Buy the Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens image
 
(based on 12 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Lenses For Canon
In response to demands of photographers, this standard zoom lens is designed with Canon's Optical Image Stabilizer technology while retaining the compactness and lightness of previous models. Its stabilization allows sharp hand-held shots at shutter speeds up to four stops slower than otherwise possible. It consists of 11 elements in 9 groups and uses an Aspherical lens element to correct aberration for excellent image quality throughout the zoom range and a circular aperture for exquisite rendering of out-of-focus backgrounds. Without a lot of size, weight or cost, this lens expands picture-taking possibilities any time slow shutter speeds are needed.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 12 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(9)
Pros:
Consistent output(5), Durable(4), Easily interchangeable(10), Easy to clean(4), Fast / accurate auto-focus(13)
Cons:
Weak casing(3)
Best Uses:
General purpose(11), Portraits(4), Sports/action(5)
 
CANON FINALLY DID IT !
By FIJIMANVerified Reviewer from LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON NEVADA on 4/3/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Compact, Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy to attach, EASY TO PACK, Lightweight, Quick Focus, SHARP AF, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
CLOSE-UP SHOTS, General Use, group shots, SOME NIGHT SHOTS
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens:

FOR CLOSE RANGE SHOTS

EVERYDAY CARRY AROUND ON DSLR

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love the lens, Only last less 2 years
By Tha Goose from Santa Fe, Texas on 3/12/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens:

I have probably taken over thousands of pictures for weddings, reunions, parties, and more. I am disappointed, my lenses has an electronic defect, when shooting up close, I get a default error. [...]I love this lens and I am addicted to the quality of shots taken at different occasions.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Good Kit Lens
By ThomasVerified Reviewer from Plano, Texas on 9/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Good IQ, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens:

This lens is a kit lens but it's still very good, especially for a kit lens. Here are some more detailed pros and cons from my use of this lens:Pros:-Very light, granted it is mostly plastic-Sharp photos (especially in RAW mode)-Decent walk around lens-Image StabilizationCons:-Build quality isn't great, but it's really not a big issue unless you're continuously swapping lenses or if they're hitting other lenses in you camera bag.-Not much of a Manual Focus ring to speak of-No USM motor, nor would I expect one-I wish it had a longer zoom rangeOverall it's a great lens, but it's not something I would pay [$] for, in my opinion, but if you get it in a body + lens kit, it's a very good option.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good results
By ShooterVerified Purchaser from Bloomingdale Oh. on 8/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Focus could be faster, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens:

I passed on purchasing several identical lenses in stores due the excessive looseness of the lens tube in the barrel. The one I have is reasoably tight and is giving good service in general and with the close up lens set I purchased with it. Be advised not all aftermarket lenses that work with the 35 MM Rebel xti work with this camera which was an expensive mistake.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens!
By Mom on the goVerified Purchaser from St. Augustine, Florida on 8/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens:

This is a great lens.[...]. I was replacing my lens I broke that came with the starter kit from a couple years ago. The image stabilizer was not too important to me, but now that I have it I will not be without. Taking pictures of 2 little kids on the go makes the stabilizer a must have!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens for the price!
By papajoeVerified Purchaser from Crossville,TN on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens:

I'm just really getting into photography and I replaced the kit lens with this IS lens. Wish that I had bought it sooner. I use it everyday. Great lens. Have no complaints.

Images shared by: papajoe

Bongo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Great Product
By RayVerified Purchaser from East Haven, CT on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens:

I replaced the kit lens that came with my Canon Digital Rebel with this lens and use it for everyday shooting. Family, sporting events, scenery, etc. I do the majority of my shooting hand held and OIS wirks just great.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Kit lens
By DD from Nashville on 8/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens:

Just got this lens that came with my Rebel xti.. amazing I Use it a lot .. I also have the canon 70-250 IS usm and the canon 70-300IS usm love them all ..

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens!
By pizzakid56Verified Reviewer from Reynoldsburg, OH on 6/28/2008
Pros:
Compact Design, Easy To Use, Improves Picture Quality
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Close Up Filming, Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Parent, Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens:

Great for landscapes, and taking pictures of animals ex. at a zoo.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
WAY BETTER THAN KIT LENS
By LILBUBVerified Reviewer from NAVARRE FLORIDA on 1/16/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens:

GREAT LENS USED IT 1-12-08 FOR FIRST TIME PHOTOGRAPHING A INDEPENDENT WRESTLING SHOW ..MUCH IMPROVED OVER KIT LENS IS WORKS PHENOMENAL ..GREAT BUY

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens at a great price!
By Ken H.Verified Reviewer from Seattle, WA on 11/24/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
plastic mount.
Best Uses:
General Use, travel.
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens:

This lens is much improved over the previous kit lenses. It has faster auto focus, sharper pictures, and the IS is awesome. This lens cannot be beaten...for the price! You will not be unhappy with this purchase.

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Neat Little IS Lens
By Stevie WonderVerified Reviewer from Atlanta Ga on 11/14/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS EF-S Lens:

Great for use indoors with flash and diffuser. Wide enough to get everything in the picture without having to back out of the room.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.