Buy the Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens image
 
(based on 19 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Lenses For Canon
The EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM telephoto zoom lens has been developed to meet the high-performance standards that today's photographers demand. Improved Image Stabilizer Technology provides up to three stops of shake correction, and the Mode 2 option stabilizes images while panning with a moving subject.

Compared to the original Canon EF 75-300mm IS zoom lens, this telephoto lens has faster autofocus, and overall the lens is lighter and has a smaller diameter than the original.

The zoom ring can be locked at the 70mm position, making this powerful lens easy to transport, too.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 19 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(15)
Pros:
Consistent output(8), Durable(9), Easily interchangeable(15), Easy to clean(8), Fast / accurate auto-focus(17)
Best Uses:
General purpose(14), Portraits(5), Sports/action(12), Upgrade(4), Wildlife(13)
 
GOOD!
By Cam the amera from Cumming, GA on 12/25/2009
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

This lens is easy to use and has a great zoom range. You can use it for almost everything. The range is great although the focus is a little sluggish. I use this lens for birds and small animals.

 
Good mid-grade lens for action shots!
By MichaelVerified Purchaser from Orlando, FL on 6/12/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

Great lens for that unsteady hand. Mine is paired with the 50d which when used in full action mode (6.5 fps) an occasional shot is blurry. But overall a great lens.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pro pictures for the everyday guy!!!
By RhondakateVerified Purchaser from Columbus, TX on 8/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, No tech knowledge needed, Sharp Focus, Simple to use, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

I know absolutely nothing about photography and even my pictures look good! If you can press a button, you can use this lens!

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent lens choice
By GregVerified Purchaser from Fort Myers, FL on 8/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

I do a lot of nature photography and animals, birds and insects do not hold still so I wanted the image stabilization that my other 70-300 Canon did not have. I have only found one drawback, and that is the lens chatters a lot on autofocus when trying to photograph butterflies and dragonflies because the lens keeps trying to shift between the insect and the bush/branch. I end up using manual focus a lot more that I want unless I use the AE mode and only the center focus point. I got some wonderful nesting bald eagle pictures in Punta Gorda this year. Overall, I do give this lens a very good rating.

Images shared by: Greg

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would be lost without it!
By Tim the HunterVerified Purchaser from Luck, Wi on 8/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

I recently just got back from an African Hunt, I was the only one of the group that could get any good photos. My girlfriend took it on the site seeing part of the trip and out of 700 photos only four pictures were dissapointing.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent product to have.
By Phase one from Gibsonburg Ohio on 7/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

Used to take personal pictures to enter in Fair's etc.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
CANON'S BEST TELE FOR UNDER $700
By FIJIMANVerified Reviewer from LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON, NEVADA on 7/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
All purpose, General Use, Portraits, special events, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

HAS IMAGE-STABILIZATION
HAS ULTRASONIC MOTOR
F STOP STARTS @ 4-5.6
GOOD FOR GENERAL USAGE
GOOD FOR MOST PORTRAITURE
GOOD FOR SPORTS AND WILDLIFE SHOTS

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value!
By Josh S.Verified Reviewer from Knoxville, TN on 7/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Excellent zoom range, Image stabilization, Sharp Focus
Cons:
End Rotates when focusing
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

I use this lens on a 40D and it's very nice for the price. IS is wonderful on a telephoto of this range. The range is great on a crop-sensor camera like the 40D (70-300mm is really 112-480mm!). I've taken very nice shots of the moon with this lens with just a bit of cropping. Works well with the 28-135mm kit lens on the 40D for a nice range with only 2 lenses. Very sharp and focuses quickly and silently with the USM motor. A nice feature is the 2-stage image stabilizer. One mode is for general IS, the other for panning which stabilizes the vertical-axis only. The end does rotate while focusing, so if you're using a polarizer that could be a pain. It could be a little faster, especially on the tele end, but those lenses cost 2-3x as much, so I consider this lens a great value for it's performance.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
for not being an L lens, its decent
By Sean GroganVerified Reviewer from Fords, NJ on 6/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

for not being an L lens, its decent, really sharp, quick to focus, and relatively light and cheap for a comparable lens

[4 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Lens!
By Grand Canyon ManVerified Reviewer from Syracuse, NY on 5/1/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

Great Lens. The image stabilizer is great for people like me who have naturally shaky hands, but still love photography. Great for wildlife, I have taken this lens on many vacations and gotten some great pictures. Also it may seem heavy, but for a lens of its size, it's actually quite light.

Images shared by: Grand Canyon Man

We were close, but the lens sure helped! (Alaska)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Bear Cub (Alaska)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
"This is some lens"
By BuddyVerified Reviewer from Chesapeake VA on 12/15/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

For the price,this is a very good lens.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Boy what a difference
By Scott the NoobVerified Reviewer from Aurora, IL on 10/29/2007
Pros:
Crisp, Durable, Easy To Use, Improves Product Function
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Home, Professional, Sporting Events, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

Man oh man - I originally bought the 70-300 without IS and thought that I was taking some decent shots even handheld. Now, I'm taking some incredible shots handheld of sporting events and when I actually tripod it the nature shots are beyond compare

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great
By funkeychickenVerified Reviewer from funkeychicken on 7/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Quiet, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy, Scratches Easily
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

I've had this lens for almost a year now and I love it more then the camera.

Images shared by: funkeychicken

Yellowstone

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Yellowstone

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
WORTH EVERY PENNY
By Bitty's DadVerified Reviewer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 7/13/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Quiet, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

This is by far the best lens that I have ever purchased. The detail and colors are absolutely amazing. The quality of the colors and sharpness of the images makes it like you ar ehtere and not looking at a picture. It is smoth quiet and easy to handle.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens, Fast
By SkygazerVerified Reviewer from Georgetown, Texas on 6/24/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Quiet, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

Great lens that is fast and quiet when on auto-focus mode. Great for nature/wildlife photography.

Images shared by: Skygazer

Climbing Rose

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product
By BudVerified Reviewer from Jackson Hole, Wyoming on 5/27/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

fast focus,sharp pictures

Images shared by: Bud

Grizzly in Grand Teton NP

Image Thumbnail

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing
By SarahVerified Reviewer from Minneapolis on 3/9/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast autofocus, Sharp Focus, Sharp in the focus area
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Documentary, Extreme Closeups, General Use, Professional Work, Special Effects
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

The USM in this lens is incredible. IT is a must-use for the professional or advanced photographer. The clarity and speed of this lens is something I would never leave without.

Images shared by: Sarah

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic bang for the buck
By APOLAUFVerified Reviewer from Nashville, TN on 2/23/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Great blur or bokeh, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
No quite L-series constr
Best Uses:
General Use, Portrait, Upgrade, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

For the price, this lens can't be beat. It has optics that are close in quality to much more expensive L-series lenses, and the image stabilization will leave you wondering why you ever bought a lens without it. From birds to portraits, this lens will leave you satisfied. USM, though not ring-type, is fast, accurate and quiet. Not quite L-series construction, and the front element does rotate, but if that doesn't worry you, dig in and enjoy this fantastic lens. I upgraded from a Sigma 70-300 APO DG and haven't regretted a thing. You'll love it if you get it.

Images shared by: APOLAUF

Not a great shot, but shows the sharpness you get.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
A wonderful investment
By bax from Riverside, CA on 2/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Nature and action shots
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 70-300 mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens:

This lens has revolutionized my photography. The image stabilizer has removed most of the blur when I'm without a tripod. My son loves it so much that he's saving to buy his own, (soon I hope).

Images shared by: bax

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Great choice in camera, now your choice in friends is a different matter..:))
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.