Buy the Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Lenses For Canon
The new 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 DC Macro lens.
  • Minimum focusing distance of 7.9-inches, maximum magnification of 1:2.3.
  • The new multi layer lens coating and lens design reduce flare and ghosting.
  • Aspherical and SLD lenses, offer excellent correction for various aberrations.
  • The lens offers a large aperture of F2.8 at wide angle.
It can be used with wide variety of subjects and it is an ideal large aperture standard zoom lens for digital SLR cameras featuring APS-C size image sensor.

This lens has a minimum focusing distance of 7.9-inches (20cm) throughout the entire zoom range. Maximum magnification of 1:2.3 enables close-up photography like a macro lens. The new lens design and multi layer lens coating reduce flare and ghosting, which is a common problem with digital cameras. A Special Low Dispersion (SLD) lens and two aspherical lens elements provide excellent correction for all types of aberrations and produce a high level of optical performance throughout the entire zoom range.

This lens offers a large aperture of F2.8 at 17mm wide angle and yet it is compact, with an overall length of 82.5mm (3.2-inches) and diameter 79mm (3.1-inches). It performs superbly even in relatively low light conditions indoors or at dusk.

The lens design incorporates an inner focusing system, which ensures fast AF speed as well as prevents the front of the lens rotating, making it particularly suitable for use with circular polarizing filters and petal shaped lens hoods. This lens is also equipped with Zoom Lock Switch that eliminates Zoom Creep during transportation.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(7)
Pros:
Consistent output(5), Durable(7), Easily interchangeable(4), Easy to clean(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(9)
Best Uses:
General purpose(8), Indoor(3), Portraits(3)
 
Nice Lens
By BeachmanVerified Purchaser from Nashville, TN on 12/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon:

I really love the range on a canon 40D. Shot some indoor pics this thanksgiven along with out doors pics. The extra 20mm makes a differance for me. My pics were sharp and rich in color. I debated 2 months over Sigma or canon lens before making my purchase. It came down to the range and I have never looked back. This is my first Sigma lens and I am impressed.
Ritz was great also. I had my lens the next day.

 
Awesome Lens!
By BtangoVerified Reviewer from Lathrop CA on 11/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slight vignette
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon:

Im shooting with a Canon 50d. I've been looking for a wide angle lens with a big aperture. For the price your paying you will love this lens. I wished it was fixed at 2.8 but even with the smaller aperture at zoomed points give you great bokeh. Very nice indoors with little light. I like to shoot without a flash as much as possible and this lens lets me do just that. It also feels like a sturdy, quality lens, not "plastic-y".

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Good walk around lens"
By Lutheran EdVerified Purchaser from Galt, CA on 8/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Good low light lens, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon:

This lens gives me the wide angle that I was lacking with my 28-135mm lens. With the F/2.8 aperture at the wide end it is good indoors. I am very pleased with this lens. With this lens and my 70-300mm Canon lens I may not need my 28-135mm any longer.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Buy
By Capture AestheticVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 8/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Good quality, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Indoor use, Portraits, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon:

I haven't had anything go wrong with it. Good picture quality and a nice wide angle. I recommend this lens.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Lens at a reasonable price
By MikeVerified Purchaser from Fairfield, Ohio on 8/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon:

I use this lens for wider than usual conditions, group photos, team photos, anything for a landscape print.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exceptionally good value for the money
By Skipping Rocks ProductionsVerified Reviewer from Longview, WA on 2/2/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Indoor use, Portraits, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon:

I purchased this lens with some doubt about its suitability for real estate photography (interior shots). I am not now however the least bit sorry that I did. The lens has by far surpassed my expectations.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice for the price!
By stephenVerified Reviewer from Anchorage, Alaska on 1/2/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Cons:
Can't think of any
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon:

I just got it about two weeks ago and have taken a lot of pictures so far. No complaints. Works great on a Canon 40D.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good mid-quality lens for indoor/general
By aragorn101Verified Reviewer from Orlando, FL on 11/30/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Candids, General Use, Indoor use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon:

Used it over the holiday for indoor shooting of my kids. (Not quite sports action, but have to be pretty quick.) Was reasonably quick to set up shots (AF and metering); focus range was flexible enough to be workable indoors. My only complaint is that when the hood is attached, it shadows both my pop up and externally mounted flash, making it difficult to use a fill flash in backlit conditions (one of the conditions where you might want to use the hood and a flash).

Images shared by: aragorn101

Swimming in the pool.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value for the money.
By WilddocVerified Reviewer from Wheat Ridge, CO on 5/22/2007
Pros:
Durable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon:

The lenses are great! Sharp, fast and capture wonderful colors.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Versitile Lens
By JamieVerified Reviewer from Warner Robins, GA on 2/18/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portrait, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon:

Overall great value. I was hesitant to purchase a Sigma lens instead of the Canon 17-85. After owning it for a month, I am relieved that I did. I used the lens in low light, and at the 17 and 70mm focal distances trying to find where the lens is lacking. Image quality has been superb so far. The only complaint real complaint I have about this lens is that it is not internal focusing. I would like to have a constant f/2.8 throughout the focal range. The lens lock is a nice feature, especially when storing in your camera bag or moving around alot in a moving vehicle.This is what I leave attached to my Canon 30D for general purpose shooting and outdoor portraits. This is a great zoom lens in this range, [...].

[28 of 28 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value
By SirpopealotVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 11/24/2006
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Cons:
None considering price
Best Uses:
Good low light shooting, Portrait, Sports indoor and out

Comments about Sigma Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 Lens F/Canon:

I bought this lens to shoot Las Vegas, mostly at night. I was not disappointed! Crystal clear shots, fast 2.8 and ability to capture night shots with a steady hand and no tripod on my Canon EOS 30D. At less than 390.00 this is a great medium range lens. I am a fan of the powder coat finish (some are not) and the overall feel of the piece is one of quality. Zoom is stiff, not sloppy. No play or loose fittings, good weight and great all day size and feel. This lens is a huge step up from the Canon EFS 18-55 kit lens and far superior in every way. This is my first Sigma and first venture away from Canon glass... no regrets.

Images shared by: Sirpopealot

The Bellagio in Las Vegas

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Shot with Sigma 17-70mm

Bally's & Paris on the Vegas Strip

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.