Buy the Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Lenses For Canon

A spectacular professional lens, combining the virtues of the legendary EF 70-200 f/2.8L with the Canon's newest Image Stabilization technology. The IS system now offers up to a threestop improvement in hand-held ability, responds faster than ever before, and functions on a solid tripod. Additional improvements include faster AF response and tracking speed, weather-resistant construction, and the entirely new optical system focuses even closer (to 4.6 feet/ 1.4m) than the non-IS version.

Incorporating Canon's second generation Image Stabilization technology, this telephoto zoom responds in as little at 0.5 seconds, while providing up to three stops of correction for camera shake. Its AF system has been refined for better response time and tracking speed. And even the new 8-blade circular aperture offers a more pleasing out-of-focus image. Constructed to pro standards, this fast zoom is also highly resistant to dust and moisture, too.

  • Compact L- series zoom lens with an Image Stabilizer
  • Compact, lightweight, high-performance L-series Telephoto zoom lens
  • Flourite and Super UD elements enhance image quality
  • Minimum focusing distance of 4.6 ft. at all focal lengths
  • Ring USM for high-speed, silent AF with full-time manual focus
  • Compatible with EF 1.4x and EF 2x Extenders
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
5 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(6), Semi-professional(6)
Pros:
Consistent output(10), Durable(12), Easily interchangeable(8), Easy to clean(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(21)
Cons:
Heavy(10)
Best Uses:
General purpose(10), Landscape photography(3), Night photography(7), Portraits(3), Professional work(5)
 
AWESOME
By babewithwings[@]Verified Reviewer from Louisville, KY on 3/6/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

This is an absolutely amazing lens. It is better than I had hoped. The ease of use, combined with the clarity and crispenss of the shots is incredible. I use this for action and portraiture. But it also takes amazing landscapes and with the f/2.8 aperture, all of my shots under low light become vivid and beautiful. Well worth the money.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW What a LENS
By Pat the photoguyVerified Reviewer from Suisun City CA on 2/15/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

The best lens for the Money. You cant beat how sharp the pics come out you be saying as I do YES I TOOK THAT PIC . I LOVE this Lens.. I have tryed other lens for nite time racing. This lens does it all ..........

Images shared by: Pat the photoguy

This pic was taken at 180 mph

Image Thumbnail
 
Love this Lens
By Bowenfamily3Verified Reviewer from Sweetwater, Texas on 1/20/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

This lens is heavy and costly but WOW. I take photos at high school football games and wildlife. A friend and I have the Canon Lens and are amazed at the great pictures that we are capturing. A must for "football Mom". I have had several offers to buy the lens but it is not for sale.

 
Worth Waiting For
By Carl the Canon FreakVerified Purchaser from Williamsburg, VA on 12/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

With a full-frame format Canon DSLR, this lens has quickly become my "walk-around" lens. It is very bright, clear, and captures my most-used focal lengths in one lens.

The only minor nuisance with this lens is the weight at 4.4 lbs. Although heavy, however, it is relatively short (in comparison to Nikon's identical lens), and it helps balance the camera in your hand.

 
If you can afford it, BUY IT!
By Rob The action guyVerified Reviewer from Rocklin, CA on 12/10/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy, Only 3x magnification
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

I used this to photograph football games, and the pictures came out great. The lens has always been great in situations where it was low light but the action was happening fast. It focused very fast of course since it is a USM, and is definately worthy of the L series marking on it. Im not gonna need another telephoto lens besides this one. Unless they come out with a 18-300 f/2.8 USM IS L series lense, which i doubt is anytime soon. So im sticking with this one

 
The best
By marc dVerified Reviewer from bubank. Ca on 11/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

awesome lens. The canon standard for many years. It doesn't get better when it comes to a 70-200 2.8 lens. Way thumbs up.

 
Excellent All Around Lens
By Everyday ShooterVerified Purchaser from New Jersey on 8/18/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

This is an excellent all around lens, it is so versatile it can almost be the only lens you need in your bag. It is excellent in every respect, period. But keep in mind that is a very fast and therefore heavy lens so lots of portraits work will get a little tiring.

 
Must Have- Excellent Lens
By TJs PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Minneapolis, MN on 3/18/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

I have used this lens on a 5D for ~10 weddings. I am impressed every time I pick it up. Sharp focus- and excellent for inside churches shooting wedding ceremony from balcony with NO flash- focuses [@]. RENT THIS if you think you might buy anything else. Seriously the 2.8 vs. 4f is the critical difference for weddings. wow- great lens

Images shared by: TJs Photography

basilica wedding

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
More Bang for the Buck
By bwaggoVerified Reviewer from Oneonta, AL on 12/26/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

I use this lens to blurr background on portraits indoors without flash. It consistantly gives outstanding results where lighting is not the best. I use it with the 2X extender to shoot outdoors wildlife with excellent results.I use a monopod when I use the extender because of the heavy weight, otherwise I shoot without the monopod. It is a versatile multipurpose lens without any drawbacks other than weight.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens
By Steve in MaineVerified Reviewer from Augusta, Maine on 12/7/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

This is my first attempt at serious photography. Let me tell you, I'm sure glad I spent the extra $$ for this lens. Well worth the money.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Lens
By Lar from Chicago, IL on 11/26/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

This is my new favorite lens. quick reacting, excellent pictures

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
My back up lens
By Nick the aviation guyVerified Reviewer from Millbrae, CA on 4/22/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Professional Work, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

I just bought this lens and I can't put it down. It gives me sharp and colorfull pictures.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
My Favorite Lens
By GioVisionVerified Reviewer from NYC on 4/1/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Clean, Excellent Image Quality, Pro And Serious Amateurs, Sharp Focus, Valuable 3-stop IS
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Forebackground blure, General Use, Professional Work, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro User and more
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

I use this masterpiece lens with my trusty Canon EOS 30D. I find many uses for my Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS. Outdoor sports photography, concerts and portrait are popular use for it. The excellent Image stabilization is a must have for sharp photos. The included Mode-2 IS is designed for panning. Use it for a subject moving in one direction - pan the camera with the subject. Subjects for Mode-2 IS include a bicyclist or a vehicle. Blur the background with motion and leave the subject sharp and good depth of field.

Images shared by: GioVision

Mr. Would you take my picture?

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Close-up

St. Patrick's Parade

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Professional results at affordable price
By bwaggoVerified Reviewer from Oneonta, Alabama on 3/13/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy but manageable
Best Uses:
General Use, Low Light, Professional Work, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

This lens can be used in an arena or convention center for sporting events or business. It closes in on the action and works well in low light areas. With the 2x tele converter, it serves as a wildlife lens. It is versatile and durable.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Lens
By DaveVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy, Large
Best Uses:
Low Light, Professional Work, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

I have used this lens for indoor weddings with and wihtout a flash and for outdoor weddings and senior photos and it delivers great results. It is sharp and very fast, especially with IS. If you can afford it and need the zoom range, buy one.

[15 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
One of Canon's Finest
By Kevin from Dallas on 12/2/2006
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Professional Work

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L IS USM EF Lens:

Super sharp lens. You can get great dramatic pictures with the big aperture. Perfect for sports phography and events when you need to stand off just a little bit.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.