Buy the Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens image
 
(based on 21 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Lenses For Canon
The first EF lens with a zoom range from 100mm to 400mm, the EF 100-400mm f/4.5- 5.6L IS USM lens offers high resolution, superb contrast, neutral color balance, and Canon's original built-in Image Stabilizer function. Fluorite and Super UD glass completely eliminate secondary spectrum for superb color rendition. Auto-focusing is fast and silent with Canon's Ultra-Sonic Motor, and AF speed is further enhanced through an advanced, lightweight rear focusing design that incorporates a floating element for consistent image quality at all focusing distances from 5.9 ft. to infinity. This lens is also equipped with a dual-mode Image Stabilizer suitable for panning as well as stationary subjects. With full-time manual focus, one-touch zooming with a wide grip, and a special ring that permits adjustment of zooming friction, this is a lens that's extremely easy to use, and ideal for a wide variety of applications including nature, wildlife, sports, and documentary photography.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 21 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(16)
Pros:
Consistent output(11), Durable(13), Easily interchangeable(16), Easy to clean(9), Fast / accurate auto-focus(20)
Cons:
Heavy(8)
Best Uses:
General purpose(8), Professional work(5), Sports/action(13), Upgrade(5), Wildlife(14)
 
Canon Lenses Rock!
By TaitterbugVerified Purchaser from Carrollton, VA on 4/29/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

This lens was the best investment to date for my photography equipment. I have only been back in to taking pictures now for a year or so. I researched a little on line to see what would be good for taking nature pictures. I read one review that spoke highly of the EF100-400, and stepped out and bought one. Much to my pleasure it was better than I anticipated. The clarity is great, the ease to use is awesome. I thought I would have to delete a lot of the first few pics I took, and did not. I played around with teh settings and found them very easy to use. Having the ability to use this lens as a close up gives more detail than some may want. I stood in the yard and focused on a dandelion, and the auto-focus took over. I could zoom in and see the insects clear as day. I still stumble with having the settings where they should be as I use it, but I am learning. The 1.5 setting allows for great close up. The auto focus works very quickly. The only thing I have found I could fault this lens with is the weight, and it really is not a problem. I would recommend this lens to anyone who owns a Canon camera and would like to get better pictures. The clarity will sell this lens itself. I am an ameture photographer with a few years of experience. Spending this kind of money for a lens was a step for me. The image stabalizer allowed to to use this free handed and still get great quality from my shots. But it was well worth it!

Images shared by: Taitterbug

Standing above the Dandelion

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

AFLAC Brothers

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
BEST LENS I EVER HAD!
By GUSVerified Purchaser from SIESTA KEY, FL. on 4/10/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
SOLID AND SUPER CLEAR SHO, SOLID SUPER CLEAR SHOTS
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

I SHUT SURFING AND IT'S A GREAT LENS,IS QUIK TO FOCUS, SHARP IMAGE AND IT WORKS PERFECT WITH MY 50D CANNON, SUPER COMBO PACK.

 
Great lens. Love it.
By ootpa from Raleigh. NC USA on 1/11/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

Use it for sports events, wildlife and landscapes. Also captured several general aviation planes and helicopters lifting off from a local airport. After learning how to control it with my Canon Xsi digital camera, it gave me fantastic shots. Can't wait to try the 1.4 magnifier.

Only negative is the weight which you expect with a 400mm zoom lens.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I sent it back as it had the wrong f sto
By aahVerified Purchaser from texas on 11/7/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output
Best Uses:
Landcape
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

It was a great lense but the f stop is not what I needed for action sport shorts....especially inside.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW
By janpilotVerified Purchaser from Goose Creek, SC on 8/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

I used this lens on a recent trip to Alaska, and my pictures are phenominal. I did have to master changing lenses quickly as this is not a good general lens with a starting focal point of 100, but with practice and a good vest for storing other lenses it worked well. The only downside I experienced was it's weight. That did cause me to not take it on a few hikes

Images shared by: janpilot

Mt. McKinley from Eielson visitors center (~25mi)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

The Alaska Range taken from Denali S. overlook

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Excellent for Wildlife Shots
By Everyday ShooterVerified Purchaser from New Jersey on 8/18/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

I use this lens for wildlife photos and it performs that function excellently. The focus speed is very quick and sharp, and the 100 - 400 focus length makes the lens extremely versatile. I thought I would have a problem with the sliding zoom but that proved to be a non-issue, I got used to it very quickly. For my low light shots (early morning & early evenings) I find I do need to increase the shooting ISO to make up the the lens speed but that hasn't created much of a problem either.
For the price this is an excellent lens.

 
Great product! I highly recommend it.
By Jake, wildlife loverVerified Purchaser from Washington Pa on 8/15/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Easy to use, Love the image stabilizer, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Lens is worth the weight
Best Uses:
Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

I use the lens for wildlife and find it very easy to use with a tripod.

 
nice lens
By Ike GarciaVerified Reviewer from miami, FL on 7/19/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

Easy to use, sharp and fast focus...kind of heavy!!!

Images shared by: Ike Garcia

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
increadable zoom.
By travismVerified Reviewer from orange county Ca. on 7/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

this is a great lens well worth the money, its heavy yes but i think you would be hard pressed to find anything that has this zoom range and quality that weighs much less, wasent sure if i would like a slider zoom at first but once i used it once or twice i dont even notice. the multiple image stabilization modes are great but i find i keep it on one setting the focus is fast and sharp its just what i would exspect from a canon L series lens.

Images shared by: travism

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Great zoom lens
By TmillVerified Reviewer from O.C. california on 7/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

I purchased this lens because i tried a Tamron 28-300 lens for the versatility factor but i found that it just did not seem as clear as i had hoped, i shoot a lot of friends surfing so this gives me a great option to shoot somewhat close objects and really zoom in when need be, the first time i used it was awsome, so much better clarity and focus, after trying out this L series lense i swiched all i had to the L series and could not be happier, this is a bit pricy but i belive its well worth it. it would be great if it had a few more f stops but then it would be double the price it workd well as is..

Images shared by: Tmill

great for focusing on the small stuff too

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW what a lens!
By Green Acre PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Castroville, Texas on 5/5/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

I bought this lens because I wanted a better longer lens for nature/sports, this lens is "Very Heavy", after a days shoot my neck is very sore from the weight of the lens and the Canon 20D and extended battery pack on camera. But the shots are sharp and the "IS" is fantastic and works every time. I shot a full moon hand held and it was very sharp. This lens is the best I have so far.

Images shared by: Green Acre Photography

Anole in garden

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Hummingbird at feeder

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Incredible Lens!
By Miro The MacawVerified Reviewer from Tampa Bay, FL on 3/6/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

This is an INCREDIBLE lens. I bought it because I needed a little more reach than I got with my 70-200 for birds/wildlife. This lens is as sharp as any I have seen- You have to look CLOSE to tell the difference between something shot with this one compared to a fixed telephoto!

And- The Image Stabilizer- I can't say enough about it! I was a skeptic before trying my first IS lens, But now I am a believer! I wouldn't think about a telephoto without it now. I am able to shoot handheld at 400mm without the slightest blur- Even with my shaky hands!

The only 'nit' about this is the weight- at 3.3 pounds, it's not the lightest lens out there, but that is a small price to pay. The thing is built like a tank!

Images shared by: Miro The Macaw

Shot handheld @400 mm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Again, Shot handheld at 400mm

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great, workhorse lens
By Skipping Rocks ProductionsVerified Reviewer from Longview, WA on 2/2/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
I, Slider type zoom
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

I have never been a fan of slider type zoom lenses, I prefer the fine control of a zoom ring for framing and with that said, the lens is just about as perfect as it gets. It is vividly sharp with outstanding color reproduction. Focus is very fast and accurate. The lens is very large and heavy but I do not consider that to be a negitive aspect. The lens is much too good to complain about it's size and weight.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Magnificence!
By X-tian the soccer player!Verified Reviewer from North Hollywood, CA on 12/14/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

Easy to use, easy to carry!

Images shared by: X-tian the soccer player!

What a fake!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Most Excellent Lens!
By LoveMyVette! from Lake Wales, Florida on 9/27/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

Until I used this lens, I had no idea what I was capable of doing with my camera. I take photos at Formula One races, Lemans etc... I need a lens that makes all of my effort worth the time. This one does! I do not like to lug around multiple lenses, and I have found that except for the tight shots in the paddock areas, this lens does it all. ( I also like that it it is tan and not black!)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great purchase
By Kyle the AmateurVerified Reviewer from Elk Grove, CA on 9/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

Great lens for shooting my son’s football games & other sports. It’s proven to be quite durable (took a four foot fall from my truck to the concrete inside my camera bag, and no damage). Oops

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Greatest Lens I ever bought
By Mike the Amateur, but want to do better.Verified Reviewer from Magnolia, Tx (northwest of Houston) on 5/27/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports, Upgrade, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

This is the first lens I have owned with image stabilizer. It is great. Shooting pictures of my grandson motorcycle racing come out wonderful. I also do bird shots and have been able to get some great shots of birds in flight.

Images shared by: Mike the Amateur, but want to do better.

Grandson at races

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Grandson at races

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Superbly Versatile Long Lens
By Charles the Approtunistic ShooterVerified Reviewer from Avon, CO on 5/15/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

This is an all around great lens for the working pro and advanced amatuer. Heavy for a zoom lens, but in comparison to a 400/4 USM quite light, easy to handhold especially with the IS (Image Stabilization) built in, this lens will work excellent whether you are shooting wildlife, models, or sports! The glass is spectacularly sharp, the autofocus, fast and reliable with todays cameras and with most of your digitals, with the exception of full frame cameras, you get upwards of a 160-640mm equivalent in a reasonable size!

RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the very nice photo.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
The monster of my Lenses
By Nick the aviation guyVerified Reviewer from Millbrae, CA on 4/22/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

This lens is the tank of the lenses. Its sharp and it gets the long range for those far subjects.

Images shared by: Nick the aviation guy

One of my first pictures with this lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Very nice photos! Thank you.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
hard to manul control
By bird shuterVerified Reviewer from olympia wa on 4/14/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged
Cons:
Inaccurate Controls
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

with a 1.4 it will not AF and long rang foses is not bosable

Images shared by: bird shuter

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding Lens
By Capture ManVerified Reviewer from Quincy, IL. on 2/3/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 100-400 mm f/4.5-5.6L EF IS Lens:

The Canon EF 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L with the Image Stabilizer is a real gem. The optics are excellent and sharp and the detail you get from this lens is remarkable. The Image Stabilizer is a real asset and after getting the lense I put it to the test and it was everything I could ever hope for. With the Mode 1 for still shots and mode 2 for pan shots it did it's job. In one instance I was shooting a subject with the wind gusting at 25+ mile an hour I had to hold on to dear life when shooting and did not use a tri pod. With the use of the Image Stabilizer and at mode 1 the subject was sharp as could be.
Had this been with a standard lens without the IS
I would not have been able to get the shot. The Mode 2 for fast moving subjects and having to pan again performed great. It is a heavy lens no question about it for me was not an issue and the hood that it comes with is great to prevent unwanted light effecting your shot. I am very pleased with this lens and was well worth the money. For anyone who is serious about there Photography you wouldn't be disappointed and won't want to put it down.

Images shared by: Capture Man

Abstract

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Nice photo.
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.