Buy the 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Canon on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Canon image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Lenses For Canon
A High-performance Telephoto Zoom Lens, Designed Dpecifically for use with Digital SLR Cameras.

The new 55-200mm F4-5.6 DC compact telephoto zoom lens was exclusively designed for use with digital SLR cameras. The image circle was designed to match the size of the image sensors of digital SLR cameras that also allows compact body and lightweight with overall length of 3.3in. (84.6mm), and weight of only 10.9 ounces (310g). It has a filter size of 55mm, maximum diameter of 2.7in. (70mm).

This remarkably compact high performance zoom lens is ideally suited to a wide range of subjects. This lens has a minimum focusing distance of 43.3in. (110 cm) and maximum magnification of 1:4.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(8)
Pros:
Consistent output(3), Durable(5), Easily interchangeable(8), Easy to clean(5), Fast / accurate auto-focus(6)
Best Uses:
General purpose(7), Sports/action(3), Wildlife(3)
 
You get what you pay for...
By J IncVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, PA on 7/31/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Canon:

It was cheap. The focus is slow but good image.

 
THE PERFECT "INBETWEEN" LENS
By Coach "K"Verified Purchaser from St. Paul, Mn. on 7/31/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Canon:

I used this lens to take over 4000 action photos of my track team and my sprinters. Many compliments - perfect lens for this job.

 
Easy to us lens
By Canon-UserVerified Purchaser from Glendale, California on 7/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Canon:

I use this lens a lot during my kids school activities. Really reliable and rugged considering that sometimes my kids use it.

 
great len
By buccaVerified Purchaser from williamsburg va on 7/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Canon:

all the above

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens...for the price!
By HacksawVerified Reviewer from Seattle, WA on 8/9/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Focal coverage, Price, Sharp pictures
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Canon:

I read plenty of negative reveiws on this product, and decided to try it for myself. If you are a "professional" then this lens is not for you. If you are a casual user (like me) and don't have $500+ to spend on a lens, then this is perfect for you. The "slow" auto focus everyone's talking about, is crazy. Keep in mind you're only spending [$], so it's not going to be lightning fast, but it's still pretty quick! You can find flaws in almost any product, and again, you will get what you pay for. This was a great investment for me, and I feel it was worth it. Bottom line is that the pictures are good, the price is great, and if you don't like it...then return it!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not bad for the money
By DanVerified Reviewer from Miami, FL on 5/15/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Canon:

I've had this lens for a little over a year and now I really want a higher end piece of glass. You get what you pay for and this is a good example. For the money, it's adequate. It is slow in low light and you need a tripod for 200mm shots in anything other than bright light. I find the auto focus a little off and have to switch to manual at times.

I shoot RAW about half the time and have yet to achieve a real crisp shot. I participated in a “Digital Days” workshop and even with ideal lighting on the models I just did not get the crisp shots I felt I should have been able to make. This is where the better glass really pays off.

It’s great to stand back and fill the frame with your subject and, as someone else wrote, you can catch some very candid shots with the 200mm zoom. You will have to decide what's more important, to make photos that will look good in an online album or 4 X 6 prints, or step up to the crisp quality you see in magazines and posters.

Like I said at the beginning, you get what you pay for and you will have to decide if a mid to high range lens is worth the extra money. I wish I had waited and purchased the better piece of glass.

Images shared by: Dan

My son surfing

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Full 200mm zoom

Model from "Digital Days" photo shoot

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Studio Lighting

RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the very nice photo.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
great lens
By C's momVerified Reviewer from Little Elm, Texas on 4/2/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Canon:

The lens works great! It's a little slow on the auto focus, but for the price it can't be beat. The images are crisp. I use this primarily for outdoor photos of my children and animals at the zoo. I am very pleased with my purchase and would highly reccommend the lens.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again!
By FredVerified Reviewer from Seattle, WA. on 3/21/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Can not come up with any
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Canon:

I am Real glad I made this purchase, it outdid my expectations, and surprised me with it's quality! A good choice for my new EOS XTi.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
the mamarazzi likes
By NICURNmamaVerified Reviewer from Manteca, CA on 3/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Mamarazzi

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Canon:

i've only had it for a week and am relly enjoying how easy it is with this lens to capture spontaneous, natural pictures of my children while they are oblivious to mama and her camera. i can't wait to see what else i can do with this lens say at a sporting event or upcoming graduation.

[4 of 37 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good....
By Marc from CA on 1/2/2007

Comments about Quantaray 55-200mm F/4-5.6 Digital Series DC AF Zoom Lens for Canon:

Good one..

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.