Buy the Canon 50 mm EF f/1.4 USM Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon 50 mm EF f/1.4 USM Lens image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Lenses For Canon
Standard lens featuring superb quality and portability. Two high-refraction lens elements and new Gaussian optics eliminate astigmatism and suppress astigmatic difference. Crisp images with little flare are obtained even at the maximum aperture.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Semi-professional(6)
Pros:
Consistent output(5), Durable(7), Easily interchangeable(4), Fast / accurate auto-focus(9), Lightweight(6)
Best Uses:
General purpose(5), Portraits(3), Sports/action(3)
 
Taking pictures is fun at Soccer
By cindyVerified Purchaser from warner robins,ga on 5/7/2009
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 50 mm EF f/1.4 USM Lens:

took a long time to get produst but worth the wait.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens for a Great Price
By BrendanVerified Reviewer from Milwaukee, WI on 4/25/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 50 mm EF f/1.4 USM Lens:

This lens is an absolute gem in Canon's lineup. There is no doubt that the optics are not at the "L" glass level, but at a fifth of the price of the f/1.2 the lower quality is something that anybody but a professional could accept. Don't be misled, though, the quality is amazing. By f/2.0 it's sharp as a tack with no distortion or aberration. Even between f/1.4 and f/2.0 it produces beautiful images, and the huge aperture has other great advantages. For those who don't already own a lens with FTM (full time manual), I can't say enough good things about this feature.
I have used this lens for almost a year, and every time I head out I'm more pleased with it than the last time. Warning: it is very easy to get addicted to the fast aperture, light weight, and beautiful image quality.
The only downside is that the focal length becomes a little awkward on a crop body (Rebel series, X0d series). But even with that caveat, I would still recommend this lens to absolutely everybody.

 
Size isn't terribly important
By DanDan the Cycling ManVerified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 3/31/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 50 mm EF f/1.4 USM Lens:

Recently I've been working in clubs and theaters capturing dancers and musicians. This lens has been ideal.

I've found that the lens itself is quick to focus in most scenarios. When the light levels drop a bit too low and manual focus is required, it can be difficult to pin down the focus to perfection, but once you get it the quality is fantastic. I've seen very little chromatic aberration, excellent sharpness, and consistent performance all around.

The one thing I noticed with this is that it's a bit larger than the average 50mm lens and the slightly longer profile comes with a little more weight and caused for a minor change in hand placement for manual focus.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
good lens
By charle from tatooine,na on 1/10/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Poor Design
Best Uses:
Concerts, Macro Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 50 mm EF f/1.4 USM Lens:

great lens, could be built better but the price on ritz is $100 more than any other place on the internet so i suggest you google it or go to[@].com or [@]

 
well worth the money
By capture evermoreVerified Purchaser from aurora co on 1/6/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Home, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 50 mm EF f/1.4 USM Lens:

This lens is incredible with its short depth of field. It makes it hard to mess up an image.

 
Best Non-"L" Prime Lens
By ThystoniusVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, NC on 12/18/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Candids, General Use, Indoor use, Portrait
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 50 mm EF f/1.4 USM Lens:

This lens is a great balance between quality and price. I own other L lenses and while they are no-doubt superior, when it comes to the 50mm the additional quality doesn't really justify the cost when this lens performs extremely well.

As I write this review, what strikes me as the best quality of this lens is that I can't think of many words to describe working with the lens. This is really because, like any other tool, it is only when it does not function that you realize you are using it. This lens does it's job, has a good build quality, and great image quality.

 
Excellent Lens
By dramaticplanetVerified Reviewer from michigan on 9/11/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 50 mm EF f/1.4 USM Lens:

This is an incredible lens. I am consistently amazed at the quality of images. You won't miss too many shots with this lens because of low light. Even though the lens is considerably more thatn the 50mm 1.8 - compared to the optics used, overall construction and the extra half f/Stop it is so worth it. Really worth it. SO many others I have talked to wind up selling the 1.8 and purchased the 1.4 - so ave the money and buy this lens - it is a must have. You will then realize why so many photographers purchase the L series lenses.

Images shared by: dramaticplanet

50mm 1.4 early sun

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

50mm 1.4 In the Garden

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens! Can't beat it for the price!
By BrianVerified Reviewer from Alhambra, CA on 5/26/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Low light performance, Portrait
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 50 mm EF f/1.4 USM Lens:

In my opinion this one of Canon's best prime lenses. For a relatively affordable price you get a very sharp lens that performs very well in low light conditions.

The build quality of this lens is very good. Very solid with a metal type body.

The Ultra Sonic Motor focuses very quickly and quietly, almost as quick as most "L" lenses.

Overall, this is a great lens for anyone who is interested in available light photography.

Images shared by: Brian

EF 50mm @ 2.8, ISO: 400, 1/250th second

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon 50mm f/1.4
By tp1953 from Charlotte, NC on 2/19/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 50 mm EF f/1.4 USM Lens:

This lens is a great deal for the money. The 1.4 aperature comes in handy for low light situations, and the lens is quite sharp. It is a great deal for the price. I use it often for professional purposes.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.