Buy the Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
Nikon's new 80-400mm high-power zoom lens features an innovative Vibration Reduction (VR) system that allows handheld supertelephoto shooting at dusk, at night and even in poorly lit rooms.

The Lens' VR system minimizes image blur caused by camera shake, and offers the equivalent of shooting at a shutter speed three stops (eight times) faster*. The lens offers a natural viewfinder image even during VR operation and also detects automatically when the photographer pans. This exciting new Nikkor is ideal for candid portrait, sports photography and more.
* Nikon Results based on Nikon's internal performance tests.

Note: VR Operation works with the f/5, f/100, N80, N65 and D1.

  • High-performance, high-power 5X (80-400mm) AF zoom lens with Vibration Reduction (VR) system
  • Vibration Reduction (VR) minimizes image blur caused by camera shake.
  • Two VR modes available:
    1) Vibration Reduction for both the viewfinder image and the image on film. Moderate VR operation is executed to ensure viewing comfort for the viewfinder image.
    2) VR for the image on the film only (conserves battery power).
  • VR operation can be canceled when not needed.
  • New optical design incorporates three ED glass elements for superior optical performance throughout the entire zoom range
  • Rounded diaphragm opening (9 blades) is especially good for close-ups and portraits
  • High-performance Nikon Super Integrated Coating offers superior color reproduction and minimizes ghost and flare.
  • Built-in A/M switch enables instant switching from autofocus to manual focus (Lock mechanism provided)
  • Focus range limiter for smooth focus operation
  • Detachable tripod mounting foot provided
  • Filter attachment does not rotate during focusing or zooming.
  • Review Snapshot®
    Avg. Customer Rating:
     
    4.5 stars
    (based on 15 reviews)
    100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

    Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

    Describe Yourself:
    Enthusiast(7), Semi-professional(3)
    Pros:
    Consistent output(5), Durable(8), Easily interchangeable(4), Easy to clean(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(11)
    Cons:
    Heavy(7), Slow focus(3)
    Best Uses:
    General purpose(7), Professional work(4), Sports/action(7), Wildlife(9)

    [0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Excelent product
    By MarvinVerified Purchaser from El Paso, Tx on 10/1/2010
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Fast / accurate auto-focus
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    I love close ups.

    [0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Excelent product
    By MarvinVerified Purchaser from El Paso, Tx on 10/1/2010
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual Photographer
    Was this a gift?:
    No
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    Aereal photography, macro,
    I love close ups.

    [8 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Real sharp in good light
    By DennisVerified Reviewer from Palm Beach Gardens, FL on 12/4/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    Heavy, Poor focus in low light
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    Several wildlife and sports opportunities have presented themselves. The 80-400 ED VR lense on my D80 have performed superbly. Long time professionals have taken a doubletake at some of the shots that this system has produced. I think my brother (a grey lense user) may be a little jealous of the results too. He hasn't admitted it yet, but I can see it in his eyes.

    The only frustration has been it's poor performance in lower light situations. But just knowing where it doesn't work fixes that.

    Great product that produces great results.

    Images shared by: Dennis

    "Gary the cross-eyed gull"

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Love this lens for what it is.
    By RonVerified Reviewer from Camarillo, CA on 12/1/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Lightweight
    Cons:
    Slow Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    Great lens for fairly bright shooting. Got caught without my tripod when I came upon Bighorn Sheep on a trip in Utah. Used my wife's shoulder and the VR really worked. At 400mm (600) on my D200 it was a pretty shakey scene...but it worked.

    Images shared by: Ron

    Bighorn Sheep near Zion

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Defintely a winner!!!
    By Extreme Nikon HobbyistVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, NC on 9/23/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    I have used the lens mostly for sports shots and am very happy with the clarity of the shots as well as my ability to get into the midst of the action from the sideline.

    [0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Excellent value for money
    By FarrukhVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL, USA on 8/14/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Difficult collar use, Heavy, Tough To Attach
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    Excellent value for money in its class!

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    excellent wildlife lens
    By mkflutsterVerified Purchaser from Falmouth, MA on 8/9/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    I have owned this lens for 3 months now, using it on a D300. Getting crisp photos of various wildlife. Pros: great telephoto lens, durable, well constructed, like the tripod adapter. Cons: lens is a little heavy for my favorite activity of backpacking, acceptable for short to medium hikes.

    [12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Best of Times & Worst of Times
    By ThreshersharkVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake City, UT on 1/31/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Excellent bokeh, Lightweight, Portable
    Cons:
    Lack of AF-S, Slow Focus
    Best Uses:
    Still or Slow Subjects, Well-Lit Scenes, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    This would have been an impeccable lens with the addition of AF-S. Focus speed is adequate on my D200, but in the low-light conditions of the golden hour when I often find myself shooting wildlife, this lens can sometimes be frustrating. I have missed some potentially great shots where focus hunts in these types of conditions, and often go to my 70-300 AF-S VR under those conditions.

    On the upside, I love that Nikon made this lens so light and portable as compared to something like the Canon 100-400 USM IS. It is an ideal size for a lens of this focal length. It turns out great images when everything comes together.

    Images shared by: Threshershark

    Greater Scaup

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Hooded Merganzer

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Good Daytime Sports Lens
    By Sam's DadVerified Reviewer from Vancouver WA on 10/8/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Ease of Use, Large Zoom, Large Zoom Range
    Cons:
    Heavy
    Best Uses:
    Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    I bought this lens to shoot outdoor (daytime) sports. It continues to impress me on well lit days. Shooting afternoon football here in the Pacific NW you can reach pretty low light and rain awfully early but I can stand in one endzone and cover most of the field. For softball I can shoot from center field and capture the batter and catcher expressions. It has worked extremely well for me.
    The 4.5-5.6 is pretty serious, I generally shoot in apiture mode but under pretty well lit environments. I'm going to have to switch to a 70-200 F2.8 lens to capture any night games.

    [13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

     
    400mm Cost Effective Alternative
    By Crown Royal MikeVerified Reviewer from Illinois on 8/20/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Slow Focus
    Best Uses:
    Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    For those looking for a cost effective alternative for a 400mm
    (digital equivalent 600mm) capable lens, this may be the lens
    for you.

    My primary need/use of this lens is for daylight sports (soccer
    and football) and wildlife. Things I've tried:
    70-200 VR with TCs (not bad but not as sharp at 400mm),
    400mm F/2.8 (heavy, bulky, no zoom and not cheap,)
    200-400mm (perfect for those with $5K of dispensable
    income.)

    My prime concern was the lack of AFS, especially reading the
    other reviews. On a D200 the AF speed is not great but
    adequate. The lens will AF hunt occasionally but once you are
    in the general AF range/distance, minor AF adjustments are
    pretty effective. I would not use this for any low light action
    shots. I see this as the most cost effective alternative for
    daylight 400mm capability. The added bonus is that it is a
    very compact lens in size relative to the prime lens and can
    produce prime lens quality shots most of the time. Although
    this lens is not perfect, I am very satisfied with the quality of
    shots that this lens provides and it is the lens of choice in
    almost all of my outdoor photography.

    VR is great for low light static motion situations and hand
    holding in almost all situations. Zoom range sets it a apart
    from the 400mm primes.

    Images shared by: Crown Royal Mike

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [16 of 17 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Not a Small Lens, But Oh So Powerful
    By SailorVerified Reviewer from SE Michigan on 2/19/2007
    Pros:
    Low Light Capable, Manageable Size Weight
    Cons:
    Moderately Expensive
    Best Uses:
    Sports, Wildlife
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    I wanted a long telephoto zoom to reach out and capture people, animals and birds in their natural environment, be that sports or in the wild. This lens accomplishes this goal without being too long nor too heavy. It is big but so is 400mm (600mm on most digitals). It is a little heavy but I wear it on a stock neck strap and half carry it as I walk.

    I hand hold the 80-200mm VR, foregoing a tripod or monopod to increase mobility while stalking subjects.

    The VR feature is Big, especially early morning or late afternoon outside where nature lives.

    You can pay more for faster glass, but for the price, this is a great value.

    Images shared by: Sailor

    Mr. Robin is in his Winter Fat

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: D200 80-400mm VR lens, Made with Product

    [15 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Good range and great performance
    By ElaVerified Reviewer from Minnesota on 2/19/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    Action, General Use, Professional Work, Travel and Vacation Photo, Wildlife Photography
    Describe Yourself:
    Advanced User, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    I've had this lens for about one year and I've been using it with D200. The lens' performance exceeded my expectations. I've been primarily using it to shoot wildlife, mainly birds. The zoom range and the ability to hand-hold your camera (thanks to VR) means you can adjust very quickly and capure the most of the action.

    At first the lens might seem big and heavy, but what would you expect for a 400mm that offers good build quality? I'm not a body-builder, but after using the lens for about a month, it started to be "natural" for me to carry it.

    Lens' controls are all smooth and comfortable to operate - whenever the camera is on the tripod or when it's hand-held. The VR works great. I have no problems getting nice, sharp pictures setting the shutter to 1/60. Therefore if I have no time to set up a tripod and want to capture moving animals in a not very good light, I most often switch the camera to Shutter priority mode. I'm then sure that I get a sharp picture and if it's a little underexposed, adjusting levels or curves in Photoshop does a trick.

    As far as autofocus is concerned, I found it pretty accurate. Sometimes it might seem slow (I noticed it especially tends to slow down in cold temperatures). However, the lens is equipped with a focus range limiter switch - and it grately speeds up it's performance. Also, the final result depends on camera's body settings - while using continuous servo AF focus mode, it's also crucial to choose the AF area mode which would be the most appropriate for the particular situation. Because quite often it's not "slow lens' fault" when the picture doesn't come out super-sharp.

    Overall, the lens has been working flawlessly and allowed me to take a lot of stunning pics.

    [23 of 25 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Big and Sharp
    By RandyVerified Reviewer from Newport Beach, CA on 1/29/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Good for nature shots, Nice case, No fringing, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    Could be faster
    Best Uses:
    Professional Work, Special Effects, Water and Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    When I opened the box I was amazed at the size of this, WOW!. I live at the beach and shoot on the water, wildlife, surfing, sailing, and of course cute girls. The first thing I did was to take off the tripod attachment and take it for a walk. With the lens hood on and mounted on a D200 people look with comment, "Wow" "now that looks like a serious camera". After getting used to the weight and how to hold it close to me I was in telephoto heaven. I tried different settings and so far shutter priority works for me, really sharp details that will amaze you and holds the color well. The auto focus is slower than most lenses
    so it makes you think your shot ahead of time, so pre-focus and if your subjects are maxed out distance wise just set it on manual/infinity.
    What I really like is that there is hardly any fringing, only a bit near the corners, I cant say the same for my Nikor 18-200 (another great lens) it gets some nasty fringing on the water. I cant wait to shoot at night, and get some late winter storm sunsets.
    Nikon did a great job on this lens and it does the D200 justice. The lens is a bit slow and heavy, because its huge!, that little product picture makes it look small. Don't worry about those oversized light grey lenses you see around, this is very impressive. Im really glad I spent the extra money for such a rewarding product, if I bought a different brand just to save some money and tried this lens, I'd kick myself, Hard!

    [5 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Just awesome...
    By Rubenh from Zapopan on 1/21/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Professional Work, Special Effects

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    It meet my whole expectations, the best one!
    I will recomended to everyne who take serious the photography

    [3 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

     
    OK, I would like to read other review
    By ez from Anaheim, CA on 1/20/2007
    Pros:
    Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Sports Nature
    Cons:
    Heavy but manageable
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Professional Work

    Comments about Nikon Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED Vibration Reduction Nikkor Lens:

    good lens when traveling, sports, nature.

    Powered by PowerReviews
    Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.