Buy the Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS image
 
(based on 17 ratings)
Brand: Tamron
Located in: Lenses For Canon
    Di II: Lenses are designed for exclusive use on digital cameras with smaller-size imagers and inherit all of the benefits of Tamron's Di products. These lenses are not designed for 35mm film cameras and digital cameras with image sensors larger than 24mm x 16mm.
Tamron's quest has always been to make the ideal zoom lens. As a result of this ongoing challenge, we have introduced the concept of our high-power zoom lens in the new AF18-200mm XR Di II for exclusive use with digital SLRs. Tamron's original development of proprietary core technologies such as Aspherical element production, Multiple Cam Mechanism and Integrated Focus Cam design lend to the creation of the world's lightest, most compact 11.1X zoom lens made for digital SLR cameras.

The 18-200mm (28-300 when converted to 35mm) provides the digital photographer with the versatility of a true wide to ultra tele zoom in an amazingly easy to use design.

Tamron produces high performance, quality specification lenses utilizing the latest optical theory and technology. Tamron's high magnification zoom lenses, which are said to be particularly challenging technically, have received critical acclaim internationally for their innovative technology and have been selected for many prestigious awards. Tamron's technical excellence has also been recognized worldwide for macro lenses, wide angle lenses and telephoto lenses.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 17 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:
Slow focus(3)
Pros:
Compact(6), Consistent output(6), Durable(7), Easily interchangeable(3), Easy to use(8)
Best Uses:
Close up filming(3), Landscape/scenery(3), Shooting indoors(4), Shooting outdoors(7), Sports/action(4)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(3), Parent(3), Semi-pro photographer(3), Tech savvy(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't judge a book by its cover
By BusseyVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 4/21/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

I bought this product to use because of the price. Tamron has decent lenes for the price you pay. I have not been disappointed in the results that it has given me.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great everyday lense
By KB5WRLVerified Reviewer from Austin TX on 4/9/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Lens Creep, Poor in Low Light
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

I have used this lense while vacationing as my everyday lense, and have gotten great results from it and my Canon Rebel XTi.

For the money you can't beat it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exceptional Quality Lens!!!!!
By SharonaVerified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 10/21/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, No wide angle distortion, Rugged, Strong Construction, Superior sharpness
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
architectural, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Large Groups, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

I use this lens more than any other lens I have because I can get wide angle without distortion & zoom in close enough for many other activities & events

Images shared by: Sharona

Serenity

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Cotton Candy

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for the Price
By KE7JLMVerified Reviewer from Phx, AZ on 4/28/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Poor in Low Light, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

This is an OK lens. When you factor in that it cost so little it makes me feel better about buying it. It does great when there is a lot of light, the moment you go inside you will have to use a flash. This is not a high-end lens and it is not very fast(Wide Aperture). Also the auto focusing is not impressive. It is loud and clumsy. This is only a con with you are taking pictures of fast moving subjects. But like I said it is cheap! Which is why I bought it. So Btm Line. Buy it if you are not willing it out anther 200+ for a better lens, just keep in mind. You get what you pay for.

Images shared by: KE7JLM

That is a much better lens!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
VERY GOOD LENS
By RussellVerified Reviewer from Traphill,NC on 4/9/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

Very Good Lens for the money

Images shared by: Russell

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lenes for general use, good price,
By HowardVerified Purchaser from San Francisco, CA on 1/27/2009
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Close Up Filming, Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Beginner Digtal SLR user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

Good lens for general use.
Easy to use, good price range.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this again
By Grandma picture takerVerified Purchaser from Fortuna, CA on 1/26/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors
Describe Yourself:
Parent, Technically Challenged
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

This lens has worked great for me. So far I have
used this for my grandson's basketball season & I
really like it.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great all-round lens
By JerryVerified Purchaser from Montgomery, AL on 1/3/2009
Pros:
Compact Design
Cons:
No cons
Best Uses:
Close up to Long Range
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

I finally retired my Minolta Maxim 35mm with standard zoom plus a big 200mm zoom telephoto lens and got a Canon EOS XTi SLR digital, which I love. I recently bought this 18-200mm zoom lens and it is great. I will probably never use my 18-55mm standard Canon lens again. The new Tamron lens is about the same size (until you zoom out) and it makes it so simple to take pictures from 18 inches to 1800 feet. I love it. No more lens changes.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again
By Camper55Verified Purchaser from Kingston, N.Y. on 11/29/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

I bought this lens for our trip to Las Vegas in April. I plan to take a lot of pictures while in that area. I wanted something that would work for most of my shooting pictures with out changing lenes all the time, this lens will work great for me. I have used it around the house and am very pleased so far

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
"I would buy/recomnend it"
By PopVerified Reviewer from Dallas,Texas on 11/27/2008
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Parent, Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

It grear because you don't have to change lens all of the time just use one lens.

Images shared by: Pop

Photo

Image Thumbnail

Photo

Image Thumbnail

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By ScottVerified Purchaser from Plainfield, IL on 11/21/2008
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Close Up Filming, Panoramic Filming, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Technically Challenged
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

Great lens easy to use!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Grear Lens
By Big JimVerified Purchaser from Chattanooga, TN 37416 on 11/13/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Shooting Outdoors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

A must for the hobby photographer.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
"I would buy/recomnend it"
By itspakyVerified Purchaser from Orange County, CA on 10/29/2008
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Parent, Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

It's good for the price, all-in-one, very compact/light ...

Images shared by: itspaky

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail
 
Excellent!
By WolfVerified Purchaser from Linden, Virginia on 10/24/2008
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Close Up Filming, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

Great multi-purpose lens for traveling light!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent for traveling light
By LM from Dallas, Texas on 9/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Focal coverage, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

I bought this lens due to its versatile focal length. It allows me to carry a single lens for traveling light. I have been extemely satisfied with the quality of photographs when used w/my Digital Rebel XT.

Images shared by: LM

Bryce Canyon, Utah

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Years of experience, newbie to digital
By EricVerified Reviewer from Texas on 9/8/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

I bought the Rebel XTi with a 35-135 about two weeks before a vacation to Yellowstone and the Tetons. I quickly realized I needed more zoom. I read the reviews, articles and specs on several lenses. Turns out, my uncle had one of these lenses on a Rebel XT and he let me try it out. WHOA! What a difference! The optics are amazing. So, I started looking on-line and [...] was the fastest (and cheapest) option for me to get this lens before I left for vacation. My pictures (800+) were amazing. Lots of trial and error at first with the camera settings. Amazing, poster-size prints that are crisp and every one a spot-on winner for clarity and depth. So, for me, I doubt that I will ever take the lens off. Why should I? It's everything I need in one lens. Works great indoors with family functions too. Can't say enough good about it! Thanks [...]!

Images shared by: Eric

Artist's Point in Yellowstone - appropriate name!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Buffalo were around every corner in Yellowstone

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
a good all-arounder
By JasonVerified Reviewer from Burlington, WA on 4/3/2007
Pros:
Versatile
Cons:
Ocasional focus issues
Best Uses:
My only lens currently
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 18-200 mm AF F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II Digital SLR Lens for Canon EOS:

I'm 31 and have been shooting Canon SLR's as a hobby since the 4th grade. I've had this lens on a Digital Rebel XT since June '06. This lens is compact, versatile and a great value. However, it is not the fastest lens, and sometimes (~5%) focusing takes a bit longer than expected or is alltogether off. My most recent experience before this lens was a Tamron 28-200 on my Canon A2e. I loved that lens. It seemed to focus better.
However, for a hobbiest such as myself, this lens is extremely useful, and relatively affordable. It is worth serious consideration.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.