and the expanded ability to dramatically separate the subject and background with the new 35mm DX lens? wide f/1.8 aperture.

The 35mm f/1.8 NIKKOR lens delivers new and added versatility to the Nikon DX-format digital SLR system and provides DX-format photographers with a broader range of fast-aperture lens options. This f/1.8 prime lens provides users with exceptional control of background and foreground, superb low-light ability, and the natural focal length that has been the staple of photography since its inception.

Lightweight, compact and affordable, this lens can easily become a fast favorite for any level of photographer, and is the perfect complement to D60 users who are just starting to learn D-SLR photography or enthusiasts who love their D90. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G lens is ideal for travel, general photography, landscape shooting, portraiture or pushing creative boundaries. The stunning sharpness, clarity and color reproduction are all proof positive of more than 75 years of NIKKOR heritage and experience in optics engineering.

This lens continues the tradition of NIKKOR precision optics to provide photographers with sharp, high-resolution images and the ability to focus as close as 0.98 feet, while the integration of an ultra-compact Silent Wave Motor ensures fast, whisper-quiet AF operation.

The 35mm DX lens construction consists of eight elements in six groups, with one aspherical lens to reduce size and weight, while contributing to the enhanced balance when mounted on a smaller DX-format D-SLR. A rounded diaphragm opening combined with the seven-blade aperture contributes to a substantially more circular bokeh for a more natural appearance of out-of-focus background elements. Additionally, instances of lens flare and chromatic aberration are suppressed using Nikon?s exclusive Super Integrated Coatings, which also help ensure vividly accurate color balance.

  • Fast f/1.8 prime NIKKOR lens - Perfect for low-light conditions, travel, environmental portrait and general photography
  • Engineered for Nikon DX-format digital SLRs - Optical formula optimized for use with Nikon DX-format digital SLRs, rendering a picture angle approximating the classic normal angle of view of a 50mm lens on a Nikon FX-format digital SLR or a 35mm film camera
  • Aspherical lens element - Minimizes coma and other types of lens aberrations, further improving image integrity
  • Nikon Super Integrated Coating (SIC) - Enhances light transmission efficiency and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare
  • Exclusive Nikon Silent Wave Motor (SWM) - Enables fast, accurate and quiet autofocus
  • Close focusing to one foot - For creative perspectives and versatility
  • Rounded 7-blade diaphragm - Renders more natural appearance of out-of-focus image elements
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 55 reviews)
98% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(8), Enthusiast(4), Photo enthusiast(17), Pro photographer(3), Semi-pro photographer(4)
Pros:
Compact(4), Consistent output(21), Durable(15), Easily interchangeable(21), Fast(3)
Best Uses:
General purpose(3), Indoor(3), Landscape/scenery(13), Low light(30), Macro photography(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(20)
 
Great prime lens
By MattVerified Purchaser from San Francisco on 5/22/2011
Pros:
Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I got this lens about a month ago and it is amazing. It hasn't come off my camera since and I have got some great bokeh and sunset photos with. This lens is great for low light use. It's a must have for all DX users

 
Awesome Lens: Worth Getting
By RickVerified Reviewer from New Jersey on 5/13/2011
Pros:
Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Razor Sharp focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Pricey but worth it
Best Uses:
Everyday use and portrait, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

[...] So this is my first lens that I bought besides the 18-55mm kit lens that came with my Nikon D3100. After many good reviews and recommendations I decided to purchase this lens. I was a little hesistant because my kit lens has the 35mm range also. All I can say is WOW what a diffrence this prime lens makes. Pictures are razor sharp when taking scenery shot like walking around the park. I'm glad I purchased this prime lens and would definetly recommend it. The back of the lens is all metal construction so it should last a long time. The only negative that I find is that since it is a prime lense you have to do some moving around to get the best composition.

Images shared by: Rick

Taken with dog on a leash and camera on other hand

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

taken w/ dog pulling on leash and camera on other

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens by
By deejVerified Purchaser from norman, ok on 4/28/2011
Pros:
Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

great for portraits, fast focus

 
Good, solid lens!!
By djkennVerified Purchaser from North Carolina on 4/17/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

Good for medium to lower light, not great for very low light.

 
Very Cool
By samnwyattVerified Purchaser from New Hampshire on 4/1/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I love this. Exactly what i was looking for. I use this lens for portraits. Its absolutely perfect, focuses on what you want and blurs out the rest.
At first i didnt know if i was completely happy, but after using it and figuring out how to use it, i love it :) I would recommend this product.

 
Review - Nikon 35mm AF-S DX f/1.8G Lens
By RupamVerified Purchaser from Southington, Connecticut on 3/25/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

The lens is quite good for both indoor and outdoor photography. For indoors, it is especially good for portraits and produces remarkably sharp pictures in low light conditions. If you use a flash, results are definately better. The lens focuses quick and the SWM is quite low noise while in operation.

As expected, the lens is light weight and does not add much to the overall weight of the camera.

Overall, I am definately pleased with its performance.

 
Very Nice Lens
By SD picsVerified Purchaser from San Diego on 3/24/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

This is a very nice lens. It is compact, fast and focuses easily and quietly. I especially like using it indoors for taking photos without a flash. I think it will make a great travel lens as well, due to its compact size and light weight. I think it could be improved by adding a vibration reduction system, but this would undoubtedly add to the cost.

 
Solid lens
By LVVerified Purchaser from Las Vegas, NV on 3/23/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

This lens is a great buy, solid lens for a good price. This is my first 35mm fixed lens, I have a 50mm fixed, and after getting quite a bit of use of that one, I was excited to try out a 35mm, and it is everything I hoped for, no let downs. It is light and seems durable enough, and the highlight for me is the amazing bokeh and crispness. I would absolutely recommend this lens.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharp and accurate
By Dennis JamesVerified Reviewer from Lindenhurst, IL on 3/17/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I wish Nikon would make more DX prime lenses. This lens has very good corner to corner detail and color accuracy.

Images shared by: Dennis James

Sharpness test

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
I would buy this product again and again
By kiddeveloperVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 3/4/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Video, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I love this product. I would buy this over and over again. It is amazing in low light and just a great starter lens to have even though I am a wedding photography.

 
Great lens
By Joey the dog photographerVerified Reviewer from Maryland on 2/26/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

Great for use indoors, especially for dogs

 
it is goos lens , [...]
By CoCoVerified Purchaser from Fremont, CA on 2/24/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

for Nikon D7000 use, it is grate lens

 
Nice lightweight lens 4 indoor shooting
By arjoscaVerified Purchaser from chicago,il on 2/23/2011
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I try to use this for indoor shooting as opposed to my 18-200 NIKKOR Lens. It's almost 3x lighter! 35mm format is excellent format since 50mm FX lens comes up too close. And this lens is built specifically for my D7000 DX camera.

I love how much freedom I have to play with contant apertures and can't eait to take this lens for nighttime city shooting in the summer!

 
found review helpful len
By joeVerified Purchaser from garden grove, ca on 2/18/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

i often use this product to take picture in my landscape in my backyard

 
Great lense at a low price
By R2D2-YLVerified Purchaser from Yorba Linda, CA on 1/28/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I purchased this lens to help take portraits. I did some indoor and outdoor test shots with my D300s. It does very well in low light. Set aperture priority and changing the depth of field, this lens focuses fast.

 
Great fast lens!
By floyd the barberVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 1/25/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Good low light lens, Good price value, Great picture quality, Lightweight
Cons:
Chromatic aberration, Some barrel distortion
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Shallow depth of field, Walk around lens, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

Very nice lens, especially for the price. Easy to use and takes great photos. Most barrel distortion and CA can be taken care of in PP. very happy with this lens!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Indoor b-ball photos
By JASVerified Purchaser from Maryland on 1/24/2011
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I bought this lense on advice to take clearer pictures for my son's basketball and daughter's volleyball games. The lighting is alway bad and my pictures would turn out blurry. Also, this lense has an autofocus function that I wanted for my Nikon D60. When I first tried the lense at my son's game on auto setting, the action shots still came out blurry. On advice, I changed the ISO to 1600 and the pictures came out much better. I haven't used it in any other situation yet, but if you are looking for a cheap autofocus lense for indoor sports this is a good choice.

 
spiker
By spikerVerified Purchaser from algonquin on 1/24/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

great lens for the money that i paid for.

 
great value
By bob the wine guyVerified Purchaser from plymouth ct on 1/24/2011
Pros:
Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I used it at an indoor bike show this weekend. I didn't need a flash, so there was no glare from chrome. Without flash camera battery lasted all day.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Good Lens
By hash mannVerified Purchaser from amarillo, texas on 1/5/2011
Pros:
Durable, Fast accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor in Low Light, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Indoor
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

to me its a very good lens when there's more light. I tried to photograph my children in low light it didn't focus as fast as i was expecting. I also think it works great, has very sharp pictures with flash or w/o flash in good lighting conditions. BUT in low light the performance wasn't really good, or maybe i was expecting more from this inexpensive lens. I did try many different settings with my D90.

 
Nikon 35mm f1.8 lens ROCKS!!!!
By PhotomomVerified Purchaser from SLC, UT on 10/4/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Macro Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

This is the perfect lens for portraits. It is equivilent to the 50mm lens. The quality is amazing. Very affordable & the best money I've ever spent!

 
be smart and buy this lens.
By dave the camera manVerified Purchaser from Austin, TX on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

this lens is great! the images are so clean and sharp..

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
well worth the investment
By Creeper DVerified Reviewer from Dallas, Texas on 7/29/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I was recently given a Nikon D3000 as a father's day gift, and had prior experience shooting live bands at close ranges. With the f/1.8 stop, I am able to get some of the most amazing shots without using a flash, as I feel that flashes ruin the shot against the stage lights. I have also used this lens to shoot head shots, some portraits and have always gotten great results.
I will eventually be going after a 70-200mm f/2.8, but this will more than likely be my main lens for smaller venues in the area.

Images shared by: Creeper D

George Lynch of Lynch Mob shot @ Trees Dallas

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Bassist of MSG

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Low light lens!
By DarthangiVerified Reviewer from Kentucky on 6/26/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Best Uses:
Aquarium, Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

So far I have not found anything not great about this lens. I have tried to take Aquarium pictures for over a year now with minimal results. As soon as I got this lens I took it to the Aquarium and the colors were beautiful, no blur, and best of all NO FLASH!!!

Images shared by: Darthangi

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best beginner/macro lense
By Kathy Anne from Rapid City, SD on 5/3/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

This lens is the best one for the price range for anything macro and low light. I used it at a black light climbing competition and got great results. I also do a lot of macro work, from so close up that it's abstract to a few feet away, and the results are flawless. The low fstop allows you to focus on a person or object and have everything else be blurry, and also makes low light photography easy without a flash. If you're looking for a casual lens that can turn easily into an artistic tool, buy this lens now.

 
Sweet little lens!
By Grossman from Juneau, Alaska on 4/25/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I was impressed with the price of this lens and read many positive endorsements. After receiving it, I used it immediately in a low light, home setting. The results were as stated in all the reviews I read; GREAT!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic
By Flamingo PhotoVerified Reviewer from Flower Mound, Texas on 4/6/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

Took pictures of "Scout Bridging." The lense used the campfire for light. I used the built in flash. The Speedlight was too much flash. The photos were great. The background showed beautifully. It was not a photo of a very bright person standing in a black background. Best $200 spent. Will be buying more "fast glass."

[0 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nathan Eli, 5 mos & Granny 2-28-10
By Arlene Angel from Palm Springs, CA on 3/3/2010
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Low Light, Quiet focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Indoor, Landscapes, Macro
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I need to use quickly with Babies! Capture those Special Moments!

Images shared by: Arlene Angel

Baby Nathan "Granny's Little Munchkin"

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Nathan Eli, Using Product, Picture of Product, Made with Product

Nathan falling asleep in Granny's "Loving Arms"

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Picture of Product, Using Product, Granny Spring, Nathan Eli

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just Right for Multiple Role Lense
By JohnVerified Reviewer from Annapolis, MD on 1/2/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

During a night time shoot in New York, the lense brought in a ton of perfect background light which illuminated the buildings well. Don't the tripod!

Images shared by: John

Pedestrian Bridge In New York Central Park

Image Thumbnail

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
D40/D60 Users Must Have Lens
By omreVerified Reviewer from East Bay, CA on 12/28/2009
Pros:
Bokeh, Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

Purchased this lens about a month ago and I couldn't be any happier. It focuses fast and sharp on low light situation. Great for portrait shots and very good walk around lens.

For the price, it is worth all your money.

Images shared by: omre

Pine Cone

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must Have Lens for D40/x D60 users!!
By omre from East Bay, CA on 12/25/2009
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

Purchased this lens about a month ago and I couldn't be any happier. It focuses fast and sharp on low light situation. Great for portrait shots and very good walk around lens.

For the price, it is worth all your money.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
great little lens
By alex the leftyVerified Reviewer from pittsgrove nj on 12/24/2009
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

very lightweight and easy to use
easy to put on and off camera body

Images shared by: alex the lefty

before halloween in cape may nj

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

front of 19th century hotel in cape may nj

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
This lens is great! Quick and accurate
By Photo of YouVerified Reviewer from Detroit, MI on 11/30/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Children, General Use, Night Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I use this lens for taking pictures of my family, which includes a 4 yr old and a 1 yr old and it takes amazingly sharp and fast pictures. I quickly finds focus and provides superior depth in the colors and no blur. I've used it indoors with very low lighting situations and with flash and it performed well. If you only have the standard kit lenses (I own a Nikon D60), this is a must buy.

[0 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
good lens but...
By mas wawan from laguna bech,ca on 11/2/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

cool lens with great price [...]

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic on my D40
By South Bay surfer from Redondo Beach, CA on 10/27/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

Purchased 2 weeks ago to use with my D40 and am very impressed so far. Great for taking pictures inside the house under less than perfect lighting conditions. I have the kit lens and the 18-200 VR, yet, this lens has not come off since I bought it. It's the perfect weight and allows me to take great pictures (with avail light).

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very good lens for the price
By ludaVerified Reviewer from Boston, MA on 10/15/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

just played with this for 1 week. I need to get used to the fact that this is fix lens, but images coming out great.[...]

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
As good as it Gets !!
By abhinavVerified Reviewer from Mumbai, India on 10/1/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

Perfect lens for the photographer on the go.Fast f/1.8 maximum aperture make this lens ideal for low light, hand-held shooting. Also 35mm on DX gives enough room to compose portraits with use of beautiful defocused backgrounds.The lens is very sharp, has excellent contrast and renders great colors.you cant go wrong with this [$] lens.. pleasure to use..

Images shared by: abhinav

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better than the 50mm f/1.8
By EdVerified Reviewer from Santa Clara, CA on 9/21/2009
Pros:
Fast, Good Looking, Light Weight, Sharp, The outside doesn't move
Cons:
Slow focus in low light
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I like this range better than my 50mm 1.8D Now I can take picture of people across from my table (in restaurant) without getting up.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharp as a tack!
By RobertDVerified Reviewer from Wichita, Kansas on 7/24/2009
Pros:
Balances well, Compact, Focuses fast and silent, Sharpness WOW
Cons:
Plastic filter threads
Best Uses:
Available light, Candid street photography, landscape, Partys, Weddings
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

This is one of the best Nikon lenses I have owned, and I've owned a bunch. Nikon has really hit a home run with this one. I guess that's why it's so difficult to fine. I was very lucky to snatch this one when I did.

I am becoming more impressed every time I use this lens. It's a perfect prime lens for my D90 and my wife's d40. The sharpness and contrast are amazing. It balances well, comes up fast and focuses fast and handles like a well trained bird dog. You don't miss much with this guy.

It is the perfect lens for candid parties, wedding receptions and such. The 52mm equivalent on 35 gives it a natural look. And…it focuses at one foot.

Images shared by: RobertD

Pepper & Pepper

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

The Boss

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Price For This Lens
By Matt from Clearwater, FL on 7/16/2009
Pros:
Excellent price, Fast Sharp Lens, Great Color
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Low light, Portrait, Walk Around
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I've only had the lens for a couple of weeks and I already love it. I'm using it on my D60 and find it very good for indoor shots of our baby without having to worry about a flash. Very natural lighting and color in the pictures with minimum effort and setting tweaks. Plan on using it outside in the near future under different lighting (bright sun/dusk). For the money...you can't get a better lens at this price. Must have lens for an enthusiast with a D40 or D60.

Images shared by: Matt

Shaded picture with sunny background

Image Thumbnail

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must have DX Users
By TerrellVerified Reviewer from Seattle, WA on 7/5/2009
Pros:
AF Overide, Compact Size, Low Cost, Low Light Pictures, Sharp images
Cons:
Hard to find in stock
Best Uses:
Landscapes, Night, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I got this lens right before the 4th of July. So I was extremely excited to try it out with the fireworks happening on the 4th. In the past I have had hard times getting good pictures of fireworks and night shots in general. However with my D5000 the lens preformed better than I expected and ended up with great shots. It was my first time using the lens so I have not found any problems with the lens so far so good.

Images shared by: Terrell

Lake Union: 4th of July 2009

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Real Neat Lens
By JeanPaulVerified Reviewer from Shelton, CT on 6/17/2009
Pros:
Compact, Internal Focus, Light Weight, Sharp
Cons:
Lacks Distance Scale, Small Focus Ring
Best Uses:
Close ups, Low light
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

Got this lens yesterday and it works great on my D40 and D90. Makes a nice compact system when mounted on the D40.

Images shared by: JeanPaul

Attached to D40

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Attached to D90

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great single focal lens
By BBQ Judge SteveVerified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 6/12/2009
Pros:
Don't need to play wzoom, Great In Low Light, Phenomenal with fireworks
Cons:
Could be even faster
Best Uses:
Fireworks, Low light, Walking around lens
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

This lens was bought especially for a trip to Disneyland. Used it on a Nikon D40x. Usually I use the 2 zoom lenses which came in the kit, but the are not very fast. As hoped, this lens excelled at fireworks and low light. In something very dark like pirates, set your Nikon to shutter priority 1/125 and take the photos; you can brighten where necessary later. This turned out to be great just for scenes in daylight too: even if I get a corner of someones head, the high quality images can be zoomed and cropped for what you really want!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent lens for the price..
By KeithVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 6/11/2009
Pros:
Excellent low light perfo, Inexpensive, Sharp
Best Uses:
Candid shots, General photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

This lens is great for indoor photography without flash.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing lens!
By poco153Verified Purchaser from Milwaukee, WI on 6/9/2009
Pros:
Inexpensive, Lightweight, Sharp, Well-built
Cons:
AF is a little slow
Best Uses:
General photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

This is a fantastic lens! Sharp as I've ever seen (a hobbyist - hardly a pro), and plenty fast. The AF is a little slow, but certainly on par with or better than my 18-55 kit lens. Used with a D40.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
A must have lens for dx format
By Old PeteVerified Purchaser from Minnesota on 6/9/2009
Pros:
Best value in nikon glass, Close focusing distance, Compact Size, Crazy fast in low light, Great depth of field, Lightweight, Super Sharp
Cons:
Small hood
Best Uses:
General use as prime lens, Low light, Shallow depth of field
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

Best all around lens availabe for dx format. Works well for just about everything i have tried, from flowers and landscapes to nieces and nephew playing. I now have lenses that cost three times as much collecting dust. Paired with a D40 it is the most lightwight and compact combination i have found. It is as easy to use and carry as a point and shoot but with all the power of a slr.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Low Price Wonder!
By D LashVerified Purchaser from Freehold, NJ on 6/9/2009
Pros:
DX Format Normal Lens, Fast focusing
Cons:
Bokeh could be better
Best Uses:
Low-light shooting, Normal Lens
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

For[$], this is a great bargain. As you know, the 35mm on a DX format camera is effectively a 50mm normal lens.This little wonder is light, fast and sharp (even wide open).

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fine lens for DX
By BillVerified Purchaser from Redmond, WA on 6/8/2009
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp even wide open
Cons:
Bokeh neutralbelow avg, Focus speed is "okay", Some CA, Somewhat soft in corners
Best Uses:
General shooting
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

This lens is very sharp, most notably in the center. In general it's a very good low-light lens. You have to be somewhat mindful of the background because sometimes the bokeh is not pleasing. I'd call it "neutral to not the best." Sometimes there is some greenish chromatic aberration in the bokeh. If you have a more modern body the in-camera correction can usually fix it, or your post-processing software can. Overall I think it's a good deal [$] -- it's not perfect, but what is [$].Sharpness in the corners could be better -- I don't consider this a great landscape lens even stopped down.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT little lens
By WonderVerified Purchaser from Santa ana on 6/5/2009
Pros:
Everyone should have one, Great price, SHARP sharp and sharp
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Bokeh, For close shots
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

A little history, i had a d40 and upgraded to a d5000 and didnt want to spend teh extra money for a d90. This 35mm lens is SHARP, i takes GREAT photos in low light situation. You have to buy one and try it for yourself. You will not be disappointed. I didnt bother buying the d5000 with the kit lens because this great little lends came out. I bought the d5000 body and this little Beast and i cannot be happier

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great prime for the price!
By DonVerified Purchaser from Burbank, CA on 6/5/2009
Pros:
Built-in autofocus motor, Great images at low light, Low Price, Metal lens mount
Best Uses:
Low light photos, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

highly recommended for your Nikon DX camera!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Incredible for the money!!
By BretimusMaximusVerified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 6/5/2009
Pros:
Fast, Great depth of field, Sharp, Small and light
Cons:
Dislike MF Ring
Best Uses:
City Landscapes, Close-ups, Nightime Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

The difference in quality between this lens and my others is astounding. This is a very fast, sharp and contrasty lens. It picks up vivid colors and has a great depth of field. It is an incredible lens for close-ups, portraits, outdoor landscape photography, capturing city skylines and nightlife etc...

Images shared by: BretimusMaximus

Seattle Waterfront from Pier 57

Image Thumbnail

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Go for bokeh!
By RogVerified Purchaser from Manchester, Maryland on 6/5/2009
Pros:
Clear, Great for low light, Quick Focus, Sharp, Wonderful bokeh
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Architectural, Grab shots, Informal portraits, Lansdscapes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

I have used this lens for candid shots of family, architectural shots, and closeups of the spring garden flowers...ready to take it out for fun wedding shots - the focus 'snaps' in due internal Silent Wave Motor system, the photos are crystal clear and, when wanted, you can diffuse the background, pleasantly drawing attention to the primary subject in my shots. Excellent choice for 'grab shot' as well as serious photography.

Images shared by: Rog

Test Flower

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Happy with the 35mm lens
By Mother and ArtisanVerified Purchaser from Upstate New York on 6/5/2009
Pros:
Great In Low Light, Light, Quick, Sharp, Small
Cons:
Nothing yet
Best Uses:
I use it all the time now
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

[...] I use this lens to photograph my son, my pets and for my web store. I'm really happy with the results and feel that the photos turn out better than the 18-55mm lens. I don't need to edit my photos as much. I don't have a lot of photography knowledge so I need a good camera that will take good natural light photos without much fidgeting. Therefore, this lens is perfect for me! I also love that the lens is very close the your actual eye-view, it lengthens it just a smidge.

Images shared by: Mother and Artisan

Low light photo of my cat

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Close-up of my dog

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
great lens, best for D40
By EMHVerified Purchaser from Santa Clara, CA on 6/4/2009
Pros:
AF-S, DX
Cons:
Availability, Not for FX, Slow AF
Best Uses:
D40, Nikon DX prime
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

Great Lens

[17 of 21 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens, Sharp works with D40
By dubKVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 3/28/2009
Pros:
Comes with Hood, Fast autofocus, Great Value, Nice and Sharp Images, Works on D40 and D60
Best Uses:
Indoor, Low light, No flash
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 35mm AF-S DX NIKKOR f/1.8G Lens:

This product is great for indoor situations with low light and no flashing capabilities. It's got good bokeh, but not the best. Good autofocus and will work with D40 and D60

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.