Buy the Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4.0 D Internal Focus Autofocus Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4.0 D Internal Focus Autofocus Lens image
 
(based on 7 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
  • Wide to telephoto 3.5x zoom lens ideal for landscape, full length portraits, travel and portrait photographs
  • Maximum Reproduction Range (R:R) at 85mm is (1:2) Life Size
  • Filter attachment does not rotate during focusing or zooming
  • Fast f/2.8 maximum aperture at 24m setting is ideal for available light shooting or Slow/Rear flash sync techniques
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 7 reviews)
83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(4), Easily interchangeable(4), Fast / accurate auto-focus(8), Rugged(4)
Best Uses:
General purpose(5), Professional work(4)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fast Lens with Great Macro
By GoddessVerified Purchaser from Morgantown on 10/22/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4.0 D Internal Focus Autofocus Lens:

Good mid-range distance lens. Quick focus and super-fast exposure. Macro is extremely useful!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very good walk around lense
By Mowog MediaVerified Reviewer from Vernon, CT on 9/22/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction, Versitile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4.0 D Internal Focus Autofocus Lens:

I bought this lense for my D80 as someting I could use for shots in the pits and paddock at races and have found that I can use it track side in many locations as well. I can use this lense for most all of my shots in and around pit lane.

It works well in low ight and focuses faster than the low cost lenses that came in my D80 bundle.

Biggest negative for this lense is the weight as it is much heavier than the plastic lenses I had before and the weight of this lense creates a bit of a balance problem as it out weighs the camera.

Were I to do it again I probably would go with the 24-120 mm lense for greater versatility but overall this is a great lense and I use it most of the time.

Images shared by: Mowog Media

Michael Galati ready to race at Elkhart Lake Wisc

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Pobst and his Porsche in action at Mosport

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[8 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
crisp and fast!
By OAI PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Salisbury/Ocean City Maryland on 4/9/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4.0 D Internal Focus Autofocus Lens:

I bought this to replace a Sigma F 2.8 that I had lost last year due to a boating accident. I had been looking at more expensive lens from Nikon and settled on this one and have been happy with it since the first shoot. The focus is tack sharp and fast.

Images shared by: OAI Photography

First shoot with the lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

natural light, no flash

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Very nice photos! Thank you.

[4 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Made all the difference in the world!
By OAI PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Salisbury/Ocean City Maryland on 4/3/2007
Pros:
Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4.0 D Internal Focus Autofocus Lens:

Received the lens last week and have had two shoots with it. I can't tell you how happy I am to have bought this. It's way better than the kit lens that came with my D80 and gives me so much more angle to shoot with.
The only negative thing I can say, and this doesn't really apply to the lens, but Nikon doesn't give out any information on how to use certain lenses. This one in particular has a macro switch and it's a guessing game as to when I can slide the switch in the macro position to use it.

[5 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's a little soft
By Larry G.Verified Reviewer from Stone Mountain, GA on 3/30/2007
Pros:
Good walk-around lens
Cons:
Not the sharpest lens
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, I want top-notch photos
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4.0 D Internal Focus Autofocus Lens:

From every professional review I've read on this lens, in most cases, it's not considered to be very sharp. This is true with my lens (unfortunately I bought the lens before I read the reviews). I also understand that that's not the case with every lens and some people do get a sharp one. [...]

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
The perfect lens
By EDRVerified Reviewer from Cleveland on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4.0 D Internal Focus Autofocus Lens:

This lens is perfect for travel photography and covers wide to mid tele on film and about 35mm to 127mm on Nikon Digital SLR.

I love it for portrait shots also as it has nice Bokeh at the wider apetures.

The lens is razor sharp throughout the zoom range and at all apetures. The lens has a nice weight to it that balances my Nikon N80 and D70 perfectly.

Highly recommended

Images shared by: EDR

Cleveland Light House Whiskey Island OH

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

The Lone Cypress Nr Pebble Beach California

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Wow...great photos. Thank you.

[15 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth Every Penny
By dan from Alexandria, VA on 12/20/2006
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Some barrel distortion
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Upgrade

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4.0 D Internal Focus Autofocus Lens:

I bought a "refurb" about 5.5 years ago. I have shot countless photos with it since then, and if it ever dies or is broken I will replace it the same day with an identical lens.

I am very impressed with the sharpness through both the zoom range and the aperture range. I utilize the full range of both with some frequency and have yet to be disappointed.

This lens gets used indoors for both architectural photography and portrait-type work and outdoors for panarama and environmental portrait work. I also use it as my general purpose lens, especially when travelling.

The only downside is that at 24mm there is some barrel distortion, but it is minimal, and much less than you will see on most lenses in this category. I don't think I noticed it until I had owned the lens for several years.

A HIGH pick. I recommend it to both hobbyists and professionals alike.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.