Buy the Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Lenses For Canon
Compact, Lightweight Superzoom lens, with high zoom ratio 11:1

11.1 high zoom ratio lens is designed for digital SLR cameras and OS (Optical Stabilizer) technology.

This high ratio zoom lens incorporates OS (Optical Stabilizer) function and is exclusively designed for digital SLR cameras. It is perfectly suitable for low light conditions, indoors, at dusk and telephoto range. SLD (Special Low Dispersion) glass and aspherical glass provide excellent correction for all types of aberrations. This lens has a minimum focusing distance of 17.7-inches (45cm) throughout the entire zoom range and has a maximum magnification of 1:3.9. The inner focusing system is suitable for using an optional petal-type lens hood and also circular polarizing filters.

OS technology (Optical Stabilizer) function- The 18-200mm f3.5-5.6 OS is equipped with OS (Optical Stabilizer) technology. This system uses two sensors inside the lens to detect vertical and horizontal movement of the camera by moving an optical image stabilizing lens group, to effectively compensate for camera shake. It also automatically detects panning movement of the camera and compensate for camera shake when shooting moving subjects such as motor sports.

Excellent Optical Performance - A Special Low Dispersion (SLD) lens and three aspherical glass elements provide excellent correction for all types of aberrations and produce a high level of optical performance throughout the entire zoom range. The super multi-layer lens coating reduces flare and ghosting while producing the best color balance.

Enables close-up photography - This lens has a minimum focusing distance of 45cm through entire zoom range with a maximum magnification of 1:3.9 making it very convenient for taking close-up pictures.

Inner focusing system - Because the front of the lens does not rotate, circular polarizing filters and a petal-type hood can easily be used.

Magnification scale - A magnification scale is displayed on the lens barrel, ensuring ease of use.

Zoom lock switch mechanism - A zoom lock switch mechanism is provided to prevent the lens from creeping due to its own weight.

Note: *Vignetting will occur if the lens is used on digital cameras with image sensors larger than APS-C size or with 35mm SLR cameras.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5), Semi-professional(4)
Pros:
Consistent output(8), Durable(4), Easily interchangeable(6), Fast / accurate auto-focus(8), Strong construction(5)
Cons:
Heavy(5)
Best Uses:
General purpose(9), Sports/action(5)
 
Very Nice Lens
By Mike a Shutter BugVerified Reviewer from Houston Texas on 6/1/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR:

I was wanting a all around lens so I do not have to change one the other all the time. I found it in this lens it does all most everything I want it to do. And the best part now I can just have the one lens when I am out shooting or just walking around.

Images shared by: Mike a Shutter Bug

A bird shot with this lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
I love this lens!!
By jennjacksVerified Purchaser from Tampa, FL on 5/2/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Convenient, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR:

I love that this lens goes from 18mm - 200mm. I can keep this lens attached at all times; no need to keep switching between 18-55mm and a 75-200mm lens. self cleaning function and optical stabilizer a plus. worth the cost for the convenience of using only 1 lens

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Heavy Lens
By Yearbook AdviserVerified Purchaser from Bosworth, MO on 3/27/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR:

The Quantaray 18-200 mm OS Lens is used with a Canon Digital Rebel. The camera is used to shoot yearbook photos. All school events, sports, concerts, posed group shots, etc. is taken with the camera. The camera is used indoors and out of doors. The previous lens was also a Quantaray. This replacement lens has a greater zoom range but is too heavy. I don't know what mechanics/parts are involved in OS (Optical Stabilization) but this lens has no more OS than the previous QRay lens and it is VERY heavy. The handling feels uncomfortable. It does offer clear/crisp image capture, but so did the previous QRay. I purchase the larger lens hoping to get greater return on the zoom. The added weight is not worth the minimal zoom return.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Lens
By EricVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville, FL on 1/26/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR:

I use this lens with an XTi, because I love the way the body of the XTi feels in my hands. The lens for the prize is well worth it. Is a little slow on the auto focus (don't worry you can still get action shoots with no problems). The OS allows you to get some low light shots without a the use of a tripod. I used this lens with no tripod for my photographs of Christmas Downtown 2008 and NFSCA carshow on Flickr and many more that will be uploaded to Flickr in the future.You can also check out Like This! Magazine[@]

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very satisfied with this product
By PhotoMommaVerified Purchaser from Olney, MD on 8/1/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR:

I bought this lens for my Canon Digital Rebel XT. When I bought the camera, it came with the "Mickey Mouse lens", as the salesperson called it - the standard 18 - 55mm lens. Then I had purchased the Quantaray 55-200mm lens because I have two small active kids and wanted to get close ups of their sports/activities. Following around the kids and changing lenses is a hassle, and risky when changing on the fly. I love now having the lens that allows me to zoom and get the wider, close-up shots. The lens is heavier than the camera itself. The optical stabilizer is a nice feature, too. It's probably more than you need for getting started or being a casual user, but I bring my camera most places we go, and love to photograph everything, so it's perfect for what I'm looking for. I would definitely recommend this.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great WalkAround Lens
By MN PhotoGuyVerified Reviewer from Twin Cities, MN on 7/14/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Versatility
Cons:
Not HSM
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR:

Versatile: Used for travel and hiking - only need one lens. OS helps keep things steady even though I have a pretty steady hand anyways. Tight construction, so not a wobbly lens when zoomed to 200mm. OS compensates for small maximum aperture, but not great for selective depth of field. Out-of-focus blur good when stopped down a bit, due to iris design.

Images shared by: MN PhotoGuy

Hairy woodpecker 200mm f7.1

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A few quirks
By Eric-Scott from Clearwater, FL on 5/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fair to mid colors, Strong Construction
Cons:
Gets a fish eye effect on, Lines at the top bottom
Best Uses:
Didn't work out for me, I moved to a canon 17-85m
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR:

I have mostly Canon lens and I decided to give this Quantary a try, looked like a heck of a bang for the buck. I was not very happy with any of my sunset pictures as the horizon was straight for half of the image and then started stretching up on the left side. Maybe I just got a bad one, I think I will stick with Canon lens. Ritz is GREAT with returns and upgrades, I wouldn't buy from any place else, make sure you get a rewards card it worth it.

Images shared by: Eric-Scott

Sunset over TampaBay

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome lens
By MtvVerified Reviewer from Scottsdale, Az on 5/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR:

I got this lens last week for my Canon Rebel XSI and my pictures are outstanding. Colors are vibrant, autofocus is great, my photos are sharp and bright. This is a great all-around lens. I love to shoot butterflies and this lens gives me a great range, from close up to distance. I also do volunteer photography for a local environmental preschool and this lens makes my work much easier, as I only need the one lens. I am very pleased with the quality of my photos. I've had no compatibility issues with my Rebel XSI.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lens for the Money
By Danielcfi from Clev,Oh on 1/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Long Warranty, OS very effective
Cons:
Heavy, Petal Hood not Included
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Walk around lens
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR:

I use a Canon Rebel XTI, I bought this lens November of 2007. I also have a Canon 28-135 I/S lens and the image quality between the two is very close,the Canon focus is a little faster. This lens appears to be a exact copy of the Sigma 18-200 lens made for Quantaray which is a GOOD thing as the Sigma lens gets good reviews.
I have used this lens mainly to shoot my son's High School hockey team and the O/S works very well,the autofocus is a little slow at the long end but is accurate,it would be nice if it came with the petal hood as the Sigma does but that can be purchased separatly and still be less then the Sigma lens cost.The warranty on this lens is 4 years longer than the Sigma 5 years vs 1 year.All in all I am happy to add this len's to my Canon XTI kit

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great piece of glass for the money!!
By TMPVerified Reviewer from Wesley Chapel, FL on 10/20/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Professional Work
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR:

Pictures are spot on. Colors are vibrant. IS works like a charm. Having the 18mm range on my cropped sensor gives me some pretty good wide pictures.

It's not as smooth as the 28-135mm, but it gives you extra zoom on both ends. I'm happy with my purchase, and will use this as my main lens for a long time to come.

I have compared shots with my buddies Nikon 18-200 VR and the images are just as good.

I'll be posting some pics on Flickr so look for them under the 18-200mm Quantaray tag.

Images shared by: TMP

2005 FZ6 / 18-200mm OS Quantaray

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 2005 FZ6, Made with Product, Using Product

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Get's the job done
By Sporty D from Philadelphia, PA on 10/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Rugged
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Sports/Action

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 18-200 mm OS DI 3.5-6.3 Lens f/Canon DSLR:

I have used this lens during weddings and sporting events for kids games. It gives similar quality as my professional set.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.