Buy the Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Lenses For Canon
A thoroughly modern design that's optimized for select Canon EOS digital SLRs. Its angle of view is equivalent to a 96mm lens on a 35mm camera, with a floating optical system that can focus down to full life-size (1:1) magnification. Inner focusing, driven by a silent and powerful ring-type USM, means the lens' overall length never changes during focus. This lens is a wonderful multi-purpose lens that's equally at home shooting macro shots, portraits or available-light photos. Like all Canon EF-S Lenses, its use is restricted to the EOS 20D, EOS Digital Rebel and EOS Digital Rebel XT cameras
(as of February 2005).
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(6), Semi-professional(3)
Pros:
Consistent output(10), Durable(8), Easily interchangeable(9), Fast / accurate auto-focus(20), Lightweight(9)
Best Uses:
General purpose(7), Macro(4), Portraits(10), Wildlife(6)
 
Out of the box performance for newbees!
By AxmanVerified Reviewer from Moreno Valley, CA on 6/11/2009
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
No zoom
Best Uses:
Close-up photography, General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

I just bought a Canon 50D and know nothing about photography. I got the 60mm macro lense and people think I have been taking close-up photograhs for years! Great lense and super easy for beginners especially when paired with the awesome 50D.

Images shared by: Axman

My 3 week-old

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Flower close-up black & white

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
The Prime Lens to Own for Canon EF-S
By ModernstillsVerified Reviewer from Virginia on 6/10/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

The sharpest canon lens I have ever used bar none. This is even the case with the lens wide open. Additionally this lens has several combinations of functionality that no other macro lenses:1. it can shoot at 1:1 macro with the built-in flash without casting a shadow. This is a huge plus when traveling light.2. it is the most compact macro lens I have ever used.3. the focal length and fantastic bokeh make this lens a great portrait lens.4. the USM focusing system in quick, accurate and almost completely silent (won't scare little critters away)If you are interested in seing many images see any of my macro photos at [@]

Images shared by: Modernstills

Praying Mantis at 1:1 wide open

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Furry Moth

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Nice and sharp but a little overpriced
By ThorVerified Purchaser from Somewhere over the rainbow on 6/1/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
A bit high
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

Lightweight, fast focus, sharp, easily atatches.

 
I would buy this lens again
By TerryVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia,PA on 5/5/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Excellent lens, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Na
Best Uses:
Blowups of small objects, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

i am very happy with canon products and very satisfied with ritz camera. if you want quality service and products buy from ritz camera and buy canon rebel xs camera outfit

 
best yet
By LuluVerified Purchaser from Lawrence, KS on 4/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Sharp Focus, Solid in performance
Best Uses:
Flowers, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

after using other macro lenses the size and sharpness of this one is the plus. it is well balanced in the focus and action and allows me to have a good range and control over my positions as I am shooting.
I looked at the 100 series, but the length and size of the lense made it difficult as I have severe arthritis in my hands. This 60 gives me more macro for the shot and allows me to free shoot without using a tripod.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
ordered this lens
By Terry WilliamsVerified Reviewer from Philadelphia Pa on 3/23/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Closeups of small things, General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

would buy this lens again,allthough i am still waiting for it to come in, right now it is on backorder. but knowing canon lenses i know it will be an excellent ad on to my camera outfit and i am very excited to get it. i think the price is steep but quality does cost. and if you want great pictures spend the money now. because a offbrand lens is not the same as canon lenses

 
Best Kept Secret in Canons Lens Lineup
By pabloyanez[@]Verified Reviewer from Virginia on 3/14/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Tack Sharp Even Wide Open
Cons:
Crop-bodies only
Best Uses:
Macro, Portrature, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

This lens has NO equal...

1.It is super compact so much so that it allows you to shoot at even 1:1 and the lens will still not cast a shadow on the subject with the built in flash.

2. The lens is tack sharp even wide open (obviously within the very shallow depth of field). Many other, more expensive, macro lenses are not as sharp wide open.

3. It's lightweight but excellently balanced weight makes is great for shooting while hand-holding your camera.

4. On a crop body this lens makes a fantastic portrait lens. Sharp while still have GORGEOUS bokeh (out of focus background) because of the rounded aperture blades.

5. Completely silent USM focusing that is VERY fast for a macro lens (these are usually very slow)

 
Surprisingly clear and contrasty
By CarlVerified Purchaser from Williamsburg on 1/22/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Scratches Easily
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

Great lens for the money! Does what's it's designed for very well.

 
I would buy this lens again.
By Jay the picture manVerified Purchaser from Chesterfield,MI on 12/16/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

I use this lens for great wildlife or outdoor use.

 
Photographing Art Work
By Mr. CoolVerified Purchaser from Dunedin, FL on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Lightweight, Quiet focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Photographing art work, Portraits, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

I am a visual artist creating a variety of styles and sizes. I recently photographed a series of 6' paintings and the next night photographed 5" x 7" drawings. The 60mm F/2.8 EF-S macro lens handled both series sharply and effortlessly.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Macro and walk around prime lens
By M R GoodwinVerified Purchaser from Tucson, AZ on 8/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

I use this lens as a general walkabout lens as well as a macro and portrait lens. At 60mm it is close to 'what the eye sees,' which is usually 50mm. It has a wonderfully shallow DOF and the final results need only the slightest sharpening (as do all RAW files).

Portraits are intimate and emotional, macro is crisp and plenty close for most applications.

It could only be improved if it were stronger for low light conditions. Having said that, it is stunning on tripod, small aperture and long exposure.

Images shared by: M R Goodwin

The Pink Bicycle

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great Macro!
By AnnaVerified Purchaser from Washington DC on 8/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

Macro is great to use and I am very satisfied with it. Great tool Great BUY!!!!

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
CANON BEST EF-S MACRO LENS
By FIJIMANVerified Reviewer from LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON, NEVADA on 3/15/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

EXCELLENT PRODUCT BY CANON.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Lens
By TnotnVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake City, Utah on 4/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro
Pros:
Fast, Nice Features and Settings, Sharp, Simple Controls, Small and light weight
Best Uses:
Everyday, Macro Close Ups, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

This is an amazing lens. Quick and clear! Great for macros and right at the sweet spot with APS-C for portraits. 2.8 is fast and gives razor thin depth of field for macros and beautiful blur. One of my favorite lens.

Images shared by: Tnotn

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[21 of 21 customers found this review helpful]

 
One of the best lenses you'll own
By APOLAUFVerified Reviewer from Nashville, TN on 2/23/2007
Pros:
Durable, Fast, Good blur or bokeh, Good Value, High Quality, Low light, Quiet, Sharp
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Macro photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 60 mm EF-S f/2.8 Macro USM Lens:

One of the best lenses I have bought, period. This lens has optics that are on par with L-series lenses from Canon. The only reason it isn't labeled as such is because it has an EF-S mount. This lens will give you extremely close working distance and produce the sharpest pictures you've ever seen. The build is amazing, and the full-time manual focusing is a huge plus. The ring-type USM is fast and accurate. MTF charts are, no pun intended, off the charts. Many of my best pictures are taken with this lens. If you have any interest in macro photography, this is the lens to beat.

Images shared by: APOLAUF

Bumble bee taken at f/11, 1/200th sec., flash

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.