Buy the Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Lenses For Canon
High-performance, L-series telephoto zoom lens combining light weight and compactness with an f/4 maximum aperture. Inner focusing and the ring USM enable quick and quiet autofocusing. Also, a circular polarizing filter can be attached and used without difficulty because the front lens element does not rotate during focusing. The tripod collar (sold separately) is the same one used with the EF 300mm f/4L USM.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(7)
Pros:
Consistent output(6), Durable(11), Easily interchangeable(8), Easy to clean(6), Fast / accurate auto-focus(13)
Best Uses:
General purpose(9), Portraits(4), Professional work(3), Sports/action(6), Upgrade(5)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
CANON'S INEXPENSIVE L-GRADE GLASS LENS
By FIJIMANVerified Reviewer from LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON, NEVADA on 4/5/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
ALL AROUND LENS, Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, GROUP SHOTS, PORTRAIT SHOTS, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, SPORT SHOTS, Strong Construction, WILDLIFE SHOTS
Cons:
Slightly Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Outdoors, people, Special Effects, Sports, Sports/Action, TRIPS, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens:

OUTDOORS
SPORTS
PEOPLE
LANDSCAPE
ANIMALS

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very good choice
By Demon DadVerified Purchaser from Winnfield, LA on 2/23/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens:

This lense works well for caturing action shots at baseball games, especially in the infield. Provides a very quick focus and sharp photos.

 
Fast, cheap, and high quality
By CassidyVerified Reviewer from Laguna Hills, CA on 2/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens:

I use this product for sports and other activities that I can be on the field and require a little bit of a zoom lens. This lens is fast and the least expensive of the "L" series lenses. I am very happy with the results of this lens

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome
By MeeshaVerified Reviewer from SLC, UT on 10/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens:

I use this lens for Snowboarding/ Skiing Photography and it is great! It is an all arond awesome lens for what I need it for!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Dip your toe in the professional waters
By JBVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 7/30/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens:

Lots of professional features for a fraction of the cost ; well-constructed ; slightly slow for action/sports photography, but a marked step in the right direction

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great outdoor lens
By komart75Verified Reviewer from houston, tx on 6/2/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens:

This lens is great for a walk around zoom when you need to get a little closer then most standard zooms give you. It is extremely sharp, the colors are vibrant and alive and the bokeh is right on. This lens is perfect for outdoor photography, it's not heavy once you get used to it and is perfect for a walk around the woods, park, zoo or anywhere you want pictures of stuff you can't get right up on. I wouldn't say it's ideal for wildlife, unless your shooting critters that aren't skittish as you need to be fairly close to get good clean shots, but it's doable. The pricing makes this lens one of the best values you can get. This definitely isn't a lens you are going to be using in low lights or indoor natural light situations, but then you shouldn't be expecting to use a f/4 for that anyways. The lens really shines when used outside, just beautiful pictures. It has no weaknesses, unless you consider it's poor use in low lights, but it's not made for that anyways. The build quality is excellent. The internal focusing and zoom further strenghens it's case for outdoor photography as it keeps it from sucking in dust and moisture. This should be one of the first lenses you purchase for your Canon....be warned once you buy an "L" that's all you're gonna wanna buy!

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing detail
By PrincessVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 1/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens:

I bought this lens from a photo I took trying out a friends Rebel XTI. I was amazed at the quality an detail in the photo I took.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Superb telephoto for the price!
By BrianVerified Reviewer from Alhambra, CA on 5/26/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Light For A Telephoto, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Outdoor sports wildlife, Portrait, Sports in daytime
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens:

This is a great telephoto zoom. For the price, it can't be beat, especially when it's L quality. It met all my expectations and more.

The lens is very sharp and has great color reproduction. It is also very well built, very rugged and durable.

Images shared by: Brian

Sample photo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
High Performance and Light Lens
By JeromeVerified Reviewer from Chantilly VA on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens:

This lens has great color, contrast and sharpness. It is a great value for a pro lens. It is light and has fast focus. Works great for sports and animals. However, in low light you will need to use the flash.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing lens especially for the price!
By MarkgreenVerified Reviewer from Miami on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Non extenting zoom, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portrait Lens, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens:

Just got this lens and it blows away the photos I was getting before. Sharpness, contrast and color repro is beautiful. Took it on the beach today with no worries of sand getting in as it zooms internally and doesn't extend. The photos are phenomenal, tack sharp with great bokeh but I warn everyone that once you try an L lens, you're hooked - and at this price for an L lens, why not?

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding Value
By JohnVerified Reviewer from Williamsport, Maryland on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Photograhy Teacher
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm EF f/4 L USM Zoom Lens:

In my opinion, all Canon L series lenses represent the pinnacle of performance. In fact Canon makes a number of non L lenses that I feel are pretty darn close in performance.

But the major advantage of the 70-200 f4 L among other L series lenses is it's price. In fact if you were to purchase the f2.8 L instead, you'll pay more than twice as much.

But with the f4 you'll get razor sharp images, outstanding contrast, rugged construction, hand holdability which is important because L lenses can be huge, and...well...it just looks damn cool on your camera. All joking aside, if you want to look like a professional then you'd better show up with professional looking gear and L series lenses will give you that.

I only offer this one caution, if your doing a lot of low light shooting such night sporting events or weddings in available light, you might want to consider upgrading to the f2.8 or the newer f4 with image stabilization. I love my f4 and will never go back to consumer glass, but at times I wish I had that one more f stop.

But again, look at the prices of all the other L series lenses then compare them to the f4...then remember you still get the quality and build of the L series plus you don't need a mono pod to support it and you'll see why I feel this lens is a great value.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.