Buy the Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Lenses For Canon

Canon's 75-300mm zoom is a lens that will reach out and put you right in the middle of the action. In fact, the 300mm end of the zoom range affords a 6x magnification over that of a normal lens and that means close in sports photos, right-there-with-'em wildlife photos and the kind of great candid photos that you can only get by backing away from your subject. Enjoy sharp Canon optics in an affordable, long range zoom.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
78% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(7)
Pros:
Consistent output(4), Durable(8), Easily interchangeable(10), Easy to clean(3), Fast / accurate auto-focus(8)
Best Uses:
General purpose(8), Special effects(3), Sports/action(6), Wildlife(5)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Needs to have IS
By NikkiVerified Reviewer from Connecticut on 2/24/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Quick action shots, Sensitve to camera shake
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens:

I use this lens frequently for birds and dolphins at the aquarium. I like the still shots I can get with it close up but when it comes to fast movement or camera shake its a no go. I am going to get the 250mm lens with IS, so I can have most of the zoom but with clean action shots. We tested theory and put my smaller lens with IS on it and it is the lens not my camera.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it-Great Zoom
By Zelda from Boynton Beach, Florida on 1/23/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens:

I use this product for lifestyle shots and for zooming in on Canyons and wildlife.

Images shared by: Zelda

Hummingbird feeding

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Arizona in December

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT ZOOM
By THE BEGINNER PHOTOGRAPHERVerified Purchaser from MESQUITE, TX on 11/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens:

I USE THIS LENSE TO TAKE PICTURES OF MY KIDS IN SPORTS. IT IS A SUPER LENSE AND IT ENABLES ME TO TAKE GREAT ACTION SHOTS.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Its a lightweight proformance lense
By Adrian the rose photographerVerified Purchaser from Brigham City, Utah on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, I like the performance, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Wish it had macro settin
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens:

I use it as my main lense, i am mainly a scenic/wildlife photog. Only thing i wish it had was a macro setting for close-ups for like roses, geraniums and the like. But for the most part a good all around telephoto lense, that I can use daily.

Images shared by: Adrian the rose photographer

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again
By Radio BillVerified Purchaser from Pittsbutgh, PA on 8/5/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Zoom unsmooth
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens:

Usages of this lens are fire scene photo, sports and general wildlife. Over all the lens focuses fast and has good balance but the operation of the zoom is unsmooth.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By coachmanVerified Reviewer from Saint Joseph, Mo on 5/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens:

I got this lens after purchasing a Canon Rebel XTI. I wanted a zoom lens and this one did the trick. When my girl frined is driving, Or I am over the road on a long trip, I take my camera along. this lens works well with shooting while on the move or stationary of all types of scenery. I can change very quickly to the wide angle and back and still usually get the shot I want. Great lens for the money

Images shared by: coachman

Out on a Limb

Image Thumbnail

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens
By ChristineVerified Reviewer from East Hartford, CT on 7/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quiet, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens:

I got this because I wanted to be closer to the action. So far it's delivered. Zooms right up in there. The only thing is that it doesn't auto focus if you are too close. But that's no big deal. It's got a good enough range that I can just pull it back some and do the trick. Or just manual focus.

Highly recommeneded.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Okay for budget telephoto lens
By Jim the triplet-dadVerified Reviewer from Manchester, PA on 6/18/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Auto focus worthless, Camera shake intolerant
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens:

If you need the least expensive telephoto capable of 300mm, this is the ticket. But depending on the subject to be photographed, the distance between camera and subject, and lighting conditions the auto-focus may be unable to determine the proper focus. If you do not mind using manual focus, then this is a good lens. Because of lens length and weight, camera shake is VERY noticeable (tripod recommended). Knowing what I know now, I should have saved up more money for a similar lens with Canon's Image Stabilization.

Images shared by: Jim the triplet-dad

Butterfly closeup

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Bird on top of hook

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[9 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharp zoom lens for wildlife photography
By LeVerified Reviewer from Bridgeport,Nebraska on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Great for wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, SLR user since 1961
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens:

Surprised how easily works with Canon EOS 300D. I shoot in Tv mode, and this lens captures wildlife with crystal clarity, even while changing shutter speeds for different shots.

Images shared by: Le

Eurasian Collard Dove

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Great Photo.

[8 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
lens
By mscutiebumVerified Reviewer from Abbotsford,BC on 12/26/2006
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
It's good for far away
Best Uses:
General Use

Comments about Canon Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens:

HI I like this lens for taking pictures of my daughter who riding horses as she jumps the horses and I needed a lens that could take pictures at a distance. I didn't like the fact that you could take pictures closer up.. too bad Canon didn't have a 18 to 300mm that would be something I would buy.

[40 of 44 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must have focal length for outdoor actio
By TAJVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 11/18/2006
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Sports in daytime

Comments about Canon Canon 75-300 mm f/4.0-5.6 III USM Lens:

I bought a Canon D20 and this lens from Ritz specifically for action shots of my kids and friends' kids riding horses at Gymkhanas, Team Penning, and Roping. (Yes, my eleven year old ropes calves) Since I shoot in daylight, this lens is ideal for this purpose. I never use a tripod. Focus motor appears fast. When the kids get up on their horses, I switch from my 18-55 to this zoom. The trainers like the shots for lessons, and the pictures make great keepsakes for the kids.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.