Buy the Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens image
 
(based on 48 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Lenses For Nikon
The AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED is a highly practical and multi-talented lens that allows photographers to photograph anything from tight portraits to expansive landscapes with just one high-performance fast aperture lens. Designed for use with either of Nikon?s FX and DX format digital SLR cameras.
  • Fast, wide-angle to medium telephoto AF-S zoom lens optimized for edge-to-edge sharpness on both the Nikon FX (23.9 x 36mm) and DX-format image sensors
  • Enhanced optical formulas, engineered to produce exceptional sharpness, contrast and color, rendering outstanding image integrity
  • Two ED (Extra-low Dispersion) elements and PGM aspherical lenses control chromatic aberrations while enhancing sharpness and contrast, even at the widest aperture settings
  • Exclusive Nano Crystal Coat further reduces ghosting and flare for even greater image clarity
  • Nikon's Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra high-speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and powerful, super-quiet operation
  • Internal Focus (IF) provides fast and quiet auto focusing without changing the length of the lens, retaining subject-working distance through the focus range
  • Focus as close as 14.9 inches
  • Rugged construction and professional-grade dust and moisture resistance
  • M/A Focus Mode switch enables quick response to changing situations between Auto and Manual focus operation
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 48 reviews)
98% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(13), Professional(14), Semi-professional(14)
Pros:
Consistent output(31), Durable(38), Easily interchangeable(24), Easy to clean(11), Fast / accurate auto-focus(51)
Cons:
Heavy(23)
Best Uses:
General purpose(36), Landscape photography(5), Night photography(19), Portraits(26), Special effects(4)
 
Couldnt ask for a better lens!
By AliVerified Purchaser from Florida on 5/13/2011
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I am a professional photographer, I just bought the Nikon d3s and needed a good lens for it so I got the Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens and love it! The only thing that isn't so great about it and its really not that big of a deal is its very heavy and at weddings the Nikon d3s is heavy enough without adding more weight!But still great performance lens~

 
Favorite lens
By YUPMANVerified Reviewer from Honolulu, Hawaii on 2/2/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

This is one amazing lens. The prize tag is high but I find it to be worth every penny that I have to work to own it. The focus is fast and the shots are sharp even in low light and even without the long reach I can crop without much loss.

 
The Shapness is amazing
By itodelleVerified Reviewer from Grand Prairie, TX on 5/12/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I waited a long time to be able to afford this lens, but it was worthed, its perhaps a bit heavy, but one you see the quality of the pics, you will be totally satisfied. You owe it to yourself to get one of these even if you have to wait for it.
You will love it!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Lens by Nikkor
By Production GuyVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles, CA on 11/3/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

This is a spectacular general purpose lens. It performs quite goon in low light as well. Well pricey but worthed.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Incredible lens!
By nickansonVerified Reviewer from Madison, WI on 10/7/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

This is one of the sharpest lenses out there. Incredible lens! Very sharp, fast auto-focus, colors are spot on.

 
Don't hesitate to buy this glass..
By WillVerified Reviewer from N CAL on 7/13/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

Very sharp. Great with the D700. Very quick focus. Couldn't ask for more. This product is worth the purchase. No regrets.

 
Great lens
By drbordenVerified Reviewer from Victoria, TX on 6/29/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I love this lens stays on my camera 90% of the time. I would recomend this lens to anyone that is looking for a great lens. I've used for everything from portraits to general photography.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent top-of-the-line lens
By RandrewVerified Purchaser from Vestal NY on 6/11/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits, Weddings
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I bought this lens for portraits and weddings, but I use it for general use when I don't need an extreme wide angle or a long reach. It is a perfect, top-quality, mid-range zoom. The sharpness of this lens is beyond description, and its focuses extremely fast; I even use it in my bird photography when a long telephoto is too close. On my D300 the weight and balance are perfect. Yeah, I wish it were cheaper, but it is well worth it. A great lens.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Pro Lens
By JimVerified Purchaser from Grayson, GA on 2/17/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Low light conditions, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I got the 24 -120mm kit lens with my D700, it was an ok lens, but did not have the sharpness I was looking for and I really needed the low light capability that the 24 - 70mm f2.8 provides.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing lens!
By ACEVerified Purchaser from Cumming, GA on 2/11/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Portraiture, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I am a portraiture, specializing in child and family photography. This lens has been amazing. I am most satisfied with the consistent output. I have read that some say the lens is too heavy, but come on - no lens of this quality (for its purpose) is going to be light! The sharpness is great. The zoom has been a pleasant surprise. I have always used my feet to zoom in/out because I've never been happy with other lenses. No complaints here!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exceptional sharpness and quickness
By DanVerified Reviewer from Oxford, North Carolina on 1/17/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I went out and took some pictures of a Power Plant from a distant. Pics are just spectaculiar.

Images shared by: Dan

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 24mm from about mile away

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 24mm no editing the pic

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth every single penny
By BlairVerified Reviewer from Falls Church, VA on 1/7/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

This is a great piece of glass. Save up and buy it.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I use it everyday!
By Ash the Amazing from Waterford, MI on 1/5/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I use this lens everyday and I love the aperature! This lens is absolutely wonderful!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Absolutely Breathtaking Pictures
By CCVerified Purchaser from San Antonio, TX on 12/10/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

This camera is the best when it comes to portraits. Taking pictures of my kids, has brought out every highlight in there face, that no other lens would be able to! Extremely sharp! Very easy to work with & not heavy like you would expect. Worth every penny!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great lens!
By brpVerified Purchaser from Columbia, MD on 11/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

The is an excellent lens - f/2.8, quick focus, and very sharp. The only thing it scores low on is size and weight, though it feels well balanced on a D700 w/ battery grip.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Multi-purpose lens
By D-TrainVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, PA on 10/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

Very happy with multi-purpose lens. Excellent for inside shots, candids, low-light conditions. I use for most everything except portraits and outdoor longer-zoom needs. Highly recommended.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens!
By JoeVerified Purchaser from Medford Oregon on 10/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I use this on my D300. I find it a very well balanced combination. A really nice range on a DX format. Focus is very quick and spot on. I do find a mono pod is a great addition with this lens as it is so sharp even the slightest movement is detected. I would like to see VR on added just for this reason.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
great companion lense
By kannich13Verified Purchaser from Shawnee Ks on 10/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape, Night Photography, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

i brought this lense as a companion to the Nikon AF-SVR 70-200 f2.8 that i had brought earlier,very nice lense,you can use it where you cannot use the bigger lense, i have used it on my D70 and my D200 and i will still have when i upgrade my camera. this lense is hot

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
great lens
By AndreinmdVerified Purchaser from Baltimore, MD on 9/18/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

Great sharp lens, fast focus! Highly recommend!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Sharp All Around Lens
By StevoVerified Purchaser from Manhattan Beach, CA on 9/16/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

The lens focuses very quickly and works extremely well with my D700 Camera. I did some tests against prime lenses 28,35 and 60 micro and the primes were just slightly sharper but not much. I bought a nice bag which holds the camera with this one lens which makes an awsome kit. There is no better lens in it's class so just go and buy it.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens
By SamanthaVerified Purchaser from Salt Lake, Ut on 9/16/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

Awesome lens. Pretty pricey, though. I use this as my go-to lens. It's always on my camera body. Very versatile.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Choice!
By IgorVerified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 9/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

This is great Lens to use on my Nikon. I love it! It works so well that I am amazed each time I use it.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
No regrets!
By JackVerified Purchaser from Saratoga, CA on 8/31/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscapes, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

With a trip to Idaho and Montana looming, I had to decide on which lenses to get for my new D300. I wasn't sure whether to go the prosumer route or the pro route. I finally decided on the latter (you only live once). I'm happy to say I made the right decision. The 24-70mm is tack sharp and performed beautifully. Before the trip, I added a 14-24mm, and I've subsequently added a 70-200mm and a TC-14E II (another trip looms). I highly recommend the 24-70mm for general, all-around use. I've taken portraits and landscapes with it, and made some stunning HDR photos, including some using bracketed shots that were hand-held (not the recommended way). The lens has a lot of glass, so it's a bit heavy, but it focuses fast, handles easily, is built like a tank, and is sharp, sharp, sharp! I have no regrets.

Images shared by: Jack

Shoshone Falls, ID (hand held)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Butterfly in Garnet ghost town, MT (hand held)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens
By $RichVerified Purchaser from Mantec, CA on 8/31/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Weddings
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I use this lens 85% of the time at weddings. T all focal lenghts and F-stops I ge a clean sharp image. I'm still waiting for the 18-300 2.8 :)

Images shared by: $Rich

Leticia & Jeff 08-30-08

Image Thumbnail

Leticia & Jeff 08-30-08

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Lens!
By Michael Y. C.Verified Purchaser from Manhattan Beach, Ca on 8/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

This is an excellent lens for your full frame camera. Great optics. Consistent output across the entire range.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is as good as it gets
By James KimVerified Purchaser from Atlanta on 8/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I bought this lens for one reason, sharpness at f2.8 and this lens delivers in spades. The lens is built for pros and mine gets really heavy use. It's been banged up a few times, but the lens still performs flawlessly. With the exception of the 14-24 nikkor, this is without a doubt, Nikon's best zoom.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great
By turd ferguson from texas, england on 8/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

it is an amazing lens...I can take pictures with high lightness no matter if I zoom or not.It is same thing.Pictures are more clear,better colors,and more sharpness.The only thing I could say that I didn't like is that it is very heavy but I think it is not a very big deal in front of a such an amazing lens.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Top Of The Line Glass
By JimVerified Purchaser from Ventura, CA on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Rugged
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

Everyone that owns this lens agrees that it is one of the best money can buy for this focal length range.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens!
By Aim Me!Verified Purchaser from Madison, WI on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I bought this lens for my Nikon D2Xs, knowing it would also work for my next full-frame digital camera, as well as my film bodies. 90% of the time, I'm capturing lifestyle images of people up close and personal, and this is a well suited lens for such. Although I prefer my set lenses (60mm and 105mm), they've lost their value with the D2Xs and I wanted to invest in something that wasn't another obsolete digital lens.I love the length, the size, and the weight of this lens and can carry it painlessly all day. It balances so well with my Nikon bodies (F5s and the D2Xs). The only disadvantages I've felt are it's limited close-up range (I'm used to a macro lens) and I don't like the wide angle look when shooting people.Overall, it's a great lens... if you have the [$]to spend on it.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Buy this lens
By Sight2020Verified Purchaser from Long Island NY on 8/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

Great Lens perfect for group portraits have used for horseshows quick and responsive

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
amazing,I recoment it to everyone
By TheoharisVerified Purchaser from Thessaloniki, Greece on 8/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

it is an amazing lens...I can take pictures with high lightness no matter if I zoom or not.It is same thing.Pictures are more clear,better colors,and more sharpness.The only thing I could say that I didn't like is that it is very heavy but I think it is not a very big deal in front of a such an amazing lens.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A New Standard. A keeper.
By Chris the wedding photographerVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles on 8/11/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

With an upgrade to the D700, i needed to replace the 17-55mm F2.8. I find this 24-70 to offer less distortion than the 17-55mm at wide angles. Bigger zoom ring makes it easy to zoom and out. The optics are very clear. Colors are as good as my 17-55mm. I little heavy but that's what you get for a pro grade lens. A keeper for me.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic lens
By Samson's MomVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 8/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Multipurpose, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I am a professional photography student. I just purchased this lens and can't be happier. Extremely sharp, very versatile. If you can only carry one lens with you, this is the lens.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Lens
By Tog-ManVerified Purchaser from Chattanooga, TN on 8/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Bright Lens, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy, Slight Edge Distortion
Best Uses:
Every day use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

This is a great lens--quick & quiet focusing; accurate focusing most of the time; clean, clear glass; lots of light with 2.8 f/stop all the way through.

Things to consider--not for the weak-wristed because this lens is heavy; slight distortion at corners, but better than any 24mm lens I've seen; very expensive, but worth it on a D3.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon 24-70 F2.8 worth every cent
By MartinVerified Purchaser from San Diego, CA on 8/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I'm rating this lens 4 stars because I had to send it back to Nikon to correct it at the 24mm focal length read on.

I use this mainly for landscapes and it renders the image sharp across the entire frame. It's sharper than my 17-55 F2.8 and that lens is very sharp. The contrast and color rendition is superb and should be for the price of this lens but, it's worth every penny IMO.

The lens is a bit heavy and built like a tank but, I prefer this build over a cheapo build from the other competitors. I did have an issue with the lens at 24mm and sent it to Nikon in El Segundo where they corrected it and I couldn't be happier.

I use this lens with at D2x and D300 and it peforms flawlessly on both DSLR's. I never get tired of using the 24-70 F2.8 and its a pure joy to use. If this is the focal range you find yourself in this is the lens for you.

[5 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good, but not superb
By BladeRunnVerified Purchaser from Santiago, Chile on 8/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I bought this lens in search of updating my gear to Nikon's most recent and hopefully best standards in professional lenses.I was in doubt as if to buy this one, or the earlier 28-70 2.8 afs. I chose this one, thinking that recent upgrades would make for a better lens.I felt disappointed just by holding the lens out of the box: there is one MAJOR "flaw" that is not mentioned anywhere in the brochure, technical leaflets or marketing blah-blah that Nikon loves so much. If this is not a direct lie, it is at least a worrying omission.This lens DOES NOT have internal zoom like the former 28-70 or the 70-200 2.8 afs VR lens. THIS WAS A MAJOR SURPRISE AND DISAPPOINTMENT for me.I am a professional photographer and as such, expect professional products from Nikon when I pay top money for their PRO gear. This lens, because of that small detail, cannot be considered a pro lens, unless Nikon wants us to think that lens design and construction can get worse instead of better with time.Plastics are very low quality: the focusing and zoom rings are the same build as in the 70-200 AFS VR, which after two years of intense but caring and careful use are completely loose and "saggy" and do not fit tightly around the lens barrel anymore...I have been having severe focusing problems, but I think this is a fault in my D200 rather than the lens itself.I am very, very disheartened by the products Nikon has come up with in the digital era. Don't get me wrong: I am a Nikon fan. But I cannot seem to admire and worship their products as I used to do so in the film era. Nor do I seem to be able to trust my gear blind anymore...Nikon better start doing things with excellence, or they will loose hardcore clients as myself!I know I may be being a little over reactive, but you will agree with me that if you spend[$] on a lens, you expect it to be just perfect...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great All-Around Lens
By HowardVerified Purchaser from Sterling, MA on 8/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Expensive but unmatched, Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Wedding Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

This is a great all around lens. It's extremely sharp and fast which is great for portraits. There are three concerns with this lens. One, it expensive, although it is a pro type lens. Two, it is large. Don't expect to get this into a normal camera bag. Three it's very heavy. If your using it for wedding work, expect a work out when you are done.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would recommend this lens to anyone.
By SusyVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 8/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

Plain and simple - it is an awesome lens and I have had a wonderful time using it.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I recommend This lens
By Kyoung OrothamVerified Purchaser from Raleigh, NC on 8/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I use this lens on my D3.
I was a CANON dslr user but I replace all my system with Nikon.
This lens has very sharp even at f2.8 and very fast focus. I felt it is a little slower thatn EF28-70 in the low light condition but outdoor it show very fast focusing.
It looks very nice and durable.
Flare and ghost redusing is very good because of N coating.
A thing that I don't like is that the rubber of the angle adjustment ring give me very good touch but the dust is stuck easily.
- Color
- Contrast
- Sharpness
- Focusing
are wonderful.
It is one of the best standard(primary) zoom lens.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Absolute Best
By SkyPilot from Hampton, VA on 8/2/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Hefty
Best Uses:
You name it
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

Probably one of the best lens in the pro photo world. Worth every penny.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Super sharp!
By MichaelVerified Purchaser from Okemos, MI on 8/1/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

Outstanding lens. Super sharp and contrasty. I use it on my D3 and D700. The lens is heavy but that's how it goes with most pro lenses. The barrel is a bit long for this focal length and I don't like how the front element moves in and out.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great lens!
By SongVerified Purchaser from Raleigh, NC on 8/1/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Nicely priced, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

This is a great lens for my d3. I would absolute recommend this for anyone considering photography. From starters to professionals an absolute need.
I also recommend the 70-200 2.8, and the 14-24 2.8

Images shared by: Song

Pretty good picture i took.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Photographer Dream...
By AndreyVerified Purchaser from Vladivostok, Russia on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Durable, Fast Focus, Good Value, High Quality, Sharp
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General use, Night photography, Portrait, SportAction
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

After switching from DX format to FX format, I replaced my 17-55mm/2.8 with this lens and what an improvement. It's noticably sharper and unexpectly, much faster to focus. The depth and clarity is fantastic and build quality is top knotch.

I use this lens more than any other in my bag. It may not be the lightest glass you ever carried but it is the best you'll ever use. The construction is rock solid and the results with my D3 are nothing short of wonderful.

This lens is a must have for the all Nikon photograpers, along with his two siblings the 14 - 24 f2.8 and the 70 - 200 f2.8 VR. Highly recommended.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Gr8 Lens
By nathasVerified Purchaser from Wheeling, IL on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Cons:
Expensive, Heavy
Best Uses:
Portrait
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

This is a sharp lens. Very nice optics

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
All-around great lens
By HDR enthusiastVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles on 7/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

I am using this product on my D-80 but it will be usable when I upgrade to the D-700 (as soon as I have an extra[$]!). It's full frame and much sharper than the 18-55 VR lens.

[3 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
has anyone noticed?
By lola from texas on 1/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

first i bought the 17-55 2.8 then i tried this one for a little more reach for my D80 camera, I immediately noticed the color of my photos has a little greenish tint to them. The 17-55 was more dead o n in color and sharpness, maybe the green was due to the coating this lens comes with, also its not a DX lens so I guess the 17-55 is just made for the dx camera so thats why my pics were better with that lens.

[2 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
No VR though
By Kimbell from Detroit. on 12/13/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Cons:
No VR
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

Everything you hear about this lens is true. But the only bad thing is there is no VR. This is truly a big flaw, as I will never buy another Nikon lens without VR -- I am truly addicted to VR.

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice and Sharp
By Yoda MasterVerified Reviewer from Baltimore, Maryland on 11/15/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor Lens:

As with all nikon pro glass the construction build is of great quality. It is durable and easy to handle. The lens zooms really smoothly. Lens is extremely sharp especially in the center focus areas. The bokeh is wonderful at the wide apertures. The only true negative as usual, is the high price. Being a wedding shooter, i feel that this lens is pretty essential, with just a little more reach then the 17-55dx

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.