Buy the Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: Tamron
Located in: Lenses For Canon


Maintaining the high performance of the previous model, Tamron's 28-300mm zoom lens now features our "Di" design, making it the ideal lens for use with both digital and film cameras. The "Di" design is achieved by applying a new optical design to its coated surfaces, and by further enhancing our already stringent quality control system. Whether you shoot film or digital, the lens provides high image quality for both platforms. When used with APS-C size digital SLR cameras, the lens provides an angle of view equivalent to approximately 44-465mm, covering the standard to ultra telephoto range with no sacrifice of quality or aperture range.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(7), Durable(6), Easily interchangeable(10), Easy to clean(4), Fast / accurate auto-focus(15)
Cons:
Heavy(3), Slow focus(4)
Best Uses:
General purpose(12), Night photography(4), Special effects(4), Sports/action(8), Upgrade(4)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(9)
 
Very Versatile lens ... love it!!!
By ChrisVerified Reviewer from Patterson, Ny on 2/18/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

I absolutely love this lens. It has freed me from carrying multiple lenses and a heavy camera bag. My only complaint is the f-stop is not low enough for indoor action shots. I used this lens with my Canon 30D for High School Football games, as well as portraits and travel. It was reliable and the pictures were clear and crisp.

Images shared by: Chris

Ready to Play - Still

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Raindrops on Purple Flower

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pro photographer ( great), had for 5 yr.
By SHIRLVerified Reviewer from FL. on 4/28/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

hAVE USED THIS FOR MUSICAL EVENTS, , WEDDING S ,ON LOCATION MODELING , BEACH ETC ITS ALWAYS DEPENDABLE.BUT I AM LOOKING FOR THE SAME LENS-EXCEPT WITH THE ANTI-SHAKE,ADDITION.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Lens
By TonyVerified Purchaser from Raleigh, NC on 12/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

I use it for family activities and landscapes. I find the new lens very useful for up close as well as far away. Easy to use

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love it.....................
By TrinaVerified Purchaser from Christiana, TN on 11/5/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

I seem to focus quickly and clearly and it takes the place of two lenses I previously had.........

 
DO IT ALL LENSE
By SAAVerified Purchaser from San Antonio, TX on 8/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

I bought this lense for the focal length. On vacation this summer, I brougth this lense and the 18-55mm that the canon rebel comes with. I never used the canon lense. Pictures look good at all focal lenghs from close up to the 300mm. My only issue is I found the focus a bit sluggish but I compensated by planning my shot and allowing the auto focus to find the subject. It also made the canon feel a bit heavier. Otherwise a great lense for a great price.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not what I expected!
By rdspixVerified Purchaser from Saint Joseph, Missouri on 8/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

Purchased this for an Alaskan Cruise in June. Found out I should have stepped up to a Canon L lens. Not great for the Eagle shots. I would not recommend this lens if you want sharp photos or need to focus fast. I used this on a Canon 20D and I am also going to upgrade to a Canon 5D when the new one arrives. I will then go with L lenses.

 
super lens
By BobVerified Purchaser from Macomb, IL on 8/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Excellent Range, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Weak lense cap
Best Uses:
Branson Live Shows, General Use, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

Currently use as primary lens for nearly all applications

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
very pleased
By PennyVerified Purchaser from Washington, DC on 7/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

I use this always with my camera and am very pleased.

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
awsomely versitile
By hunttoliveVerified Reviewer from Toledo, Ohio on 2/9/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

one lens, = does it all!!!

Images shared by: hunttolive

wild flowers

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

july 4

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Lens by Tamron
By sOulbAitVerified Reviewer from East Palatka FL on 11/13/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

After buy the Canon Rebel XTI, I needed an all around lens. I talked to a few people and they all told me to get the Tamron 28 -300. That is just what I did. This lens is a great all around lens. I have put it on and I have not changed it back to the original lens that came with the camera. The only fault I have found, is when I am doing evening shots, it wants to focus in the wrong direction first, then back to the correct direction to bring the viewfinder into focus. This happend only about 20% of the time.

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
all purpose wonder
By Nurse HelenVerified Reviewer from Golden CO on 6/7/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

I've used this lens on Nikon D70 and non digital version on Minolta 35mm. The lens is very forgiving in challenging light, sharp at zoom and macro, usally hand held. It's been great for travel, flowers, kids, what ever strikes my fancy

Images shared by: Nurse Helen

Indian paintbrush

Image Thumbnail

Tags: macro,hand held, Using Product

Alaska reflections

Image Thumbnail

Tags: hand held, zoom from ship, Using Product

[12 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Single Lens Versatility
By rcangeliVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Haven't found any
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

I travel a lot, spend a lot of time in the outdoors, shoot in a large variety of situations.
I've used this lens on the original Canon Digital Rebel, and Now on the New 10MP XTi. It's versatility, and accuracy in everything from low light shooting at ISO 1600 to bright daylight shooting glaring sunlight at ISO 200.

I love the fact that I have a single lens for almost every situation. All my best shots have a bit of serendipity associated with them. This zoom on my XTi makes me ready for those special opportunities.

Images shared by: rcangeli

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 6MP EOS Digital Rebel, Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Great photo.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tamron 28-300 mm user comment
By 30D manVerified Reviewer from DC on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Good for general purpose
Cons:
Slow in focusing
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

This lens performes well out doors where lighting conditions are good. Do not expect crisp pictures indoors with general lighting. Whithin the flash range good picture quality.But if you like to shoot with natural lights this is not the lens for indoors. Nevertheless you can get few very good shots depending on the talent of the person behind the camera.

Images shared by: 30D man

Elephant in the wild.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Nice Photo...thanks.

[36 of 36 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lense, poor warranty
By DisappointedVerified Reviewer from Lancaster, PA on 12/26/2006
Pros:
Sharp Focus
Cons:
Lasted 18 months
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Special Effects

Comments about Tamron Tamron 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI LD ASP AF Lens f/Canon EOS:

Lense worked great for 18 months, handling over 34,000 shots. Then the focus froze. couldn't extend or retract the zoom. Shipped to factory for warranty repair. Mfr did not honor 6 year warranty.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.