Buy the Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Lenses For Canon

Equivalent to a 28-135mm lens, the new EF-S 17-85MM f4-5.6 IS USM lens brings true wide-angle to tele coverage to EOS 20D and Digital Rebel Digital SLR's. It has Canon's Image Stabilization system, allowing safe hand-holding at speeds up to three stops slower than otherwise possible. And of course, it's optically optimized for digital SLRs. A ring-type USM means both fast and silent AF, as well as full-time manual focus when in the AF mode.

  • Compact, lightweight design with a 5x zoom ratio -- 28 to 135mm equivalent
  • Excellent optical quality: Aspheric element with two Aspherical surfaces utilized
  • Close-focusing to 1.15 feet -- at 135mm, fills the frame with subject 3 x 4.4 inches
  • Ring-type Ultrasonic motor for superior AF performance; allows full-time MF
  • Image Stabilization extends the lens's usefulness in low-light levels
  • Circular aperture design -- natural highlights, even stopped down two stops
  • Non-rotating front element; lens length does not change during zooming
  • EF-S lens mount -- exclusively for EOS 20D and Digital Rebel bodies
  • Review Snapshot®
    Avg. Customer Rating:
     
    4.6 stars
    (based on 14 reviews)
    92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

    Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

    Describe Yourself:
    Enthusiast(9), Semi-professional(4)
    Pros:
    Consistent output(9), Durable(6), Easily interchangeable(6), Easy to clean(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(14)
    Best Uses:
    General purpose(12), Night photography(3), Portraits(5), Sports/action(5), Upgrade(3)

    [1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great Lens
    By DAVID iPhoto from Ft. Lauderdale, Florida on 8/8/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    Weak Casing
    Best Uses:
    General Use
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    I obtained this lens in a trade and find that I use this it everywhere. One of my favorites.

     
    This lens is amazing
    By doozieVerified Purchaser from Fayetteville, AR on 6/16/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landscape Photography, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    I love the image stabilization. I actually tried to take a bad pic with this lens and it was difficult. The shake is gone and that's a great feature when your subject is darting around in the woods. This is my "go to" lens for when I grab my camera and head out the doorl

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Awesome lens
    By JedVerified Reviewer from Sicily on 3/25/2009
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Sharp Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    This is the first quality lens I have purchased. I have been amazed at the difference in the pictures. The colors are more vibrant and the pictures are sharper. This lens is great for every day use.

    Images shared by: Jed

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

     
    amazing lens
    By bearVerified Purchaser from philadelphia, pa on 11/6/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Landcape, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Upgrade
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    amazing difference in quality of pictures - definately worth the investment

    [3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great Lens . . . one of my favorite
    By Mark from Chi TownVerified Reviewer from Chicago, Illinois on 9/14/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    None so far
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    This is a great lens. I've used this lense on both my Rebel XTi and my Canon 20D with great success. The autofocus is quick and the Image Stabilization is fantastic. And the lense is very easy to keep clean and provides outstanding images. This is my general purpose lense that stays on my Canon 20D 95% of the time. The price is right and the quality is exceptional. Keep this lense on your shortlist of equipment occupying your camera bag and you won't be disappointed.

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Quality lens,a bit pricy...
    By MishkaVerified Reviewer from Milwaukee on 6/26/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    I spent some money on a few lenses, such as Canon 10-22, Canon 17-85 IS & Canon70-300 IS... I found that Canon 17-85 stays on majority of the time. It's decently built. USM motor helps it focus in auto mode very fast. I think it's on the money most of the times. If you do photograph in RAW, it's very easy to fix some minor issues...

    [2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    mixed experience
    By RalfVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 6/7/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Cons:
    Blurry Focus
    Best Uses:
    General Use
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    This lens is my general use lens and on the camera 95% of the time. It is fast, the IS works really well, and the colors are nice and well balanced.
    I have noticed limitations at ca. 17-20mm and 83-85mm, but not too bad to turn away from this very versatile lens for this reason.
    My only big problem seems to be the focus. Most of the time things seem slightly off focus and have to be corrected per software - so much so, that I am considering alternatives.

    [6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great Vacation Lens
    By One who enjoys pictures from Bay Area, CA. on 3/17/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Versital
    Cons:
    NONE
    Best Uses:
    Vacation City Hopping
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    I took this lens with me when traveling throughout Italy and couldn't have asked for anything better. I was able to take great closeups of fountains and statues and was amazed at the quality under low light conditions when shooting in the Vatican. Wide angle was no exception, simply surburb. I carried it everywhere I went and never felt it was heavy.

    [5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Blows my kit lens away
    By Gary the proffesorVerified Reviewer from Yorkshire England UK on 1/2/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Portraits
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    Upgraded to this lens from the kit lens and been highly delighted with the result.
    Images are truly crisp, clean and purfect sharpness.Realy like the stabiliser works wonders in low light.

    Images shared by: Gary the proffesor

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product

    [4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    I love it!
    By EricVerified Reviewer from Lemoore, CA on 12/26/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    I've had this lens for a few months and couldn't be happier. I've used it for portraiture, sports and general photography. Compared to the 18-55 kit lens, it's far and away superior and (I think) took my photography to the next level. It's a bit heavier than the kit lens but well worth the extra heft.

    Highly recommended

    [6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

     
    One of Canon's premier lens
    By garyds1234Verified Reviewer from Saint Paul, Minnesota on 9/14/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Portraits, Professional Work, Sports/Action, Versatile, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    I have tested this lens on the Canon digital Rebel and have found it to be an ideal lens for use in a variety of shoot situations including close up, portrait, and long distance telephoto. The lens is quiet, silent, and lightweight. I shake slightly at times when holding the camera for extended periods. I have found that the Image Stabilization feature removes the out of focus and blurring effect from this movement allowing crystal clear and in focus shots every time. I highly recommend this camera for all users from those using a digital camera for the first time to the professional. It is simply the best all purpose lens on the market.

    [2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Verry Happy
    By FunkeychickenVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake City, Utah on 7/17/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet, Sharp Focus
    Cons:
    Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
    Best Uses:
    General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Professional Work, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    Have shot everything from scenery to portraits.

    Images shared by: Funkeychicken

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

    Image Thumbnail

    Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

    [3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

     
    The lens to always have on your camera.
    By SamVerified Reviewer from Farmington, CT on 6/29/2007
    Describe Yourself:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast
    Pros:
    Image stabilization, Lightweight, Quiet, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
    Cons:
    Only f4
    Best Uses:
    General Use
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    The lens is perfect for all around shooting and it is really nice to have the IS system - really does get you the extra 2-3 stops when hand shooting. Very light weight. Only complaint is that it is only f4.

    [35 of 38 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Some love it, some hate it.........
    By sue from Tampa, FL on 11/26/2006
    Pros:
    Durable, IS system, Zoom Range
    Cons:
    EF-S, Primes sharper
    Best Uses:
    Gymnasium shooting, Snapshots, Weddings

    Comments about Canon Canon 17-85 mm EF-S f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

    I thought long and hard before I bought this, if you look around on the web you'll find as many bad reviews of this lens as you do good reviews. There are complaints of color issues and sharpness problems at wide aperatures but at least for the way I shoot this is a great lens. I shoot karate with this in a gynasium and for that it's perfect. Enough low end for the close ups and enough high end for what's going on across the gym floor. EF-S lenses only work on C sized canon sensors (Rebel (any of the three incarnations), 10D, 20D, 30D) the IS system offered by this lens means sharp images even if you shake too much during the shot. This lens uses the good USM motors which means full time manual focus. I've never seen the problems that some are griping about, been very happy with the quality (of course I usually don't blow up images beyond 8X10 so that may be why I'm not seeing what folks are complaining about).

    Powered by PowerReviews
    Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.