Buy the Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Lenses For Canon

The 70-200mm f/2.8 is the perfect companion to Canon's 28-70mm f/2.8. Its zoom is flexible enough for a wide variety of applications including sports and portraiture and it's bright enough to use under the lights of stage or stadium. It's also especially useful for extending the range of your flash (extra important with a lens that can get you closer to far away subjects). Like the 28-70mm, this is part of Canon's series of lenses and, if you haven't shot with it, you'll be amazed at just how sharp Canon's Fluorite glass can be. Coupled with the 28-70mm, you'll command a range from 28 to 200mm at a bright and useful f/2.8 throughout the entire range!

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5), Professional(4), Semi-professional(4)
Pros:
Consistent output(7), Durable(10), Easily interchangeable(6), Fast / accurate auto-focus(14), Rugged(7)
Cons:
Heavy(4)
Best Uses:
General purpose(7), Night photography(4), Professional work(3), Sports/action(8), Wildlife(4)
 
Great product!!!
By LauraVerified Purchaser from Butler, PA on 1/29/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens:

I am a photographer who is trying to get into the business and this lens is definitely what I need! Great lens!

 
BUY IT!
By Eddie Young from Arlington, Texas on 12/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens:

This is definatly the best lens for the money! This lens produces amazing, crisp pictures. I the quality is unserpassed, but then again that is what you get when you go with the "L" series.

 
Superb!!!!
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Key West, Florida on 11/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens:

I am the photo manager and shooter for a dailey newspaper and rely on this lens for low light sports and breaking news. It tracks subjects quickly and produces tack sharp images

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens
By codemakerVerified Reviewer from Pensacola, FL on 9/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens:

Takes very good photos but a bit heavy. A mono pod is helpful.

Images shared by: codemaker

Gulls at beach

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Blue Angel show

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's All I Hoped For and More
By Dr. JoeVerified Reviewer from Upper Marlboro, MD on 4/5/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens:

I have two high school-aged sons, one a baseball player and the other a sprinter. I have been able to capture some amazing action shots with this lens. It also is a terrific lens for vacation scenery and family photos. I kept it on my camera the entire time during a recent trip to visit family in San Francisco.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
SERIOUS Amateur Sport Photography!
By Team Mom ProVerified Reviewer from Plano, TX on 12/13/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy, Price prohibitive
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens:

I'm a 'team mom' for both my sons teams... and the families count on me to get good action shots too. The wonderful photos you can get with this lens are priceless - especially as a parent whose son/daughter's professional sports career is probably a long shot! They will treasure the close-up action shots from this lens because it makes them look like a pro! It's very pricey, so you really have to be willing to get serious about using it so you can get your money's worth.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
sharper images 100%
By JillVerified Reviewer from Minnesota on 12/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens:

I had difficulty getting the crisp sports pictures that I was shooting until I got this lens. It was amazing at how much clearer and sharper the images bacame with this lens. And while the lens may feel heavy at first, I was able to get used to it fairly quickly.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must have for serious photographers
By rloweryVerified Reviewer from Northwest Georgia on 10/10/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Quiet, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Price
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens:

I had used aftermarket lens for years, and after trying the "L" lenses I wonder how I ever did with out. The speed of focus, sharpness and quietness of this lens is second to none. My main photography work is youth sports (6 year olds up to and including High School sports)and the ability to shoot night time sporting events thanks to the 2.8 is remarkable. Since I purchased this lens it hasn't been off my camera. It has quickly become my number one lens regardless of sports or general photography this one can't be beat.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
reliability problem
By emrexpertVerified Reviewer from Austin Texas on 9/5/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Sharp Focus
Cons:
reliability
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens:

I have always been very happy with Canon products. I own a Mark IIDs, Rebel xti (20D and 60D sold) and just got the 40D. This lens had to be sent back twice for intermittent failure to communicate with the camera. Now, after 6 months, it is starting to act up again.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
"It's beyond the boundries of ordinary"
By WowieVerified Reviewer from St. Paul, MN on 3/30/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens:

This is one of the many great lens out there from Canon.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
"I would buy this product again and agai
By Keith from Dallas, TX on 2/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L USM EF Lens:

Some reviewers complain about the weight of the lens, but after holding it for a while, you don't even notice it. Top quality is this lens [...] a instore comparrison between the Sigma 70-200mm 2.8 and this lens, and when all was said and done I picked this one

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.