Buy the Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens image
 
(based on 147 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
An affordable Nikkor that combines the ease of autofocus operation with advanced Nikon optics. Ideal for scenery or full-length portraits.

Through a 50mm lens subjects viewed with the camera appear about the same size as when viewed with the human eye, which is one of the reasons why 50mm lenses are called normal.

Weighs only 5.1 ounces. Stops down to f/22 for additional depth of field control.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 147 reviews)
99% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Beginner(10), Casual user(11), Enthusiast(80), Photo enthusiast(8), Professional(7)
Pros:
Consistent output(87), Durable(69), Easily interchangeable(97), Easy to clean(23), Fast / accurate auto-focus(149)
Cons:
Blurry focus(6), Slow focus(14), Tough to attach(10), Weak casing(5)
Best Uses:
Back-up(9), General purpose(98), Landcape(4), Landscape/scenery(7), Landscape photography(12)
Was this a gift?:
No(13)
 
Fantastic Portrait Lens
By Fonfon the PhotographerVerified Purchaser from Fort Worth, Texas on 5/31/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Video, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

The lens provides great bokeh and is awesome in low lighting, especially for cameras that are not great in low light themselves. Consistently, when just shooting around for fun, my friends ask to see pictures i've taken of them and are amazed at how naturally professional the photos look

 
Excellent lens for the money!
By T Gal's Photo-Shoppe OwnerVerified Purchaser from Nebraska on 5/30/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I used this lens with window light only and received amazing results. Definitely a must for wedding photographers.

 
awesome clarity
By Vivian LeighVerified Purchaser from Georgia on 5/9/2011
Pros:
Clarity, Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Portraits, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

What I love most about this lens is the clarity and detail it captures. This lens is a steal and must have for any new photographer wanting a good foundation to begin shooting portraits, events, etc.

 
Does the job
By LynVerified Purchaser from Oldfort,TN on 4/12/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Great product for the price.

 
I would highly recommend lens.
By christiankripplerVerified Reviewer from Prince George, Va. on 4/12/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

First off this is a manual focus lens, and it works great on my D3100 that I recently purchased. The first time using the lens it took me a little while to figure out how to bring into focus. But that issue has been resolved. Recently went to Williamsburg, Va. to take pictures and it's the only lens that I used and it worked great. Very pleased with performance of the lens at the price.

Images shared by: christiankrippler

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Great Portrait Lens
By 4110photogVerified Purchaser from Olive Branch, MS on 4/4/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

So far I have no complaints about this lens. It does what its supposed to! I bought it specifically for portrait shots and it does a fantastic job. The auto focus is great. Highly recommend.

 
50 mm
By Wildlife PortraitsVerified Reviewer from Richmond, Va on 3/22/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Strong Construction, Super sharp
Cons:
No autofocus motor
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Portraits, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Super sharp! wonderful lens and great price! lets just hope that Nikon does not catch on to what a great lens this is, otherwise they might raise the price.

Images shared by: Wildlife Portraits

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This lens ROCKS!
By OzzyVerified Purchaser from Elkview, WV (1 nice photographic state) on 3/14/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I use this lens for indoor shots with available light. It's fantastic. My only fault is it doesn't autofocus with the Nikon D3100. It's still great bang for your buck, and does autofocus with other Nikon cameras.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome lens
By MeganP2011Verified Purchaser from Johnston SC on 2/23/2011
Pros:
Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Portrait
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Great prime lens to learn on for the money! I'd recommend to any beginner.

 
Good lens for the price
By Aimee from Texas from Arlington, TX on 2/22/2011
Pros:
Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Cons:
MF for Nikon D3000 5000
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This is a very good lens for the price. I love using it. It has very nice bokeh and it compact and lightweight. I was amazed at the price of this lens along with the quality it delivers. The only con I have about it is that even though it is supposed to be an AF lens, the AF function does not work on the Nikon D3000 and D5000 which are both cameras that I own.[...]However, when I tried it, it is actually not that hard to Manual Focus. Just don't use it when the subject you're trying to capture moves a lot, otherwise you will have blurry images. Other than that, I think its great for portrait photography.

 
small package packs a big bang
By robby bVerified Purchaser from jacksonville, fl on 2/12/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction, Very sharp pictures
Cons:
No zoom
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Macro Photography, Portrait, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

the first pics i took with this were just awesome looking. since theres no zoom, walking around to get a shot is essential, but the image looks great, very sharp on a subject, even with the perfect bokeh.
i havent taken many yet at all with it, but hopefully soon.
i was looking for a lens on the cheaper side, since im just starting out, and this one will do the trick for a while. :)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this lens!
By photoggerVerified Purchaser from Birmingham, AL on 1/25/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This lens works great in combination with my new Nikon D7000. It is fast and accurate. The f/1.8 gives me more creative ability and the bokeh is nice. It allows me to take better pictures in low light situations without having to bump my ISO up too high. Well worth the price.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good product
By HollyVerified Purchaser from El Paso, TX on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Before I purchased this lens, I had never had experience with a prime lens. It took awhile to get the subjects in focus but once I got the hang of it, the photos turned out great.

 
Great Buy
By pdizzleVerified Reviewer from Houston on 3/29/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I bought this lens as my first prime. I am learning a lot more with this lens than my others. This 50mm is a great lens to introduce you to photo composition and asthetics.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
a must have in your bag
By PrestonVerified Reviewer from Euclid,Ohio on 3/22/2010
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Super lightweight, easy to use, great in low light, simply a must have in everyone's bag! Best bang for your buck.

Images shared by: Preston

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Buy!
By LizVerified Reviewer from Austin, TX on 3/16/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus, Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I got this lens a couple of weeks ago after I busted my old one, and am SO glad that I made the change to a prime lens like this. it's quick and light and I use it for everything now. It's a little tough to mount on the camera but after a while it gets easier. If you're thinking of getting it, do it. Take the dive. It's really a great buy.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
50 mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF lens
By liliVerified Reviewer from Palo Alto, CA on 2/14/2010
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

a grate lens!

 
I'm Sold. Best value for your buck.
By DV8R - 808 from Pearlridge, Hawaii on 1/17/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Must have, Quick Focus
Best Uses:
Indoor Low Lighting, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Broke open the box, started to use without any filters. Ahhhhh found a subject, my cat.
Low Light conditions, Bokkah and clean shots.

Need one of these in your outfit. Awsome.

 
Fast, Clean and for indoors - BEST BUY
By DV8R - 808Verified Reviewer from Pearlridge, Hawaii on 1/17/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Low Light Indoor Photos, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Excited I broke open the box, with no filters I slapped it onto my D300. Found my subject, my cat was sleeping. Shot away, great results in low light, indoor. The clarity, bokeh and colors were very nice. Will continue to play with, very satisfied with this fast and clean lense

Images shared by: DV8R - 808

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Nikon 50mm f18 D300, Using Product

Tried to sneak up on him, too slow, not the lense.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product, Nikon 50mm f18 D300

 
I love 50mm
By [@]Verified Purchaser from Scottsdale, AZ on 9/30/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

great little lens that works well in low light, I'm very happy with it.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for Lowlight sports
By Bill VB DadVerified Reviewer from Purcellville, VA on 9/24/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Yes. It is fantastic for portraits but it is also great for the lowlight conditions inside high school gyms. It is so fast it captures volleyball action great and the pictures are awesome. Yes it does not zoom but cropping a high megapixel picture works due to the sharpness. Sometimes speed and quality are more important than zoom (actually all the time)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
One of the best kept secrets around.
By MauriceVerified Reviewer from Minnesota on 9/7/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

very sharp lens, great bokah, fast aperature, one of the best kept secrets out their and for the price an unbelievable deal, one of the few lenses nowadays that keeps the aperture ring and distance info on the lens great for students who want to learn photography. I find myself using this little gem quite a bit for both studio and location work. Buy it try it if you dont like it return it, but I seriously doubt this one will be coming back.

 
You will NOT be disappointed!
By Big WillieVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 8/2/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Bought this lens because of the reviews and the price. Only had the lens one day before I was already taking amazing pictures with it. The best thing about this lens is that it transforms the D90. It made the camera so light that camera shake was not a problem. I was taking great pictures even in low light situations with no tripod. Can't wait to see what this baby will really do with some filters, tripod, special lighting, and other effects. You will not be disappointed with this lens.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens!
By gertie820Verified Purchaser from Walworth, WI on 6/15/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
No autofocus with the D60
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Although this lens does AF with the D60, it still is a great lens for the price.

Images shared by: gertie820

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Eye of the Beholder
By MisterbigmanVerified Purchaser from Scottsdale, AZ on 6/14/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Shots, General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Very sturdy, hefty lens that produces crystal clear photos that won't disappoint. The fast 1.8 f stop makes this a fantastic buy for the price. A great lens for general pictures and all first time users to the upscale SLR digital cameras.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice for the price
By Mister SkaggsVerified Reviewer from Grand Prairie, Texas on 6/3/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I bought this before a recent trip to California to see my sister in law graduate from college. I must say I really like some of the pictures I took with this lense. It is a little slow at times but once it focuses it is really clear.

Images shared by: Mister Skaggs

In front of the grand Canyon

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Inside of house

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Nikon Lens
By Sean EdgeVerified Purchaser from Corona, CA on 6/1/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I use the product daily to take photos of landscape, family, and all kinds of stuff

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
It works pretty good with my D300.
By TognanaVerified Purchaser from Phillips Ranch, CA on 5/31/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

A versatile lens that everyone has to own

Images shared by: Tognana

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

 
My favorite lens so far...
By MomStarrVerified Purchaser from Tennessee on 5/29/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I love this lens. It is lightweight and works great for many different photo opportunities. I have a Nikon D60 and do not mind the fact that the auto focus does not work with my camera. Manual focus is not a problem and I have been able to get some great shots. I trust my eye on focusing better than auto focus many times anyway.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Highly recommended and not disappointed
By DBlackVerified Purchaser from Keller, TX on 5/29/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This was recommended by a friend and the write ups I have read make this a must have lens for the price and quality. So far I have greatly enjoyed using it and have not been disappointed.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
great and cheap
By amosVerified Purchaser from castle rock, co on 5/1/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Head Shots
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

i have a friend who is a professional photographer and recommended i purchase this lens, great price. i prefer natural light and the large aperture is accommodating. i tend to want to zoom in or get closer in with this 50mm since i normally use a zoom lens or a 28mm-... I do think i will get use to it besides my subject really stands out with the 1.8 aperture, especially eyes!i can still get as close as 18 inches. great tool and what an amazing price.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Why did I wait so long?
By Girl on FireVerified Purchaser from West Palm Beach, FL on 4/30/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portrait
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Don't know why I waited to get this lens after hearing about it. For the price, you get beautiful portraits with a nice bokeh effect. It took a little getting used to....I have to move around my subject more instead of using zoom...but it is so worth it. To spend the extra money to get the f1.4 is not necessary when you can get almost the same result with this lens. You won't regret having it in your bag.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very sharp resolution
By roger rabbitVerified Purchaser from nottingham, md on 4/29/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

good for portrait

 
Great lense for the cost!
By Camri's MomVerified Purchaser from Richmond, VA on 4/29/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I use this lense specifically for portrait shots, I did take it with me to the zoo last week and I took pictures of my daughter that turned out really well too. I think this lense could be used in many different scenarios. It's a great lense for the price, it makes your subject pop. Loved it.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bargain
By Fred F. StopVerified Reviewer from San Rafael, CA on 4/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Many reviewers here seem to misunderstand the difference between depth of field and sharp focus. At f1.8 and close up the depth of field is very shallow and of course you cannot get a thick object all in focus. This has nothing to do with the lens---it's just physics. Although this lens has a plastic exterior, unlike most cheap lenses it has a metal mount and internal fittings.

I love the light weight and prime lens sharpness. It's just about perfect for any subject that doesn't require a wide angle or telephoto.

 
Bang for you buck!
By PropsVerified Purchaser from Salt Lake City, UT on 3/19/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Great lens! Although it took a long time to arrive because of back order but great job ritz for keeping me posted on the status of the shippment.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
tack sharp and fast
By alexVerified Purchaser from vallejo,ca on 3/19/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction, Tack sharp best bang for
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

great portrait lens!!! and fast!!!!

 
Nifty Fifty
By PhotoJoeVerified Purchaser from Yokosuka, Japan on 3/18/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

There isn't much to say about this lens that everyone hasn't already said. It's great for what it does, and for the price, it's probably the best available lens on the market for any DSLR.

 
Best little lens yet
By SherriVerified Purchaser from Boston on 3/17/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Takes a good clear picture on auto focus

[8 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens! Even without Auto Focus...
By Eric BrowVerified Reviewer from Frankenmuth, MI on 2/1/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
No autofocus, Not for use on D40 D40X
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Great little lens, but doesn't have auto focus for anyone with a camera such as a D40, or D60...you need to have the focus in the camera. I knew this when I bought it, and for the price it still works great. A little tricky to focus manually, and nearly impossible to focus at 1.8, but works great at with a smaller aperture. Very sharp and clear pictures every time! I would recommend this, especially for the price!

Images shared by: Eric Brow

F 1.8 at 1/200

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

F 1.8 at 1/60

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Product, Great Price
By ShermanVerified Purchaser from Logan, Utah on 1/22/2009
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

The price on this lens is unbeatable, and it works great!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it!
By NikVerified Purchaser from MI on 1/20/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Just starting to use this lens and so far I love it. Still learning, but I have had some great results. I Have a Nikon D40 so no auto focus on this lens, but easy to use.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
All I have to say is WOW!
By EliVerified Reviewer from Coral Gables, FL on 1/15/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I'm not a pro, but I can say that I'm very impressed with this lense given it's price. I purchased this lense for portraits. While testing it, I produced the sample image attached. That is of a screensaver on my computer 2.5' away with dim tungseng lighting, at 1.8 1/30th, 100 ISO, handheld. No image manipulation... you'll be the judge.

Images shared by: Eli

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing lens
By ElsieVerified Reviewer from California on 1/13/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Difficult to Clean
Best Uses:
General Use, Portrait
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

At first I wasn't sure if I should buy, but the focus is great, and the price is reasonable.

Images shared by: Elsie

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Good Buy
By kalsoningVerified Purchaser from San Antonio TX on 1/11/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Perfect for portrait pictures

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens, Great price
By nurseVerified Purchaser from Charleston, Sc on 1/11/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Great little lens

[2 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Somewhat mixed feelings...
By XineohpVerified Reviewer from Scottsdale, AZ on 1/6/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

So, a $130 f/1.8 lens. Sounds neat, eh? It is, with one glaring problem: I never want to shoot at f/1.8. The sharpness of this lens at f/4 is incredibly impressive, but once I opened up the aperture all the way, I found myself constantly missing my focal point. On rare occasion when I did hit the focal point, what little was in focus didn't appear to be very sharp. This is especially true when shooting as close as you can. Back up and it becomes less of a problem. Auto focus users may have better luck with hitting their focus point.

Personally, I wouldn't recommend 1.8 for portraits considering the narrow range of sharpness, not to mention the focusing problems. I actually can't think of any situation where I would recommend using 1.8. I like shooting in low light, but not at the expense of detail.

This is definitely a lens to keep a few stops above 1.8.

Images shared by: Xineohp

f/1.8

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

f/2.2

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens.
By Gelly BrownVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 1/6/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Night Photography, Portraiture
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I will not give you my opinions, for I do not want to scare you away from the lens or build it up too much. Instead, I will give you a few shots, you may judge for yourself.

Images shared by: Gelly Brown

1/640 at f/1.8

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

1/250 at f/4

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
good small lens
By markVerified Purchaser from Burlington, Vt. on 1/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Seems almost to light
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

the lens seens very light compared to older 50mm lens for my 35mm camera, time will tell... so far I really like it

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice
By KellyVerified Purchaser from Charleston, SC on 1/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Very nice addition to my D60. Even without the autofocus, it still provides me great shots at a great price!

[2 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Manual use only lens
By little DebVerified Purchaser from Morris,Al on 1/3/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

If you like a lens that you can do all the focus on then you would like this one.. I thought that this was the new one that auto focus for you. I'm not happy with it because it was not a auto focus,but the lens is ok for manual use only.

 
Love this little lens
By vettergrVerified Purchaser from Alexandria VA on 12/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I was a little concerned about getting this lens since I would be using it with my nikon d40 and would have to work stictly manual. After a week of use, I love it and those concerns are gone. Great little lens at a great price.

 
great starter lense
By klebanikVerified Purchaser from texas on 12/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

my wife bought this t take pics of our kids. It is the perfect starter lense and works well with 2 year olds.

 
Good Lens for the Price
By Bob HVerified Purchaser from Herndon, VA on 12/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

A very nice lens. As a relative novice, I'm just learning the difference in lenses. The 1.8 in the 50mm f1.8 really makes a difference in lens speed, lighting conditions, and quality of photos. Definitely worth the money as a second lens for a novice.

 
Low price but great lens
By Leaf in the windVerified Reviewer from Brooklyn, NY on 12/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
No AF with D40 and D60
Best Uses:
Bokeh, General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I bought this lens recently. I am very pleased with the result. But the only problem is that it can't autofocus with my D60.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best bang for the buck lens
By in2foodVerified Reviewer from Southern California on 12/16/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Cons:
Front focus at f18
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portrait
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

As a beginner I started ramping up pretty quickly. I knew soon after buying my D90 with the kit 18-105mm that I wanted a faster lens. I also knew I wanted to do portraits of my kids with some nice bokeh. I was a bit sceptical about this lens due to the low price but I got one and, boy, am I glad. This has to be the best buy on the lens market today. It does have a bit of front focus trouble at 1.8 but I just backed it off a bit and no worries. It is nice to have this faster lens for indoor shots without bothering everybody with the flash. I say get this one for sure...

Images shared by: in2food

Granddaughter at dusk

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikpn 50mm 1.8AF
By GbsVerified Purchaser from Tampa, FL on 12/9/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Excellent for the price

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent lens for the price
By bikerdocVerified Purchaser from Wooster, OH on 12/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
No Macro
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Wonderful lens to carry on camera when no need for tele or WA anticipated. Lightweight, very sharp.

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
50mmf Nikkor lens
By vanessa13Verified Purchaser from Phoenix Arizona on 11/30/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus
Cons:
Not what I expected, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

It's a pretty good lens when you want something light and don't want to use your expensive lenses. I find it a little difficult to take landscape and wide range photos. All and all it's pretty good.

Images shared by: vanessa13

Jerome Az

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Picture of Product

[2 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not good for my use
By snapshotgirlVerified Purchaser from buffalo, ny on 11/18/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I bought this lens to photograph dance on a stage. This means that there is fast movement with a less than adequate amount of light. When I used a film camera, I had a 50MM 1.8f lens so I bought this one for my digital camera. I knew there would be less in the field/frame but it was significantly more than I had anticipated. Out of the 500 photos I shot, only half were salvageable and the rest had to be photoshopped to make them less blurred. This would be a really good lens for headshots/closeups in low lighting situations but for me, the search continues for a lens that will fit my needs.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for a great price
By No nickname from Jackson, Michigan on 11/15/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Evening photography, General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

For the price, this is a great lens! It allows me to take pictures in low light with really good depth of field. It is light and easy to mount. However, on my D40X, it does not have autofocus. I found the "split line focus" on my 50mm film camera lens less tricky and easier to work with than the focus on this lens. Often, in low light, it is difficult to focus well. Also because I generally use an autofocus lens, I sometimes forget that I have to manually focus with this one. The view through the "split line" lens looked obviously distorted and out of focus when it was not focused. The view through this lens often does not look distorted, even when out of focus. Yet, I'm thrilled that I bought it, especially for the price! I use it a lot for inside pictures and in low light situations! I wouldn't do without it!

 
Nice affordable lens
By Jamie M.Verified Purchaser from Wilbrhaham, MA on 11/14/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This was a perfect addition to my lens collection. Lightweight, and fast I really enjoy the pictures this lens takes.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A must have lens
By Big T from Las Vegas on 11/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Portraits and close-ups
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This lens should be SOE (standard operating equipment) in your camera bag.
Dynamite DOES come in small packages. This lens is terrific. And for the price, there is no excuse not to have it. Once you attach this lens to your camera it will be love at first sight. Have fun!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
easy for the simple
By gingerVerified Purchaser from yuma,az on 11/11/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape, Special Effects, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

it allowed me to get a closer picture of things where I wanted to get the detail. Like floweres.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Versatile, lightweight, great buy!
By wingmanofmayhemVerified Purchaser from Raleigh, NC on 11/5/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Low Light, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Great product, it has helped me grow in my photography skills. Like many have said, it is made of plastic, but if you're like me and very careful with your stuff, you'll be ok.

Images shared by: wingmanofmayhem

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
An auditorium's friend
By JimVerified Reviewer from New Hampshire on 11/2/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I am just getting started in photography. I had picked up a Nikon D300, 18-200mm F3.5-6.3, 150-500mm F5-6.3, SB-600 along with other goodies. But I didn't consider the low lighting in the high school auditorium where a flash is not allowed. Not wanting to miss the moments of my childrens performances and not being able to afford the higher priced lenses, I gave this one a try. At first I was hesitant not getting a zoom. Now I just get closer to the stage for those close-ups. I can't believe how great the photo's come out under such low lighting. It was definitely worth getting. I'm surprised it is so cheap for the quality of the images.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great fixed lense!
By mhighmanVerified Reviewer from North Dakota on 11/1/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This is a great lens for portraits and especially for night shots. Indoor shots as well.

it lets so much light in.

It is lightweight.

My only problem is that it doesn't AF with the D40 but that is my fault for not buying a body that has an internal motor. Manual focus is awesome as well. Pictures are crisp

Images shared by: mhighman

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Made with Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product, Picture of Product

 
"Totally impressed"
By ztirp18Verified Purchaser from Irving, TX on 10/30/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Love it the first time I mounted on my D90. I enjoyed taking pictures of my two kids and they love it too.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Buying this lens was a good decision
By PhattmanVerified Purchaser from Eaton, CO on 10/30/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I was dissatisfied with the kit lenses that came with my Nikon camera so I ordered the 50mm 1.8 and am glad I did. The pictures from this lens are tack sharp and provide the quality that I knew my camera was capable of taking.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful Product
By MandyVerified Purchaser from Bat Cave, NC on 10/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro and portraits, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I love this lens. It has become my favorite. It takes amazingly sharp portraits, and it's so great for low light situations and for macro photography. I absolutely love it. The only problem I have with it, is that it is sometimes difficult to lock the lens in place.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This product was a good buy
By Francious48Verified Purchaser from Rex Ga on 10/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Great for Portraits and Scenery shot and auto focus quick

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Light weight,optical quality
By davivid1Verified Purchaser from Blue Rdge virginia on 10/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I carry everywhere.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good solid product
By STVerified Purchaser from Riverton, UT on 10/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I heard a lot of great things about this lens and since it's so cheap, I decided to give it a try.
It's a good lens, but I think 50mm is a little too long for digital SLR camera like my D70s. 35mm should be better.
Also, I was used to use macro, I got frustrated when I couldn't get too close, but I guess that's my problem.
Over all, I think it's a good lens and takes nice portrait pictures.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
tiny but strong
By MiggyVerified Purchaser from San Leandro, Ca on 10/18/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

this lens is really good and i wasnt disappointed with its results the picture turned out sharp and very clear.

[1 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

 
had to send back
By nicoleVerified Purchaser from Decatur, AL on 10/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Cons:
Blurry Focus

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

The lense for some reason would not focus on auto i had to manually do it and it was blurry so i had to send it back. Not sure if it was the lense being defected or if it just does not auto focus on the d40x

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Quality for Price
By SchlomdomeVerified Purchaser from Lynden, WA on 10/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Quality lens for low price. Does well in many different environments. Does amazing at portrats in low light conditions

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
WoW!!!!
By SDboyVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 10/16/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

All I could really say is wow!!!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I Love This Lens!!!!!!!
By CandyVerified Purchaser from Savannah. Georgia on 10/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I love my new lens! The protraits taken with this lens are beautiful..I couldn't be happier!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
very nice lens
By kannich13Verified Purchaser from Shawnee Ks on 10/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

used for the first time over the weekend to shoot bike run,used inside bar, in low light with Nikon D200, pictures were excellent, will carry it with me always

 
Great Lens!!
By Peter and SophieVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, NC on 9/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I bought this lens for use in low light without flash, and still have not mastered it yet. But the control of depth of field in outdoor light is amazing. You can really control the background with the aperture opening up to f1.8. Sometimes it gets confused on autofocus, but I am sure this is user error!! Great price, great size and a really good distance for a prime/fixed lens...you moving becomes your zoom!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the price
By DTVerified Purchaser from College Park, MD on 9/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Quick Focus, Sharp Focus

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This lens is really good for low light shooting. Seems to be really sharp for most shots. I think its still pretty durable, even though its made of plastic. Works great with the Nikon D90.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great lens
By jmbVerified Purchaser from mass on 9/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

very good to use for general photos

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Dollar-for-Dollar - Best Lens for your $
By BobVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 9/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I use this product primarily for low light, indoor and macro photography. For macro, I use extension tubes and WOW what a combination.

I sold my 50 1.4D and purchased this instead. Why give up a pro-grade lens for a plastic one? Easy:

1. I can buy 3 of these for the price of one 50mm 1.4d
2. Much lighter
3. I would argue... much sharper

My sample is a little on the tight side for installation, but I can certainly live with it. Yes, it is a little light on the construction, but for 1/3 the price of the 1.4D I am happy to destroy a few.

Highly recommended.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the price
By Stengel MediaVerified Reviewer from Whitehall, PA on 9/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

After years of using slow zoom lenses this lens was a welcome relief. The f1.8 allows enough light into the lens to allow great images in darker situations. It may not be as rugged or as fast as it's sibling the 50mm f1.4, but it holds its own. The lens is small, and built pretty sturdy, in a world of increasingly cheaper built lenses. The focus is fast and accurate, and the output is consistant. I use this on my digital, which adds the standard 1.5x magnification, which for me is perfect. Though, if you are looking for a true 50mm lens for your digital, this is not the one. If that's the case, go for a 24mm, which sadly is much more expensive,

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Thats what I'm talking about..
By TokenVerified Reviewer from Chattanooga, TN on 9/14/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Fast, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This lens is actually better than i thought it would be.. It was great for wedding pictures

Images shared by: Token

Image Thumbnail
 
Sharp, Fast, Cheap
By NatemareVerified Purchaser from New York on 9/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Best quality on the market. It's fixed lens so there is no luxury of zooming in or out. Other then that this lens really takes advantage of your camera's ability to shoot quality photos.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Optics at a Reasonable Price
By NewtVerified Purchaser from Dade City, FL on 9/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I am so used to using Zoom type Digital Camera lenses that I had forgotten how nice it is and how useful it is to have a nice low F stop!

Great lens at a reasonable price. Just move yourself forward and back, and you cane have incredibly sharp photos, at a reasonable price.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikkor 50 mm f/1.8D
By grunner30Verified Purchaser from Palm Harbor, FL on 9/2/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
cheap, Durable, Easy To Clean, Freekin' Fast, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I read all the reviews and was sold. It's fast in low light. It's sharp as a tack. The bokeh is so fun to play with on depth of field shots. I took this lens with me on the Scott Kelby Woldwide Photowalk event (recieved the lens 2 days before the walk). Wouldn't you know that one of the pics I took with this lens was a finalist in my city; Tarpon Springs at the Sponge Docks.

Images shared by: grunner30

Local finalist shot ISO 1250, f/2.8, 1/125 sec

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Bokeh Buffet ISO 800, f/1.8, 1/160 sec

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Fast Lens - Very Good Optics
By photoguyVerified Purchaser from Bridgewater, NJ on 8/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

The Nikon 50 mm f1.8D is very lightweight and sharp. On my Nikon D300, it makes taking hand-held shots a pleasure - without the added weight of a heavy glass lens. Portraits are exposed pleasingly sharp and the fast 1.8 aperture makes low light shooting a snap. Sharpness is superb even at 1.8 without a tripod! Auto focus is fast and fairly well dampened on manual focus.

It is not a rugged lens but, that would probably add to its weight. It is just fine the way it is - light, fast and fun to use!

Images shared by: photoguy

Image Thumbnail

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing portrait lens
By Dave-RockfordVerified Purchaser from Rockford, Illinois on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I originally purchased the 2-lens kit but with a maximum aperatures of f3.6 these lack the ability to wash away the foreground and background in portrait photos. I bought the 50mm f1.8 lens thinking it was 100% auto-focus compatable with my Nikon D40...When I mounted it and it didn't focus I almost sent it back...After a discussion with the Nikon Help person I found it was compatable with the camera but was manual focus only on the D40...So I tried it, and liked it.... The little green focus indicator in the viewfinder helped me get good focus on my subjects... I shot some pictures of my niece and I am keeping it now! Very-very good depth of field control..and way cheaper than the f1.4 version. It is a deal.

Images shared by: Dave-Rockford

F1.8

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

f1.8

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice lens is a must have.
By John MeyersVerified Purchaser from Pennsylvania on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This is a very nice lens if used correctly. I recommend it over the 50mm 1/4 just because it takes great pictures and it is less expensive than the 50mm 1/4.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharp and Lightweight
By paul_gVerified Purchaser from Long Beach, CA on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I like this lens a lot.

 
Highly Recommended!
By TDPhotoVerified Purchaser from Augusta and Savannah, GA on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I've only used this lens a couple times and so far it totally rocks. I've shot Models during the day in dark, cloudy, rainy weather and in low light indoors and I have yet to be disappointed. Next shoot will be on a beach and it's looking like a chance of rain so we'll see. If you can't afford the F1.4 version then this is a relatively cheap but good alternative.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great value!!!
By David RichardVerified Purchaser from Corona Ca. on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

What can I really say that has not been said about this great little piece of glass...

 
Great for indoor non-flash
By h8808Verified Reviewer from Millbrae, CA on 8/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

For the price, this is a great lens to use when taking pictures without a flash in very low lighting environments. It does great bokeh too.

 
50 mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens by Nikon
By Bob the noviousVerified Purchaser from Minnesota on 8/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Great lens. Great focal range

 
outstanding lens, very sharp pictures
By junneVerified Purchaser from los gatos on 8/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

a very good lens, should have been part of the kit i bought with the camera from an other retailer.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
low light digital solution
By chopper pilotVerified Purchaser from jackson,MI on 8/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

if you want to shoot non flash low light action pictures this is your lens. i shoot indoor horse shows and you cannot flash the horse in the face going over a jump and this lens produces a crisp,focused image. if you want one order it way in advance of when you want to use it, i waited 3 months because of the way Nikon builds lenses.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
An exceptional lens for the price.
By glr12Verified Purchaser from Pittsburgh, PA on 8/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This lens, which is sharp in the FX format, is even more so in the DX format because the edges of the image circle, where sharpness naturally is reduced, extend further beyond the edges of the digital sensor, resulting in more of the "sweet spot" filling the sensor.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens to learn about exposure.
By mathey05Verified Purchaser from Georgia on 8/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Forces manual shooting, Lightweight, Low apeture to practice
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This lens is a great lens to learn the basics of exposure. Because it is so fast (f1.8) you can experiment with the bigger apertures to see how exactly they affect other settings (shutter speed and ISO)the big bonus about this is its not a TON of money. Starting out I wanted to experiment with big apertures...but certainly didn't have the money to buy a fast zoom lens. This lens gave me exactly the practice I was looking for. Also, because it only works in Manual on my DSLR I was forced to gain a better knowledge about the Manuel settings.

Images shared by: mathey05

A history

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Late sunset

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Super lens and great price
By WillD50Verified Purchaser from Cameron, LA on 8/13/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Great little lens for taking portrait types shots.

Biggest obstacle was attaching lens first few times. Felt like was not fitting and sorta had to force. Realized it was just snug and after several changeouts it got "looser" to attach.

Love it for closeups.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this lens
By Kat and BVerified Reviewer from Palm Beach, FL on 8/10/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I love this lens. It's a little more work without having zoom but WELL worth it!

Images shared by: Kat and B

No flash

Image Thumbnail

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
My bodycap
By krjVerified Purchaser from amherst, ma on 8/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
No Auto Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Nice lens, especially for the price, I use it as a bodycap that can take pictures.

 
Awesome Lens
By JacVerified Purchaser from Savannah, GA on 8/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I love taking photos in my garden and this lens was great for that. I plan on using it for portraits of my baby nephew soon.

It's lightweight and very easy to use.

 
Very good lense
By HenryVerified Purchaser from Hazlet new jersey on 8/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

i use it mainly for low light

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Every Nikon owner should have this lens
By NavmanVerified Reviewer from Fargo, ND on 8/2/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Super sharp. Great for portraits

 
Great affordable lens!
By Karen, Photographer wannabeVerified Purchaser from San Mateo, CA on 7/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This is a very affordable lens and if you're looking for one lens, this would be it! I generally use the lens for taking portraits of our 1.5 year old and it is great for taking pictures in all conditions. Amazing sharpness, even in lower light situations. Definitely recommend!

 
Highly Recommended
By OdetteVerified Purchaser from Santa Clara on 7/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Great for Close-Ups

 
Great to be Normal
By Wayne S.Verified Purchaser from Anchorage, AK on 7/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I find myself using this lens more and more. The low light efficiency and confidence in this lens makes it a regular in my bag. This lens is also tac sharp and has a fast focus. The nature of the lens lets me hand hold for exposures in excess of 1/50 sec without concern. Highly recommended.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon 50 mm Lense
By NoneVerified Purchaser from Sand Springs, Oklahoma on 7/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

[...]

 
Worth the money
By AnnieVerified Purchaser from Miami, FL on 7/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I am really enjoying using this lens for taking close up pictures of my daughters the images have been coming out extremely sharp and with the final result that I am looking for. It took me a while to figure out the best settings for indoor use but once I got it down it has been great.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Believe The Hype!!
By BluAlienVerified Reviewer from California on 7/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Absolutely the BEST lens for the money anywhere!! I've wanted this lens for the longest time.. and now that I have it I can't believe I lived so long without it!! This is a must have lens for everyone's camera bag! Just get one! One thing.. don't worry if the lens is a little tighter than your other lenses to mount.. after a few times it smooths out

 
Absolutley a MUST
By double HVerified Reviewer from lockport ny on 7/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Crisp clear pics, Durable, Great in low ligth, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Low Light, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

great for taking pics in low light.. takes crisp clear pics. love the f1.8. for a cheap piece of glass it takes phenominal pics. would recommend it highly.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
You Better Not Pass This One Up!
By imnotmarvinVerified Reviewer from Sugar Grove, IL on 5/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy to use, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Hurry up and read this, then run out and buy this lens before they realize they need to raise the price. I have had this lens for about 4 months. I use it mainly for portraits and candids and any low light situation. Being able to shoot wide open at f/1.8 gives fast shutter speeds even in low light. Your depth of field however is very, very shallow at f/1.8. The sharpest images, in my use of this lens, are in the f/2.5 - 3.5 range. The diffraction at smaller stops is only slight but I dont think this is the lens for shooting landscapes. I checked the upgrade box at the top of the review. You might be wondering how this lens is an upgrade. The sharpness of this lens compared to my Nikon 18-200, shooting at 50mm, is noticable because of the ability to shoot with wider aperatures on the 50mm fixed lens. The biggest drawback with this and any fixed lens is you have to use your feet to "zoom" in and out. Takes some getting used to if all you've used before is a zoom.

Bottom line. For the money this is a great purchase. You will, with a little bit of practice, take very good photos with this lens.

Images shared by: imnotmarvin

Unedited. Slight overexposure my fault, not lens'

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must-have for any photographer
By tempest816 from St Louis, MO on 5/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I love the depth of focus on this lens. I get consistently great photos every time. For the money, this is a must-have for anyone interested in photography.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great, great, great
By mpapajVerified Reviewer from Syracuse, Utah on 5/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I love it especially for the price!!!!

Images shared by: mpapaj

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail
 
Friend bought this and I will buy one
By sissyVerified Reviewer from Lebanon Va on 4/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Great for taking portraits

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better than I thought
By HeatherVerified Reviewer from Olympia, WA on 4/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I bought this basically because I was jonesing for something new to play with and this got decent reviews. I don't think it's come off my camera in the two months since picking it up. I've shot portraits and band shots with this and they just come out fantastically.

Images shared by: Heather

My buddy Adawg.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

My hubby Paul.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Couldn't ask for more.
By tresonce223Verified Reviewer from Bourbonnais, IL on 3/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This lens is more than I thought it would be. Every picture I've taken with this has suprised me. They all turn out better than I was expecting.

Images shared by: tresonce223

My guitar amp

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic lense
By AndresVerified Reviewer from Sayre, PA on 2/9/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

very clear pictures with amazing DOF. Great for portraits! I can't believe it's about [$]... better price imposible

Images shared by: Andres

My daugther's eyes

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Great lens for the price.
By JesseVerified Reviewer from Goldsboro, NC on 2/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Great lens, clear sharp pictures, even in low light situations.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
A must have
By JimmyDVerified Reviewer from West Chester, PA on 1/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Bright, Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp, Sharp Focus, Should cost hundreds more, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Sharpest Lens i have used. At f8 its ridiculous. Even wide open its very sharp, love the blurred out of focus areas at 1.8. Great bokeh, Nice starburst from lights when stepped down to f22. Weighs nothing. Definitely worth every penny. If you dont have one or think you will use one, GET ONE. No problems with CA or flare. Consistent excellent color saturation. Zero distortion. Ill shut up now. buy one

Images shared by: JimmyD

Poor Lighting and still came out sharp and nice

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product, Rocking this Glass

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Well worth the money.
By JoeVerified Reviewer from Massachusetts on 12/27/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Sneaker zoom
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This is the fastest (and probably the best) lens for the money. You'll have to get used to using your sneakers to zoom if you've lived by zoom lenses. The cons are the same you get with any fixed focal length lens however the pros are there too. I find this lens remarkably sharp at ALL f/stops. It really is remarkably sharp at f/1.8. I do wish it where AF-S as it's a bit loud (compared to the AF-S lenses) but the camera hardly ever searches for focus because there is so much light coming in. If your fastest lens is a f/3.3 or the like, you'll surely benefit from and enjoy this lens.

MY BOTTOM LINE: if you're looking at this lens then buy it. There's no reason not too. If you just stumbled across this, take a seriously look.

Images shared by: Joe

Nikon D50 ISO: 200 1/250 sec @ f/5.6

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
An Inexpensive Way to Learn Photography
By Dan dyVerified Reviewer from Clearwater, FL on 12/13/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

The Ritz discription is spot on. It see's what the human eye see's. If you are learning or even an enthusiast seeing what f1.8 and up looks like will greatly help you learn your hobby and the camera it's attached to. Purchased from [@]:D300, 50 f1.8D, MB-D10, EN-EL3e (spare), Quantaray 67mm Pro CPL-Cross 6X-Cross 4X star filters, 77mm 010 MRC UV B+W filter(at [@])and other things.Previously Owned:Canon 20D and alot of glass.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome.
By The Smallest PangVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake, UT on 11/21/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Inside photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This is an overall great lens. It does an excellent job focusing, even indoors. This lens helps a ton when you need a high shutter speed, but the light is too low.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great lense***
By DierdreVerified Reviewer from Walker, LA on 9/22/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I love this lens. Great for indoor portraits. Great color.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
what a great lens!
By nightriderVerified Reviewer from VA on 9/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Great bokeh, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Ive had this lens on my D80 for a while now and it is amazing to shoot with. Sharpness/clarity are simply amazing. Fast focusing allows me to capture the shots I want when they are available. If youre going for a close up with a shallow depth of field this lens is fantastic at f1.8. This lens has unmatched sharpness and image quality for this price. You really should add this inexpensive yet very versatile lens to your collection! Happy shooting!

Images shared by: nightrider

taken at f1.8...gives a good idea of the bokeh

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

taken at f9

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Little Prime
By D80Buckeye[@] from Columbus, OH on 9/9/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I have found myself using this lens more and more since I bought it a few months ago. It works rather well in low-light situations.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A lot of lens for the money.
By PaulVerified Reviewer from Kannapolis, NC on 8/28/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I got this lens mainly to take indoor pictures where I can't use a flash. It performs better than I expected. Sneaker zoom takes some getting used to after using zoom lenses but I would definitely buy again.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a fast & fun lens
By KerryVerified Reviewer from Lawrenceville, GA on 8/20/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I was trying to take pictures my daughter cheerleading and basketball. This lens allowed me to do it. Gyms are terrible for lighting and some of the grain is due to shooting at ISO 800 and 1600, but I was able to stop the action. I used an Expo disk to correct the white balance before the games and shot away with my Nikon D50.

Images shared by: Kerry

Nikon D50, 50mm, f 2.5, 1/250 sec

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Nikon D50, 50 mm, f 1.8, 1/200 sec

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Never leaves my camera
By sharkVerified Reviewer from portland, OR on 8/11/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional, Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Professional Work
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I love this lens! Gorgeous bokeh is easily achieved, love the clarity.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cheap Price Great Pictures
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC on 8/8/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This lens takes cool pictures, I know it does not auto focus on the D40 but manual focusing is not that bad. The detail is awsome. Depth of field is awsome.

Images shared by: Mike

Old Bolt on Old Barn

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Makes your subject pop

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By D890Verified Reviewer from Jacksonville, FL on 8/4/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Plastic
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Using the lens with the D80. Great lens. Great for indoor work. A great value. The lens is plastic and the older style but works great with the camera. For the average user who takes care of the lens, it should last many years.

Images shared by: D890

f1.8

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Brilliant Lens
By ClayscapeVerified Reviewer from Colorado Springs, CO on 8/1/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

Purchases Friday, used all weeked, great for low light, sports, portrait, landscape, just about everything I like to do. The only drawback is the focusing, bit slow and loud. But for most of what I'm doing sound doesn't make a difference and if I really need speed on focus I do it by hand. Overall no really big complaints on this lens... especially for the price.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
50mm f/1.8 Lens
By BrittanyVerified Reviewer from Bridgeport, PA on 7/1/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

The 50mm f/1.8 is a great lens. I have had it for about six months now and have used it on both my D50 and N65. It takes great pictures and I use it for so many different things. It is truely a great camera.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value for a Great Lens
By ChrisVerified Reviewer from Alhambra, CA on 5/26/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portaits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

The Nikon 50mm f/1.8 is such a great value at about 100 bucks. It's sharp and works very well in low light situations.

Because of the crop factor on DSLR bodies, this 50mm is actually a 75mm lens. This makes it a very good portrait lens, because you need not get close to your subject.

Every Nikon user should have this little guy in their bag!

Images shared by: Chris

Nikon D50, f/2.8. Uneditied, except for crop.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Nikon D50, f/1.8. Uneditied, except for crop.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
best in class
By lostforfunVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 4/2/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Special Effects, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I used this on my D1 and it was great. I just got the D200 and the photos seem to look even better. Perfect for close up, low light, and all around use. I was using an older Nikon 28-80 and the difference when both were shot at 50mm is unreal. The 50mm 1.8 takes photography to another level. I tried the 50mm 1.4 and there really isn't any noticeable difference. I say save the money and get the 50mm 1.8 you wont be disappointed.

[1 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outside but it is too long for inside.
By LavsVerified Reviewer from Oregon on 3/5/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Light weight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Small
Best Uses:
General Use, Outside actions shots
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I'm learning to use the D80 DSLR, coming from the point and shoot world. I got this lens to go with our other Nikon lenses, based on its size and the reviews I read on this website. [...] like the lens and would recommend it this lens.

[5 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Extra sharpness right out of the box!
By Blackpowder JackVerified Reviewer from Rochester, New Hampshire on 3/5/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I photographed a still life with my Nikon D50, close up, hand held and got amazing results right out of the box. Colors, depth, sharpness, many excellent attributes. I am very pleased with the performance, especially at the low price of the lens. See attached practice shot (first shot taken out of the box)

Images shared by: Blackpowder Jack

Trial Capture

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

50mm Tigger

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
No action without it
By Rooftop SharpshooterVerified Reviewer from Irvine, CA on 3/2/2007
Pros:
Excellent Autofocus, Fits well, Sharp in the focus area, SmallCompact
Cons:
Extra noise at night, More noisy on high ISOs
Best Uses:
ActionSports, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I used to struggle with action photography since the lowest aperture on my lenses was f/3.5. In fact, I had to underexpose and retouch the lighting in photoshop afterwards before I got this lens. However, this 50mm lens changed all that with its incredibly low f/1.8 aperture. It doesn't just boast a wide aperture, but it also has very sharp imaging within the set focal distance. I primarily use it indoors or at night, expecially at basketball and volleyball games. Since I always stand close to the action, 50mm is a strong enough zoom to see everything.

Images shared by: Rooftop Sharpshooter

Breakdancing can now be captured!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

A dance team performs at a Cippers game

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Necessary for all photographers!
By GG PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 2/18/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Low Cost, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Professional Work
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I bought this lens for a combination of doing portrait photography and then also low light shots during concerts, I quickly found though that this lens is amazing for everything! Being a college student I do not have the money for some of Nikkor's other lenses, but even if I did the 50mm f/1.8 would still be in my top 5 lenses. I would suggest this lens to every single person I know!

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Basketball and Portrait Lens
By BobCoolVerified Reviewer from Fort Worth, TX on 2/18/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This lens exceeded my expectations greatly. I use it mostly for candid closeups and indoor basketball. The 1.8 apeture makes for great bokeh for candids and captures a lot of light for those indoor sports shots. I can go manual at 1/500th shutter speed with confidence and still get a great action shots with little or no needed post-editing.

You need this lens. Period.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome lens
By MeydeyVerified Reviewer from Kent, WA on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This was the 2nd lens I purchased after the D50 kit I bought and it now spends about 80% of the time on my camera. Very impressed by the ability to pick up available light with no shake. I take pics of my kids in school gyms with flourescent lighting, and can easily keep shutter fast and still get good light. Focuses fairly quick. Everyone should have one of these in their bag.

[25 of 25 customers found this review helpful]

 
An absolute must
By P-ball from Altoona, PA on 1/16/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Professional Work, Special Effects, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

The first thing I usually hear when I pull this lens out is "Why?" Seems like with the superb 18-200VR, I have no possible use for a prime lens...but that couldn't be more wrong. The superzoom is definitely the ne plus ultra all-purpose lens, and it's what I carry if I need to go light, but for situations where quality really counts I snap this baby on. The sharpness and clarity are incomparable thanks to the fixed design, and the 1.8 aperture is fast and wide enough to allow low-light shooting with a narrow depth of field, but still allow for slight error (the 50/1.4 is so finicky the camera AF system usually needs to be recalibrated). The bokeh is gorgeous, which is critical for a wide lens - soft, dreamy blurs with a nice, even fade (although the diaphragm blades are straight, so points are polygonal. Doesn't bother me, but it could some). For the price, there's absolutely no reason why somebody who's in any way serious about photography should pass up on it.

[4 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth the buy!
By A. Myers from Houston, TX on 1/3/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Indoor Sports

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

This lens is definitely a necessity for all photographers.

[12 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Damn Good Lense for its Price
By KLandes from Palm Desert, CA, USA on 12/4/2006
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Professional Work

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

got the lense 5 hours ago and havent been able to put my camera down its a definitly must for a first lense along with some kind of telephoto

[38 of 38 customers found this review helpful]

 
My favorite Lens
By Photographic Engineer!Verified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 11/15/2006
Pros:
Durable, Low Cost, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work

Comments about Nikon Nikon 50mm f/1.8D Nikkor AF Lens:

I generally shoot live theatrical events such as ballet (Nikon D1x & D200), mostly utilizing either my 70-210 or my 28-105 (both 2.8 entire range) lenses. Yet, if I get a chance to shoot a good close-up during intermission or such, I pull this little gem out of a hip-pouch for crystal clear shots that always greatly out-performs the zoom lenses. Plus, it has a 1.8 max aperature for when I can't use flash or when I prefer a small focal depth! I've also utilized it on many outdoor modeling shoots with great results. For the price, this lens can't be beat!

RitzCamera.com Response: Thanks you for sending your excellent photos.
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.